- taken from ST, Sep 20 2004
The DJ demonstrated an irresponsible use of statistics, showed complete insensitivity to the difficult subject of divorce and displayed a chauvinism that was shocking (aggravated by an additional comment that his fellow DJ's fiancee should be kept in line by being told to scrub the floors).
It was clearly not meant as a joke as not the slightest apology was made in the next 10 minutes.
Public radio stations (especially one representing Safra) and their DJs have a certain social responsibility. The DJ's comments could be hurtful to anyone going through a divorce.
Furthermore, perpetuating such stereotypes is irresponsible. How does one explain this to impressionable young children who hear the programme on their way to school?
I hope Power 98 will take action to ensure its DJs act in a more socially appropriate manner.
JO-ANN TAN (MS)
Radio stations will only have ppl putting in CDs for listeners only....all DJs will be sackedOriginally posted by FireIce:next time radios will be all music and commercials
DJ not allowed to talk liao
It's one thing to be upset when it goes against your belief. It's another if the offensive remarks cause "some foreign tourists" to laugh.Originally posted by vroomvroom:.
Can you imagine if some foreign tourists would to pick up the papers this morning and read on it?
I think they will laugh their as.s off.
knnm....
yeah man......Dj^F|sh` no tok one.......no need scared say wrong thingOriginally posted by skeujin:tune into DJ fish @ sgforums music station!!!!
when i said something, i am not implying other things. me too lazy to play mind games. (or should i say I am too lazy to phrase my words probably so that ppl will not read in between lines and find other meanings into it)Originally posted by mushigen:It's one thing to be upset when it goes against your belief. It's another if the offensive remarks cause "some foreign tourists" to laugh.
So we need foreign tourists to give approval for everything we do? Some drivers in foreign countries bash up and even gun down fellow motorists who offended them. Will the foreign tourists laugh if we don't do the same but settle disputes in a gentleman way?
Power 98 sorry about DJ's remarks on divorceForumites u have just witnessed the end of democracy as we know it...
I REFER to the letter from Ms Jo-Ann Tan ('Power 98 DJ's remarks 'extremely offensive'; ST, Sept 20). The Double J Morning Jam show was delivering a factual report on divorce statistics.
The statistics were taken out of context by JA and used inappropriately. We apologise if his statement caused offence. His interpretation of the statistics was a misjudgment on his part.
Fellow DJ Jeremy Ratnam ended the discussion on air by giving an alternative point of view. He said that women should not be blamed for failed marriages, as there could be valid reasons why they filed for divorce.
Power98 DJs have always been reminded to stay away from offensive material, and not to break the Media Development Authority's code.
We will continue to be careful with our treatment of sensitive topics.
SHAREEN WONG (MS)
Programming Manager, Power98FM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I REFER to Ms Jo-Ann Tan's letter. I agree that radio stations owe the public a certain measure of social responsibility.
However, Singaporeans cannot, on the one hand, clamour for less media regulation and more social freedoms and, on the other hand, take offence at the slightest hint of impropriety.
The comments by the DJ were meant as a joke and should be taken in that light. The vast majority of listeners would not, for one moment, have construed that comment as fact and to suggest otherwise grossly underestimates their intelligence.
I for one certainly hope that Singaporeans will not have to live in times where every comment must be qualified and every piece of humour accompanied by a disclaimer.
If the fabric of our multi-faceted society is to remain intact, we need to take ourselves less seriously and be less sensitive. There would be a lot less friction if all of us could simply learn to take a joke.
ADRIAN WEE HENG YI
Well, all it takes is for one of the DJs to defame the PAP party. And they will be quietly sacked the following week. Confirm plus guarantee and chomp!Originally posted by L@gSoN:Forumites u have just witnessed the end of democracy as we know it...
I find some of the remarks such as the ones mentioned above to be offensive. There's a distinct fine line drawn where a person can be joking and for a person to be replusive.Originally posted by L@gSoN:Power 98 DJ's remarks 'extremely offensive'
I WAS tuned into the Power 98 Double J Morning Jam on Sept 14 at 7.30am on my way to work, when DJ 'JA' noted that 'four out of five marriages are initiated by men and four out of five divorces are initiated by women'.
He triumphantly concluded that 'men build marriages and women destroy marriages'.
I found this extremely offensive.
- taken from ST, Sep 20 2004
knn, last time chubby got the boot coz he tok abt undergarments now JAmmy gonna kiss grass coz he cracked a joke abt marriages? pls lah...SUA KU poreans, if ur so bloody sensitive dun listen to the bloody leh lio, little bit oso buay tahan go die better!