Last week my mum asked me to buy a few boxes of incense for her. So when I happened to passby this neighborhood shop selling religious offerings products, i went in & take a look. It's the 1st time i bought from this shop... since I'm in a hurry & price seem slightly cheaper, without much thought I bought a box. When I reached home, I realised the cover is a little loose, i opened & checked...

I noticed the package inside seem smaller, so to compare, I took another box of incense, SAME brand & size which my mum bought previously from another shop. After that, i decided to confront the uncle, at the same time to check whether if the uncle is to blame or some one might have changed the package without his knowledge. When I asked him, why the package i bought is smaller? He
claimed that ALL the others are the same size as the one I bought & denied that it's smaller. He then took another 'new' box of incense from his display shelf, opened up & showed it to me.![]()

I said to him this is not the 1st time I have use this brand & I have another box at home. The uncle keep silence for a while, staring at his shelf... then he replied, "when the products came in it's like that one", he then showed me his box of incense at my face AGAIN... wtf. At the point, I also noticed MOST of the seals on the boxes have been removed or damaged. so i questioned him on that... NOW his reply was most of the customers open up to check before buying, so there's no big deal about it.
(Now obviously he trying to cheat his way out)

To shorten the story, he later gave all sort of lame excuses during the argument, and INSISTED he had done nothing wrong, but what really pissed me off was at the end, he said that he is selling religious products to help people and will never cheat their customers. I told him that he's just operating a dishonest business using the name of religion, nothing more... & I walked off while he was still mumbling.![]()
JUST A REMINDER - There are LOts of scams & petty cheats these days, so be extra careful of ANY products & services u are PAYING FOR. (For those who use this or similar products, please share especially with your elderly parents, ask them to check carefully before buying.)
noted with thanks ![]()
wah lao eh!
religious things also want to cheat!
it's bad karma.. he'll get his
where is it?
i also buey song when i went to a shop to buy those candlelights one afternoon.. they wanted to sell me $5 per box when my mum bought $3 only in the same morning. I wanted to buy about 3 boxes.
i confronted him he ee ee ah ah.. then got the cheek to tell me price has always been $5. abt 2 weeks later my mummy go buy again asked him why he wana sell me at $5.
(Sorry if this is off-topic but its just another scam to take note of)
Channel NewsAsia - 29 minutes ago
SINGAPORE: A house buyer was cheated of S$5,000 when she was buying a five—room resale flat in Woodlands.
Wong Git Siow said: "Since I was already buying the house, and... she (the flat owner) said she did not have enough money for the New Year, I did not mind giving her the $5,000 deposit."
Ms Wong claimed that the flat owner changed her mind after receiving the S$5,000 deposit, and never returned the money.
She also said that the owner failed to bring the relevant documents on two separate occasions when she tried to seal the deal last November.
The owner has been missing in action since then.
Ms Wong had applied for a house loan and if it is cancelled, she will have to pay a penalty of S$2,000.
She added that the seller had taken a S$2,500 loan from the property agent and did not pay back.
Both Ms Wong and the property agent have filed a police report and reported the matter to the Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE).
But CASE pointed out that this case is not within its jurisdiction as it only deals with companies and agencies. It advised Ms Wong and the property agent to approach a lawyer instead.
The transaction period for the flat expired earlier this month. — CNA/ac
See the 'gap widening'...so i guess there will be more of such cases...
All i can say it's one of your 'friendly' neighborhood shops, this can happen anywhere lar... just be cautious of those petty cheaters... Usually many people over will overlook such these cases one, it's an opportunity for them...
YA! ...really buey song lor, coz my mum or me will usually buy at least 2 or 3 boxes at one go... nb
Originally posted by browniebaobao:where is it?
i also buey song when i went to a shop to buy those candlelights one afternoon.. they wanted to sell me $5 per box when my mum bought $3 only in the same morning. I wanted to buy about 3 boxes.
i confronted him he ee ee ah ah.. then got the cheek to tell me price has always been $5. abt 2 weeks later my mummy go buy again asked him why he wana sell me at $5.
just your luck in getting those lor
wah lau eh.. biscuit also got like that ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:wah lau eh.. biscuit also got like that
didn't realise it till now so in future when buying cream-filled biscuits, must open & inspect liao ![]()
These kinda things also wanna cheat... Que de...
pretty smart businessman, if u think it that way
at least it's only small amount of money.
