Originally posted by weiqimun:dumbdumb...."but truthfully, part of me will cheer if they blow up some important building and some overpaid fat cats along with it.."
you are one sick SOB. 2 wrongs dun make 1 rite.
of course 2 wrongs don't make a right. ok maybe cheering isn't the right word. but i won't mourn or feel sorry if that really happened.
when will the govt wake up. must smth like this happen before they take things seriously?
Originally posted by spencer99:
Also if it is a planned escape without any collusion from the guards, then you can imagine how ingenious and how organized JI is in singapore! To be able to pull off a escape from a highly secured location! This is like Mission Impossible! If they can pull this off, what is it they CANNOT do?
U got watch prison break anot? ![]()
Originally posted by qlqq9:PAP damn lousy still cannot find JI.
you said that later some P4P supporters not happy. it is their god you know? ![]()
when will the govt wake up. must smth like this happen before they take things seriously?
Now the number of opposition MPs in parliment, I can count with one hand.
No pressure on PAP.
But if 30 opposition MPs in parliament, there will be pressure in parliament.
It will make PAP wake up their fucking idea.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
No pressure on PAP.
or maybe something happen to someone in the Lee family, then they will really wake up.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
No pressure on PAP.
that's why hong kan seng can still smile about it.
wonder how a lame terrorist jailbird managed to escape such a highly security building. could it be a pre-plan plot by some of the police officers?
example like some high officers' family being threaten dat the terrorists will bomb the parliment if they nvr carrying to wat they said?
I believe that the relevant authorities has to be held accountable for this security slip up, and that an independent enquiry be launched to investigate into this matter. It is unacceptable that a country, like Singapore, that prides itself for it's safety and security allow such a catastrophic error to occur.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:or maybe something happen to someone in the Lee family, then they will really wake up.
ya lor.. seems like only when they're being hurt personally then they feel the pain.
some stranger dies because of their actions, they don't feel anything because they don't know us, we're not their family. only when its someone they care about get hurt as a result of their inaction, then they know how serious it is.
don't know la. i give up
I believe that the relevant authorities has to be held accountable for this security slip up, and that an independent enquiry be launched to investigate into this matter.
Mainstream propaganda media is controlled by the state.
They will not criticise the PAP regime or put pressure on them.
Sgforum is not under their control, so people here criticise them.
Media Release: Questions that Wong Kan Seng must answer
Singapore Democrats
29 Feb 08
The shocking revelation by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng about the escape of ISA detainee Mr Mas Selamat Kastari does not pass the smell test. At the minimum, it raises troubling questions that require urgent answers:
One, were there breaches of physical security? The detainee could not have walked through walls. The Minister has not told the public whether Mr Kastari had dug a burrow, punched hole through the wall or cut the wire fencing surrounding the detention centre. If there were no such breaches, then did Mr Kastari push his way past the security personnel guarding the doorways and gates?
The time Mr Kastari took to go to the toilet is at most several minutes. How does one effect an escape in that short span of time? This apparently occurred at about 4 pm and just before his family visit which means that the officers on duty had to be on heightened alert. The situation becomes even more incredible when we are told that the detainee walks with a "distinct limp".
Mr Wong Kang Seng expects us to believe that a detainee who could not walk properly got past able-bodied officers from the confines of a toilet, in broad daylight and without an escape route?
Two, where are the footages of security cameras? There are cameras mounted in all prison facilities precisely to prevent such situations. The Whitley Detention Centre is no exception. If the Elections Department has a CCTV camera and can produce video footages, surely Mr Wong can now produce footage of the moments that led to the detainee's escape.
Cameras would have recorded Mr Kastari's movements as well as movements of the police officers guarding him. They would also show Mr Kastari walking, running, jumping, or limping through the compounds of the Centre if he had escaped. The Government must show the people such footage.
Three, what are the officers' accounts? So far we have only heard from the Minister. This is not sufficient. The ISD officers involved in the matter must now give their accounts in a public, independent inquiry whose panel should include the SDP.
In addition, officers handling Mr Kastari must give an account of the detainee's condition in the months and weeks leading up to his escape. This is important to establish the detainee's physical condition at the point of his breakout.
If the Government cannot satisfactorily answer the above questions and produce the video footage of Mr Kastari's movements just prior to his escape, then the question of whether an escape had in fact taken place necessarily arises. The logical follow-up to this question then is: Is Mr Kastari still alive?
The media and Parliament have been derelict in their duties in not raising the above questions and grill Mr Wong on the matter. The kids' gloves that journalists and MPs have been using to deal with this disturbing issue is revealing as it is instructive.
At the very least, the debacle calls into question the competence of the Home Affairs Minister and his cursory statement given in Parliament is woefully inadequate, negligent even. The SDP demands that the Minister comes out in the open immediately and answers our questions.
