For example australia, usa, canada, europe etc.
maybe u went there for a holiday or overseas study. Have u ever experienced racism directed at u? Coz i think some ang moh in those country racist again asians right?
could be anything from not getting a fair service compared to others at a restaurant or shop, or being called names, or being ostracized or discriminated against, being accused for something which u didnt do...etc
can u share ur story? thanks
overseas reservist time...
They threw eggs, shouted, and horned at us.
They missed, and their shouting was quite inaudible in noisy traffic.![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:They threw eggs, shouted, and horned at us.
They missed, and their shouting was quite inaudible in noisy traffic.
ME AND MY ARMY OF EGGS WILL RULE THE WORLD IN 2009!
i havent =) OZ states japan korea china spain england all dont have
i think cos i've not stayed there for a long enough period. i dont think they'd wana chase a tourist away too.
Originally posted by tut4nkh4m3n:i havent =) OZ states japan korea china spain england all dont have
i think cos i've not stayed there for a long enough period. i dont think they'd wana chase a tourist away too.
Yeah, I thought as much, they would rather chase away someone who has not much of a choice but to spend 3 years there, and more than 30K a year in their country on school fees and such.![]()
A chap was pointing middle finger at me while i was at the drive thru... I think he is trying to tell me his middle finger is the longest out of the 5 ![]()
Originally posted by Black Kettle:For example australia, usa, canada, europe etc.
maybe u went there for a holiday or overseas study. Have u ever experienced racism directed at u? Coz i think some ang moh in those country racist again asians right?
could be anything from not getting a fair service compared to others at a restaurant or shop, or being called names, or being ostracized or discriminated against, being accused for something which u didnt do...etc
don't say there lah, even in singapore we have singaporean being racist against singaporeans, just look at how we behave in sg forums.
but when i was in australia treatment was generally ok, service much better than what you get in sg, just that people do stare at you and you get the occasional person shunning you.
Years ago at Mineapolis in the winter of year 1999.
I went to USA with a group of more than 10 Singaporeans to attend a university seminar in Kansas. Our flight stopped over at Mineapolis and we had our passport stamped at the airport before hopping into a domestic flight to our final destination.
There was only 1 queue at the custom initially and the queue was long. After a while, a new counter was opened and I rushed to that counter to have my passport stamped. The original counter where I was queue-ing for was manned by a laozarbo, a grey hair caucasian lady. The newly opened counter was by a young man.
Then hor, all my friends who queued up at the 1st counter all kenna detained by the laozarbo. She questioned every Singaporean traveller why they were there. My friends, even after producing documents from the university, got detained by her for no reason. When the young man was stamping my passport, he did not even ask any question. But the lao zar bo shouted across and told him to detain me as well. The young man ignored her totally, didn't even bother to look at her. He just stamped and told me to go.
My poor friends were brought to their office and were not allowed to leave. There were other officers there and they all wondered and asked one another why my group of friends were detained. They just wanted to release my friends. But as a formality, they just made a call to the university to confirm what my friends have explained. When they told my friends that they could leave, the laozarbo came in and said,"No, they can't leave!" One of her colleagues said,"They are just here to attend the seminar!" She said,"Are you sure?" He replied,"Yes, I called the university to verify." so the woman bo bian.
According to my friends, from what they noticed from the officers' reaction on seeing them being retained, this was not the first time (probably x number of times already) that the woman was doing this to travellers.
Not sure whether she dun like Singaporeans, Chinese or all Asians.
To end this story.... I would like to say... I sincerely hope.....
this woman....
gets raped by terrorist! Tamade!
Nope...not yet anyway.
Nah....the Michael Fay thing was appaulded by most Americans.
So I doubt its because your group are from Singapore. Probably because you are asians with a asian passport.
And angmoh females, especially the older ones dont like asian females because we 'steal' their men, and because asians work harder, we 'steal their jobs too.
They kinda dont really know where Singapore is.
And hoping for her to be raped, kinda maybe to her liking. lol.
paiseh... I remembered wrongly. It wasn't Michael Fay's period. Michael Fay one was years before that when I went to USA with my schoolmates. Not all, but a few USA ppl said we were terrible.
When was in Brisbane, taking a ride on a tourbus. Some angmoh kids in a beat up car drove near to us, shouted at us and spit at the moving bus on the highway. Cant hear them so well cos the bus is aircon, and most of us was sleeping anyway. Its maybe only me looking out my window seat to see that.
In Perth, was followed by some white boys in a old fashioned van; while we are in a rented car.
The boys tried to tailgate us, shouting thru the windows and waving rude gesture with their hands out the window.
