What do u think is the best out there. People say its Baba's
Originally posted by Kaimar:What do u think is the best out there. People say its Baba's
Best i do not know, but as a curry lover myself..i often go malay/indian resturant eat & steal see what they use.. its Baba brand, many of those 煮炒stalls also using it..
But got i time i go "pig leg market" eat lunch at hawker cte...the indian stall some chicken curry super power, i ask where he buy> he pointed to a shop & say its those mix & match type..
It still bepends on how the person cook it..with what spices etc..
*Because when i buy home, i try, taste 100% different..lolol
Frankly, I don't know. I was told we can buy nice curry powder from little india, true???
Personally, I like the japanese curry a lot.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Frankly, I don't know. I was told we can buy nice curry powder from little india, true???
he is referring to the old fashioned hand made curry powder shop i think.
think the' Experts will combine different kinds of curry powder
Originally posted by Kaimar:he is referring to the old fashioned hand made curry powder shop i think.
is that the shop next to the jewellery shop?
i dont know the shops, but theey are i think more hidden in the back alleys of serangoon.
Originally posted by bo liao:
*Because when i buy home, i try, taste 100% different..lolol
its because your method of cooking is wrong. U have to do these in order:
fry the fennel, cumin , cinnamon ,bay leaves, cloves and anise in oil till golden brown
add in onions, potatoes and tomato, fry till the onions are white
add in ccrushed ginger and garlic paste, coriander leaves
add in the curry powder to the paste and stir
then add in meat
stir
add in water and salt
cook for 1 hour ( depend on the heat and wok, or if are using pressure cooker)
Originally posted by Kaimar:What do u think is the best out there. People say its Baba's
Originally posted by Kaimar:its because your method of cooking is wrong. U have to do these in order:
fry the fennel, cumin , cinnamon ,bay leaves, cloves and anise in oil till golden brown
add in onions, potatoes and tomato, fry till the onions are white
add in ccrushed ginger and garlic paste, coriander leaves
add in the curry powder to the paste and stir
then add in meat
stir
add in water and salt
cook for 1 hour ( depend on the heat and wok, or if are using pressure cooker)
Does it apply too all ready pack curry paste also?
i always steal see a zhi cha stall tat cook good "curry chicken chicken dice rice" conferm use Baba's , i try come out not same taste..edible but dun hv the special smell..
Originally posted by bo liao:Does it apply too all ready pack curry paste also?
i always steal see a zhi cha stall tat cook good "curry chicken chicken dice rice" conferm use Baba's , i try come out not same taste..edible but dun hv the special smell..
same for ready pack curry paste. u add in instead of curry powder. The smell is due to the coriander and tomatoes cooking in the juice of meat.
i think yr steps are wrong.
Kaimar, now I am using "Earthen Pot" <<Fish Curry Powder>> (Ingredients: Coriander, Dry Chilli, Salt, Fennel Seed, Dhall, Turmeric, Rice, Cumin, Pepper) and "Rasaku" <<Assam Fish Mix>> (Ingredients: Sugar, Chilli, Salt, Tomato, Tamarind, Corn Starch, Turmeric, Ginger) at home
Have you happened to try it before? If you did, how is your liking towards them?
Thanks again
Originally posted by Bangulzai:Kaimar, now I am using "Earthen Pot" <<Fish Curry Powder>> (Ingredients: Coriander, Dry Chilli, Salt, Fennel Seed, Dhall, Turmeric, Rice, Cumin, Pepper) and "Rasaku" <<Assam Fish Mix>> (Ingredients: Sugar, Chilli, Salt, Tomato, Tamarind, Corn Starch, Turmeric, Ginger) at home
Have you happened to try it before? If you did, how is your liking towards them?
Thanks again
hmm.. not bad.But again remind u , if the cooking method is not proper, taste is different
Thank you Kaimar. Me find their taste is not bad too. I just find Rasaku Assam Fish Mix a little bit more salty than Earthen Pot Fish Curry Powder that's all
and yeah, after reading the above cooking procedures, may I ask if it's ok incorporate Lemongrass ?
thanks!
Originally posted by Bangulzai:
Thank you Kaimar. Me find their taste is not bad too. I just find Rasaku Assam Fish Mix a little bit more salty than Earthen Pot Fish Curry Powder that's all
and yeah, after reading the above cooking procedures, may I ask if it's ok incorporate Lemongrass ?
thanks!
think its ok.
Kaimar , THANKS !!
Because baba is famous. But there might be a better one hor.
I prefer Bhahim's chicken curry sauce, cos it is not so spicy and easy to cook. Just mix the sauce with chicken and patotoes bring it to boil and strew it for half an hour that's all!
Originally posted by dumbdumb!: