Originally posted by assfer:Please respect each other's beliefs. There is no one specific path to God but many paths. All religions link to God. God is the radio and many religions are the many radio channels broadcast from the radio(God). All religions teach us to love each other , not hate each other . So we must respect our Muslim friends as well. We do this by not publishing the cartoons in not only sgforums, but also in other local forums as well.
'Christians beaten up' in Bhopal
Twenty-five Christians have been beaten up by attackers in the central Indian city of Bhopal, police say.
A witness said he saw about 35 people armed with iron rods and sticks fleering from the house where the Christians had been praying.
A BBC correspondent in Bhopal says this is the first such incident in the city.
Christians have been under pressure in the state, Madhya Pradesh, from right wing Hindus. One Hindu leader denied any involvement in the attack.
Bhopal police chief Anant Kumar Singh said several of the Christians, including a priest and a child, were seriously injured.
He said the prayer meeting included about 15 children.
Local Hindu organisation leader, Devendra Rawat, said he condemned such attacks.
But he said Christians in the area where the attack took place were offering incentives for poor and illiterate Hindus to convert.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/4703262.stm
Deadly clashes spark Assam curfew
Indian army troops have been deployed and a curfew imposed after clashes in the north-eastern state of Assam.
On Friday, two policemen and five demonstrators were killed during a riot in Kakopathar, in Tinsukia district.
Police said they opened fire to disperse a crowd protesting against the death in custody of a man suspected of having links with separatists.
United Liberation Front of Assam rebels have been fighting for a separate Assamese homeland for nearly 30 years.
'Self-defence'
Authorities imposed a curfew in Kakopathar and many adjoining areas, as tension spread with news of the police firing.
According to police, thousands of protesters had converged on a police station and tried to burn it down.
"The mob was advancing on the local police station, forcing security forces to fire in self-defence," district police superintendent Debojit Hazarika was quoted by the Associated Press as saying.
Five demonstrators were killed in the shooting. The angry mob is then said to have killed two policemen.
The crowd was protesting at the death of Ajit Mahanta, who is believed to have links with Ulfa rebels.
Mr Mahanta died in military custody last week. Three army officials have faced disciplinary action over his death.
More than 10,000 people have died in the rebel group's fight for a separate homeland.
On Monday, Ulfa representatives held talks with senior Indian officials, after which the government said it would consider releasing some detained rebels and look into human rights complaints.
Originally posted by protonhybrid:Lots of things hit headlines too, like grandma being raped or singapore won tiger cup.
only when western diplomat gets attacked it's INTERNATIONAL news, only when sign in singapore says "DANISH CITIZENS NOT WELCOME" or sth 2 that effect, it hits the headline.
So why are these fanatics not helping the poor in africa but make so much noise over cartoons?
however if it's millions of poor africans dying of genocide or famine or hunger, it's NOT international news. in other words, two danish embassy officials more important than millions of poor people.
Much better than under the Taliban and they had free elections for the first time in their history and women actually get to vote and sit in parliament.
IN FACT, why don't we bring up the examples of iraq & afghanistan. how long since afghanistan has been attacked? we all believed the self-righteous americans would have "liberated" the afghans by now, and it would have been a "very prosperous", "safe" and "free" nation by now.
what is the ground reality over there in afghanistan?
Much less than what Saddam killed and much less than what the fanatics are bombing innocent people.
How many people have been killed so far in iraq by western bombing, gunning etc? how many people have been killed by terrorists in iraq suicide bombings? May I ask what event UNLEASHED all these killings of innocents?
You call that free speech?
how about testing freedom of speech in western world? how about we suggest we kill an equal, strictly equal, not more nor less number of americans by dropping bombs in america? or a combination in america, uk, aussie etc? do you think freedom of speech will be supported?
Why arethe imams and mullahs all over the world allowed to preach hatred of other religions? Is freedom of speecgh the monopoly of muslims alone?
you see freedom of speech only extends to what western countries like, not other countries.![]()
And msians bow down to the arabs and worship them every day.
oh wait, singapore is such a huge c0cksuc.ker of USa, it has naval bases in its OWN territory catering to US. why leh? USA coc.k tastes better? wah lau, knn cb. (the words in italics are jokes)
So what are you spewing? anti Singapore and anti west rhetoric?
tmd, better just say it's another occasion to start antimuslim rhetoric.
