Originally posted by sinicker:don't let those bakeries fool you.
0.o
But what i SERIOUSLY don't understand is that Wet tissue must be Halal certified also.
I asked my friend why it must be halal.
he said because it contains alcohol sometime.
But to my understand of alcohol in Islam, one must not be intoxicated or consume anything that makes the mind unsound. So its an open-end definition that automatically includes the consumption of alcohol as it leads to the mind being unsound.
We use alcohol wet tissue to clean ourselves (just like wudu), and we don't consume the alcohol wet tissue and merely touching it doesn't make the mind unsound.
So why wet tissue must be halal approved?
Originally posted by Ponders:But what i SERIOUSLY don't understand is that Wet tissue must be Halal certified also.
But to my understand of alcohol in Islam, one must not be intoxicated or consume anything that makes the mind unsound. So its an open-end definition that automatically includes the consumption of alcohol as it leads to the mind being unsound.
We use alcohol wet tissue to clean ourselves (just like wudu), and we don't consume the alcohol wet tissue and merely touching it doesn't make the mind unsound.
i guess to play it safe, they just do not want to touch alcoholic stuff. so i think it's up to the manufacturers then to see if they want to get halal certified a not.
Originally posted by Ponders:But what i SERIOUSLY don't understand is that Wet tissue must be Halal certified also.
good topic brought up. this one i also dont understand. but i would say it's a gimmick! ![]()
You know in Indonesia and Malaysia.. the Halal certification is so much less stricter and even the muslims are less strict.
In most areas of Indonesia, "Halal" means no Pork no lard. So even if the restuarant serves alcohol or serves meat slaughtered in the non-halal way. they will still eat it so long they don't eat Pork, Crab, Frog.
Originally posted by Ponders:You know in Indonesia and Malaysia.. the Halal certification is so much less stricter and even the muslims are less strict.
In most areas of Indonesia, "Halal" means no Pork no lard. So even if the restuarant serves alcohol or serves meat slaughtered in the non-halal way. they will still eat it so long they don't eat Pork, Crab, Frog.
yeah i know. but in singapore, everything is strict i guess
Clean ourselves also need to be halal. Cos, when we pray, we need to ensure that everything is halal. Halal food & drinks. Halal clothings- this means that we bought it with our own hardwork earned money and not money won by lottery or others. Basically from head to toe must be halal lorr...
Originally posted by PtePinkY:cant totally agree with that. drugs are like proccessed food. just like glucosamine are made from shells of shellfish according to wiki. strepstrils contain alcohol(not sure now but does contain ethanol 3 years back)
the drugs does not contain any information on the packing if they are halal or vegetarian.
comparing that with vegetables is not approiate since thats pretty much a straight forward thing.
so let me guess who's clone are u. . .
hmmmmmm![]()
i don't see what the point is here... people have the right to choose what they want to eat and the level of standards they demand from the processing of their foods.
businesses assess the demand and tastes of their customers and respond accordingly.
as of the last 2 months, i know pple who outright refuse to eat anything containing milk and anything from china. its their choice. smilarly, i have friends who are new age fruitarians or vegans, and health nuts who only eat organic foods...
lets think along another similar track: instead of muis and halal, if AVA now came up with a cert for organic food, or a cert for food safety (100% melamine free?) and made companies who want to be certified pay for it. its purely voluntary but companies, in turn, pass on the cost of the inspection and certification to the consumers, can I say that i'm being unfairly penalised by health nuts and pple who are crazy and kiasee about melamine because now companies want to have the cert and their goods are now more expensive? they can certainly eat something else, but then again, so can i.
i can certainly buy other cheaper brands who may not have that mark (free melamine included
)
so seriously, if u so desire, go to your favourite non-halal restaurant and go eat pork. nobody can stop u. in the same way, if others choose to eat or not eat certain foods, we should not stop them. same for restaurants. if u dun like the food they serve, eat somewhere else. its not a halal or non-halal issue. its a taste and value issue.
okay. to verify, i am clone of no one. just started an account to be here. thats it.
my family is in the catering industry and am soo pissed over some people that goes like, eek. this place is non halal. and that place indeed is not halal but has a sign, NO PORK NO LARD. pointing to the sign, he just go like, 'i dont take anything not halal.'
being in this line, its not easy to get non halal slaughtered meat. chicken from most suppliers are halal, brazilian frozen chicken(which most establishments are using due to cost) are sure halal, beef and mutton from aust/nz are halal.
you wont expect US black agnus beef in your $5 plate of beef hor fun or pousin from france for your $1.20 chicken wing dont you?
It sure make me back off a little with dining with friends who wants strictly halal food. Especially when banquet or halal food court isnt near and the only halal place to eat at is a mamak store which i would never touch the food since my shatec days when the malay food trainer uses msg like theres no tommorw.
Do you see vegetarians demanding a certified vegetarian to consume the food?
Do you see our buddhish and taoist friends demanding for a no beef cert before they eat?
Oh yes. I have recieved a letter from MUIS quite a few years back(when the word halal wasnt a big hoo ha) telling me to remove the words halal if we are not certified halal or face a court case. Fine! Remove that!
If i am not wrong, halal cert is a certificate with a globe like logo saying halal certified. And i dont see any of those in mamak store and pasar malam ramly burger joints hanging that anywhere around. And even the ramly poster has a globe like logo printed on it saying its halal.
