Originally posted by justcooler:NS is good,
It instill patriotism in those who had gone through it. And i believe all of us still recognise ourselves as singaporeans
But it is just that we cannot concord with changes in things, and most of it was a result of policies lay down by a self serving group of people.
That why we move to find a heaven for ourselves, but deep in our heart we hope to return to be with our relatives, friends, life styles, language, .. food
oi, it is forced army conscription that pay u pittance while slogging u without any remorse nor acceptance of and injury and death should it occur to you during your conscription.
do not accept the type of craps that the st propaganda is dishing out. the rich will exploit the mass for their own gain.
return back to sg for food? gosh, im happy tucking in my bbq t-bone steak with a glass of red wine anytime.
Those who like Singapore, let them rot here.
Those who like Australia, let them rot there.
Live and Let Live. Different strokes for different folks.
Well, kinda sorta.
I'd rather look at it as a case of those who like Singapore, live it up and those who like Auatralia, rock on.
Originally posted by fishbuff:oi, it is forced army conscription that pay u pittance while slogging u without any remorse nor acceptance of and injury and death should it occur to you during your conscription.
do not accept the type of craps that the st propaganda is dishing out. the rich will exploit the mass for their own gain.
return back to sg for food? gosh, im happy tucking in my bbq t-bone steak with a glass of red wine anytime.
How cheap is the red wine in Australia? I know 1 whole litre of a Merlot wine in France costs about 5+ euros...
Originally posted by eagle:How cheap is the red wine in Australia? I know 1 whole litre of a Merlot wine in France costs about 5+ euros...
cheapest is A$5. better ones are around A$20. to me, they taste like vinegar. :P
i like the port wine though, "tawny port" is highly recommended.
Originally posted by fishbuff:
cheapest is A$5. better ones are around A$20. to me, they taste like vinegar. :Pi like the port wine though, "tawny port" is highly recommended.
yeah, twany is great after a meal.. i always have a bottle or port at home esp during the winter. the LBV ports are pretty good for if you are at a budget.
been drinking alot of ice wine lately..
i had this old church friend of more than 10 years in SG that came over to oz to place his son in the uni here. my wife was very delighted and ferried them around the place and gave them treat to meals. as they were buying furniture for the boy's new rental, we offered to sell them our desk at $20. he argued that we need to give them another table + afew chairs free and free delivery. we thought, aiyah, old friend la.. if we can help, we will definitely help.
we are going to replace the old desk with another old one from another local chinese church friend's place but somehow, my brizzie friend changed his mind and retract back his offer. so we all lan lan, i had to retain back the old desk. i called up the old sg friend who flew back to sg and tell him that we cannot sell him the table and offered to refund back + apologise.
and u know what? he blew his top and scold us verhemently. woa, for over a $20 table. then whatabout our time, energy, fuel, car that we bring him around? for nothing? our treat for him? for nothing?
i knew that chap for more than 10 years in church and he dropped off my friendship radar for more than 5 years until recently when he want to place his son here in the uni, then he contact me.
this my lesson learnt; no more extra preferential treatment for any SG friends. what a lot of ingrates.
does anyone in sg have any idea how many citizens gave up citizenship since 1998?
i am 100% sure the info exist since each exit is recorded.
could there be more than 500,000 already?
i no no de leh.
Originally posted by Reddressman.:does anyone in sg have any idea how many citizens gave up citizenship since 1998?
i am 100% sure the info exist since each exit is recorded.
could there be more than 500,000 already?
i no no de leh.
There are already near to a million Singaporeans/Singapore PRs living outside of Singapore. Reason for my conclusion? Just compare Singapore's population number before and after the change suggested for the population statistics.
Originally posted by eagle:There are already near to a million Singaporeans/Singapore PRs living outside of Singapore. Reason for my conclusion? Just compare Singapore's population number before and after the change suggested for the population statistics.
eagle, this time you unfortunately have been flying with 1 eye kenna stamp-pasted.
i was talking about those who did gave up the citizenship.
please, would appreciate your answers more if you paid more attention to my words.
thanks.
Originally posted by Reddressman.:
eagle, this time you unfortunately have been flying with 1 eye kenna stamp-pasted.
i was talking about those who did gave up the citizenship.
please, would appreciate your answers more if you paid more attention to my words.
thanks.
Well, I was stating a fact that has some relation to your post; it wasn't a direct answer if you have read carefully. If you read all my posts, you will notice I have a tendency to just state facts.
does anyone know is there a little sgp in Aussielando?
i wanna find out since there is a mathematical probability that 1 day i will migrate there.
so, oso for the benefit of all sgp'reans who have or have not woken up to reality. this info make serve them useful too.
