Find this a bit hard to swallow .... Singaporeans who lives in the HDB heartlands should know better than that, I find it hard to believe that the typical, pressed for time Singaporean would let a lift go by,living cheek by jowl as we do in the heartlands ... even if they were closet racists ...Originally posted by crazy monkey:Non-Malay won't get into lift with Malay. How civil are we if we can't be civil to fellow Singaporeans?
The Straits Times
November 8, 2005
I have been teaching in an international school in a Third World country for almost two years now. Recently I was back in Singapore to celebrate Hari Raya Aidilfitri with my family and friends.
What I experienced on the morning of Hari Raya makes me question how civilized are we if we can't be civil to fellow Singaporeans.
On Nov 3 at Block 723, Tampines Street 72, I was waiting for the lift to send some cakes I had bought overseas for my fiance's family. A non-Malay man was also waiting for the lift but when the lift came, he refused to take it.
Inside the lift, I kept the door open when I heard someone rushing to catch it. As soon as she stepped into the lift, her body had an 'automatic repel' action, or should I call it 'allergic reaction' to seeing a Malay girl in baju kurung inside.
It caused her to bounce back outside. She shook her head vigorously indicating a change of mind to stand in the same lift with me. As I shut the lift door, I saw a smirk on the man's face as he sniggered and nodded in agreement with the woman.
I have been keeping myself updated with the news in Singapore. I am well aware of the convicted racist bloggers but personally I think enforcing the laws to combat racism is not enough.
I have mingled with friends from other races, religions and cultures since I was young. Right from pre-school to university, these friends had walked with me through obstacles and we understood one another despite our differences.
In a multiracial country like Singapore, it is not enough just to be tolerant. We also need to mingle with others before we can understand them.
I was really upset by what I experienced especially when I had just arrived in Singapore a few hours earlier. How can we get foreign professionals to come to our country when we drive away our own professionals by exhibiting such attitudes?
Third World countries look up to Singapore as modern and efficient. But really, how modern and civilized are we in Singapore when educated people behave in less than intelligent ways?
My experiences in the Third World country where I work have taught me the importance of culture and humanity. Having to work with people from diverse backgrounds and nationalities is an experience.
We have cultural exchanges on a weekly basis. We also emphasize lifelong skills and independence amongst our students. In Singapore, are we adopting an assumed superiority and have forgotten about basic human values such as tact, sensitivity and understanding?
Junaidah Bt Sidik
There may be so many reasons why the man never went into the lift, like have to wait for another person parking the car, or forget to bring with him something, smell in lift due to dirty lift, etc.....Originally posted by crazy monkey:Non-Malay won't get into lift with Malay. How civil are we if we can't be civil to fellow Singaporeans?
The Straits Times
November 8, 2005
I have been teaching in an international school in a Third World country for almost two years now. Recently I was back in Singapore to celebrate Hari Raya Aidilfitri with my family and friends.
What I experienced on the morning of Hari Raya makes me question how civilized are we if we can't be civil to fellow Singaporeans.
On Nov 3 at Block 723, Tampines Street 72, I was waiting for the lift to send some cakes I had bought overseas for my fiance's family. A non-Malay man was also waiting for the lift but when the lift came, he refused to take it.
Inside the lift, I kept the door open when I heard someone rushing to catch it. As soon as she stepped into the lift, her body had an 'automatic repel' action, or should I call it 'allergic reaction' to seeing a Malay girl in baju kurung inside.
It caused her to bounce back outside. She shook her head vigorously indicating a change of mind to stand in the same lift with me. As I shut the lift door, I saw a smirk on the man's face as he sniggered and nodded in agreement with the woman.
I have been keeping myself updated with the news in Singapore. I am well aware of the convicted racist bloggers but personally I think enforcing the laws to combat racism is not enough.
I have mingled with friends from other races, religions and cultures since I was young. Right from pre-school to university, these friends had walked with me through obstacles and we understood one another despite our differences.
In a multiracial country like Singapore, it is not enough just to be tolerant. We also need to mingle with others before we can understand them.
I was really upset by what I experienced especially when I had just arrived in Singapore a few hours earlier. How can we get foreign professionals to come to our country when we drive away our own professionals by exhibiting such attitudes?
