wao lao, dun say this man..very bad lehOriginally posted by maurizio13:Nah! Your wife and girlfriend gave me some french lessons in kissing.
Going by your argument, the road sweeper in Switzerland, Sweden, Finland and Norway should be making the same as a road sweeper in China or India.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:If the skills of our workers lag behind those of cheaper economies, their salaries will drop. At the moment, our workers are still paid much higher salaries than their counterparts in China/India but our productivity is not rising fast enough to justify the salary differential. In contrast, the skills of our top earners, the professionals and high level managers are in demand because their salaries, though high, are not as high as their competitors in the MNCs and foreign firms. Therefore the salaries of our top earners will only rise. If a local investment banker does better than one in London but draws half the pay, he can expect his salary to rise even further even though he already earns 100k a month.
Employers need expertise to move to China, Indonesia and Thailand, you must think that any Tom, Dick and Harry can move to China as and when they like. There are invisible cost involved to, GuanXi (connections with officials), corporation tax of 33%, infrastructure (depending on where you locate your factory, you might have to pay more transport moving it to port), communication, political risk (risk of an overheated economy causing riots or protest), expropriation, etc.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Not necessary. If you put in a minimum wage that is too high, the workers will be happy and you will cut the number of low-skilled foreign workers; but employers will move their factories to cheaper economies in Indonesia, Thailand and China. If you set the minimum wage low, that employers will use that as the maximum wage.
Artificially setting a wage distorts the market. Let the market decide the right wage.
Another flawed logic.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Education is the best tool for upward mobility and it is available to all in Singapore. Of course not every has the same talents and not everyone will do as well, but they will be worse off without it. The pay gap will continue to increase. The effect of globalisation means there is greater mobility of both capital and labour. Talented workers from China are now able to compete directly with our own. If we do not upgrade the skills of our workers, they may even lose their low-paying jobs.
If what you say is true, we should be getting "Made in China" Rolex, Patek Phillipe, Franck Muller, IWC, Porsche, Ferraris, Boeing and Airbus. Why haven't these products shifted operations to China, India, Indonesia or Thailand? Same logic between OM and the government, because they have been constantly aiming low, not high. Therefore when you aim low, you get lower, when you aim high you get higher. Let's face it, no matter what happens, you cannot compete with China or India in terms of labour cost for the next 15-20 years, China's population is 1.3 billion and the GDP per head is only $1,470 compared to our $24,840.The strategy crafted by the ruling elites and supported by you has the same effect as banging your head against a concrete wall. They say numbers does not win a war, but strategy and valour does. But let's face it, if China's population each spits at OM once, he will be drowning in their spit.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Look, if I employ a worker $600 a month to make plastic moulds in Singapore, I can just about keep the factory going and earn just about enough profits to make it worth my while. If you force me to pay the worker $800 a month, I will have to close my factory and bring it to China, where I can pay my staff $300 a month.
Who loses more? The Singaporean worker or the Chinese worker? Which is worse? To earn $600 a month or be unemployed?
I suppose all those Indian, Bangladeshi, Chinese, Indonesian, Filipino and Thais that come here are all better educated and more productive than Singaporeans.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Japanese and Korean workers are on average, better educated and more productive. One must not forget that these countries are also more expensive...there is a general correlation between cost of living and salaries.
Irrelevant propaganda to placate the peasants again.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Think of Sweden, it has a very narrow wage gap. They have high taxes and a generous welfare scheme. But the richest man in the world, the Ikea boss, is from Sweden. Many of the high net-worth individuals escape the taxes by financial arrangements that on paper, shows them as earning very little:
" In total, these two groups suffered tax bills of a mere €19m in 2004 on their combined profits of €553m. Clearly, the Kamprad family pays the same meticulous attention to tax avoidance as IKEA does to low prices in its stores."
http://www.economist.com/displayStory.cfm?story_id=6919139
It is the richest people that can hire the top lawyers and accountants to avoid taxes legally through every loophole possible. There was even recent news about a member of the House of Lords in UK who is non-resident in Britain...a tax exile.
Yay!!! You agree that protectionism will work for us!!!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You can keep the salary gap small by protectionism against the forces of globalisation. But Singapore is a small economy. We have come so far through globalisation. Protectionism will be work for us.
OM practises double standard. All the while he is against protectionism, now talk about it!!! ha ha ha, what a good laugh!!!Originally posted by maurizio13:Yay!!! You agree that protectionism will work for us!!!![]()
Double Standard? No. He only cares about his pocket. Nothing more. The Amorality may seem surprising, but hey, it's only typical of morons such as him to justify with silly rationales and contradictions just to get what he wants.Originally posted by rane:OM practises double standard. All the while he is against protectionism, now talk about it!!! ha ha ha, what a good laugh!!!
Very good point. I did not factor this in so that when criticism pours in, I can bring issues like this up.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:You forgot to factor one thing: Possible forced retirement and depletion of income due to age. At age 40, they practically have nothing left.
