Originally posted by charlize:And even in India, it is probably only practised by the older generations?
No?
anyway, this has got to be one of the most elaborate malingering schemes ever in the history of the SAF ![]()
Originally posted by coolgeek84:Oh, so that means that if I didn't do the NS then I can't comment on a topic concerning them? What kinda reasoning is that? Besides, you don't know me and you do not definitely know the kind of people I support and try to help. They come from all kinds of faiths, religions, races e.t.c. So I do know that I am supporting this chap just because I feel like he is being treated unfairly and it is an added fact that he is of the same faith as me so I automatically understand better of his plight and at the least try to help.
On the other hand, are you working for SAF? Because, your arguments are dogmatically inclined towards supporting SAF.
Its quite interesting to see the way you structure your thoughts and puke them out on the forums:
"so you're saying that at as a brahmin (your words), and coming from the same religion (your words again),you're on this chap's side, not because he's of the same stripe ? .... riiiiiiiiiiiight. <= Your Assumption."
Well done Mr Assumption guy.
of course ... you cannot put a direct answer to the arguments I have posted ...... you cannot respond directly to what I have to say about how the SAF is behaving towards this case ....
because .... you have not served ... you have not put on the uniform of this country before ... you have not put in your time in that organization before ... you have not been under, and worked in, the system before .....hey, it's not even your army, eh ? you are only here on sufferance ....
does that make you a qualified, unbiased observer, especially when in the very first post, you affirm where you stand by stating that the fellow is your caste and religious brethren ? ..... hardly, eh ? ...
so what about your assumptions, then ? .... you assumed that the SAF is unfairly treating your caste and religious brethren .... that is your first assumption .... and you persist in defending him even after people point out that it's highly unlikely his story is ..... so you are telling me that you jumped into this without your own assumptions and bias ? ..... *snorts
but hey, of course, that's only understandable, that your first reaction would be to defend your own kind .....
and again ... the door out is always open ... just close it after you leave ....
Originally posted by Suffocate:Let us ignore idiots like Fatum who speaks without using his brain. Waste of time trying to explain to such idiots
hey kid ... want to continue in these threads ? ...
or shall we just unwind and continue in other threads like these .... started by you too ? ...
Somehow I feel that this thread is getting out of hand.
For those who had never served NS, I think you should not and are not qualified to even comment on the runnings and operations of SAF.
True, most of us hate it, but we do hold good memories, even in doing Shit jobs. It's really different and cannot be explained with words until you serve it fully.
Now, for a case in DB, there must be a section which the soldier has to be charged at. Definitely not charging a person for promoting masterbation (though it is possible) or extra services in geylang.
Thing is, to land someone in DB, there must be a valid charge reason to put him there. As much as there are injustice going around, no one ends up in DB without proper reasoning. And there is the ever so powerful section 25, can't remember what is says but it means charging a person with actions against the good will of SAF... anyone can help refresh me memory on section 25?
So, the priest dude, probably he did something very very wrong and ended up there. If you think commanders love or like to charge anyone, think again.
Originally posted by Fatum:hey kid ... want to continue in these threads ? ...
or shall we just unwind and continue in other threads like these .... started by you too ? ...
Hey kid. Haven't you embrassed yourself enough in this thread and here too http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/369307
Obviously nobody welcomes you here so save some pride for yourself and get your ass out of here.
Originally posted by Nighthawkies:Bro,
The more religious a person claimed himself to be, the more wary you have to be against him. I have seen and knew a few of these myself. They are often viewed by others to be pious, but when you know them better, you realise that they all have motive and agenda at the back of their mind. Some behave so petty and calculative and expect things to be presented to them free or below cost just because of their status.
Dun ask me for names as it does me no good.
For this priest, ask him to make a vow infront of his God that he had never once thought of making use of the religion to get an easy way out from NS. If he really believe in God he will not make the vow. Because being human, it must have crossed his mind.
Originally posted by Suffocate:Hey kid. Haven't you embrassed yourself enough in this thread and here too http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/369307
Obviously nobody welcomes you here so save some pride for yourself and get your ass out of here.
The joke's on you dude...
You have probably been smoked by your friend as he said.
And "special food"?
Caste?
If these aren't "special", are they "normal"?
If you keep insisting these are not special, as a lot of people concede, then what's the trouble with eating "normal" food? Or "just" special for the matter.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:If I'm wrong, muslim are allowed to go friday's prayers...
As fudgester said, provided the training schedule allows it.
They will still have to report back to camp after prayers ( By right ).
Originally posted by shrekho:Somehow I feel that this thread is getting out of hand.
For those who had never served NS, I think you should not and are not qualified to even comment on the runnings and operations of SAF.
True, most of us hate it, but we do hold good memories, even in doing Shit jobs. It's really different and cannot be explained with words until you serve it fully.
Now, for a case in DB, there must be a section which the soldier has to be charged at. Definitely not charging a person for promoting masterbation (though it is possible) or extra services in geylang.
Thing is, to land someone in DB, there must be a valid charge reason to put him there. As much as there are injustice going around, no one ends up in DB without proper reasoning. And there is the ever so powerful section 25, can't remember what is says but it means charging a person with actions against the good will of SAF... anyone can help refresh me memory on section 25?
So, the priest dude, probably he did something very very wrong and ended up there. If you think commanders love or like to charge anyone, think again.
It is not just getting out of hand.
It just became a handicapped match with Fatum vs Suffocate and coolgeek84.
