Australia is not a really place for "hardworkers" hence if you are expecting "hardworker" stay here.Originally posted by will4:I remembered there is another similar case in the newspaper. There is a Sporean lady migrated to Australia n met with a racist. She went to comment sometimes she cannot understand there is some local already migrated to Australia n had the audacity to complain the local in Australia not hardworking, in Spore in almost every company, the local need to work until late at night sometimes as late as ten.
In Australia, as soon as five, they knocked off already. Isn it Sporean migrated to Australia cause of the laid back lifestyle?
Sorry, PR can switch side faster...Originally posted by headset:To me its simple why we leave our country:
Basic Explicit reasons:
1. Standard of living a bit too high here.
2. Too much competition... looking for a more relaxed pace where the quality of life can be enjoyed.
3. work
Implicit reasons:
1. The loss of a sense of belonging to the country.
2. To be singaporean means alot less now.
3. The dilution of the population's base of solid singaporeans.
4. Dissillusionment in the political process here. A lack of a voice.
I think if the country dosnet adress the fact that its loosing its singaporeans fast enough then its headed for disaster.!
People who built the country form rubble tend to be a little more loyal than those who just hopped on for the ride. The country needs a solid base..
Dosnt expect a PR to be around to fight our wars.
I think it is true but the govt is reluctant to release the figures for the no ofOriginally posted by king108:Australia is not a really place for "hardworkers" hence if you are expecting "hardworker" stay here.
Australia had never promote itself as a place for "'hardworker" it is more to smart workers.
The saying is Smart workers got smart life. Hard workers life very hard...![]()
Finally, don't expect singapore efficient system oversea together with relax meaningfull life.
You can only have one.![]()
Originally posted by will4:I think it is true but the govt is reluctant to release the figures for the no of
sporean migrating to other countries.
Originally posted by king108:don't play the moral card.
[b]I had never comment much on those people that chooses to leave singapore of whatever reason. I don't name any one.
Frankly speaking, this group of people may have their reason for doing so. At least they have lefted whole heartedly and for good.
Unlike some people migrated to another peoples countries and still holding asset in their own country. These are the most frightening groups.
Gaining all the advantages in another peoples countries and can still choose to go back to their country when something happened. Really worrying...![]()
Originally posted by LazerLordz:don't play the moral card.
there is nothing wrong with keeping all your cards.
A survivalist always has a Plan B.
Originally posted by king108:I realized the first generation esp migrants from Malaysia to a lesser extent
[b]I don't disagree with your view point of the survivor....however, internally still feel that something no right..
sighed....[/b]
I guess what they want in life and what our emigrants want in life are different things.Originally posted by will4:I realized the first generation esp migrants from Malaysia to a lesser extent
Indonesian will be loyal to Spore due to political instability as in the case of
Indonesia. They realized no matter how small Spore is, it is a country full
of opportunities esp in work.
i whole-heartedly agree.Originally posted by LLbean:This 'quitter' labeling is offensive and retarded because it assumes that staying and fight would create the kind of life some of us want.
I am now living in the US. Initially I came here to study and just ended up staying. A lot of posts seem to indicate political and social reasons for migrating but I migrated to the US mainly because of quality of life. I am not talking about a relaxed lifestyle or cheaper living. It can be more expensive and harder but it is only if that is what you want. To me, it is about the variety of opportunities and choices available in how one wants to work, live and play.
At first, I wanted to stay because I love surfing and snowboarding. I also love taking frequent roadtrips and seeing nature. I don't see how me not 'quitting' will somehow help make Singapore snow, or start waves big enough to surf, or create wildlife.
Now that I am older and married, I want to choose a quieter and more peaceful surroundings to start a family. I still want to live near the city but with a distance barrier between city and suburb. I can easily trade my city apartment, which is worth $S580,000, for a 2000sf house in the suburbs. Can I even buy a decent flat at that price in Singapore? And is there even enough land to create a real barrier between city and suburb? Is not 'quitting' going to help add more land and create a real surburb in Singapore so I don't have to fly everytime I want some peace and quiet and then fly back when I want some city life.
And is not quitting going to increase the variety of careers and jobs available in Singapore?
My current neighbor is a chopper manufacturer. My other neighbor designs armor for cars. And I am currently working towards having my own wineyard. Are these kinds of careers possible in Singapore? They might be, I don't know, but the point is that the variety of jobs will be always be narrow and attention given only to the most practical ones, no matter how many of us don't 'quit'.
Of course, you might end up doing the same things you can do in Singapore even when you live overseas. Some of my Singapore friends living in Australia are just that. Typical accountants and engineers, a 9-5 day, go shopping on the weekends, and no political leanings.
Not sure why they bother to migrate, but with the abundance of lifestyle choices available down under, its a peace of mind to know that they can change courses at any time.
Quitting, my ass.
Originally posted by king108:why is it not right? why cannot hold assets in our homeland? must one leave for good if one chooses to migrate? cannot decide to have 2 homes ah?
[b]I don't disagree with your view point of the survivor....however, internally still feel that something no right..
sighed....[/b]
don't need to trade flak with him. Let him run out of ammo.Originally posted by HENG@:why is it not right? why cannot hold assets in our homeland? must one leave for good if one chooses to migrate? cannot decide to have 2 homes ah?
lidat sibeh jialat leh. dun leave for gd also got something wrong, leave for gd consider quitter.
aahahaha. i got a solution. nuke sg out of existance. then everybody has to move overseas, then we see who dare to say other ppl quitter.Originally posted by LazerLordz:don't need to trade flak with him. Let him run out of ammo.
apparently circular reasoning is something in vogue these days lar.![]()
oh they will call those who refuse to move, quitter, because they never think of Singapore's contined existence in exile.Originally posted by HENG@:aahahaha. i got a solution. nuke sg out of existance. then everybody has to move overseas, then we see who dare to say other ppl quitter.![]()
Ignore the crap that the tall one spouts lar.Originally posted by charlize:A lot of ministers' kids are living and studying overseas.
So how?
how ah? no how loh. just another example in a long list of examples, of this country's leaders not practising what they preachOriginally posted by charlize:A lot of ministers' kids are living and studying overseas.
So how?
So sad if your own parents call you a quitter.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Ignore the crap that the tall one spouts lar.
Look'it what he'd gone and done at PP now.![]()
i dun think they really care. Theres no need to be patriotic if u've been born with special connections and a silver spoon in yr mouth.Originally posted by charlize:So sad if your own parents call you a quitter.
Which minister's children studying in other countries?Originally posted by charlize:A lot of ministers' kids are living and studying overseas.
So how?
I think u n King108 quite objective local esp I have been staying n talking to local about some of the policies in here. Sometimes they not happy, theyOriginally posted by HENG@:i whole-heartedly agree.
there will always be some blindly patriotic, nationalistic and narrow minded fools around. these are the people who truely ruin a nation.Originally posted by will4:I think u n King108 quite objective local esp I have been staying n talking to local about some of the policies in here. Sometimes they not happy, they
ask"Since u not happy in Spore, come here for what?"