Originally posted by skeujin:hahaha
just saw the SPF ad on tv where the guy is running and his clothes change to uniform n he catches the thief.
whole ad ends with "his talent is recognised everyday..."
i think they should either take the ad off the air or change the last line to start with "his lack of talent is recognised each day..."
lol that's what i felt too.
Its time has Mat Selamat appeared?
Originally posted by mancha:Its time has Mat Selamat appeared?
haha. got time for him to appear one meh
time to summon VRman.
I doing nothing, waiting for the rain to stop.
Whether $1000 or $12,000, any reward sgould be deducted from Minister's big fat Bonus.
How can he get big bonus if he does not run his Police/ISD well? I mean look at the poor cop-he gets zero bonus if a prisoner escape from his watch.....then why should the Minister be treated differently?
Maybe Prime Minister should also potong gaji.......(salary cut)
It's only fair play.....yes?
Originally posted by idwar:Whether $1000 or $12,000, any reward sgould be deducted from Minister's big fat Bonus.
How can he get big bonus if he does not run his Police/ISD well? I mean look at the poor cop-he gets zero bonus if a prisoner escape from his watch.....then why should the Minister be treated differently?
Maybe Prime Minister should also potong gaji.......(salary cut)
It's only fair play.....yes?
The minister's apology don't even sound like one .. you expect him to potong gaji ... wait long long ..
Happy 1 week anniversary to Mas Selamat Kastari!!!
... it's getting ulgier by the day...
Lorry drivers pay price of fugitive's escape
JOHOR BARU, MALAYSIA: It's taking up to 14 hours for lorry drivers to get through Singapore Customs since the search for Jemaah Islamiyaah fugitive Mas Selamat Kestari began. "Getting through Singapore Customs usually takes at most two hours, but now it stretches to seven, 12 or even 14," said Johor Lorry Owners Association vice-president V.V.K. Manivatiyan.
On Friday, Singapore stepped up checks at the Causeway to find the terror suspect who escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre last Wednesday.
According to Manivatiyan, the drivers are made to wait without access to toilets or food and drink.
"This is a violation of their human rights. The drivers can't work the next day because they are exhausted."
He said the problem is there are only five bays to check the 500 to 800 lorries that cross the border each day.
"They've had a week to figure out a better system," Manivatiyan added.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... it's getting ulgier by the day...
JOHOR BARU, MALAYSIA: It's taking up to 14 hours for lorry drivers to get through Singapore Customs since the search for Jemaah Islamiyaah fugitive Mas Selamat Kestari began. "Getting through Singapore Customs usually takes at most two hours, but now it stretches to seven, 12 or even 14," said Johor Lorry Owners Association vice-president V.V.K. Manivatiyan.On Friday, Singapore stepped up checks at the Causeway to find the terror suspect who escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre last Wednesday.
According to Manivatiyan, the drivers are made to wait without access to toilets or food and drink.
"This is a violation of their human rights. The drivers can't work the next day because they are exhausted."
He said the problem is there are only five bays to check the 500 to 800 lorries that cross the border each day.
The government should have some kind of service to provide these waiting lorry drivers some food and toilet cubicles.
How much is 800 X $3.50 a day for a week?
Ask the incompetent Minister in charge to pay from his salary.
Even if he pays for a month, he still has millions leftover from his salary.
Else, very soon no lorry drivers will deliver food products to Singapore.
I need not mention that Singapore is at least 30-40% reliant on Malaysia for food products.
I think they are very incompetent (they take their orders from the incompetent Minister) at checking vehicles.
I made a bet with my buddy that Mas will NOT be apprehended by this Sunday, 7pm.
My reasons...
On average, I can run 10km/hr.
Thus, 1 hr = 10 km search radius.
So when the news broke, there should be a 40 k search radius. Not sure if the police did that. But apparently not. (Who's the chief?)
7 days....mean heaven liao. End of exercise!
And how can Mas get food? Easy...wait at void deck and watch out for McDelivery. While the delivery bugger is up....just grab the rest of the undelivered food. Did the police make any inquiry on lost of food??
Provision shops, etc....they usually stock take like once a month or longer lag...police should request stock take to ensure no shoplifting of food, clothes, etc...
First claim was that Mas was spotted by gas attendent heading towards cementry in a pair of shorts...then yesterday police release pic of clothes including a long pants....7 days...I can change into a shirt and tie liao...just go to those 2 room TPY HDBs and help myself to clothes hanging outside....
