Actually...IMHO, terrorism is simply using fear to make a point about something. Its purpose, is similar to war which is the continuance of diplomacy by other means. However, its true purpose like war is to serve itself.
It would be prudent to actually strengthen and make critical emergency infrastructures such as the SCDF camps and various public and private hospitals hard targets now. Imagine having your civil emergency resources taken out...you got your armed forces and law enforcement agencies but you can do jack-shit.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Maybe some small fry will be blamed for the incident and fired, while the top brass Hong Kan Seng who manages the Home Affairs Ministry goes scot free.
well, some forumites here believe that is the right way to do things. pin the blame on some unknown person, declare case closed, and sweep everything under the carpet and continue to draw his million dollar salary.
for Wank King Seng to step down will never happen.
one question:
1) how come Gurkha soldiers are Nepalnese? i thought the word "Gurkha" means indian soldiers / singhs and silkhs in turban??!! no???!
sorry but.. we need the death note.
also, anyone care to predict what will happen if mas selamat still never get caught after 1 month?
will gahmen declare the case as closed and say "mas selamat has slipped off to some indonesian island"???
Originally posted by ParamoreForRiot:sorry but.. we need the death note.
for wong kan sing? oh.. you mean for the terrorist? lol
death note for LKY lah.
wah sian..
into thrid day alr.
if by tonite never captured is as good as gone already.
heads should roll.
the man incharge of security in the prison and the man in charge of homeland security.
really want to see how the govt and media handles this after 1 week.
PM Lee should reprimand ho peng kee and wong kan seng, or cut their salary, or demote them.
Whitely dentention centre is where political dissidents are sent.
Now this fellow escaped.
It is a sign of weakness.
A detainee remembers
http://www.singapore-window.org/tfhmemo.htm
http://www.interpol.int/Public/News/2008/OrangeNotice20080228.asp
| INTERPOL issues global alert for suspected terror leader following escape from Singapore jail |
|
An urgent worldwide security alert, or Orange Notice, has been issued by INTERPOL after the escape of an alleged leader of the Jemaah Islamiyah terrorist group from a jail in Singapore.
Mas Selamat bin Kastari escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre on Wednesday 27 February where he was being held following his deportation from Indonesia to Singapore in February 2006.
Following a request from Singapore, INTERPOL issued the Orange Notice - which includes Kastari’s photograph and fingerprints, essential elements to help law enforcement officers in their search and eventual verification of his identity when located and arrested – to each of its 186 National Central Bureaus (NCBs).
“Singapore is clearly doing all that it can on a national level to locate this fugitive and through issuing an Orange Notice, INTERPOL and all of its member countries can support these efforts on an international scale,” said Executive Director of Police Services Jean-Michel Louboutin.
The Orange Notice was originally created to warn police, public entities and other international organizations of potential threats related to disguised weapons, explosives and other dangerous materials; however it can also be issued by INTERPOL’s General Secretariat in Lyon, France for any act or event which poses a risk to the safety and security of citizens around the world.
imo its the usual tidak apa attitude of the police n all, i m sure they
must have asked the same qtn as us (look at wks face when he spoke in parliment) and thinking "how can a limping man get so far,
he must still be in the detention centre". perhaps tats why there wasnt
any public announcement until 4hrs after the event. they must also have
expected he wud b caught soon hence without a news release, thing wud
hv bn easier to cover up. but then...
from watching the news, u
dun see any dog unit being used to search. they cordon off the area
where sji, scgs is... watever for? frm the detention ctr, its much
easier to move into bkt brown cemetery n frm there cross over to
macritchie. frm macritchie, its a simple trek to bkt timah, mandai,
sembawang, yishun which is all either near to the chk pt or opposite
the malaysian coastline. a short swim across n he will be in malaysia.
with all the malaysian police there concentrating on the election, how
will they be able to spare policemen to search for a limping malay man
in a sea of other malay men?
moving up north to kelantan, he
will def b able to hide amongst all the sympathetic pas folks there or
maybe even cross over to pattani in thailand. once he is off this
island, he is gone. unless he does something silly like going to a
mosque for friday prayers n then being recognized. :)
Originally posted by club18:wah sian..
into thrid day alr.
if by tonite never captured is as good as gone already.
heads should roll.
the man incharge of security in the prison and the man in charge of homeland security.
really want to see how the govt and media handles this after 1 week.
Hahaha.....
Put the blame on some junior officer lor, while the main star in charge of Ministry of Home Affairs goes away scot free.
Strange that the few million dollar salaried genius Minister has never noticed the security flaw during his visits to Whitley Detention Centre while he was Minister of State for Home Affairs during his term in 1985, or during his 3 terms as Minister for Home Affairs from 1995. Maybe he hasn't even visited the Whitley Detention Centre in all his terms,
perhaps he was busy playing golf with his P4P buddies, no time to visit Whitley Detention Centre.
Born and raised in Singapore since 1946, Mr Wong Kan Seng received his Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in 1970 and Business Administration diploma in 1977 from the then University of Singapore (now known as National University of Singapore) and the Master of Business Administration in 1979 from London Business School, sponsored by a Singapore Government scholarship.
