*hint*
the two number is XY and YX. assume X=9, Y=1
in number terms, it can be expressed as (10X + Y), and (10Y +X)
so the two numbers is 91, 19.
now you can use algebra to help you solve!
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:because Daisuke-kun and Daisuki-kun are 2 different people
wrong lah....hahahahahhahahahaa
They are standing back to back
Consider a 5 by 5 Chess Board. Is it possible to place
5 Queens on the board such that three pawns can safely
be placed on the board? (aka, by carefully choosing where
to place the 5 queens, can you arrange it so that there
are 3 squares on the board that none of the queens can
attack)
Originally posted by skythewood:busy... why don't you post some?
i post another one
sbs and dinky live in two different house numbers. sum of the 2 number is a perfect square, their difference is a perfect cube. their house number is also the reverse of each other. what are their house numbers?
let one number(bigger) be XY, the other number be YX. in absolute term, can be express in (10X + Y) and (10Y + X).
Sum of two number = 11X + 11Y
= 11(X +Y)
multiples of 11 that is square root ==> 121
conclusion ===> X+Y = 11
Difference of two numbers = (10X + Y) - (10Y + X)
= 9X-9Y
= 9(X-Y)
Cube root possible ===> 27
conclusion ====> X -Y = 3
by comparing conclusion, X = 7, Y = 4.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:wrong lah....hahahahahhahahahaa
They are standing back to back
huh?
but got 3 different people rite?
- - x x -
x - - x -
x - - - -
- - - - -
- - - - -
5 pirates discover 100 gold coins. the pirates are ranked by seniority, pirate A is the most senior, while E is the least senior. Then they decided to split the loot.
The most senior pirate will propose a distribution, den everybody votes, including the most senior pirate. if at least 50% of the pirates accept the proposal den the gold will be divided as as proposed. if not the most senior pirate will be killed and the process starts again with the next senior pirate, until a plan is approved.
the pirates are extremely rational and noe how others will vote in every scenario.
staying alive is their top priority, followed by getting as much gold as possible, and finally, if given a choice between otherwise equal outcomes, to have fewer pirates on the boat.
the most senior pirate thinks for a moment and then proposes a plan that maximizes his gold, and which he knows the others will accept.
a) how does he divide up the coins?
b)what plan would the most senior pirate propose on a boat full of 15 pirates?
a) the captain can get 98 coins.
b) let me sleep on that
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:5 pirates discover 100 gold coins. the pirates are ranked by seniority, pirate A is the most senior, while E is the least senior. Then they decided to split the loot.
The most senior pirate will propose a distribution, den everybody votes, including the most senior pirate. if at least 50% of the pirates accept the proposal den the gold will be divided as as proposed. if not the most senior pirate will be killed and the process starts again with the next senior pirate, until a plan is approved.
the pirates are extremely rational and noe how others will vote in every scenario.
staying alive is their top priority, followed by getting as much gold as possible, and finally, if given a choice between otherwise equal outcomes, to have fewer pirates on the boat.
the most senior pirate thinks for a moment and then proposes a plan that maximizes his gold, and which he knows the others will accept.
a) how does he divide up the coins?
b)what plan would the most senior pirate propose on a boat full of 15 pirates?
Pirate 5 being the most senior knows that he needs to get 2 other people to vote for his solution in order for him not to be executed. so who can he get to vote for him, and why would they choose to vote for him? if you start thinking that pirate 4 will never vote for him, because he would rather have 5 die and then be in charge and take it all for himself, you are on the right track. but it gets more complicated.
lets consider if there were only 1 pirate. obviously he would take it all for himself and no one would complain.
if there were 2 pirates, pirate 2 being the most senior, he would just vote for himself and that would be 50% of the vote, so he's obviously going to keep all the money for himself.
if there were 3 pirates, pirate 3 has to convince at least one other person to join in his plan. so who can he convince and how? here is the leap that needs to be made to solve this problem. pirate 3 realizes that if his plan is not adopted he will be executed and they will be left with 2 pirates. he already knows what happens when there are 2 pirates as we just figured out. pirate 2 takes all the money himself and gives nothing to pirate 1. so pirate 3 proposes that he will take 99 gold coins and give 1 coin to pirate 1. pirate 1 says, well, 1 is better than none, and since i know if i don't vote for pirate 3, i get nothing, i should vote for this plan.
