Originally posted by maurizio13:His arguments are so ridden with fallacies, clearly, either his education was less than adequate, or his brain is.
After being confronted with so much facts, I think oxford mushroom has gone underground again. He is a master tactician in gorilla warfare (pun intended), hit and run. Think he should now be hiding in Changi Village leading a double life as a [b]proper gander (pun intended).![]()
I am still waiting for his "I don't reply to illogical rants", since that's his modus operandi when he is not able to refute the facts presented.[/b]
You are really stalking this guy, huh?Originally posted by maurizio13:I wonder how many scholarships they give out each year? Enough for all the poor gifted students; or just a handful.
I think it's not mutually exclusive. It's both!!!Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:His arguments are so ridden with fallacies, clearly, either his education was less than adequate, or his brain is.![]()
His gander is cooked!!!Originally posted by Rock^Star:You are really stalking this guy, huh?
He seems to be speaking more from his personal experience than being concerned about Singaporeans in general.
Narrow minded? The emperor cannot see that his new clothes are actually only his underwear?
Of course, I won't insist that we are right all of the time but someone like this definitely needs a really. really hard jolt before one can see reality.
PM Lee has said a few times he and his government will engage the critics in robust arguments to debunk untruths said about the government.Originally posted by maurizio13:His gander is cooked!!!
I tried reading his explanation, it's all crap, he sidetracked everything to something irrelevant.
You asked him about how the 2 countries managed to keep their income disparity to such a low level. He gives you answer about how the rich in another totally different country, uses tax avoidance to increase the income disparity.
He is really screwed!!!
Best part is, he claims to be a doctor working in the UK.
Well, they better start sending in more competent people, if they keep sending in jokers like oxford mushroom and gazelle, their plan will definitely backfire on them.Originally posted by robertteh:PM Lee has said a few times he and his government will engage the critics in robust arguments to debunk untruths said about the government.
Such a challenge to debunk critics implies that he or his government is right or always right and infallible in their existing policies or actions and critics were mischievous or whinners only interested to defame or discredit his government which in essence is yet another wrong assumption.
Many cyberspace counter-insurgency agents like Salman and many more have come to put up yet more and more stereo-typed propagandas trying to paint a bad picture of democracy and freedoms in countries which for historical reasons were unable to govern themselves irrespective of political systems but blames would always be put on democracy which in perspective has thrived and led to prosperity in many more countries.
Another favorite propaganda stereotype is to repeat how great is the policy of meritocracy which at first sight seems reasonable but on close scrutiny has been misused for a long time as a convenient tool for political control of the population by putting up people of their own choice or kinds for high offices and high pays thereby stifling our political evolution.
Under such a narrow-minded meritocracy while the elites are doing well riding high on assumptions about their ability and talents the rest of the populations are left to struggle with losses of economic competitiveness, perpetual rising costs of living and competitions against influx of foreigners to safeguard their own employment statistics.
This is the comfort zone the government is taking refuge in refusing to change and let the rest of the population attaining their potentials by the broad strokes of their many unquestioned or auto-piloted assumptions.
Salman? Who's next now?Originally posted by robertteh:PM Lee has said a few times he and his government will engage the critics in robust arguments to debunk untruths said about the government.
Such a challenge to debunk critics implies that he or his government is right or always right and infallible in their existing policies or actions and critics were mischievous or whinners only interested to defame or discredit his government which in essence is yet another wrong assumption.
Many cyberspace counter-insurgency agents were sent like Salman and many more who have been here to put up many stereo-typed propagandas trying to paint a bad picture of democracy and freedoms in countries which for historical reasons were unable to govern themselves irrespective of political systems but blames would always be put on democracy which in perspective has thrived and led to prosperity in many more countries. Salman too had to beat his or her retreat after being debunked by our forumers for his or her shallow and superficial hypocrisy. Has Salman really succeeded in convincing us of the righteousness of existing policies like meritocracy or pro-foreigner employment or investment incentives which put off and downgrade our own talents and prospect.