You got it all wrong my friend, its not muslim bashing cos not all muslims are fanatics.
in the end it boils down to bashing muslims innit? hahaha, dun worry sinkaporeans, dat time may not be far away when sikapore is squeezed by some giant neighbours? (btw, let's see if freedom of speech is also extended in this case. you know very well, what will happen if you say what should happen to singapore. but can you say that? no. why leh? coz freedom of speech doesn't even exist in singapore.) nor in western countries. it's all limited freedom, in other words no freedom.
quote:
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by protonhybrid:
only when western diplomat gets attacked it's INTERNATIONAL news, only when sign in singapore says "DANISH CITIZENS NOT WELCOME" or sth 2 that effect, it hits the headline.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lots of things hit headlines too, like grandma being raped or singapore won tiger cup.
and? like "western diplomats get assaulted"?
but NOT
KKK killed a few blacks, stormfront is a western organization, or september 6, september 9 is when USA dropped atomic bombs on japan. etc etc. or
most race related problems occur in western nations, new study says (no need for study lah, it's oredi known fact, you go any western nation, there's 'white, black, brown, yellow," all kinds of problems. summore
there are "whites" and "coloreds" classification.
what kind of ppl does these stupid things? your demigods? westerners?
quote:
however if it's millions of poor africans dying of genocide or famine or hunger, it's NOT international news. in other words, two danish embassy officials more important than millions of poor people.
So why are these fanatics not helping the poor in africa but make so much noise over cartoons?
who's in a better position to help the poor in africa? the ones with more money, like for example (just examples), denmark, norway, france, uk, usa? or some of the nations you so like to malign, like sudan, afghanistan, pakistan? or even third parties like india, north korea, mongolia?
i need to noe from u which should help the poor in africa first & FOREMOST, for millions dying in africa, in sudan alone. poverty, famine, genocide, list goes on. what is more important is "two danish embassy torched" or two million poor dying or two hundred thousand INNOCENT killed in iraq.
i got no doubt all these are bad, my problem is with their priorities. why denmark become so important, but not the sensitivity of some one fifth of humanity.
quote:
IN FACT, why don't we bring up the examples of iraq & afghanistan. how long since afghanistan has been attacked? we all believed the self-righteous americans would have "liberated" the afghans by now, and it would have been a "very prosperous", "safe" and "free" nation by now.
what is the ground reality over there in afghanistan?
Much better than under the Taliban and they had free elections for the first time in their history and women actually get to vote and sit in parliament.
Rome wasn't built in one day bro.
EVEN under the Taliban, how many ppl got bombed or killed? and how about after the attack/invasion by usa/uk primarily, but other countries too, and for reasonable causes? but ended up with afghanistan being another of those violent, problem-ridden places.
voting and etc are not that important IF you don't get to live the next day. what is better? singapore with limited freedom? or india with so great freedom, the largest democracy on earth?
quote:
How many people have been killed so far in iraq by western bombing, gunning etc? how many people have been killed by terrorists in iraq suicide bombings? May I ask what event UNLEASHED all these killings of innocents?
Much less than what Saddam killed and much less than what the fanatics are bombing innocent people.
Why aen't these screamers help fight terrorists in Iraq but scream over cartoons? Thats the question we need to ask.
so you got any proof for that. bear in mind this one is 1.5 years old news, by now, how many more have died?
so let's hear from you? which one is more newsworthy? two danish embassies torched or the death toll in iraq? in your opinion.
[quote]
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/3962969.stm
Iraq death toll 'soared post-war'
Iraqis are now 58 times more likely to die a violent death, Lancet
Poor planning, air strikes by coalition forces and a "climate of violence" have led to more than 100,000 extra deaths in Iraq, scientists claim.
A study published by the Lancet says the risk of death by violence for civilians in Iraq is now 58 times higher than before the US-led invasion.
Unofficial estimates of civilian deaths had varied from 10,000 to over 37,000.
The Lancet admits the research is based on a small sample - under 1,000 homes - but says the findings are "convincing".
Responding to the Lancet article, a Pentagon spokesman defended coalition action in Iraq.
'Precise fashion'
"This conflict has been prosecuted in the most precise fashion of any conflict in the history of modern warfare", he said.
UK foreign secretary Jack Straw said his government would examine the findings "with very great care".
But he told BBC's Today that another independent estimate of civilian deaths was around 15,000.
The Iraq Body Count, a respected database run by a group of academics and peace activists, has put the number of reported civilian deaths at between 14,000-16,000.
HAVE YOUR SAY
It's going to be very hard for the US and UK authorities to ignore this report
John, Canada
Send us your comments
The Lancet published research by scientists from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in the US city of Baltimore.
