STOMPer Buay Tahan was furious to see this 'ungrateful'
SIA flight attendant from Taiwan complaining about SIA on the Taiwan
news. She claimed that SIA promised a salary of S$3.8k that turned out
to be only S$1.3k.
In the news clip, the woman, who was named
Miss Liu, claimed that SIA deceived the public with promises of a basic
NT88,000 (S$3,800) pay when she only received NT30,000 (S$1,300).
The
woman also claimed that the treatment of Taiwanese employees was
inferior to that of Singaporean employees, stating that the latter was
able to fly to worldwide destinations, but the Taiwanese attendants
could only fly to regional destinations and had to return within a day.
According
to her, Singaporean SIA stewardesses could transfer to ground duties
after 15 years but Taiwanese stewardesses could not. Also, there were no
pregnancy benefits for them.
The STOMPer commented:
"An
ungrateful Taiwanese air stewardess alleged that SIA's salary of
NT88,000 was actually only NT30,000 after some deduction and commented
that there is a huge difference between the benefits of a Singaporean
and a Taiwanese stewardess.
"I wonder why SIA have to go overseas to search for air stewardessed when there are plenty of choices available in Singapore.
"Now, it is a 'foreign talent' that complains about the company on the broadcast media."
wow...$1300 for trainess????cant be dat low!!!
LOLOLOL. It is. Well, that is the base pay excluding allowances :) Allowances form the bulk of their salaries.
Hmm, not too sure about this but I've heard that certain countries (re: taiwan / Japan) require commercial jets to have a local stewardess on board before they can land in the country. Its all rumors really. & I've never went around to verify them so dun quote me on this !!! haha
REALLY???/allowances make up bulk of pay???
u need to network with the scheduler
what i heard is,
basic pay is indeed very low, $1400 around there
after allowances, can get about $3500
will have at least native on each aircraft
that native can only fly between her own country and Singapore
and she is still a FT.. so cannot complain also... else she can join her EVA air or china airlines
can get up to $3,500 does not mean you will get that figure. Its only a possibility. All Taiwanese should have known that.
Hmm, trainee's base pay do not defer from fully operation crew dearies =)
Yeaps. actually, the pay of a newly appointed crew could well be higher than a same ranked senior FSS. This has to do with the stand by rostering.
But haha, yes, knowing the rostering officer CAN help a bit.. haha =)
thank you, have a great flight!
depends on where you go to for a certain month also...
if no US/Europe destinations.... then low lor...
for march, my friend got 60% of what she got in feb!
Lol... turnarounds i reckon... or tour of australia..
wait till u do madras turnaround
lol.. I have always escaped that.. my worst was so far jus colombo...
looks like you networked well with your scheduler
Hahaha.. I've left !! Though living on land sux in a different sense =)
what is important is the memories
Hitman: haha, noooo, i've left.. Working in an investment bank now *sob*
Yeaps, pilots are single fleet trained.. Haha.. 777 can be pretty 'siong' (tough).. haha
Hitman: u with SIA too ??
Question here is : Do we need a FT stewardess? Our local gal ain't good enuff? maybe it's time to reconsider...the last report...SIA service level dropped from the top spot.
To the stewardess, you are here begging for food coz you are starving back home. So be it today's or yesterday food...just say thank you....give u chicken wing already still ask for drumstick...
Hi Im back - Jus had an awesome day running around the rain soaked streets of orchard road.. Blah.. Haha..
@ birdeyes: Hmm - u know, rumor has it that Foreign FSS are paid more.. *rumors!!!* Though if we use a common yardstick, then yes - Foreign FSS would not be paid more since the only long haul they get are TPE-LAX while the local girls have a chance at hitting any one of the int'l destinations.
@Hitman: noooooo.. I left SIA to get my degree.. yeaps. Am one of those cliche stories of kids who had to save $$ to study - zzzzzzzzzzzzzz