Originally posted by Reddressman.:does anyone know is there a little sgp in Aussielando?
i wanna find out since there is a mathematical probability that 1 day i will migrate there.
so, oso for the benefit of all sgp'reans who have or have not woken up to reality. this info make serve them useful too.
they dont call Perth as Singaperth for nothing.
u can explore canada or usa as well. each countries has its own strength and weakness, and in every countries, the cities differs from one to another. plan well.
believe it or not, there are ex-sg civil servans that have taken up residence in perth. e.g. winston choo, he has PR in australia too, and im not surprise that 3/4 of the MPs have some invested interest in australia too.
sure they can paint a rosy picture about sg economy to the mass population but shits hit the fan, u can be 100% sure that these MPs will scooted to australia asap, leaving the deceived sporeans behind.
Originally posted by fishbuff:they dont call Perth as Singaperth for nothing.
u can explore canada or usa as well. each countries has its own strength and weakness, and in every countries, the cities differs from one to another. plan well.
believe it or not, there are ex-sg civil servans that have taken up residence in perth. e.g. winston choo, he has PR in australia too, and im not surprise that 3/4 of the MPs have some invested interest in australia too.
sure they can paint a rosy picture about sg economy to the mass population but shits hit the fan, u can be 100% sure that these MPs will scooted to australia asap, leaving the deceived sporeans behind.
people are mobile since the 1st man who migrated out from africa.
especially nowsadays. the world is very small now. anywhere in the world is just hours away.
it is mathematically possible that another singapore can be created elsewhere. maybe i should say, another 'pore' culture can be created elsewhere given that this 'pore' is also young and no strong national identity, culture exist like that of other very established countries like France, Japan, Germany, USA, Korea, Australia, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thailand, Canada, Argentina, Spain, Britain etc...
what is the loss in culture?
what is the loss in identity?
is there an identity? chinese ? Malay? Indian? half full?
i no no so i asking de lor can or not de leh?
yibah ! yibah! unterleh! unterleh!!
Originally posted by Reddressman.:
people are mobile since the 1st man who migrated out from africa.
especially nowsadays. the world is very small now. anywhere in the world is just hours away.
it is mathematically possible that another singapore can be created elsewhere. maybe i should say, another 'pore' culture can be created elsewhere given that this 'pore' is also young and no strong national identity, culture exist like that of other very established countries like France, Japan, Germany, USA, Korea, Australia, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thailand, Canada, Argentina, Spain, Britain etc...
what is the loss in culture?
what is the loss in identity?
is there an identity? chinese ? Malay? Indian? half full?
i no no so i asking de lor can or not de leh?
yibah ! yibah! unterleh! unterleh!!
go where u are appreciated and u feel comfortable.
OMG!!Gangsters dared to be interviewed and 100 decended into hospital!!and ''a molotov cocktail was hurled on a suburban train last week''--in Melbourne,Australia.
What is it?
Every place is a package.u have to take every things come with it.Dunt expect just take the good and ignore the bad.
Gangsters is one of the item inside the package.
Youth gangs menace inner-city
February 24, 2008 01:00am
Article from: Sunday Herald SunA TEEN bashed with a tomahawk is fighting for his life as youths warn of a Cronulla-type gang explosion in Melbourne.
Sunshine Hospital was forced to call police and shut its emergency department as about 100 youths descended, angered by the brutal attack on their friend.
In another unprecedented escalation of gang violence, a molotov cocktail was hurled on a suburban train last week.
More attacks were pledged as part of a bitter conflict between two of Melbourne's biggest gangs that has seen 10 youth stabbings.
Police are demanding measures to stem the growing scourge of youth gang activity.
They want a Youth Crime Taskforce established, new anti-assembly powers to break up loitering crowds of teens and portable knife scanners.
Shopping centres and rail operators are also changing their operations to cope with the rising gang challenge.
Cowardly, excessive gang attacks 'for fun'
Four men have been charged with attempted murder and serious assault over the attack on the 17-year-old on Friday.
The teenager and four friends were "pulverised" in the St Albans attack.
Their assailants - one 16 - allegedly used a tomahawk, baseball bats and hockey sticks in the violence, destroying their car and putting the five in hospital.
One of the teens caught in the attack said the violent onslaught had been triggered by them being on someone else's turf.
The teen, who would not give his name, had facial bruising and injured ribs and described the attack as ruthless and against innocent victims.
As well as being territorial, he said the attack was carried out for fun.
Police, social workers and even gang members said gang violence was flaring across Melbourne's suburbs.
The Police Association - representing 11,000 officers - said the youth gang crisis demanded a regional taskforce on youth crime and anti-assembly powers.
"They're under-18 and they're coming in from the outer suburbs and causing mayhem in the city and the inner suburbs," assistant secretary Bruce McKenzie said.
"This is happening. And we do know it's of considerable concern to our members."
