Originally posted by Daddy!!:dbs could not jump in because it is dtill licking the wounds from its acquisitions of dao heng bank and thai danu bank. dont know lar!
For a layman who doesn't know anything about Finance, yet you have so many opinions regarding the Temasek acquisition.
Irony, like a pig who thinks he can fly.
go on and talk big for all i care. sian.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:go on and talk big for all i care. sian.
You consider truth and facts too big for you to handle?
Merrill Lynch share price tumbled 20%. If it continues to drop drastically, you can consider going into hiding again like you did when you started this thread.
Come back again next year when prices recover, that is if Merrill Lynch still hasn't filed Chapter 11.
More increases for electricity, public transport, telecoms, property tax, medical services, service conservancy, etc.
Impressive on the way Temasek is making money in Merrill Lynch, Temasek paid US$ 48 initially, then it paid US$ 22.50 due to a clause. Currently Merrill Lynch is trading at below US$ 22.50, it will most likely drop to below US$ 20 or US$ 18, because the quarterly financial reporting is due in mid October and most investors are anticipating bad news.
As Temasek is bleeding from their overseas investments, it is selling off some of its assets in Singapore - Senoko and Seraya Power Stations - to foreign investors, and also taking over other more secure money making assets from the Singapore Government.
This evening news had it that the Singapore Government will allow Temasek to operate the Changi International Airport through a new Private Limited Company that will be wholly owned by Temasek as a subsidiary company.
The Singapore Airport will have then two separate bodies - a regulatory body separate from the Changi Airport Management.
Singaporeans will be made to pay for all these changes - as matters stand, Electricity Charges will be going up by 21% when global oil prices are trending downwards, and passengers passing through Changi International Airport will soon be charged a higher service fee from 1 January 2009.
Despite Bank of America's (BAC) assurance of buying over Merrill Lynch's (ML) share at US$ 29, the price of ML's share fail to even have support at the US$ 29 level. Current shareholders are selling ML at US$ 18, even though BAC agreed to buy it from them at US$29. The final closing price of ML's share on 7th October 2008 is US$ 18. Temasek makes good investment decisions? Private investors are not stupid like Temasek.
http://ir.ml.com/stockquote.cfm
Originally posted by Atobe:
As Temasek is bleeding from their overseas investments, it is selling off some of its assets in Singapore - Senoko and Seraya Power Stations - to foreign investors, and also taking over other more secure money making assets from the Singapore Government.
This evening news had it that the Singapore Government will allow Temasek to operate the Changi International Airport through a new Private Limited Company that will be wholly owned by Temasek as a subsidiary company.
The Singapore Airport will have then two separate bodies - a regulatory body separate from the Changi Airport Management.
Singaporeans will be made to pay for all these changes - as matters stand, Electricity Charges will be going up by 21% when global oil prices are trending downwards, and passengers passing through Changi International Airport will soon be charged a higher service fee from 1 January 2009.
oh ya, they increased 21% power charges so as sell at higher price to private investors, very clever hor, no wonder Ministers are top class scholars from overseas.
I go budget airport, dunno got increase or not?? New managements, new positions, new directors seconded from Ministries, more higher wages cost. Clever
they can continue to brag abt their investment and the "elite" team consisting of all their scholars..
all those r jus paper gain and howcome they keep mum to other investment into UBS and Citigroup? those are at least 20-30% off their purchase price...
if they r making money in their overseas investment.. y r they trying to rip the commoners by increasing electricity and telephony tariffs, public transport fares and more ERP gantries??
they r trying all their means to shore up their capital while they can do now.. as most ppl have yet to feel the pinch as they r still employed.. when the economy will to worsen in mths or yrs to come.. all these hikes will be a big burden for most citizens to bear... save up now for rainy days as these sunny days will be over soon and we will be going thru a long gloomy storm..
they r looting as much as they can now... and most citizens r stupid to be loot by them believing in the "convincing" reasons they gave.. rising cost of production, rising commodities prices etc.. look at oil retreated below USD90 and they still quote USD155 for the reason to hike electricity and transport fares..