Third World countries look up to Singapore as modern and efficient. But really, how modern and civilized are we in Singapore when educated people behave in less than intelligent ways?
My experiences in the Third World country where I work have taught me the importance of culture and humanity. Having to work with people from diverse backgrounds and nationalities is an experience.
We have cultural exchanges on a weekly basis. We also emphasize lifelong skills and independence amongst our students. In Singapore, are we adopting an assumed superiority and have forgotten about basic human values such as tact, sensitivity and understanding?
Junaidah Bt Sidik
I not racist. I only don't take lifts with strangers unless my parents are with me. Learn in primary school from Mr Policeman that never take lifts with strangers. That's why.Originally posted by Fatum:Find this a bit hard to swallow .... Singaporeans who lives in the HDB heartlands should know better than that, I find it hard to believe that the typical, pressed for time Singaporean would let a lift go by,living cheek by jowl as we do in the heartlands ... even if they were closet racists ...
Perhaps she ran into some recent immigrants from another country ? ....
I do notice that immigrants from certain countries (with a homogenous population) do not quite share the same multi-cultural ideal ..... no prize for guessing which ones .... those who have interacted with some of those sorts would know what i mean .... I know we do try to inculcate the multi-racial ideal in the schools, but what about recent immigrants ? ....
for me, it is sometimes ok to let a lift go if it has too many people or someone has urinated hence too smelly or waiting for a friend...etc.Originally posted by Fatum:....I find it hard to believe that the typical, pressed for time Singaporean would let a lift go by,living cheek by jowl as we do in the heartlands ... even if they were closet racists...
look who's talkingOriginally posted by Mr Fugue:for me, it is sometimes ok to let a lift go if it has too many people or someone has urinated hence too smelly or waiting for a friend...etc.
letting lifts go is not a problem for me.
dun be too sensitive lah~!!
Mr Fugue lor...who else. Can't see the nick ah?Originally posted by Rahmania:look who's talking
Originally posted by Quinsy:Mr Fugue lor...who else. Can't see the nick ah?
+3...i tink the case will be even worse if its a indian person coz to some ppl the indians are smelly (due to the oil shit) to them...Originally posted by crazy monkey:Non-Malay won't get into lift with Malay. How civil are we if we can't be civil to fellow Singaporeans?
The Straits Times
November 8, 2005
Junaidah Bt Sidik
Is the writer over-reacting, suffering from jet lag or trying to stoke fires of discontent amongst the races?Originally posted by crazy monkey:It caused her to bounce back outside. She shook her head vigorously indicating a change of mind to stand in the same lift with me. As I shut the lift door, I saw a smirk on the man's face as he sniggered and nodded in agreement with the woman.
WAH! "automatic repel" action. hahaha.. i wonder why the woman got out of the lift and the man nodded in agreement some more. he think he President give permission for NDP to carry on ah? "the parade is ready for your inspection, sir." -nods-Originally posted by crazy monkey:Inside the lift, I kept the door open when I heard someone rushing to catch it. As soon as she stepped into the lift, her body had an 'automatic repel' action, or should I call it 'allergic reaction' to seeing a Malay girl in baju kurung inside.
Originally posted by sinicker:The man is just another fucking loser who earns a meagre 1K salary in a small time company....he think he's god must nod? fuckng coward......a real coward he is.... such bastads like him will only show their farked up attitude to normal people and not to bigshots...a big big loser just like the rest the average shitty hypocrite scared of law, scared of rules, scared of future , scared of police, scared of Ns. ......all in all a scary cat a better word for the sh_t.....
WAH! "automatic repel" action. hahaha.. i wonder why the woman got out of the lift and the man nodded in agreement some more. he think he President give permission for NDP to carry on ah? "the parade is ready for your inspection, sir." -nods-
i wonder what's wrong with the Malay woman in question that made the 2 non-Malays not want to take the lift with her. if they were neighbours and wanted to chit-chat, they would have been talking even before the non-Malay woman got into the lift. does anyone wait for the lift doors to close then start talking?
whatever it is, racism is seen anywhere lah. it's hard to eradicate it. almost impossible, i should say.
It is also in sgforumsOriginally posted by BlUe G@rF|eLd:haha, sadly to say, racism is everywhere, nt juz in Singapore. Its oly hw serious it kan go, and wat extreme action kan be done...