i quote myself.
"i just want to get a laptop bag w/o having to be expected to speak mandarin by the sales assistant!"
thanks.
soon more and more singaporean will migrate to other country
Its not all 'bout nationality or race that counts, its d attitude & upbringings that means 2 pple...
They are eberiwhere.
Slowly taking ova the werld.
Originally posted by 787180:The Chinamen are boisterous and crude while their girls ended as prostitutes and pollute our shores,S’pore fast becoming a low class society.Although some do contribute to our economy,like engineers,accountants,entreprenuers,etc but they also benefited from SG citizens granted or scholarships for chinese undergraduates.
Dun generalise. There are actually gals from China who jus wanna earn a living in a decent job in SG & go back to their own country, but bcos of some uneducated men who generalised tat all gals from PRC are pros, tat make their lives difficult.
The men may b crude & boisterous, but it's their culture. I hav to admit i do not like tat either, but wat is there to complain when u cant really do anythin abt one's culture?
chinaman crude and boisterous? den what about Hong Kong men? hahaha. look at the way they talk, like machiam shouting though i know they're not scolding. i find the way my uncle who's from hongkong talk quite amusing ![]()
We should be proud that our race is going to become the next dominant race on this planet. In 30 years time Singaporeans will start wishing they were PRC. Just like how half our teenagers wish they were Jap/American/British whatever ...
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:We should be proud that our race is going to become the next dominant race on this planet. In 30 years time Singaporeans will start wishing they were PRC. Just like how half our teenagers wish they were Jap/American/British whatever ...
Pure Bullshit...
Actually is up to own individual thinking... Because not everyone wants to act like an americian or english man, where else for me i feel great being who i am.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:We should be proud that our race is going to become the next dominant race on this planet. In 30 years time Singaporeans will start wishing they were PRC. Just like how half our teenagers wish they were Jap/American/British whatever ...
30 years maybe too short.....I have a feeling it will take 50+ years...
Maybe by that time Im too old already, or Im dead already, dont see anything.
Deng Xiaoping died before he had the chance to see for himself HK back in China.
If he had lived today, he would be proud to see HK not only back, HK people warmly welcomed the Olympic torch.
Some things take time.
Meat Pao.
teenagers like me like only america, jap and british fashions and pop songs, or even hk, taiwan and korea, so to speak, but to be like them is a total different issue. And Dun take teenagers as a point of arguement here, cos we our mind are not settle and change all the times, we tend to idolise things and people that are famous, but i believe as adults like you, your thinking will be different, you will be more patriotic to your own identity. You yourself must hv been thru teenager life before ya, so at the point of time, what was in your mind?? i guess you also idolise movie star and singer and all those fashionable stuffs of your time.
I know what you mean, but dont be so quick to dismiss what it means "to be like them". Its often part of the subconscious. Teengers want to speak like them, dress like them, style their hair like them, watch their shows, listen to their music. And it inevitably creeps into the psyche. And this phenomenon only exists with first world/ dominant cultures (eg. Jap/US). Therefore China will start to exhibit such qualities in time. What we think of them now, as poor/boisterous/uncivilised .. will soon change.
And "Dun take teenagers as a point of arguement here, cos we our mind are not settle and change all the times, we tend to idolise things and people" - That is precisely why teenagers are a good judge of public opinion, especially of a country's international image. Have you ever seen a Singaporean teenager who subcribes to Burmese/Botwanian/Moroccan culture ?
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:I know what you mean, but dont be so quick to dismiss what it means "to be like them". Its often part of the subconscious. Teengers want to speak like them, dress like them, style their hair like them, watch their shows, listen to their music. And it inevitably creeps into the psyche. And this phenomenon only exists with first world/ dominant cultures (eg. Jap/US). Therefore China will start to exhibit such qualities in time. What we think of them now, as poor/boisterous/uncivilised .. will soon change.
And "Dun take teenagers as a point of arguement here, cos we our mind are not settle and change all the times, we tend to idolise things and people" - That is precisely why teenagers are a good judge of public opinion, especially of a country's international image. Have you ever seen a Singaporean teenager who subcribes to Burmese/Botwanian/Moroccan culture ?
Teenagers idolising new trendy stuffs, beauti and fashion is normal, but it does not said that we want to be in their shoes such as their culturea, their way of lifes. If Nike got new lady's shoes, i go for it, but that does not mean I am americanised. If a popular young US or taiwan singer come here to perform, i will try to get the ticket, but does not mean I like USA or Taiwan and take on their culture.