haiz....Thanks TS
Haix... This is the result of the decaying of humans. I tell you ar. If one day, everything's gone. Human goes back to farming for food to feed ourselves. World would be much much better. It's because of greed and want to live in luxury that people end up like that.
Are you envious of Bill Gate's money? Or knowledge?
If you're after his money. Congrats, you've been poisoned.
which shop?
wat biscuit?
ur incense hw much the difference?
lol u talk to the owner no use la. most important thing is thatu need to tell every customer inside that he is ceating .. that is best revenge
then u go report police to check if hes lying..
he wil kana badly la.. haiyo, u only know how to whine here
omg...why do they wanna cheat over such stuffs
Originally posted by dangerboi:omg...why do they wanna cheat over such stuffs
Cos when they died, their childrens can burn all the cheated incenses for them free of charge!
Not only incense and biscuits. Even the tissue that you buy at Sheng Siong, NTUC or any supermarket. Is there any guarantee that the 100pcs is really 100 pcs?
Who is doing the QC and who is so boliao enough to count every pc? This info was divulged during my marketing lecture :lol:
Originally posted by Good2go:Last week my mum asked me to buy a few boxes of incense for her. So when I happened to passby this neighborhood shop selling religious offerings products, i went in & take a look. It's the 1st time i bought from this shop... since I'm in a hurry & price seem slightly cheaper, without much thought I bought a box. When I reached home, I realised the cover is a little loose, i opened & checked...
I noticed the package inside seem smaller, so to compare, I took another box of incense, SAME brand & size which my mum bought previously from another shop. After that, i decided to confront the uncle, at the same time to check whether if the uncle is to blame or some one might have changed the package without his knowledge. When I asked him, why the package i bought is smaller? He
claimed that ALL the others are the same size as the one I bought & denied that it's smaller. He then took another 'new' box of incense from his display shelf, opened up & showed it to me.
I said to him this is not the 1st time I have use this brand & I have another box at home. The uncle keep silence for a while, staring at his shelf... then he replied, "when the products came in it's like that one", he then showed me his box of incense at my face AGAIN... wtf. At the point, I also noticed MOST of the seals on the boxes have been removed or damaged. so i questioned him on that... NOW his reply was most of the customers open up to check before buying, so there's no big deal about it.
(Now obviously he trying to cheat his way out)
To shorten the story, he later gave all sort of lame excuses during the argument, and INSISTED he had done nothing wrong, but what really pissed me off was at the end, he said that he is selling religious products to help people and will never cheat their customers. I told him that he's just operating a dishonest business using the name of religion, nothing more... & I walked off while he was still mumbling.
JUST A REMINDER - There are LOts of scams & petty cheats these days, so be extra careful of ANY products & services u are PAYING FOR. (For those who use this or similar products, please share especially with your elderly parents, ask them to check carefully before buying.)
but the smaller box in the picture is also in proper packaging
doesn't look like it's been opened
and you said it is cheaper also
???
inflation.....cannot blame them....hahaa
Originally posted by FireIce:pretty smart businessman, if u think it that way
but still kinda petty ![]()
thank u for this thread
I forget to mention, this brand have few different types of grades, sizes and the package look very similar, that's
why some retailer take advantage of this. Let's say if I swap the same size but of different grade, it's not easy to tell the difference. Look closely I have swapped the package...

If I had bought 3 boxes, I could have easily lose about $6.00. If smaller size, even more. So it's very important
to check the seal on the box... & did u notice the colour of the two packages of incense are slightly different too?

Some may comment that it's nothing new, just a petty cheat and no use complaining. If this is the case, there are
crimes happening everyday, so it's nothing new too. Then the victims need not complain or speak up, no need
for news report, no need share & remind others...
To me, it doesn't matter how much the amount involve, cheating is still cheating and my purpose of posting is CLEAR, to share and warn more people, so people can be more alert when they are spending, and I encourage other to share if they are being cheated. NO DOUBT there are cases which cannot be resolve, there's nothing we can do to get back our loses. At least we can share and alert the others... the more the better!!!.
REMINDER - There are LOts of scams & petty cheats these days, so be extra careful of ANY products & services u are PAYING FOR. (For those who use this or similar products, please share especially with your elderly parents, ask them to check carefully before buying.)
oic...