The association is expected to lobby Premier John Brumby for anti-assembly powers to break up big groups of teens and expressed a desire for British-style portable walk-through metal scanners.
Insulting rap song inflames rivalry
In an escalating stoush between two of the city's biggest gangs, an Arab coalition from Melbourne's north was seething over a rap song released by enemy gang South-East Boys, threatening "another Cronulla".
The song, Lullaby, derides the Dandenong gang's Arab enemies as "p*****s" and threatens a local Cronulla-style race clash.
Gang members said the rivalry between the north and south gangs had already led to 10 stabbings.
"Give it tomorrow, give it a year. We will hit back 10 times harder," said Ronni, leader of northern gang ASAD or Arabian Soldiers Arab Defenders.
Gang members are aged 17 to 26 and brawl with machetes, bottles, poles, knuckle-dusters and knives.
The North-West Boys, who have a distinct double-fist handshake, are made up of gangs including ASAD, which has spread from Newport, and The Clan.
The North-West Boys said their opposing gang, based around Dandenong, was a mix of white "Aussie bogans", Sudanese, Afghans, Italians and Greeks.
"We were hunting them for almost seven hours," The Clan leader Hash said.
"If the South-East want war, then so be it."
The gangs have sophisticated fight strategies and youths are attacked if they stray into another gang's side of the city.
"Something in the future is going to happen to them," Ronni said.
Hash said they tried to isolate their activities so members of the public would not get hurt.
lionnoisy is an anti-australian racist.
i wonder what noisylion would say about us....
Originally posted by noisylion:
OH NO!!Gangsters dared to be slashing a man in public in singapore!! '' the gang that attacked the victims were no where to be found escaped.
What is it?
Every place is a package.u have to take every things come with it.Dunt expect just take the good and ignore the bad.
Gangsters is one of the item inside the singgie package.
Youth gangs menace lion-city
Man Slashed by Parang Attack near Riverside Point
"This morning at about 3.40am, a young man believed to be chinese was found lying in the midddle of the road whilst I was driving towards AYE of the Merchant Road exit which is opposite Riverside Point.
I stopped my vehicle and went closer to take a look and found the man in a pool of blood and still spurting from numerous bad open wounds. I saw what appears like slash wounds on his legs, abdominal area and hands all in blood. I quickly summoned the police and ambulance for their assistance.
Upon checking with some of the good samaritans who are mostly youngsters. They told me that this man have been set upon by a group of more than than youths believed to be malays from the Riverside Point area. Some of them were chasing some chinese youngsters in the area with Parangs, metal rods, chairs and belts.
Sad to say, the gang that attacked the victims were no where to be found. The road leading to the exit was also cordoned off to preserve the scene for evidence gathering.
originally posted by noisylion:
wan yr kids 2 go out in singapore? dunt be unaware of the parang guys!
BLACK ski masks. Long parang knives. Black-shirted men.
The gang attacked and slashed Ash on his head, which required stitches, as well as his shoulder and back. - Picture: KENNETH KOH
They looked like they belong in a fight scene in a Hong Kong movie on triads.
But there they were, at the void deck of Block 13, Eunos Crescent on Friday night.
And they confronted a group of five friends gathered there.
At first the group of friends were puzzled at the sight of seven men, who suddenly appeared in front of them.
Then trouble struck.
At around 9pm, the men attacked them with the weapons, causing them to scatter in different directions.
The attackers split up and chased the victims, slashing them viciously with the parangs and knives after catching up with them in what appeared to be an unprovoked attack.
All five victims were later sent to the hospital, where two received outpatient treatment and three have been hospitalised since then.
And it was not the only such attack that night.
Over at Tampines at around 8.15pm, an 18-year-old boy was assaulted and seriously injured. (See report on facing page).
When contacted, police spokesman ASP Stanley Norbert said they are investigating if both incidents are linked.
SHAKEN
Ahmad (not his real name), 24, was the most seriously injured among the five at the Eunos attack, suffering slash wounds on both arms and his head.
The other two, who were also warded, suffered slash wounds on their hand and stomach respectively.
Still looking shaken from the attack, Ahmad told The New Paper yesterday at Changi General Hospital (CGH), where he is warded, that it was an unprovoked attack.
He claimed that he and his group have no enemies nor have they offended anyone.
That was why when he first saw the armed, masked men, he thought they were going to attack others, not their group.
Ahmad said: 'I first saw about seven men, who appeared from behind the walls. They were wearing ski masks and each one was carrying either a parang or a sword.
'I thought they were looking for others. We had no time to react or run away at all before they attacked us.'
Ahmad said he and his friends, whose ages range from 17 to 24, fled in different directions with the assailants in hot pursuit.
Ahmad himself ran to Block 16 where he was pounced upon at the void deck by two attackers.