Am i right to say that theres a cover up?
Originally posted by maskedangel:so let me guess who's clone are u. . .
hmmmmmm
U everyone also clone. Hahahahaha.
Originally posted by PtePinkY:not racist but am sure not happy with the halal thing in the country. to get the halal cert, the operator or manufacturer must have a certain percentage of muslim employees.
And things that have affected badly are like, pepperoni are usually made of pork and pizza hut serve beef pepperoni. being a buddhist, i can choose to have other pizza and dont even make an hintch about a no beef cert. i love pepperoni but due to religon restrictions, i gotta give it a miss.
Hamburger as its name suggest, are pork while mac in singapore serve them made of beef unlike the us, pork. gotta give it a miss again.
dont see the need to make a big hoo ha for our muslim friends here demanding a halal cert before they eat at a certain place. just like vegetarians, order what you dont think contain meat or specify to the waiter that you are a muslim. please serve me halal certified meat and not contain any non halal ingredients into it.
why the fuss?
by the way, most drugs like sleeping pills, panadol, cough syrup, painkillers etc. are not halal so why eat?
Trust me, Muslims will make sure you extend your hand to serve them. Remember the havock they created for Wikipedia a neautral free online encyclopedia based in america for their potrayal of muhammad with his face unblurred.
Anyone that ASKS anything are labelled islamophobic.
Originally posted by PtePinkY:okay. to verify, i am clone of no one. just started an account to be here. thats it.
my family is in the catering industry and am soo pissed over some people that goes like, eek. this place is non halal. and that place indeed is not halal but has a sign, NO PORK NO LARD. pointing to the sign, he just go like, 'i dont take anything not halal.'
being in this line, its not easy to get non halal slaughtered meat. chicken from most suppliers are halal, brazilian frozen chicken(which most establishments are using due to cost) are sure halal, beef and mutton from aust/nz are halal.
you wont expect US black agnus beef in your $5 plate of beef hor fun or pousin from france for your $1.20 chicken wing dont you?
It sure make me back off a little with dining with friends who wants strictly halal food. Especially when banquet or halal food court isnt near and the only halal place to eat at is a mamak store which i would never touch the food since my shatec days when the malay food trainer uses msg like theres no tommorw.
Do you see our buddhish and taoist friends demanding for a no beef cert before they eat?
Oh yes. I have recieved a letter from MUIS quite a few years back(when the word halal wasnt a big hoo ha) telling me to remove the words halal if we are not certified halal or face a court case. Fine! Remove that!
If i am not wrong, halal cert is a certificate with a globe like logo saying halal certified. And i dont see any of those in mamak store and pasar malam ramly burger joints hanging that anywhere around. And even the ramly poster has a globe like logo printed on it saying its halal.
You be careful there, they will "take action" and label you a racist islamophobe.
Alot of hypocrisy, the same forumers dont give a damn when someone says derogatory slurs against indians but highlight anything that they feel isn't comfortably directed towards muslims.
halal means...they specially..put in pork and alcohol for the muslims..specially for em...
Good evening Hitler youths. I do agree with you that Muslims are evil bastards out to deny everybody in the world the pleasure of eating swine meat. That's why there is a conspiracy to make every eating place halal. This of course must be stopped. I suggest we round up all the Muslims, march them to the beaches and machine gun them. Who is with me? Please leave contact number and I will get my secretary to give you a call.
Originally posted by frakfrakfrak:Good evening Hitler youths. I do agree with you that Muslims are evil bastards out to deny everybody in the world the pleasure of eating swine meat. That's why there is a conspiracy to make every eating place halal. This of course must be stopped. I suggest we round up all the Muslims, march them to the beaches and machine gun them. Who is with me? Please leave contact number and I will get my secretary to give you a call.
live and let live.
i <33 lim chee guan
hahaha.. as a muslim, i like to laugh at you all.. so funny.
eh 9888Y who is lim chee guan?! khong guan i know ah. khong guan biscuits.
just wondering, if they can't even use wet tissue with alcohol, why can they touch money as in notes/coins? I bet money is more "dirty" than a wet tissue can be.
anyway, given how yoga is banned in some countries, I do hope for sensibility in our country and our muslim friends.
shouldnt this be in the joke forum?![]()
Originally posted by PtePinkY:okay. to verify, i am clone of no one. just started an account to be here. thats it.
muslim don demand for the damn halal certification. .
Its all actually sums up to u, if u wan to have a slice of the market.
muslims may not be the majority, but hey, hu's forcing yeah?
Originally posted by xXBlack_RebelXx:Trust me, Muslims will make sure you extend your hand to serve them. Remember the havock they created for Wikipedia a neautral free online encyclopedia based in america for their potrayal of muhammad with his face unblurred.
Anyone that ASKS anything are labelled islamophobic.
a pot calling a kettle black?![]()
no puns intended![]()
Originally posted by iceFatboy:just wondering, if they can't even use wet tissue with alcohol, why can they touch money as in notes/coins? I bet money is more "dirty" than a wet tissue can be.
anyway, given how yoga is banned in some countries, I do hope for sensibility in our country and our muslim friends.
just ignore the wet tissue part, will ya?
totally not relevant at all. . . prolly a misconception.
about yoga, blame malaysia. . .
its onli in THAT country