Again, windows are shut and we cant hear them that well. But it obvious, they are picking on us because we are asians in a rented car.
Originally posted by Honeybunz:paiseh... I remembered wrongly. It wasn't Michael Fay's period. Michael Fay one was years before that when I went to USA with my schoolmates. Not all, but a few USA ppl said we were terrible.
Dont borther too much.
If they do like us, they will, if they dont, lots of excuses.
Truth to be told, Singapore isnt that great. We are just lucky that certain diplomatic issues gives us better leverage then most Asians.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Nah....the Michael Fay thing was appaulded by most Americans.
So I doubt its because your group are from Singapore. Probably because you are asians with a asian passport.
And angmoh females, especially the older ones dont like asian females because we 'steal' their men, and because asians work harder, we 'steal their jobs too.
They kinda dont really know where Singapore is.
And hoping for her to be raped, kinda maybe to her liking. lol.
those who got detained were all guys.
My female friends all followed me to the new counter.
Ya, many dunno where Singapore is. When we stayed in Days Inn at LA, the innkeeper actually thought we were PRC citizens even though we did produce our passport when we checked in. I didn't know they thought we were PRC until I asked about using the phone to call overseas. The innkeeper kept telling me that I have to dialing country code 861. I was wondering what the hell is 861 calling code. Later then I realised 861 was china code.
Originally posted by Black Kettle:For example australia, usa, canada, europe etc.
Hi Choota~ ![]()
Guys?
Maybe thinking guys will come to US to be illegal immigrants.
Females are suspect to go to US to become prostitutes.
If I am not wrong, prostitution need to be proven. illegals need to be stopped before they start.
The discrimination I faced before was by this one University lecturer who gave all the Asian students a really lousy grade or failed them.
Of coz we banded together and lodged a complain but apart from that nothing much really.
I think for custom officers in North America (U.S & Canada), the rule of thumb for travelers is to fill up your declaration forms and have present with you the necessary documentation. Don't give them any reason to find fault with you because these officers are either plain nice or plain nasty. I've entered Canada quite a number of times, and with a Singapore passport it's always been easy. Most of my friends who experience any excessive questioning usually are the ones who failed to fill up their declaration forms properly or have problems with their documentation. As for the States, I think it is much easier now given the Visa-Waiver program, in where we are classified with other first world nations. Some people might find the photographing part a little disorientating, but when I entered the States thru the U.S-Canada land border a few weeks ago, they are now using a webcam to snap pictures of travelers. So it makes the process seem a lot less intrusive. I guess as with everywhere you go, there will be the segment of the population who will take exception to the fact that you are of a race different from them. I got shout down by a bunch of drunken native people in Canada once for being Chinese, but I've also encountered really sweet native people who are deeply curious about Singapore and our culture. So instead of seeing it as a matter of race, in the end, it is just a matter of individuals who are willing to accept and embrace other cultures, and those who just blatantly refusing to for one reason or another.
It was 1993 and I was in Disneyland, LA. This white trash came over to my Indian friend and said "Hey, get out of my face or I will crush you like this can." And then he simulated it by crushing the can of coke in his hand.
Hahaha losers galore.
I took the amtrak from Seattle to Vancouver just last month. The Custom guy at Vancouver was a young caucasuian man who asked me lots of questions.
Kinda flip my passport a long time and kept me talking a long time like he cannot decide if I should be allowed into Canada. He was saying things like trying to defend USA a bit.
I find it so weird, Whats a Canadian Custom guy asking me questons of my intentions for USA? When I am entering Canada to go skiing?
And no. he is Canadian Custom, not US Customs.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I took the amtrak from Seattle to Vancouver just last month. The Custom guy at Vancouver was a young caucasuian man who asked me lots of questions.
Kinda flip my passport a long time and kept me talking a long time like he cannot decide if I should be allowed into Canada. He was saying things like trying to defend USA a bit.
I find it so weird, Whats a Canadian Custom guy asking me questons of my intentions for USA? When I am entering Canada to go skiing?
And no. he is Canadian Custom, not US Customs.
Did he ask you for your phone number? hehe
Originally posted by ditzy:Yeah, I thought as much, they would rather chase away someone who has not much of a choice but to spend 3 years there, and more than 30K a year in their country on school fees and such.
if you put it that way, then it's probably interaction with the alien. well i've come across a lot of digs at foreign students but little on tourists or neighbour PRs etc..
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Did he ask you for your phone number? hehe
If he does, I will be laughing my head off.
That young man was like so young! he cant be more then 25 years old!
But thank you for the compliments.