Another favorite propaganda stereotype is to repeat how great is the policy of meritocracy which at first sight seems reasonable but on close scrutiny has been misused for a long time as a convenient tool for political control of the population by putting up people of their own choice or kinds for high offices and high pays thereby stifling our political evolution.
Under such a narrow-minded meritocracy while the elites are doing well riding high on assumptions about their ability and talents the rest of the populations are left to struggle with losses of economic competitiveness, perpetual rising costs of living and competitions against influx of foreigners to safeguard their own employment statistics.
This is the comfort zone the government is taking refuge in refusing to change and let the rest of the population attaining their potentials by the broad strokes of their many unquestioned or auto-piloted assumptions.
Originally posted by january:Your posts would bear more credence if you do not preach so much philosophy. You can't see this simple point, can you?
you all are too emotional and have bias towards govt policy.
Again, your views are narrow minded , thus govt policy certain point will make you feel unhappy but if you look at the big picture that govt has to consider, which people wont, they will just keep on have things to complain.
Preconceived beliefs leads to sensitive emotions. When you are angry, the blame is usually external. therefore, the solution is on moderating you emotions.
I am just like all of you. Middle class, still finding job, have gone to 2 nearby countries in my life so far, have university debt of abt 15 k, seldom spend on material stuff.
You all dun know how to manage your emotions that is why the tendency to blame others.
as i have say, if you are not rich, dun go buy a 4 room, 5 room. the moment u buy bigger house, u have money problem if u dun earn that much. stress and pressure will come, blaming will occur.
self accountability is missing.
As to whether the govt is effective with veto power, you people are assuming that by changing decision according to people wishes, thing will be better. Proof? There is tendency to assume that monopoly of govt power is always bad. This is not a universal law or proof.
Go read up more how to have simple life and achieve happiness book.
Even within the internet forum, opposition parties are convincing and building up a list of the' mistakes of govt' and thus making themselves more and more left wing without checking the validity of the sources and the reasoning.
You want to be like taiwan.. people got alot of freedom in say in politics.. newspaper can oppose govt here and there... the result.. do they have a better life? can fight in meeting also.
politics , its is easy to swing the mind of opposition and brainwash them. the opposition themselves will even brainwash themselves. We cannot therefore allow so much freedom of press.
other countries have more freedom in blaming govt, is their life better than because of that?
casuality is a complex process with many issues affecting one another over time. Go read up on psychology , physcis of time and space and causality and philosphy.
Human mind don't see the complexity in causality. Therefore, opposition will just line up several reasons in straight line and make judgments.
I am saying that you all do not have real proof that the govtment is indeed doing thw wrong things. Just a bunch of ideas and pseudo evidence.
[b]Wont post anymore for today.[/b]
To judge all who are anti-PAP as emotional is rather presumptuous on your part, don't you think so. Again, so is your judgement of all who are Anti-PAP being narrowminded. The PAP isn't infailable, and all polices and govt bodies should be able to stand up agianst scrutiny. And thats what the govt should be doing, convicing the people of their decisions. Not don't just hold a debate for the sake of an appearance of transparency when a bill or proposed policy is being intended to be implemented without vote.Originally posted by january:you all are too emotional and have bias towards govt policy.
Again, your views are narrow minded , thus govt policy certain point will make you feel unhappy but if you look at the big picture that govt has to consider, which people wont, they will just keep on have things to complain.
Originally posted by january:Preconveived beliefs do not lead to sensative emotions, insecurities do. Like how LHL or LKY get when talking about CSJ or JBJ. Like how LKY lashed out at a young journalist from S.Times on TV before last years GE, when the subject of voting PAP out of fear came up.
Preconceived beliefs leads to sensitive emotions. When you are angry, the blame is usually external. therefore, the solution is on moderating you emotions.
Originally posted by january:Lets take the ministers pay hike for example (there are mnay others as well)
I am just like all of you. Middle class, still finding job, have gone to 2 nearby countries in my life so far, have university debt of abt 15 k, seldom spend on material stuff.