They gathered data on births and deaths since January 2002 from 33 clusters of 30 households each across Iraq.
They found the relative risk, the risk of deaths from any cause, was two-and-a-half times higher for Iraqi civilians after the 2003 invasion than in the preceding 15 months.
'Conservative assumptions'
That figure drops to one-and-a-half times higher if data from Falluja - the scene of repeated heavy fighting - is excluded.
Before the invasion, most people died as a result of heart attack, stroke and chronic illness, the report says, whereas after the invasion, "violence was the primary cause of death".
Violent deaths were mainly attributed to coalition forces - and most individuals reportedly killed were women and children.
Dr Les Roberts, who led the study, said: "Making conservative assumptions we think that about 100,000 excess deaths, or more, have happened since the 2003 invasion of Iraq.
"Violence accounted for most of the excess deaths and air strikes from coalition forces accounted for most of the violent deaths."
He said his team's work proved it was possible to compile data on public health "even during periods of extreme violence".
The sample included randomly selected households in Baghdad, Basra, Arbil, Najaf and Karbala, as well as Falluja.
Lancet editor Richard Horton said: "With the admitted benefit of hindsight and from a purely public health perspective, it is clear that whatever planning did take place was grievously in error."
Civilian toll estimates at 10/04
Iraq Body Count: 14-16,000
Brookings Inst: 10-27,000
UK foreign secretary: >10,000
People's Kifah >37,000
Lancet: >100,000
Mr Horton concluded: "For the sake of a country in crisis and for a people under daily threat of violence, the evidence we publish today must change heads as well as pierce hearts."
No official estimate
There is no official estimate of the number of Iraqi civilians who have died since the outbreak of the war in Iraq.
Human rights groups say the occupying powers have failed in their duty to catalogue the deaths, giving the impression that ordinary Iraqis' lives are worth less than those of their soldiers for whom detailed statistics are available.
However, the Pentagon spokesman said "there is no accurate way to validate the estimates of civilian casualties by this or any other organisation".
He added: The loss of any innocent lives is a tragedy, something Iraqi security forces and the Multi-National Force painstakingly work to avoid.
"Former regime elements and insurgents have made it a practice of using civilians as human shields, operating and conducting attacks against coalition forces from within areas inhabited by civilians."
and? like "western diplomats get assaulted"?
Lots of things hit headlines too, like grandma being raped or singapore won tiger cup.
who's in a better position to help the poor in africa? the ones with more money, like for example (just examples), denmark, norway, france, uk, usa? or some of the nations you so like to malign, like sudan, afghanistan, pakistan? or even third parties like india, north korea, mongolia?
EVEN under the Taliban, how many ppl got bombed or killed? and how about after the attack/invasion by usa/uk primarily, but other countries too, and for reasonable causes? but ended up with afghanistan being another of those violent, problem-ridden places.
Rome wasn't built in one day bro.
so you got any proof for that.
Why aen't these screamers help fight terrorists in Iraq but scream over cartoons? Thats the question we need to ask.
You call that free speech?what do you call that? and what do you call free speech? freedom of speech, in its absolute sense, means freedom, no prohibition to speak anything. but of course, it does not exist. there was, is and will be curbs on this freedom, no matter where you're.
for example? pat roberton? billy graham? daniel pipes? oic. just one bit of wrong info, they aren't "imams and mullahs".
Why arethe imams and mullahs all over the world allowed to preach hatred of other religions? Is freedom of speecgh the monopoly of muslims alone?
And msians bow down to the arabs and worship them every day.how did malaysia come in here. don't drag malaysia in here. it's not healthy discussion my fren.
antifraudulent rhetoric! ppl with fraudulent intentions need to beware. nothing against west per se, nothing against singapore per se (otherwise why post here?), nothing against islam per se, nothing against anybody or any groups of ppl per se.
So what are you spewing? anti Singapore and anti west rhetoric?
you got it all wrong my friend. muslim bashing is equivalent to maligning muslims, islam or such practices related to islam; it's in no way related to bashing terrorism or fanatics.
You got it all wrong my friend, its not muslim bashing cos not all muslims are fanatics.
Originally posted by protonhybrid:You already stooped to your lowest with your hatred and bigotry, how can a liar like you possibly stoop lower?
alright from salman's posts it's obvious i need to stoop down to his level if i need to reply at ALL.
KKK don't kill blacks anymore. But Islamic fanatics kill lots of innocent people everyday.