But i believe that as we grow up, our hormone change, as adult I have no doubt you have your own style, character and decision to make. No more living in naive state like we teenagers do, where everything is good and fine and carefree.
And if china is to one day become an icon for teenagers to follow, it still belong to the entertaining icon but never the culture. As young singaporeans, we know that there is no better place than a place we call it home. I can listen to Justin Timberlake, my idol, WangLeeHong, my idol and secret admirer, I can wear Nike, polo Ralp, E spirit, Mango, CK fashions. But i still identify myself as Singapore even if I am driving a Cherry Car that is made in China.
I'm glad to hear your explanation of your viewpoint. But you seem to distance music, fashion, and lifestyle preferences from culture. I'd say that this distinction isnt really qualified.
"but it does not said that we want to be in their shoes such as their culturea, their way of lifes"
"but does not mean I like USA or Taiwan and take on their culture."
"it still belong to the entertaining icon but never the culture"
You seem to be suggesting that we like their culture, but we dont take it on ? That assumes that we have our own unique culture, which defines us, and we occasionally subscribe to foreign influences.
The problem with that is, what then is our culture. We dont take on their culture, then what is our culture ? When you are not wearing the Nike shoes, the westerns/jap/taiwanese style clothes, listening to foreign music, what are the alternatives ?
Do you have indigeneous singaporean clothing to wear ? a sarong perhaps ? traditional music ? I wouldnt think so. In that case, almost all the culture we have, and live with, is foreign !
Like i said, its mostly subconscious. Just like propaganda. You wont know that you're brainwashed. Eg. You think that the Straits Times is reliable, accurate, so much better than all those crazy malaysian/whatever newspapers. But do you know how state controlled our press is ? That everything you see and hear is decided by the government ?
From the Economic point of view, due to the low cost of hiring these foreign workers (not just China), it will make Singapore goods more competitive in the global market. If everything is done by locals by Singapore high wage policies, chances are high we are going to lose out.
So from the Economic point of view, its a good thing to have foreigners, afterall isn't the target to have 25% foreigners?
Just from a typical Singaporean POV... some of them are nice people, not all. Those I met in the food sector (ie they prepare the food) are nice people, but I can't really say for the service sectors. (not that kind of sectors, lah!)
Originally posted by DrAlienology:From the Economic point of view, due to the low cost of hiring these foreign workers (not just China), it will make Singapore goods more competitive in the global market. If everything is done by locals by Singapore high wage policies, chances are high we are going to lose out.
So from the Economic point of view, its a good thing to have foreigners, afterall isn't the target to have 25% foreigners?Just from a typical Singaporean POV... some of them are nice people, not all. Those I met in the food sector (ie they prepare the food) are nice people, but I can't really say for the service sectors. (not that kind of sectors, lah!)
From economic point of view, your stand that they make SG goods more competitive is debatable. Although it is without doubt that they lower the cost of production, thereby lowering the prices of goods, resulting in export competitiveness, but the quality of goods might go down.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:I'm glad to hear your explanation of your viewpoint. But you seem to distance music, fashion, and lifestyle preferences from culture. I'd say that this distinction isnt really qualified.
"but it does not said that we want to be in their shoes such as their culturea, their way of lifes"
"but does not mean I like USA or Taiwan and take on their culture."
"it still belong to the entertaining icon but never the culture"
You seem to be suggesting that we like their culture, but we dont take it on ? That assumes that we have our own unique culture, which defines us, and we occasionally subscribe to foreign influences.
The problem with that is, what then is our culture. We dont take on their culture, then what is our culture ? When you are not wearing the Nike shoes, the westerns/jap/taiwanese style clothes, listening to foreign music, what are the alternatives ?
Do you have indigeneous singaporean clothing to wear ? a sarong perhaps ? traditional music ? I wouldnt think so. In that case, almost all the culture we have, and live with, is foreign !
Like i said, its mostly subconscious. Just like propaganda. You wont know that you're brainwashed. Eg. You think that the Straits Times is reliable, accurate, so much better than all those crazy malaysian/whatever newspapers. But do you know how state controlled our press is ? That everything you see and hear is decided by the government ?
Ok, i am a chinese singaporean young gal, i do wear nikes and fashionable US of A wears, listen to jap made sony Mps and carrying a european made h/p and palms. But i still celebrate chinese new year, bak chang festival, moon cake festival, national day and also many other races new years and holidays. I am trained and brought up in a culture whereby kiasee and kiasu play a role in it. I enjoy clubbing with frens and disco abit to lead a fruitful youth life.