Mr Wong began his career in 1964 as a teacher for 3 years before pursuing further studies at the University of Singapore. On graduation in 1970, he joined the Administrative Service in the then Ministry of Labour briefly before being called up for full-time National Service in the Singapore Armed Forces. After a year as a national serviceman, he was posted to the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) as an Administrative Officer. He held appointments as a Department Head of the Republic of Singapore Navy, Director of Manpower Division and Deputy Secretary (MINDEF) till 1981 when he left to join Hewlett Packard, Singapore where he remained till January 1985.
Mr Wong contested and won in the 1984 Parliamentary election as the People's Action Party candidate for the Kuo Chuan Constituency in Toa Payoh. Since then, he was re-elected as Member of Parliament for the Toa Payoh (1988), Thomson (1991) and Bishan-Toa Payoh (1997, 2001 and 2006) Group Representation Constituencies.
In February 1985, Mr Wong was appointed Minister of State (Home Affairs, briefly) and (Community Development), and (Communications and Information). In the following year, he was appointed the Acting Minister for Community Development and Minister of State (Communications and Information).
In 1987, Mr Wong became the Minister for Community Development, a position he held till 1991. In that same year, he was appointed as the Leader of the House (Parliament) and held the position till March 2007. He was also concurrently the Second Minister for Foreign Affairs, and became the Minister for Foreign Affairs in 1988. He is now the Home Affairs Minister (since 1994).
Mr Wong was appointed the Deputy Prime Minister on 1 September 2005. He also chairs a number of ministerial-level committees which coordinate work across several ministries, for example, on crisis management, on community engagement and on population. Mr Wong is also the co-Chairman of the Singapore-China Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation and the Suzhou Industrial Park Joint Steering Committee, as well as the Qatar-Singapore High Level Joint Committee.
Mr Wong was the Deputy Chairman of People's Association for 15 years from 1992 to 2006.
Apart from appointments in the Government, Mr Wong is the Adviser of the National Transport Workers' Union since 1985. He was the Chairman of the Chinese Development Assistance Council from 1992 till 2004. He is a member of the London Business School's Global Advisory Board since 1999.
Mr Wong has been a member of the People's Action Party's Central Executive Committee since 1987 and was its Second Assistant Secretary-General since 1992. Mr Wong became its First Assistant Secretary-General since 2004.
For his contributions to the Civil Service and Labour Movement, Mr Wong was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Silver) in 1976 and the National Trade Union Congress May Day Medal of Honour in 1998. He received the London Business School Alumni Achievement Award in 2004.
His wife, Ruth, was a teacher for more than 20 years until her retirement. They have 2 adult sons.
For exercise, Mr Wong works out in the gym. He also enjoys a round of golf.
Source: http://www.cabinet.gov.sg/CabinetAppointments/Mr+Wong+Kan+Seng.htm
For such a detention facility...why don't they build a bloody offshore platform, like in Face/Off, all detainees there wear special boots that can be magnetically activated when there's a lockdown. And being a friggin off-shore platform, they will have no bloody place to escape to! Hell...if we win Pedra Branca, we can use it as such a facility to hold this bunch of jokers!
... you see, as expected - where are all those FAP Supporters when something screws up?
i dont know why i got this feeling that the ji dude wont be caught as it's been more than 48 hrs![]()
its scary man
he should have been executed when he was arrested..
Originally posted by SpecOps87:For such a detention facility...why don't they build a bloody offshore platform, like in Face/Off, all detainees there wear special boots that can be magnetically activated when there's a lockdown. And being a friggin off-shore platform, they will have no bloody place to escape to! Hell...if we win Pedra Branca, we can use it as such a facility to hold this bunch of jokers!
correct me if im wrong..
but last time they tried putting hardcore prisoners at offshore island right? but ended up the prisoners kill the prison officers..
of course that was during british rule
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... you see, as expected - where are all those FAP Supporters when something screws up?
Hehehehe.....
Probably in Geylang burying their face and head into some place where it doesn't see the day of light.
i tink useless to find him liao
Game Over
No try again
KO!!!!!!
wat we can do si when we take the mrt train
make sure look under your chair got any bag bo
When go toilet make sure rem to check got bomb also and
make sure check your next door is empty in case that Jl leader
might be doing his business inside too
The escape is probably planned. When his family came to visit him, it was the signal to tell him to escape. Another friend of his is already parking his car outside, waiting for his escape. And since the JI leader escaped, he probably ran to the car and the car zoom off to that friend's house. Right now, the JI leader must probably be having a feast at his friend's HDB house while watching the news and laughing at the Singapore police and SAF.
With his friends buying all the food for him, he probably just needs to stay indoor and plan the next step via internet.
he also laughting at us....
creating a topic and give so many comments on him
Originally posted by noahnoah:
i tink useless to find him liao
Game Over
No try again
KO!!!!!!
wat we can do si when we take the mrt train
make sure look under your chair got any bag bo
When go toilet make sure rem to check got bomb also and
make sure check your next door is empty in case that Jl leader
might be doing his business inside too
I think the MRT hor think that they will only leave bomb in their bag
Maybe is suicide bomber leh
Originally posted by noahnoah:
he also laughting at us....
creating a topic and give so many comments on him
Not really. We came here at our own accord. Nobody forces us to surf sgforums. We just log on here to know more about other's opinions on this matter or to vent our frustration on the Singapore government.
PAP damn lousy still cannot find JI.