Why it seems that christmas has more value then any other festival in singapore?seems like christmas is more highly celebrated than chinese new year?i dunno lehx..but..isnt christmas for christian?why singaporean are so into xmas?
i don't celebrate xmas..in fact i hate it coz i lan lan have to buy present for ppl last time..now i dun even care a shit..
singaporean so angmo de mehx?
it's all because of american imperialism.....
got presents what..
it's a religious festival..
commemorating the birth of the Christian Saviour around 2000 years ago...
non-christian do it do?why should they care when jesus or whosoever born on which day?tsk..singaporean ar...haix
I celebrate whatever that gives me a holiday break ...
Originally posted by Ice Dive:I celebrate whatever that gives me a holiday break ...
x2! ![]()
Originally posted by themoment86:Why it seems that christmas has more value then any other festival in singapore?seems like christmas is more highly celebrated than chinese new year?i dunno lehx..but..isnt christmas for christian?why singaporean are so into xmas?
i don't celebrate xmas..in fact i hate it coz i lan lan have to buy present for ppl last time..now i dun even care a shit..
Because we all lived and exists in this superficial society that requires all of us to be pretentious and superficial in order for us to be accepted and allowed to thrive for our own survival.
Are you prepared to go against your society?
You certainly can do so only if you're in a position to do so. ![]()
Originally posted by themoment86:Why it seems that christmas has more value then any other festival in singapore?seems like christmas is more highly celebrated than chinese new year?i dunno lehx..but..isnt christmas for christian?why singaporean are so into xmas?
Because Christmas is multi-racial.. unlike cny, CHINESE new year
Because Christmas is the season of giving...
...to retail shops.
but i think everyday, love is the best gift for everyone
Originally posted by tr@nsp0rt_F3V3R:but i think everyday, love is the best gift for everyone
Cos it's free for all
Originally posted by tr@nsp0rt_F3V3R:but i think everyday, love is the best gift for everyone
What kind of love?
How would you expressed love for everyone? ![]()
Talk is easy.
Celebrate or enjoy.
I dont celebrate Christmas but I enjoy Christmas every year. Christmas party invitations bo liau one
Who says Jesus was born on 25 December 00XX? Nobody knows his birthday.
If you do not know your birthday, the government will record it as 1 January of the most likely year. My friend's father celebrates his birthday on the 1st of January each year, because his birthday is not known.
25 December is nominated as Jesus's birthday.
I like the spririt of giving during Christmas, because I am the one receiving.![]()
got singaporean christian ma.....
but me ish not la.
but still got celebrate ![]()
sort of agree, the most cheapest thing yet the most expensive thing ~ love, care
Originally posted by themoment86:i don't celebrate xmas..in fact i hate it
+1
free booze at seoti's house ![]()
It largely depends on what you mean by "celebrate" in your understanding.
To me, it seems like you're equating the commercialisation of Christmas with "celebration".
There are the Christians who celebrate Christmas as the birth of Jesus.
And then there are the rest who celebrate Christmas for all other matters, like snow, cold, holidays, gifts, shopping, gatherings etc.
Isnt the answer damn obvious ? Christmas is the most important festival of by far the largest religion in Singapore. Thats why the celebrations are so elaborate. So simple question also want to ask ...
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:Isnt the answer damn obvious ? Christmas is the most important festival of by far the largest religion in Singapore. Thats why the celebrations are so elaborate. So simple question also want to ask ...
christian is not the "largest religion" in sg. and i also do not think religion is the problem. can you explain why chinese new year is not as elaborate as christmas, when chinese is the "largest race", in your terms, in singapore.
its only because majority of singaporeans are influenced by the west. and the west celebrates christmas. and so singaporeans follow.
another factor, i think, is that christmas celebrations are purposely made to be so elaborate. this is for the benefits of the economy.shops tend to decorate, hold sales or promotions,if u notice.
you also must not forget about the nature of singaporeans. singaporeans dont like to lose out to each other. kiasu, in other words. when they see this friend or relative of theirs giving christmas gifts, they will tend to be paiseh if they dont give back.
Originally posted by deteq:christian is not the "largest religion" in sg. and i also do not think religion is the problem. can you explain why chinese new year is not as elaborate as christmas, when chinese is the "largest race", in your terms, in singapore.
its only because majority of singaporeans are influenced by the west. and the west celebrates christmas. and so singaporeans follow.
another factor, i think, is that christmas celebrations are purposely made to be so elaborate. this is for the benefits of the economy.shops tend to decorate, hold sales or promotions,if u notice.
you also must not forget about the nature of singaporeans. singaporeans dont like to lose out to each other. kiasu, in other words. when they see this friend or relative of theirs giving christmas gifts, they will tend to be paiseh if they dont give back.
uhh sorry i wasnt talking about christianity, i know very well that christianity is not the largest religion
We are all influenced by the media. Of how Christmases should be like. Gifts, people getting together, shopping etc. All these fueled by the shopping malls cashing in and making it like one big affair. And somemore, Christmas is near to the new year holiday as well, so making this period all the more "holiday" feel for the rest of us.
Because the end of the year is coming .. and everyone is looking for this great chance to skive and celebrate ..