Did the police take IQ test of convict???? Do we know if he's high IQ or not??? Does it matter? Yes. Cos that will prepare us what to look out for....beside misleading info that he's 'not left Singapore', 'desperate', 'hungry', etc....
And will he go into the forrested area??? No, I dun think so. I'll won't be that stupid to step into muddy, dense and damp Singapore jungle just to leave my tracks all over the shop!
Where will I go?? I will go thru the concrete jungle because most people are not around in the day anyway. I can stay in schools for water and shelter in the evening. Or sleep in Lakeview estate's stairwell cos it's secluded and sheltered. And stairwell provides good detection from intruders because sound vibrate readily in stairwell, giving me ample time to make to escape.
I was viewing the vidz cap of Mas in CNA and guess what???? The picture of Mas in the Police Notice and the Vidz cap looked so DIFFERENT!!!!!! When was the mug shot taken???? Please la....Mr. Policemen, how to identify Mas like that?????
I also know that many Singaporean do not tap their ezlink card during super crowded bus rides adn the BC can't do anything cos it's just so packed. What a perfect chance for Mas to free ride! And you think people are starring at people during those croweded moments in bus???? Nah....
My guess is, he is already overseas. I think we should come up with a new serial. Detention Break, instead of Prison Break. LOL! But Detention Break is much more simple, just fake a limp, give old photos of himself, pretend to go toilet and then climb out of the drainage system. ![]()
The Fugitive (Asian Edition)
Starring -- Mas Selamat Kastari, Wank Kan Seng as the incompetent Minister
... I say that if the stupid "govt" doesn't come up with a better method of screening border traffic (or at least provide refreshments for those lorry drivers - use some EQ), they gonna screw things up more when lorry drivers refuses to come into Singapore wich, will push up costs of poultry & veges...
... 4 decades, and they still do things with a myopic, single-sighted, narrowly focussed mentality bordering on selfishness...
... what the fark are they demanding such high salaries for??? Lacking brains, lacking EQ, and foresight...!!!
lolz i just received a SMS saying he is already in Malaysia...not sure whether it is a prank SMS or not
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... you see, this is the problem with Singapore & its authorities; they want to get something done, such as now, the high objective of finding MSK - but instead of acting they spend so much bloody time debating on whether or not it is good idea, and that it should be a National Duty, blah blah blah...
... For farks sake, cut with the crap, bump up the reward amount, and get it rolling!!
... they farking think people will spend days hunting for such a fugitive and not incur costs?? Who's paying their domestic utility bills while they go out and do this??? Who pays the petrol? And all other costs of such an effort???
... our "govt" still refuses to wake up their farking ideas...
===========================================
Yes, rewards help, says group considering $12,000 bounty
But others say it will send wrong message
By Desmond Ng
March 05, 2008
FIND us Mas Selamat Kastari and we'll pay you.
The New Paper on Sunday, 2 Mar.
Security firm Metropolis Security Systems offered $1,000 to its officers to help track down the terrorist yesterday.Voluntary group Crime Library also told The New Paper yesterday that it is discussing a $12,000 bounty for the Jemaah Islamiah (JI) detainee.
But is it necessary to place a reward for the capture of this terrorist, some have asked.
Have we become so mercenary that we will only react if there's money involved?
Lawyer Amolat Singh said: 'If you look at it from a purely nationalist point of view, this thing should not be done with money.
'Some people may also take the high moral ground and say that catching Mas Selamat is our duty. Money should not be involved.'
A grassroots leader who declined to be named said that putting out a reward could send out the wrong message.
He said: 'It monetises the whole affair and suggests that Singaporeans will only act if there's money involved. This should be a national effort.'
Metropolis Security Systems, which employs more than 250 guards, put up the bounty in an internal circular to all its employees yesterday, reported The Straits Times.
Metropolis operations manager Mutaza Sarbini told The Straits Times: 'With over 250 officers deployed island-wide, we hope to cover some grounds and hopefully mobilise our resources to help the authorities.
Since Mas Selamat's escape, officers from the Singapore Police Force, Immigration & Checkpoints Authority and the Gurkhas have searched these areas in Singapore.