THIS is the first time I've heard about globalisation bringing about income equalisation.Originally posted by maurizio13:Nadah!!! Globalisation brings about income equalisation, it does not lead to greater income gap. There is a difference you know. What you said in an earlier post relates to you all this while, "a little knowledge is a dangerous thing".
the minister reply is very harsh and cruel. Judging by this statement i presume that now Singaporeans have to compete with the worlds' workforce. If we are competing with such a huge talent pool and with many handicaps no wonder there will be many "incompetent few"Originally posted by gevo:Anyway, if you're interested in what the minister replied, the gist is that globalisation is beneficial to the general state of the nation. Singapore would not retard her growth due to the "incompetent few", those who were left behind. The govt would try to help by reviewing the Workfare scheme every 4 years.
by the way, the manpower minister is hopeless. From his interview, I see that he will not go all the way to service the nation. He is better off go back to SGH and be the surgeon there. Don't think he has got the calibre to be a politician! He made a lousy manpower minister!!Originally posted by gevo:THIS is the first time I've heard about globalisation bringing about income equalisation.
o.O
Umm. I've posted this question to a certain minister. Anyway, globalisation brings about a rising Gini index. Almost all developed nations have rising Gini coefficients. Internationalisation is unavoidable in this current age as international trade is getting more prevalent. This would ensure more or less an economic success, yet it creates a disjoint society whereby the different socio-economic groups are moving apart.
Since Singapore is never a welfare state, the government cannot really do anything to help them directly. There will be many groups of people who are "left behind", as they do not benefit from the Workfare Income Supplement. These recent GST hikes to help the poor is also not too effective.
Take a look at some of the stats that I've done. It's on page 15 of this topic.
Anyway, if you're interested in what the minister replied, the gist is that globalisation is beneficial to the general state of the nation. Singapore would not retard her growth due to the "incompetent few", those who were left behind. The govt would try to help by reviewing the Workfare scheme every 4 years.
Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Double Standard? No. He only cares about his pocket. Nothing more. The Amorality may seem surprising, but hey, it's only typical of morons such as him to justify with silly rationales and contradictions just to get what he wants.
And what do we usually label them? Extremists.
Furthermore, global integration should not only focus on economic prosperity but ensure a certain living standard to all citizens, guarantee substantive equality, and advance income equalization and full employment on a global scale.Originally posted by gevo:THIS is the first time I've heard about globalisation bringing about income equalisation.
o.O
Umm. I've posted this question to a certain minister. Anyway, globalisation brings about a rising Gini index. Almost all developed nations have rising Gini coefficients. Internationalisation is unavoidable in this current age as international trade is getting more prevalent. This would ensure more or less an economic success, yet it creates a disjoint society whereby the different socio-economic groups are moving apart.
Since Singapore is never a welfare state, the government cannot really do anything to help them directly. There will be many groups of people who are "left behind", as they do not benefit from the Workfare Income Supplement. These recent GST hikes to help the poor is also not too effective.
Take a look at some of the stats that I've done. It's on page 15 of this topic.
Anyway, if you're interested in what the minister replied, the gist is that globalisation is beneficial to the general state of the nation. Singapore would not retard her growth due to the "incompetent few", those who were left behind. The govt would try to help by reviewing the Workfare scheme every 4 years.
$1.5 million for 3 properties? Private or HDB? Doesn't take a rocket scientist to cure this speculation ill, you only need curb the speculation, have more restrictions.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It's due to speculation, mainly by Singaporeans incidentally. The ST recently reported about even undergrads who pool their resources to speculate in property. We have 35 year-olds who borrow 1.5 million from the banks and own three properties. This is not sustainable and I expect the property bubble to burst. But if prices drop, Singaporeans will also complain and blame the government because their main asset, their properties, have tumbled in value.
The government has a tough time trying to keep prices low enough for people like me who want to buy and property owners who want the prices to stay high.
The private property market has an impact on publich housing as well because they compete for the same pool of buyers. Now if the government no longer allows HDB flats to be sold freely in the open market , say set a price cap on the resale value of HDB flats, the cost of public housing will drop.
But will Singaporeans be happy? With the majority of Singaporeans owning a HDB flat, you will have a revolt.
Economy doing well? All these stock market talk, you regurgitate from the news huh?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Multiple factors. The economy is doing well currently, the bank interest rates are too low, the stocks market is booming but there are concerns over the Chinese and US stock markets...people looking for ways to take profits and park their money elsewhere, the IR coming and expected to bring in more tourists...more accommodation and higher rental prices, more FTs coming in along with government's plan to increase population further to support economic growth....
A pooch is not capable of independent thought, a pooch can only perform what his master tells him to. So........How can he ever answer your question? Unless his master tells him what to say.Originally posted by Rock^Star:I'm afraid you haven't answered my question.
You said: At the moment, our workers are still paid much higher salaries than their counterparts in China/India but our productivity is not rising fast enough to justify the salary differential. In contrast, the skills of our top earners, the professionals and high level managers are in demand because their salaries, though high, are not as high as their competitors in the MNCs and foreign firms. Therefore the salaries of our top earners will only rise.
I asked: Based on the above in relativity to China and India, please educate me on how Japan, South Korea and even EU countries can keep their income disparity lower than us?
