merge palau ubin, or build an artificial island!
Population projected at 6.9 million by 2030 with strong Singaporean core
By Imelda Saad | Posted: 29 January 2013 1213 hrs
SINGAPORE: Singapore's population could hit 6.9 million by 2030 - up from the current 5.3 million - if strategies outlined in the White Paper on Population to mitigate the country's ageing and shrinking population are met.
The population projection also takes into account a lower GDP growth rate beyond 2020.
Singapore is facing serious challenges of ageing and dwindling population, in particular from 2025 when its citizen population starts to shrink.
The White Paper on Population, released on Tuesday, is the first comprehensive report to outline the country's strategy to ensure a sustainable population.
The proposal is to take in 30,000 new permanent residents (PR) every year which will keep the PR population stable at about half a million. Then, from this pool, take in 15,000 to 25,000 new citizens each year, to stop the citizen population from shrinking.
At this rate, by 2030, Singapore's total population numbers should hit between 6.5 and 6.9 million.
The figures are based on certain assumptions - that the stretched productivity target of between 2 and 3 per cent for this decade is further moderated to between 1 and 2 per cent, between 2020 and 2030. And, a workforce growth rate that dips from the 3.3 per cent growth over the last three decades, to just 1 per cent between 2020 and 2030.
With those numbers, the country's GDP growth beyond 2020 will likely fall to between 2 and 3 per cent a year - from the current 3 to 5 per cent projection for this decade.
To ensure a high quality of life for Singaporeans, the government will build ahead. Long term planning beyond 2020 include setting aside land to build 700,000 more homes and doubling the rail network.
Mr Teo said: "We have moderated the number of new citizens and PRs that we've taken in. And we've also put in various measures, some of them very strong measures, to control the growth of the foreign workforce.
"So this has already been moderated for the past three years or so and going forward, we want to make sure the road map we have is an appropriate one. And if we focus on those key issues, making sure we have enough young Singaporeans, a population structure that can provide for our seniors.
"Second that we have an economic structure that provides good jobs that an increasingly educated Singaporean population wants, and we can provide high quality living environment. I think if we can do these three, we look at the population number, and the population we need, to achieve these three objectives and that's the way we looked at it.
"So the growth rate of both the workforce and the population will be half to a third of what it has been in the last three decades, and we have to strike a fine balance because if we don't grow at all or shrink, then we'll face all the problems of an ageing population, the lack of dynamism in the economy which some of you are concerned about. But if we grow too quickly, then we may go beyond the constraints we have. So we been trying to find the appropriate balance."
- CNA/ck/sf
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1250894/1/.html
the govt pple have no qualms of their retirement when it is their time as they have tonnes of money by then, some even on pension.
So what is left for our next generation - this is looking bleak...
Originally posted by a mugger:merge palau ubin, or build an artificial island!
more of reclaim the sea between sg and pulau ubin.
Build a bridge to Palau Ubin.
i think they just lost the next GE
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:Build a bridge to Palau Ubin.
with MRT link too
Originally posted by croco2006:with MRT link too
I don't see why not.
seem losing 1 seat dun deter him
perhaps we should let him lose all
Originally posted by lce:seem losing 1 seat dun deter him
perhaps we should let him lose all
have you guys ever thought of this:
the assholes know they've lost the support of the people and are running a scorched earth policy to ruin Singapore so that the place is a shithole for whoever has to take over from them
i won't put it past the vindictive bastards
Originally posted by the Bear:have you guys ever thought of this:
the assholes know they've lost the support of the people and are running a scorched earth policy to ruin Singapore so that the place is a shithole for whoever has to take over from them
i won't put it past the vindictive bastards
I get what you meant by cutting down more trees,removing more parks to build houses.Recently,basketball court near where I live (toh yi HDB blocks),have been demolished in order to build more houses. I doubt that such facilities will be relocated in the near future .In future,I believe there will be a lack of public infrastruture(playgrounds,exercise facilities) To go to 6m>remove public infrastructures
To go to 7m>cut down trees,build houses.
To go 8m>this will not be discussed just imagining 7m haunts me.
like that not enough of our naterual habitat , all flattened destroye gone to give way to buildings.
the sea between main island to pulau ubin can be reclaimed.
ECP extend out.
i heard people have seen the water cumming into the mina highway duroing floods nad rainny season. its high time we move out and high to ECP to within our straits and sealine border.
come on we mnust reclaim land, not because mainly to expand for survival but also to help fight possible flooding ad natural disasters.
read in between the line. incraese singapore popualtion so that they can 'solve' the aging popualtion issue.
wheehr we incraese our younger population or not, this 'X' number of singpaoreans will grow old by certain age come 2030. so evenif we increase our younger singaporeans, the 'X' number of older singapore will still be there and need help assisence.
so they should rephrse that sentnece about increasing core sg population as a solution to our aging popualtion.
such remarks only reflect a person who do monthly report say like that show good only. but the main problem issue is still there.
Originally posted by the Bear:i think they just lost the next GE
Originally posted by Lazybumy:
Won't lar, Singaporean very easy to con. Just before next G.E, the elites will come out to cry and say sorry. Then give some goodies and come out some singaporean first polices (which later they can take back more easily). Singaporean will forget abt everything and vote them in again
You are right ........................ There are still large number of people not interested in politics and when touching on the issues of .......... they just say they are not interested in politics. Some still singing the praises of the MIW ............ saying they are better than govt in other countries.
In the end, it is the Sinkingporeans "doing fellow singaporeans in" .
damn it
Originally posted by SJS6638:You are right ........................ There are still large number of people not interested in politics and when touching on the issues of .......... they just say they are not interested in politics. Some still singing the praises of the MIW ............ saying they are better than govt in other countries.
damn it
Those who do not really read into politics,may do so.I agree with you in this case,however i will still not be able to have a say in GE 2016.Some who may want to suck it up,may still vote PAP due to the long term trust of PAP in winning the elections.
Originally posted by SJS6638:You are right ........................ There are still large number of people not interested in politics and when touching on the issues of .......... they just say they are not interested in politics. Some still singing the praises of the MIW ............ saying they are better than govt in other countries.
damn it
Originally posted by Lazybumy:
The people deserved the government they have. So I agree with you on this part, as unlike some countries, singaporean have the right to vote, so those that vote them in and given them the mandate, so pls dun complain for those that voted them in.
People who vote them in, I classify them as "killers"
Originally posted by SJS6638:People who vote them in, I classify them as "killers"
i can tell by that you are pro-WP
Originally posted by a mugger:i can tell by that you are pro-WP
I am not but i was.
Only way to stop this madness is to end PAP rule in 2021 GE.
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:Only way to stop this madness is to end PAP rule in 2021 GE.
why wait until then?
2016 GE is more than enough!
They said they will maintain the current standard of living even at 6.9 million.
People are very happy now meh?
by 2016 there will actually be more new citizens voting..who will give their vote to PAP.
PAP has a support base of around 43% ....just need another 7-10% of these new voters to vote for them and we true blue sinkies are butt f%^.
hiaz...