'We also believe that collective effort by security associations and other private security agencies in Singapore to consolidate effort and resources could bring about synergy and joint-effort with the police in addressing the security issue at hand.'Crime Library founder Joseph Tan rationalised that while it is everyone's duty to do his or her part as a citizen, the reward is just an extra motivation.
'People will offer help and information without being paid. But there are some who won't mind the extra money. If you have an incentive, it will increase the chances of finding him as people become more aware,' he explained.
Mr Tan said the idea of a reward was suggested by some volunteers during a board meeting last Saturday.
The group has about 270 volunteers. Based on a less than $50 contribution from each volunteer, the reward should work out to at least $12,000, he said.
He added: 'No concrete decision has been made yet. The idea is that whoever finds him or has information leading to him will be rewarded.
'Once we have confirmation, we'll go ahead with placing the reward. At least, that will increase the chances of success.
'If there's a US$25 million ($35m) reward for Osama bin Laden, why not Mas Selamat?'
Mr Tan said that in his experience, the reward system does help.
He cited Crime Library's $50 rewards for information leading to missing persons as examples.
He said: 'So far, the scheme has been quite successful. We have had about eight payouts so far, with good leads to missing persons. It works.'
'WONDERFUL'
Retired police officer Lionel de Souza also thinks the reward system is a wonderful incentive.
He said: 'I think it's a civil-minded act and there's nothing wrong unless that person offering the reward has a hidden agenda.
'With that reward, a person may go that extra mile to find Mas Selamat. They may go around asking friends or become more alert.'
Mr Amolat Singh said it's a fact of life that some monetary benefit will help that cause.
Also, just because there's a reward, it doesn't mean that the person who helps in the capture of Mas Selamat will take the money.
He said: 'What's a $10,000 reward for Mas Selamat? If he had succeeded in his threat to bomb Changi Airport, innocent lives will be lost and the economic impact will be terrible.
'If that happens, even $10,000 may be too little.'
Some people have questioned if the police should step up and offer a reward too.
Security officer J Singh said he is surprised there has been no official bounty for Mas Selamat yet.
The 47-year-old said if he sees the terrorist, he will call the police even if there's no reward.
But he added: 'Just imagine if someone was harbouring him. If we put a million dollars on his head, the person may give him up for the money.
'Money can change a lot of things, the person may just think, 'I can go off to Hawaii on a holiday, why should I keep you?'
When asked if the Government would offer a reward for the arrest of the JI fugitive, Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng said on Sunday that 'this is not the practice of the police'.
Ministers expected to be paid multi-million salaries to do their jobs of serving the people. Whereas, the gov expect the people to help the gov search for MSK for free as "national effort".
somehow he must have had some spare cash, then took a taxi to some beach and then a boat to indonesia liao.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... it's getting ulgier by the day...
JOHOR BARU, MALAYSIA: It's taking up to 14 hours for lorry drivers to get through Singapore Customs since the search for Jemaah Islamiyaah fugitive Mas Selamat Kestari began. "Getting through Singapore Customs usually takes at most two hours, but now it stretches to seven, 12 or even 14," said Johor Lorry Owners Association vice-president V.V.K. Manivatiyan.On Friday, Singapore stepped up checks at the Causeway to find the terror suspect who escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre last Wednesday.
Nonsense. I interviewed some drivers beforehand and they told me they waited A DAY, from 9am on Tuesday until 10am Wednesday still stucked at Singapore.
They do have access to food and drink, yeah. They ate maggie mee for lunch and dinner. Imagine eating those crap for 2 days straight on. I went past those jam areas and i saw alot of maggie packets strewn along the pavements.
Some drivers got frustrated waiting and cut queue. This resulted in anger in some drivers. On Tuesday, a truck's windscreen was smashed by one of those drivers because it cut queue, according to one of the Malaysian drivers. This happened near Kranji MRT. Up ahead near the checkpoint area, theres another cut-queue area. So many trucks had cut queue that drivers behind got frustrated and got down their truck to confront the situation. As i was talking to an Indian driver, the group of drivers who got down , consists mostly of Indian drivers. One of them then said in Indian "Whoever cut queue, don't let them thru. If they insists on going, just ram their side mirrors off." Luckily the Indian driver that i talked to translated what they said to me.
So many drivers got frustrated waiting that they kept blaring their horn. Even in the evening they still blare their horns. The blaring of truck horn echoes thru out woodlands centre. It was complete chaos.
