By Ng Jing Yng | Posted: 11 December 2010 0748 hrs
SINGAPORE: Former
Ministry of Education (MOE) scholar Jonathan Wong had already been
arrested for possession of child pornography when he returned to teach
in a secondary school here in Singapore.
23-year-old Wong, who is
a history major at the University of York, was arrested in March and
did his month-long teaching attachment in July at the school in the
western part of Singapore.
Besides teaching history and
literature, he interacted closely with pupils when working on a project
with them, although "nothing was amiss and Wong acted normally like any
other teacher", said a source who also taught at the school.
But,
the MOE only knew of Wong's involvement in child pornography last
month.
In reply to queries, a ministry spokesman said: "His
offence only came to light after he was charged in court in November."
The
spokesman added that "neither Jonathan Wong nor his university informed
MOE that he had been arrested in March and was under police
investigation when he returned for his school attachment".
University
of York spokesman David Garner told Channel NewsAsia that it "was not
informed by the police of Jonathan Wong's arrest nor the subsequent
charges".
Mr Garner said: "The first that the university knew of
the charges was when Jonathan Wong appeared before York Crown Court on
Nov 15."
Parents whom Channel NewsAsia spoke to were concerned
when they heard the news.
A teacher, who declined to be named,
added: "When he was first arrested ... we should give him the benefit of
the doubt. But he should not be allowed to teach till his case is
concluded. There should be tightening of communication between the
ministry and their scholars overseas."
This will now be done.
The
MOE spokesman said: "We are reviewing our processes to improve the
selection of scholars and the reporting of such offences."
Wong,
who is on bail, will be sentenced during the week of Jan 17 after the
initial court date of Dec 13 was postponed.
He could face up to
10 years in jail, though a non-custodial sentence is also possible,
according to the Crown Prosecution Service.
- CNA/fa
Got child pornography, doesnt mean he will go and ask his students to strip for him to see and take video mah.
Should he have a 2nd chance?
If he violate again, sack him at once.
He just watched child pornography on the internet right?
Nothing wrong right. I bet those police officers etc who arrested him also watch pornography on the internet ok.
Risky.
He watches child pornography.
He see children, imagines and compare with what he saw.
Which is better.
Prevention, or punish him after he do some molesting or rape.
do u hire a drug addict to be drug correction officier?
do u hire a smoker to teach people how to quite smoking?
I think there is a case of maturity involved in this guy being a teacher!!!!
How about campaign on yellow ribbon? Give prisoners a 2nd chance?
he taught sec sch rite? (since hist and lit)
so the kids are too old for him to pique any interest.......
i think it'd be too harsh on him if he didnt actually commit child pornography acts. I had the impression he did.
Some of the most pleasant looking people u see, male or female have the wildest of sex fantasies. Teachers included. He's suay he got caught.
Its easy to say - give him a chance or at least be fair to him.
But the authorities in power. The Ministers, the Principle, they are answerable to the parents.
How is the principle to answer to a parent whose child has been sexually abused by a known child pornography enthusiast.
"You know he has a record for child pornography, yet you allowed him to teach children!"
How to answer?
he didnt get involved in child porno acts. You've watched porn before, havent you? So did you reenact those porn scenes in your own real life?
Well, then again nobody's to say he wun do it in future.
to allow him to teach is very risky. it may seem harsh, but i rather not risk any child's life.
Maybe transfer him to other parts of MOE to work?
Give the guy a break...just transfer him to other department...just becoz he watch child porn does not mean he will really act it out in real life...it is damn jialat to condemn him just becoz of that....dun tell me no one in our government bodies ever watch porn....cheez
give him another chance. anyway we know who to look for when shit happens
Lots of pple out there, be it teachers, principals, office workers, ceo, coo, civil servants, etc...all in one way or the other, watch porn or even surf porn in their life.
So, meaning all is condemn?
Maybe our pm also watch porn when he's free? But we don't see him touching other women.
Former MOE scholar expelled from University of York
By Catherine Drew
| Posted: 20 December 2010 1932 hrs
SINGAPORE : A former
scholar with Singapore's Ministry of Education (MOE) has been expelled
from the University of York.
23-year-old Jonathan Wong, who was a
history major at the university, had been found guilty of owning child
pornography videos.
In a statement on Monday, the university said
Jonathan has been "permanently excluded" on the grounds of gross
misconduct.
The university added that it is strongly committed to
child safety and deplores all types of child pornography and abuse.
Jonathan
had also been sentenced to six months' imprisonment by the UK court on
Monday.
However, his sentence has been suspended for two years.
This means it will not be a custodial sentence. Sources at the court had
earlier indicated he would not receive a custodial sentence because he
had pleaded guilty to the charges and had no previous convictions.
But
he will be subject to an eight-month supervision order from the
probation service and will be placed under the sex offender's register
for seven years.
He has also been disqualified from working with
children.
With the expulsion, Jonathan's eight-month
supervision order has to be re-looked at as he will no longer be staying
legally in the UK.
The MOE has also revoked his teaching
scholarship.
- CNA/al
not surprise. moelst at knife point only 5 yrs 18 strokes served separately.
The explusion and suspended sentence complicates the matter.
the sad thing is child pornorgraphy is NOT the same as regular porn. it's a disease that has no cure, the sadder thing is that the criminal is also a victim as in he cannot help himself, what kind of child porn was it, hetro or homosexual ?
maybe if it was little girls he was watching let him teach in a boys' school and vice versa....... maybe that could help , nevertheless I doubt that he would do anything now that all eyes are on him already , just keep it that way.......
this is a really sad sad situation where there is really no way out for him if found guilty . the public will "kill" him, both socially and financially (when he cannot get any employment)
he's been punished enough i think. Had to sell his HDB flat to repay the bond and sacked by uni of york. Imagine the debt of guilt to his parents.
maybe he should just bang his head with his lap-top and die.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:i think it'd be too harsh on him if he didnt actually commit child pornography acts. I had the impression he did.
But yr dad did..... on U!