now we know what happens when there are 3 pirates. so what happens with 4? well pirate 4 has to convince 1 other person to join in his plan. he knows if he walks the plank then pirate 3 will get 99 coins and pirate 1 will get 1 coin. pirate 4 could propose giving pirate 1 two coins, and surely pirate 1 would vote for him, since 2 is better than 1. but as greedy as he is, pirate 4 would rather not part with 2 whole coins. he realizes that if he gets executed, then pirate 3's scenario happens and pirate 2 gets the shaft in that scenario (he gets zero coins). so pirate 4 proposes that he will give 1 coin to pirate 2, and pirate 2 seeing that 1 is better than 0 will obviously vote for this plan.
a common objection is that pirate 2 is not guaranteed to vote for this plan since he might hope for the case when there are only 2 pirates and then he gets all the booty. but that is why i said that the pirates are extremely intelligent. pirate 2 realizes that pirate 3 is smart enough to make the optimal proposal, so he realizes that there will never be 2 pirates left, because 3 doesn't want to die and we just showed that 3 has a winning proposal.
so lets sum up at this point
Pirate 1 2 3 4 5
5. ? ? ? ? ?
4. 0 1 0 99 -
3. 1 0 99 - -
2. 0 100 - - -
once you see the pattern it becomes very clear. you have to realize
that when a pirate's plan does not succeed then that means you are in
the same situation with one less pirate.
1. pirate 1 needs 0 other
people to vote for him. so he votes for himself and takes all the
money. 2. pirate 2 needs 0 other people to vote for him. so he votes
for himself and takes all the money. pirate 1 gets 0. 3. pirate 3 needs
1 other person to vote for him. he gives 1 coin to pirate 1 for his
vote - if we are reduced to 2 pirates, pirate 1 gets 0 so pirate 1
knows 1 is better than none. pirate 3 takes 99. pirate 2 gets 0. 4.
pirate 4 needs 1 other person to vote for him. he gives 1 coin to
pirate 2 - if we reduce to 3 pirates, pirate 2 gets 0 so pirate 2 knows
1 is better than none. pirate 4 takes 99. pirate 3 gets 0. pirate 1
gets 0. 5. pirate 5 needs 2 other people to vote for him. its clear now
that the 2 people he needs to convince are the 2 who get shafted in the
4 pirate scenario - pirate 3 and pirate 1. so he can give them each 1
coin (which is better than 0 - what they would get otherwise) and keep
98 for himself.
Pirate 1 2 3 4 5
5. 1 0 1 0 98
what happens if there are 15 pirates? pirate 15 needs 7 other people to vote for him, so he recruits pirates 13,11,9,7,5,3, and 1 with 1 coin each and keeps 93 coins himself. those pirates will all vote for him because they know that they get 0 coins if he dies and pirate 14 is in charge.
Saw this question before in a website.
tomorrow i gooing to the zoo
i like zoo too
lol.. after i see so many qns and solns i only got 1 thought.. this world really got so many smart yet boliao ppl.. lol..
think some of the q is from internet, so solved very quickly...
yah i meant the ppl on the internet.. not this forum.. haha..
they take the effort to do such stuff.. haha..
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:huh?
but got 3 different people rite?
typo lah....hahaha
why no more questions liao?! ![]()
i post pirates liao leh
haha
where is TS!
he shud be posting
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:i post pirates liao leh
haha
where is TS!
he shud be posting
What starts with a F and ends with a K.
Originally posted by skythewood:Five people were in a free-for-all paintball war. Once someone was shot, they could no longer shoot and were out of the game. Nobody shot more than 1 person. If the winner is the only person telling the truth, then who was the last person standing?
RJ: I shot Jake
Jake: Toparnis did not shoot Drake
Drake: RJ was shot by a liar
Glebb: Jake shot Toparnis
Toparnis: Drake didn’t shoot anyone
Toparnis?
Originally posted by crimsontactics:What starts with a F and ends with a K.
flick
Originally posted by skythewood:Five people were in a free-for-all paintball war. Once someone was shot, they could no longer shoot and were out of the game. Nobody shot more than 1 person. If the winner is the only person telling the truth, then who was the last person standing?
RJ: I shot Jake
Jake: Toparnis did not shoot Drake
Drake: RJ was shot by a liar
Glebb: Jake shot Toparnis
Toparnis: Drake didn’t shoot anyone
Jake???
Originally posted by crimsontactics:What starts with a F and ends with a K.
Is this a funny dirty joke??
Firetruck or Fxxk