You all dun know how to manage your emotions that is why the tendency to blame others.
as i have say, if you are not rich, dun go buy a 4 room, 5 room. the moment u buy bigger house, u have money problem if u dun earn that much. stress and pressure will come, blaming will occur.
Originally posted by january:It is not self accountability that is missing, it is Govt accountability to the people that is sorely missing. We are not living in a Kingdom or in an Empire. Democracy was created to enable prosperity, and also to ensure that powers do not get abused, unchecked and thus bringing the nation to its knees.
As to whether the govt is effective with veto power, you people are assuming that by changing decision according to people wishes, thing will be better. Proof? There is tendency to assume that monopoly of govt power is always bad. This is not a universal law or proof.
Originally posted by january:You are again having the preconcieved idea that encomical values is the only reason that the people are not happy with the PAP.
Even within the internet forum, opposition parties are convincing and building up a list of the' mistakes of govt' and thus making themselves more and more left wing without checking the validity of the sources and the reasoning.
Originally posted by january:No one wants violence, I can give you a whole list of fully democratice nations that are doing well, with the non-violent protests. No one in the opposition advocates violence.
You want to be like taiwan.. people got alot of freedom in say in politics.. newspaper can oppose govt here and there... the result.. do they have a better life? can fight in meeting also.
Originally posted by january:If the government policies are good, they can stand up to scrutiny and the govt should be able to debuk convincingly. Not happening here.
politics , its is easy to swing the mind of opposition and brainwash them. the opposition themselves will even brainwash themselves. We cannot therefore allow so much freedom of press.
Originally posted by january:Yes. And there is a distinct difference, between questioning the government and blaming them. Questioning them to justify their decisions is not blaming. Contrary to your preconcieved belief that all who opposing PAP are blaming them. Personally, I want PAP to reform the very core of the system, before it gets worse.
other countries have more freedom in blaming govt, is their life better than because of that?
Originally posted by january:Do you want to be part of the list of casualties and get left behind by the govt polices?
casuality is a complex process with many issues affecting one another over time. Go read up on psychology , physcis of time and space and causality and philosphy.
Human mind don't see the complexity in causality. Therefore, opposition will just line up several reasons in straight line and make judgments.
Originally posted by january:There has been a whole list, not illegal, as they make the law. What is illegal is not always wrong, what is legal is not always right. If you want the list, I'll post it here on this thread again for your sake.
I am saying that you all do not have real proof that the govtment is indeed doing thw wrong things. Just a bunch of ideas and pseudo evidence.
Originally posted by january:If you do decide to post again, try not to make sweeping dismissive statements, its not very healthy debating.
[b]Wont post anymore for today.
Originally posted by january:Evidence of philoposhy in his posts. Diminishes his credibility. Philosophy and politics combined make for a potent and deadly mix of bullsh.it.
Perhaps you been reading selectively and you cannot see the reason behind the discreditation campaign here.Originally posted by LinYu:it's getting boring here. all the self agenda and flame war with no cream in the discussion![]()
If you have just graduated, you must be about 23 to 25 years.Originally posted by january:you all are too emotional and have bias towards govt policy.
Angry ? After reading the entire development of this thread, in which I have decidedly taken leave from immersing into it for the last 19 pages - due to work commitment - the anger seem not to be a result of Government policy, but more directed at guys like you who seem to think that those holding negative views towards the Government are mental misfits; and believing yourselves to be absolutely correct, while providing the run-of-the-mill reasons regurgitated from Government propaganda towards the same criticisms.
Good luck on your next phase in your Life's oddyssey.
Do you think Singaporeans are an entirely foolish lot ?
Why are the Danes, the Swiss, and the Swedes amongst the 'Top Ten Happiest People in the World' despite a reputation of having high taxes, high costs of living, high costs for almost everything that Singapore is supposedly NOT and is able to offer more at far lower costs than Denmark or Switzerland ?
What is Left-Wing, and what is Right-Wing ?
Indonesia is experimenting and re-discovering themselves with new found freedom in politics that extend to the broadcast and print media.
Is that not the same manner in which the Singapore Government react to criticism directed at them from the Alternative Parties ?
Wont post anymore for today.