Are Chinese and Indian workers not cheaper but also equally productive compared to the Japanese, Koreans and EU nations?
So please answer in relativity to China and India.
Think you have a comprehension problem, your post hardly answered Rock^Star, it just side track the whole issue as usual. Below is Rock^Star's original post.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I can explain to you. I cannot understand for you. This was my reply 9edited typo errors), what is it you do not understand?
"Japanese and Korean workers are on average, better educated and more productive. One must not forget that these countries are also more expensive...there is a general correlation between cost of living and salaries.
Think of Sweden, it has a very narrow wage gap. They have high taxes and a generous welfare scheme. But one of the richest man in the world, the Ikea boss, is from Sweden. Many of the high net-worth individuals escape the taxes by financial arrangements that on paper, shows them as earning very little:
" In total, these two groups suffered tax bills of a mere €19m in 2004 on their combined profits of €553m. Clearly, the Kamprad family pays the same meticulous attention to tax avoidance as IKEA does to low prices in its stores."
http://www.economist.com/displayStory.cfm?story_id=6919139
It is the richest people that can hire the top lawyers and accountants to avoid taxes legally through every loophole possible. There was even recent news about a member of the House of Lords in UK who is non-resident in Britain...a tax exile.
You can keep the salary gap small by protectionism against the forces of globalisation. But Singapore is a small economy. We have come so far through globalisation. Protectionism will not work for us."
Income disparity can be narrowed if our low paid workers work in wafer fabs instead of selling cosmetic jewelry, or work in shipyards instead of doing general clerical work. However, I do not think we should aim for income parity...even the communists have learnt that it does not work. What we should go for is an increasing pay for all workers with the possibility of social mobility up the ladder.
You trying the Emperor's New Clothes strategy, if you don't understand, you must be stupid.Originally posted by Rock^Star:I'm afraid you haven't answered my question.
You said: At the moment, our workers are still paid much higher salaries than their counterparts in China/India but our productivity is not rising fast enough to justify the salary differential. In contrast, the skills of our top earners, the professionals and high level managers are in demand because their salaries, though high, are not as high as their competitors in the MNCs and foreign firms. Therefore the salaries of our top earners will only rise.
I asked: Based on the above in relativity to China and India, please educate me on how Japan, South Korea and even EU countries can keep their income disparity lower than us?
Are Chinese and Indian workers not cheaper but also equally productive compared to the Japanese, Koreans and EU nations?
So please answer in relativity to China and India.
I wonder how many scholarships they give out each year? Enough for all the poor gifted students; or just a handful.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Not true. If you have the talent, you are not denied educational opportunities in Singapore. I know that from my own experience and I have also mentioned the ST senior writer whose father is a cab driver. My father earned even less than a cab driver...he couldn't have afforded the education I had. There are scholarships and busaries available. If you have the talent, you can go all the way to Oxbridge and Ivy league colleges...the government and various stat boards will fund you. Those who are not good enough for a scholarship can get bank loans and busaries...if you can get into one of our local Unis, you will not be denied an education because you cannot afford the fees.
Those who are less talented will not do as well, but not because of financial reasons.
HDB is overpriced!!! Why there are 80% of Singaporeans living in them? What is the other alternative? Private housing? Which is even more expensive. Rental market? If you pay $1,000 a month rental for 20 years, the amount you have paid would have gotten you the apartment. Therefore it made more sense to buy than lease. Singaporeans don't have a choice, that's why 80% of them were "persuaded" into buying HDB.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It does. The new flats from HDB are not overpriced. If they are, we won't have 80% of Singaporeans living in them. Consider this, do you expect the government to sell you a heavily subsidised, new 5-room flat for only 50k, so that you can sell it in the resale market for 250k? The government has 2-room flats and rental flats for the very poor for almost nothing. But for the rest of Singaporeans, the CPF investment in a new subsidized HDB flat is almost guranteed to increase the value of your assets.
But I do not think it is fair for the government to subsidize too much using tax payers' money. If you think the private sector can build HDB flats more cheaply, then they are welcome to bid for it, as they now do.
For more than 40 years, the closet has never been opened for airing, the air in the closet is stale and there might be more skeletons in the closet than you think there are.Originally posted by mistyblue:There is never a perfect system. People always want to air their views.
However, if the system is so fearful of the truth coming out, then this is a big question to ask. Why is it so.
Originally posted by maurizio13:What's worse is that there are restrictions against renting HDB flats. Here in the US, not everyone owns a house, but rents. They only buy a house only if they plan to stay some place for a few years. Also, a nice house costs much less than a flat.
HDB is overpriced!!! Why there are 80% of Singaporeans living in them? What is the other alternative? Private housing? Which is even more expensive. Rental market? If you pay $1,000 a month rental for 20 years, the amount you have paid would have gotten you the apartment. Therefore it made more sense to buy than lease. Singaporeans don't have a choice, that's why 80% of them were "persuaded" into buying HDB.
Did the government really subsidise the public housing? Cost of building apartment $50,000 + profits $150,000, they give you subsidy of $50,000, they still make $100,000.
Come on! Don't be [b]naive, did you really think the government really dip into taxpayer's money to help subsidise HDB housing.