KKK killed a few blacks, stormfront is a western organization, or august 6, august 9 is when USA dropped atomic bombs on japan. etc etc. or
most race related problems occur in western nations, new study says (no need for study lah, it's oredi known fact, you go any western nation, there's 'white, black, brown, yellow," all kinds of problems. summore
there are "whites" and "coloreds" classification.
If these people are so free and have so much money to hold protests, why can't they put their energies into helping the poor in Africa?
I think people should use their energies to help the starving than cry over cartoons.
i need to noe from u which should help the poor in africa first & FOREMOST, for millions dying in africa, in sudan alone. poverty, famine, genocide, list goes on. what is more important is "two danish embassy torched" or two million poor dying or two hundred thousand INNOCENT killed in iraq.
i got no doubt all these are bad, my problem is with their priorities. why denmark become so important, but not the sensitivity of some one fifth of humanity.
millions died under the Taliban.
Voting is important. Thats why millions of afghans risk their lives to comne out and voted.
voting and etc are not that important IF you don't get to live the next day. what is better? singapore with limited freedom? or india with so great freedom, the largest democracy on earth?
I think both are newworthy. Thats why they get reported in news.
so you got any proof for that.
so let's hear from you? which one is more newsworthy? two danish embassies torched or the death toll in iraq? in your opinion.
I asked first, don't run away.
what do you call that? and what do you call free speech? freedom of speech, in its absolute sense, means freedom, no prohibition to speak anything. but of course, it does not exist. there was, is and will be curbs on this freedom, no matter where you're.
never heard of these people. I do know that thousands of iams and mullahs made hate speeches all the time.
for example? pat roberton? billy graham? daniel pipes? oic. just one bit of wrong info, they aren't "imams and mullahs".
you said this happened in when you were in the army ? ...Originally posted by Erwin_Rommel:Hi just here to offer my 2 cents
I say both sides are at fault-- the Western world being too insensitive and the Muslims way too sensitive. The cartoons protray the Prophet as a terrorist, which is something really unacceptable. But then the muslims retaliated by burning down embassies, killing, etc which is horrific to me.
I do question the motives of the attacks. Anti-western sentiment is prevalent in the muslims.. The establishment of Israel in the middle-east conflict, the US invasion of Iraq, Afghanistan, etc. The cartoons provide the radical muslims a convenient tool to stoke the flames to arouse further anti-western sentiment among the moderate muslims. You can see that the protestors attacked not only Danish embassies, but Norway, US and France. This should serve as a reminder to he western world the anti-western sentiment the most muslims have.
As I posted earlier, the Indonesian muslim students hated the US to the core.. shouting them devils, etc in the class. When I was in army, a naive guy in my section said he will always support the US in any situations since they brought peace and stability to the world. Straightaway, one muslim section mate of ours immediately stood up and shout vulgarities and even kicked the chair, etc. Eventually he was calmed down after my friend apologised.
This statement or analogy is seriously flawed.Catholics like other Christians do not worship Mary. Worship is only reserved for God.
"It is tantamount to telling a Catholic to make a choice in celebrating their faith in worshipping Mother Mary or Jesus. "
Will you agree that atleast a Catholic is allowed to make the choice and if his choice is jesus rather than Mother Mary,he can renounce being a Catholic and becomming a protestant or a methodist or even a muslim.
Dont anyhow say its he starting point for extremists. You got no knowledge in this, then don't comment.Originally posted by laurence82:Actually, if you note, there are many Muslims who do go to madrasahs, whether in Singapore, Malaysia or Indonesia. They became starting point for extremism because its the extremists who run the schools.
Thats why, countries like Pakistan are checking their madrasahs and getting rid of religious extremism.
Now, who's the liar in the thread? After reading all your posts, I found your knowledge of Islam very very limited. If you don't know anything, please don't anyhow give info that can mislead other forumers. Thank you.Originally posted by Salman:You already stooped to your lowest with your hatred and bigotry, how can a liar like you possibly stoop lower?
You make such sweeping statements. trying to help PAP Racial quota policy by fanning the fires is it?Originally posted by laurence82:Actually, if you note, there are many Muslims who do go to madrasahs, whether in Singapore, Malaysia or Indonesia. They became starting point for extremism because its the extremists who run the schools.
Perhaps you should clarify or correct that statement by restating that :Originally posted by laurence82:Actually, if you note, there are many Muslims who do go to madrasahs, whether in Singapore, Malaysia or Indonesia. They became starting point for extremism because its the extremists who run the schools.
Thats why, countries like Pakistan are checking their madrasahs and getting rid of religious extremism.