And as i grow older, i begin to understand parenting and our nation policies. I begin to appreciate what we have here when i go overseas, I begin to see the need to be a good citizen. I begin to see a status in me by which i am proud to be a Singaporeans within a Singapore cultures.
Most of our textbooks and studies are base on foreign authord and writers, so as our goods and products here, but that does not mean we absorb their culture and forgo our nationalities. Do you think the govt wish us to get culturally influence/brainwash by foreigners? To be like them with a freedom of speech and all those riots and free to protest?? I dun think so. If they allow that, they are doom, that is why they instill a total control from young, PAP kindergarden to govt school and to army for guys. But the time we graduated, the kaisee and kiasu factor is already inprinted on us, and that make us challenging, struggling and stress ourselves out to be in the forefront of life. And most important, the fear factor instill on us gives the govt an upper hand of control.
The govt allow you access to internet, you can go for BBC, CNN and all foreign news you like, what is there to brainwash in term of the media?? As a natural resourceless country,we must adopted an open economy inorder to bring in wealths and jobs, therefore the explode of informations and cultures sprout like no one business, it is skeptical that some youths may go to the extreme of following trendy stuff like piercing and tatooing, but no one is yet to take a gun and shoot freely as USA do.
Tho i am not eligible to vote, but i understand that the relevant party get the higher vote wins and be the govt, it like an endorsement from the peoples of the country that allow them to be the govt. And once you endorsed a everything you hear and say is controlled by the govt kind of ruling party, why are you whining?
Originally posted by angel7030:
Ok, i am a chinese singaporean young gal, i do wear nikes and fashionable US of A wears, listen to jap made sony Mps and carrying a european made h/p and palms. But i still celebrate chinese new year, bak chang festival, moon cake festival, national day and also many other races new years and holidays. I am trained and brought up in a culture whereby kiasee and kiasu play a role in it. I enjoy clubbing with frens and disco abit to lead a fruitful youth life.And as i grow older, i begin to understand parenting and our nation policies. I begin to appreciate what we have here when i go overseas, I begin to see the need to be a good citizen. I begin to see a status in me by which i am proud to be a Singaporeans within a Singapore cultures.
Most of our textbooks and studies are base on foreign authord and writers, so as our goods and products here, but that does not mean we absorb their culture and forgo our nationalities. Do you think the govt wish us to get culturally influence/brainwash by foreigners? To be like them with a freedom of speech and all those riots and free to protest?? I dun think so. If they allow that, they are doom, that is why they instill a total control from young, PAP kindergarden to govt school and to army for guys. But the time we graduated, the kaisee and kiasu factor is already inprinted on us, and that make us challenging, struggling and stress ourselves out to be in the forefront of life. And most important, the fear factor instill on us gives the govt an upper hand of control.
The govt allow you access to internet, you can go for BBC, CNN and all foreign news you like, what is there to brainwash in term of the media?? As a natural resourceless country,we must adopted an open economy inorder to bring in wealths and jobs, therefore the explode of informations and cultures sprout like no one business, it is skeptical that some youths may go to the extreme of following trendy stuff like piercing and tatooing, but no one is yet to take a gun and shoot freely as USA do.
Tho i am not eligible to vote, but i understand that the relevant party get the higher vote wins and be the govt, it like an endorsement from the peoples of the country that allow them to be the govt. And once you endorsed a everything you hear and say is controlled by the govt kind of ruling party, why are you whining?
"that does not mean we absorb their culture and forgo our nationalities." - Why do you assume that they are mutually exclusive. What you think is your indigeneous nationality, IS foreign culture.
"Do you think the govt wish us to get culturally influence/brainwash by foreigners? To be like them with a freedom of speech and all those riots and free to protest?? I dun think so. If they allow that, they are doom" - That, my friend, is the best example of a brainwashed young Singaporean girl. The freedom to protest, the freedom of speech, is the inherent right of every human being. If a government that allows that is doomed, its an incompetant government. The PAP wants you to think that freedoms lead to degeneration, and it looks like they succeeded. Can you imagine what else you hold as TRUTH, is actually conjured by your beloved government ?
"The govt allow you access to internet, you can go for BBC, CNN and all foreign news you like, what is there to brainwash in term of the media??" - You think that is freedom ? You think that is 'seeing the world' ? Want to give it a try ? You find the pro-Al Qaeda website, find the pro-islamic extremism websites. If you can find them, you tell me, and then we have media freedom. (although i dont condone these websites, they are a symbol of real transperency).
And once you endorsed a everything you hear and say is controlled by the govt kind of ruling party, why are you whining? - Some people vote for the opposition. Some people like PRs and Expats cant vote. Personally, Im too young to vote.