Originally posted by PRP:If the govt provides generouts reward for good ideas,then i think a lot of ppl would suggest ideas to help the govt.Would it be true?
[b]The govt has its strong & weak points
The PAP Govt has its strong points & its weaknesses.It does somethiing very well & it doesn't work on some other things.Complaining or scolding it -- understandable thou -- won't improve things. Helping it to do a better job should help improve things.But then,why should u do it if there is no reward,right?
Everybody should discharge their responsibilities too and be good persons.[/b]
Originally posted by january:I return the same thing to you. We are just only discussing (save for a few mocking here and there).
Hey hey. Have you forgotten history? You do know that Chinese, for the better part of history, actually enjoyed the position of slave? The peasants were expected to obey the emperor, who was perpetually a God to them. The Chinese in the past, to be frank, are a bunch of worthless slaves who had far less creativity. This is why the West superseded us in technology and Science because they were more happy to question what was right and wrong. In China, no such revolution ever occurred. As a result, China was pushed here and there for over a century before regaining their feet 50 over years ago. This is what idiots like OM have failed to see: It was through questioning what was right and wrong and not obey every single word as truth that led the West to make leaps and bounds in Science for centuries and they still continue to do so, though Japan, Taiwan and present day China show occasional sparks now.Originally posted by sourketchup:To be fair to our government, they are doing not too badly.
But to look at things in context, all the societies dominated by Chinese in east Asia with the exception of China (which is communist, but is now capitalistic in all but name) are doing well.
As a matter of fact, it may not be an exaggeration to say that generally, the higher the proportion of Chinese in an east asian society, the better the country would be doing. Which means that we may be doing similarly well, if not better, with or without this present ruling party.
This, of course, is hypothetical. As stated, they did not do too badly. Secret societies (of the serious sort, not the bully-boy gangs these days) largely eradicated, racism kept under reasonable control, corruption not too rampant, streets largely safe etc.
But can they do better? An unequivocal yes. More accountability? Definitely. More openess? Please.
Not surprise at all with that sort of reply you get!! The doctors especially the ones from the gahmen hospitals are die hard supporters of the ruling party, they sneered at the opposition with arrogance and condescending attitude. By the way, they also blame the patients for always complaining the high medical costs. They said that patients are one kind, why do they keep complaining when the gahmen subsidised heavily for the people. The doctors are earning very well, those senior ones get 5 digit salaries (excluding bonuses)! So are they really underpay, I doubt!!! Besides salary, they also get paid when they go see a patient in other wards (blue letter referrals).Originally posted by Rock^Star:What does a doctor earn after graduation?
NUS grads: $3,500 - $5,000
Overseas scholarship: $5,000 - $10,000
I have spoken to many people whose income range fall between $5,000 - $25,000.
I do ask them a little on politics, their views and so on every now and then. 9 out of 10 will reply that:
- PAP is doing a good job (no flaws mentioned)
- Progress package is the govt's goodwill
- Don't complain, work hard and you will have a better life
A number of my peers (those within the 25-30 range) serve the govt service, quite a handful on scholarships. These are the ones who think really well of the PAP but can hardly agree when asked if opposition is needed. Being classmates and long time friends, I did not opinionate my views out of respect.
Let's face it too:
As long as there is little opposition in parliament, Singapore shall continue its march towards eliticism. The next generation of leaders (which will come from mine) are going to run Singapore as a corporation more than ever. Middle income earners shall continue to stagnate. Meritocracy has its positives but the cons are starkly evident too.
I am just telling the readers oxford mushroom's technique of operation. If you read his previous post, you will notice that he's the one that starts calling others name when he can't reply to their arguments. I am sure alot of forumers can attest to that. Instead of replying to all my post, he chooses to whimper away like a dog with it's tail between it's legs.Originally posted by LinYu:it's getting boring here. all the self agenda and flame war with no cream in the discussion![]()
An honest Freudian Slip.Originally posted by Atobe:
Is it any wonder that PM LHL will even make glaring slip ups that reveal his psychological make-up in 'FIXING' the Alternative Parties ?