Originally posted by SWAT_SG:they can continue to brag abt their investment and the "elite" team consisting of all their scholars..
all those r jus paper gain and howcome they keep mum to other investment into UBS and Citigroup? those are at least 20-30% off their purchase price...
if they r making money in their overseas investment.. y r they trying to rip the commoners by increasing electricity and telephony tariffs, public transport fares and more ERP gantries??
they r trying all their means to shore up their capital while they can do now.. as most ppl have yet to feel the pinch as they r still employed.. when the economy will to worsen in mths or yrs to come.. all these hikes will be a big burden for most citizens to bear... save up now for rainy days as these sunny days will be over soon and we will be going thru a long gloomy storm..
they r looting as much as they can now... and most citizens r stupid to be loot by them believing in the "convincing" reasons they gave.. rising cost of production, rising commodities prices etc.. look at oil retreated below USD90 and they still quote USD155 for the reason to hike electricity and transport fares..
We know, we know, we know, we know all about it, we know that oil price is low, we know that cost of production is not the issue, we know that transport fares increases is unfair...but we also know that no one will say a word other than grumbling here and there.
Admit it, that is the sad fact of our Singaporeans individualism, NATO
last i heard Bank of american shares is down to USD23.77 after cutting dividends, therefore valueing ML at USD20.00. USD2 above it last closing price.
still making money if offer is USD20? like someone say before there are seller at USD18.00.
The loser has to fall
It's simple and it's plain
Why should we complain?
The loser has to fall
It's simple and it's plain
Why should we complain?
your pt is?
Tem_sejk's portfolio was 40% in financials which means a paper portfolio loss of at least 10% on financials alone. if we take the other investments into consideration, it should be at least 25%
Ermm...smart and highly educated 1st world people of spore,
am I right to say despite the Global Meltdown and Recession now experiencing,
there is absolutely no money lost?
This thread:
Investments in Merril Lynch making money for Temasek last
Daddy!!
..and the thread starter is turning out to be the biggest fool on earth... can anyone doubt that with such delusions, he is heavily invested in the markets himself? and let's hope he did not borrow money to act on his delusions and end up jumping out of the Singapore flyer when it hits the highest point.
absolutely. i am indeed buying NOW with a sum of money more than you could imagine and this money is only "extra".
Originally posted by Daddy!!:absolutely. i am indeed buying NOW with a sum of money more than you could imagine and this money is only "extra".
Congrats, you can get it at a current price of USD13.5++ :D
That's definitely a better deal than Temasek.
every market crash is time to get rich. the key is knowing which blue chips to buy.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:absolutely. i am indeed buying NOW with a sum of money more than you could imagine and this money is only "extra".
hahahaha.... claimed that you just bought NOW and you did not follow in the footsteps of the asspots? sorry hor, that is a little unbelieveble given how delusional you were when you started the thread...
...but even if you as you claimed, only started to buy NOW, hahahaha... we shall see... because like I said in the other thread
"People and the markets will need lots of time to lick their wounds and heal and only when the markets are quiet and healing will I get in to buy."
Originally posted by Daddy!!:every market crash is time to get rich. the key is knowing which blue chips to buy.
That's a very simplistic view that is slightly one grade above "follow-the-crowd" mentality. You have a higher chance of making more money but similarly, your chance of losing everything is also higher. You should be careful since many millionaires were totally wipe out during the depression and even the economic crisis of the 1970's. Think about those who bought Lehman when it was at its all time low to see their wealth reduce to nothing.
That being said, the market condition is optimium for trading due to the high beta but do not enter the market unless you know clearly what you're getting into.
I know pple who entered into FerroChina at >$1
And now Ferro's trading halted
Don't talk cork lah LPJ.
Let me digress a lil.
I gambled 200 times. I only reported to you i won 1 time.
How transparent am i? Is 5% transparent not transparent? Then is 4.1239384% transparent not transparent? How to QUANTIFY scientifically transparency? Who certifies the amount of Transparency ?
I am just a layman, brudder.
Another Honest Mistake?
The biggest mistake of which is to put family members, relatives and friends in decision making position, when it is obvious that they do not have the capacity to make the right decisions.
Family members, retired P4P members and relatives, with no apparent knowledge of the companies they are running, appointed to run the GLCs and GICs. What type of system is this?
CRONYISM!!!
Haha this thread is so interesting......becos it's about someone's boast coming back to haunt him. Trying to meander like a fucking snake out thru these arguments just doesnt hold water at all.
And then he has boasted about having loads of money to buy some more stocks huh. How do we know it's a boast? That's becos he says "it is a sum of money only one could imagine". Such big self impt talk huh. How does the world view boasts in general? Take it with a pinch of salt and especially online forums lol.
Cheers.....