I am not taking sides though.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
me is bein sarcastic can.
cannot.
Originally posted by angel7030:
please kindly clarify whether you will like or love me more?
i'll like you more if you be my shadow and agree with everything i say. girls like that really turn me on. like, ok? not love.
for those of you guys who belong to the camp of saying this Brahmin guy is trying to chao-keng, fine. How come SAF doesn't shed any light about this? does the press (Straits Times) know about this?! i hope the temple writes to the ST and get MINDEF to clarify things.
btw, is the guy an Indian from India? if so, how come foreigner is serving NS?!
on behalf of the people of Singapore, i apologize sincerely and unabashedly to the good people of India and Krishna. It is a shame to have our military behaving in this manner. I just hope the guy gets released soon and be treated with dignitity in DB.
btw, the thought of a decent, good and clean Brahmin monk being thrown into a stinky DB cell disgusts me. I hope he doesn't share the same cell with those gangsters etc.
as far as i know, some things are "covered up" in the SAF.
Fact:
Brahminswere warriors before. Their doctrines call them to take up arms to preserve Dharma. i am sure this priest knows this doctrine . i am sure he is not trying to shrug it off...
Sure, the lad may not be trying to evade NS totally, but he's an idiot for reasons that I mentioned 2 pages ago. And there must be a reason why easily-granted concessions were withheld from him - I suspect that the petition is hedging the truth about his innocence and actions.
And if you want to bring privileges in, count how many provisions are given each to Muslims, Sikhs, etc on a regular (daily to weekly) basis - no more than two, and they are governed by rules.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:As fudgester said, provided the training schedule allows it.
They will still have to report back to camp after prayers ( By right ).
I still dun see the reason behind where the OC's request was rejected. Even so, even if under driver vocation, I see no reason why the food ration from his temple was disallowed as well.
As for the cutting of the hair, if singh is allowed to keep their crown, why not him on a religion or culture purpose?
As mentioned by TS, unless some details were left unmentioned, I feel that since majority race can have their religion rights in camp without disrupting the training schedule, I see no reason minority race should be left out in this case. I tot Gahmen also emphasied on racial tolerance? What I see in TS letter is that Gahmen is not upholding what they preached.
�准州官放�,�准百姓点��
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:
I still dun see the reason behind where the OC's request was rejected. Even so, even if under driver vocation, I see no reason why the food ration from his temple was disallowed as well.As for the cutting of the hair, if singh is allowed to keep their crown, why not him on a religion or culture purpose?
As mentioned by TS, unless some details were left unmentioned, I feel that since majority race can have their religion rights in camp without disrupting the training schedule, I see no reason minority race should be left out in this case. I tot Gahmen also emphasied on racial tolerance? What I see in TS letter is that Gahmen is not upholding what they preached.
�准州官放�,�准百姓点��
Sikhs still have to keep the hair under the turban and their beards groomed neatly, and can't pick any colour they wantfor their turbans.
It seems the case is closed...
========================================================
We apologize to have caused a lot of hardship to the Singapore government in the matter of the Hindu priest in NS.
We have decided to abide by the SAF's conditions on him in the best interest of the nation.
As a result, we treat the matter closed.
We thank everyone for their prayers, participation and concern in this matter.
Sorry for all the inconvenience caused.
Yours sincerely,
Tattva Vit Das
Originally posted by Nighthawkies:It seems the case is closed...
========================================================
We apologize to have caused a lot of hardship to the Singapore government in the matter of the Hindu priest in NS.
We have decided to abide by the SAF's conditions on him in the best interest of the nation.
Yours sincerely,
Tattva Vit Das
stop being an SAF / PAP fanboy!
They should have posted him to the Police Force for NS. Office hours plus can eat where and what you please with the meal allowance while us army guys get to stay in every weekday and eat cookhouse crap.
(To digress, someone said something about everyone being treated fairly during NS. How is it fair when an infantryman is donating blood to mosquitoes in some god forsaken jungle while an NS police officer gets to stare at boobs all day at Takashimaya and still be home on time everynight to watch channel 5. As much as PAP groupies think the government is perfect, they do screw up on a regular basis. My police vs army example is a prime example. The Hindu priest guy is another.)
Originally posted by angel7030:
if SAF is to serve what he wants, then SAF is not credible, many will follow suit,..the chinese would want chinese prayer duck and chickens, the malays would want prayers lambchops and bryani, the christian may want beefsteak or salads..etc etc.
And if SAF is to let him out of NS, all guys will start to take up a religions before entering NS, and start all these religious issue again. So how, I believe SAF is looking at ..kind of is it fair to others?
U misunderstood me.
I meant served Ns now and after ORD he can be a priest as long as he him,
Originally posted by Nikar7:stop being an SAF / PAP fanboy!
What makes you think I am one?
I am a fellow God brother of the Priest in question.
Originally posted by Nikar7:stop being an SAF / PAP fanboy!
oh, to me it seems whatever the PAP or whoever is doing is always wrong
so... You're telling me tat you can make unreasonable or hidden things into reasonable?
This Nikar7 guys is a "Chee Hong" fellow. Just look at his previous postings. Just long as you're "female" or believed to be female. He will suck up to you and defend everything that is written.
I seriously doubt he had done any NS so dun expect him to be matured in his thinking. He is still a "boy".
Do NS is Israel e best
3 yrs for boys, 2 yrs for gers.. trained liao fight in e real war all e time