All this mystery surrounding this incredible gaffe must, however, not distract us from the fact that Mr Kastari has not been convicted of a crime with the Government having proven its case in a court of law. Singaporeans must remember that he ISA remains a tool of the PAP to serve its own political ends.
If we decry the ISA in detaining Singaporeans like Mr Chia Thye Poh, Ms Teo Soh Lung, and Mr Francis Seow and depriving these citizens of their right to defend themselves in an open and fair trial, then we must also extend that right to Mr Kastari and all other detainees currently incarcerated at the Whitley detention centre. Let the charges be made against these suspects, let the prisoners defend themselves, and let the evidence, if any, convict these persons.
Chee Soon Juan
Secretary-General
Singapore Democratic Party
Originally posted by Quincey:I believe that the relevant authorities has to be held accountable for this security slip up, and that an independent enquiry be launched to investigate into this matter. It is unacceptable that a country, like Singapore, that prides itself for it's safety and security allow such a catastrophic error to occur.
i believe the police commissioner and the police officers on duty are the one going to be the scape goat this time. sure tio jia lat jia lat.
i tink WSK can figure out his own political career as well. he will retire gracefully b4 the next GE comes if he's got balls. LKY is still around, so he is a write-off, regardless of the outcome. he will yield his stick and clean up the PAP house quietly. sinkapore's credibility stock just crashed becos this this.
When this blows over, if hard questions are still not asked, then u know what kind of gahmen sinkapore has. world class this world class tt, but their security measures is definitely 3rd class.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:of course 2 wrongs don't make a right. ok maybe cheering isn't the right word. but i won't mourn or feel sorry if that really happened.
i dun think the gahmen will wake up. believe me, this will be somebody else's fault.....just u wait and see.
I wonder which country besides Singapore has allowed their no.1 most wanted man to escape.
Imagine USA letting Osama escape from prison.
A laughing stock.
I tink the focus for now should be on finding and re-arresting the detainee rather than the bombardment about how he managed to escape. Of cuz, everyone wants to know about the 'how' and 'why', but these can come after he's being brought back into custody. There is no way we citizens or media would just let this matter rest without gettin to the btm of it anyway. But the blame game can come later, rite now the impt ting is the safety measures and recapturing of the detainee, imho.
On a side note, ISD, though affliated, is a separate entity from SPF, under MHA. Hence, Whitely Road Detention Centre is managed by ISD officers, not CISCO or SPF officers. But when someone escapes from detention, the job goes to the police or even the army personnels to relocate him, naturally.
Personally shocked at the security lapse bah, but well, 'never say never'. Hope he gets caught soon.
I am wondering how things will turn out to be if such incidents happened just before the elections.
Originally posted by LatecomerX:I am wondering how things will turn out to be if such incidents happened just before the elections.
They will probably postpone the election and say the impt thing now is to recapture the criminal and increase security. They will probably postpone a say, june election to december election.
Originally posted by LatecomerX:I am wondering how things will turn out to be if such incidents happened just before the elections.
They will probably blackout the news media about such things until after the elections.
Look at how our news media downplay this issue, seems like Thaksin's return to Thailand is more important than Singapore's No.1 Terror Suspect escape from High Security Detention Centre.
During the 6:30 news, the escape of Singapore's No.1 Terror Suspect only took the middle slot in the news.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
How can he still be in Sgp? Where can he hide? It must have been a well planned job with help from inside the detention center.
LOL... I don't think my sentence structure is that bad for you to misunderstand something?
Or am I not understanding you?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:well, its a double edged sword.. i think even if he remains in singapore, he won't be easily found.
think about it, there are so many missing people in singapore. how many of them were found back?
either way, he has communication with his friends outside now. he can coordinate attacks from where he is. regardless in indonesia, or singapore, or watever.
Pretty true in a sense, given Singapore's landscape.
The so many missing Singaporeans... we aren't even sure they are still in Singapore... just like we aren't sure if he's still in SG...
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I would rather that he is still at large in Singapore than to have fled to other countries. That would make things harder if he isn't in Singapore.
As reported, he had originally escaped Singapore, then caught overseas and sent back to Singapore.
Somehow he escaped Singapore again. Could he be overseas already? Then get caught and sent back again? ![]()
Originally posted by freedom4ever:i believe the police commissioner and the police officers on duty are the one going to be the scape goat this time. sure tio jia lat jia lat.
They sure know how to taichi blames too.
I believe this will definitely be a hot election topic in the coming election.
will WKS claim that that the JI terrorist escaped becoz he doesnt have enough increase in his salary, and they should give him a big raise so that he will ensure future JI terrorist will not escape?
Originally posted by eagle:As reported, he had originally escaped Singapore, then caught overseas and sent back to Singapore.
Somehow he escaped Singapore again. Could he be overseas already? Then get caught and sent back again?
Ah yes.
But I think this time round, Singapore prefers to catch him herself... not leave to some other countries to do it...