He said: 'Then three other men, also wearing ski masks and carrying parangs, appeared and also started attacking me.'
He tried to protect his head by using his hands to cover it.
'But when I did so, I heard the (hacking) sounds,' he recounted.
'I knew that the parang had hit me.'
Ahmad then tried to run into a lift.
A middle-aged man was about to exit and was threatened by the attackers.
Ahmad said: 'They warned him to get out of the way or they would also chop him.'
The five attackers then tried to force their way into the lift as Ahmad kept kicking them out.
He succeeded only after one of them told the gang 'enough' in Malay and they left.
By then, Ahmad's hands were soaked with blood, with bones visible from the wounds.
'I thought I was going to die,' he said. 'If they had managed to enter the lift, I think I would have been dead by now.'
Taking the lift to the sixth floor, he sought help from a household, whose main door was open.
'I told them that I had been attacked by a gang and asked them to help call for an ambulance.'
The family also helped dress his wounds and gave him drinks.
Ahmad said they also kept talking to him because he told them he was going to faint. Later, the police and ambulance arrived to take him to hospital.
Ahmad's elder sister, 33, said she was distraught to see him badly injured.
She said: 'I don't know why they attacked my brother. He isn't the sort to mix with bad company.
'I hope the police will step up patrols and also arrest these people soon.'
Ahmad is now fearful of returning to Eunos Crescent, the neighbourhood where he had lived for nearly 20 years.
He moved out of the area five years ago, but would return there almost daily to hang out with his childhood friends. He said his family had plans to move back there next year because they like the area so much.
'But now, I'm not so sure.'
One of his injured friends, who is still warded at CGH, said Ahmad was the worst hit.
Requesting not to be named, he added: 'We do not know who these guys are and we have never offended anyone before.'
Police spokesman ASP Stanley Norbert said that so far, there have been no arrests and those injured in both the cases are being interviewed.
'The two cases are being investigated as rioting armed with dangerous weapon,' he added.
Those convicted of the offence face a jail term of up to seven years and caning.
lionnoisy doesn't care about anything that happens in Singapore's own backyard, he is only concern about Australia.
Since he is so concern about Australia, god only knows why he has not become an Australian citizen yet.
He's an ugly Singaporean who doesn't look himself in the mirror before he starts criticisizing others.
Seriously lionnoisy, why don't you take your Australia this and Australian bad to an Australian forums, folks there can better answer your questions.
You can post your issues about Australia here, we Singaporeans are not bothered about issues there.
http://cracker.com.au/sydney/forums/sitemap.aspx
Singaporeans choose to call Australia home not because her crime rates, there are lots of other advantages living in Australia than Singapore. If you ask me, I would still emigrate to Australia despite it's higher than Singapore crime rate.
The only reason why Singapore's crime rate is low is due to it's extremely harsh punishment meted out in the courts. The harsh punishment violates basic human rights, which Singapore is not bothered with, because it has none. If you prefer low crime rates, you should try North Korea, you might have to face the firing squad if you commit robbery.
lionnoisy,
Don't you know Singapore has the highest rate of prisoners per 100,000 population?
Singaporean Prisons incarcerated 4 times the amount of prisoners than Australian Prisons.
Total Persons Incarcerated 1997 (per 100,000 population):
Singapore: 433.35
Australia: 103.21
Please respond.

Even countries like China, Malaysia and Hong Kong pales in comparison to the amount of convicts we have in our prisons.
Total persons incarcerated 1997 (per 100,000 population):
China: 117.81
Malaysia: 119.29
Hong Kong: 175.82
I think prisoners are Singapore's most abundant resource.

Originally posted by maurizio13:
Even countries like China, Malaysia and Hong Kong pales in comparison to the amount of convicts we have in our prisons.
Total persons incarcerated 1997 (per 100,000 population):
China: 117.81
Malaysia: 119.29
Hong Kong: 175.82
I think prisoners are Singapore's most abundant resource.
You could always see it this way:
Singapore's Police Force is more effective than China's, Malaysia's and Hong Kong's due to lower crime rates in Singapore, and this explains well the reason why the number of prisoners per 100k population is higher.
Just another of my examples of how one can give a different interpretation of true statistics. ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:You could always see it this way:
Singapore's Police Force is more effective than China's, Malaysia's and Hong Kong's due to lower crime rates in Singapore, and this explains well the reason why the number of prisoners per 100k population is higher.Just another of my examples of how one can give a different interpretation of true statistics.
If Australian crime rates are high, then proportionately the prisoners per 100,000 must also be high.
If Singapore has little crime, then proportionately the prisoners per 100,000 must be low.
Only explantion for Singapore's low crime rate, but high prisoner rate is because the judicial system metes out harsh and long sentences for convicts. Therefore before the earlier convicts can be released (like Australia), the new convicts are already in there.