SgForums has received a lawyer's letter from Mindchamps threatening legal action against us because of an allegedly defamatory post by one of our users, "ceecookie" in the thread "MINDCHAMPS so costly?".
Of course, we deny all liability. We do not screen what users post on the site, and are not liable for anything posted by our users. We have since removed the allegedly defamatory post on a without prejudice and without admission of liability basis.
We remind all our users not to post anything defamatory or illegal on sgForums as you may become exposed to legal action - we also do not enjoy receiving threatening letters from lawyers.
Tsk tsk tsk tsk ...... I have parents complaining about their bad service. How ..... are they going to sue parents when they go round complaining about their service?
Originally posted by bowah:That mean mods must wake up..sleep too long liao…the next coming regulation is Data protection and no call registry..you guys better wake up and keep a sharp eyes, otherwise, close this forum for good.
I don't think mod to be blamed.
You so kiasi for what. Threaten?????
I read the comment, it's not defamatary at all. It's an opinion!
The posts written on that thread are actually feedback and opinions those forum users have on MindChamps, except that particular one written by @ceecookie, which I agree has defamed MindChamps.
well, I think it is alright to feedback and comment if we are satisfied/angry or if we have any queries that we would like to clarify. but to defame someone or something is really going beyond the line.
I think the admin should just remove the said thread and write a confirmation letter to them, as what they demanded.
Not really wise to defend, when there is a chance given to rectify.
Originally posted by iveco:No smoke without fire. The onus should be on Mindchamps to counter Ceecookie’s claims and prove them wrong. If they have something to hide it will surface eventually. Anyway, that topic so old liao how come it can be dug up by the Mindchamps lawyers so fast?
Water falls and stones emerge.
Absolutely agree with you. The feedback from parents about their service is true. I wonder if they will go to the extent to sue parents when they go round telling others how bad their service is.
What is going on? Why the b******* word?
I gone through the whole thread and I feel that it is one-sided. I know of many friends who have sent their kids to MindChamps and were happy with the results.
Anyway as for the defamation, we all have to be careful what we post online, take the recent case of PM suing the blogger. I believe calling someone bull **** is hitting below the belt.
so long ago de post??
lawyer say remove thread not post leh
remove lah who cares
btw ceecookie was the si ginah who brought mummy to sgforums outing right?!
I ran a forum once and ran into trouble when I allowed a few posts to remain when they were clearly libelous. I tried to stand my ground but realise that it wasn't worth the hassle to support people who post irresponsibly. In the end, I removed the whole thread.
o rly?
wat forum is tt?
Originally posted by TehJarVu:so long ago de post??
lawyer say remove thread not post leh
remove lah who caresbtw ceecookie was the si ginah who brought mummy to sgforums outing right?!
it took them almost 6 1/2 years to find out that post and thread?
Why dig up old thread?
Why?
maybe recently biz bad??
so trying to eradicate any bad press on the internet, since last millennium........
Originally posted by FireIce:maybe recently biz bad??
so trying to eradicate any bad press on the internet, since last millennium........
orh hor....
be prepared to get sued by them till backside tear
Originally posted by SBS2601D:orh hor....
truth hurts?
later just sweep it under the carpet will do. it's just a lawyer's letter
Originally posted by SBS2601D:orh hor....
Woah why like this also want to sue?
Alamak!!! There is no letterhead to the lawyer letter. This guy wrote it himself. This is all bullshit. Aiya! Did you put a disclaimer on your website that state the opinion of the members posting his view is solely his opinion and not the opinion of the forum, "the platform", is a media which is solely meant for users to express their opinion/views?
He can't touch you la. So what if he sues, just change the hosting, and move your company to another off-shore country.
Originally posted by bowah:Not surprising lah, suing is our culture mah
Sweeping statement by bowah.
Generally, it is not cheap to get lawyers to sue, singaporeans not that rich to do it. Minority like your dearly beloved Lee Hsien Loong, LKY , Goh chok tong sue whenever they want.
SUING SUEING IS NOT OUR CULTURE. PAP MEMBERS SUE DON'T MEAN IT IS THE CULTURE IN SINGAPORE TO SUE.