Something must be done. This is greatly unfair to these drivers.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Nonsense. I interviewed some drivers beforehand and they told me they waited A DAY, from 9am on Tuesday until 10am Wednesday still stucked at Singapore.
They do have access to food and drink, yeah. They ate maggie mee for lunch and dinner. Imagine eating those crap for 2 days straight on. I went past those jam areas and i saw alot of maggie packets strewn along the pavements.
Some drivers got frustrated waiting and cut queue. This resulted in anger in some drivers. On Tuesday, a truck's windscreen was smashed by one of those drivers because it cut queue, according to one of the Malaysian drivers. This happened near Kranji MRT. Up ahead near the checkpoint area, theres another cut-queue area. So many trucks had cut queue that drivers behind got frustrated and got down their truck to confront the situation. As i was talking to an Indian driver, the group of drivers who got down , consists mostly of Indian drivers. One of them then said in Indian "Whoever cut queue, don't let them thru. If they insists on going, just ram their side mirrors off." Luckily the Indian driver that i talked to translated what they said to me.
So many drivers got frustrated waiting that they kept blaring their horn. Even in the evening they still blare their horns. The blaring of truck horn echoes thru out woodlands centre. It was complete chaos.
Something must be done. This is greatly unfair to these drivers.
The lorry drivers shouldn't be made to suffer due to our Ministry's incompetence, they Ministry should come up with solution for quicker vehicular search.
If these lorry drivers decide not to deliver to Singapore, I think our food prices going to soar even further.
With such long queues, if I am lorry driver, pay me two or three times I also won't accept the job offer, kenna stuck at causeway for 1 day plus.
this guy really given to us a lot of problem
everywhere i go see his face
sibi sian arrrrrr
Why is he playing hide and seek for so long
???
Originally posted by maurizio13:
The lorry drivers shouldn't be made to suffer due to our Ministry's incompetence, they Ministry should come up with solution for quicker vehicular search.If these lorry drivers decide not to deliver to Singapore, I think our food prices going to soar even further.
With such long queues, if I am lorry driver, pay me two or three times I also won't accept the job offer, kenna stuck at causeway for 1 day plus.
Believe it or not, the driver that i talked to said he won't be delivering goods to SG anymore. He is afraid that this may happen again.
Wow! *Clapclap* We are all gonna suffer if the drivers rebel and refuse to deliver foodstuffs to SG! Well done!
Has our Prime Minister gone missing too?
Posted by theonlinecitizen on March 5, 2008
By Andrew Loh
Mas Selamat Kastari is the most wanted man in Singapore right now.
He is the number one terrorist threat to Singapore.
A massive island-wide manhunt is on the way to find him.
Malaysia and Indonesia are also on the lookout for the escapee.
Interpol has put out a worldwide warrant of arrest for the man.
The international news media has reported on his escape.
Singaporeans, both on the internet and in the mainstream media, have given their opinion on the matter.
It seems that the only person missing from all of these is the prime minister himself.
Perhaps we should start asking: Where is prime minister Lee Hsien Loong?
Not a squeak from the PM
The PM has not made any public statements or even commented on the matter of the so-called “Limping Terrorist” or the massive manhunt to look for him the entire week.
The person who has been trying to reassure Singaporeans is Home Affairs minister Wong Kan Seng. Though it is expected that Mr Wong would do so, the escape itself has cast doubts and raised questions on his credibility as Home Affairs chief. Thus, it would be better if his boss, the PM, did the reassuring instead.
Conspiracy theories
Conspiracy theorists would undoubtedly have a few colourful – or wild – take on the missing PM. Perhaps the PM does not want to add more pressure on Mr Wong Kan Seng, they might say. Or the PM does not want to distract the security forces from their work – catching the JI leader.
Still others may say that the PM and Mr Wong cannot get along and the PM is letting Mr Wong carry the buck himself, as it were. Or it could simply be that the prime minister is actually the one running the show behind the scenes.
I am sure there are many other theories.
Whatever it is, there doesn’t seem to be a good enough reason for the PM to keep quiet – especially when it’s been one week since the “prison break”.
Leadership
I think Singaporeans have the right to expect leadership from our PM in a time like this. His continued silence is jarring – and conspicuous.
A nation is anxious, to say the least. We are the focus of attention worldwide. All that the media here is reporting is the manhunt that is going on.
One hopes that someone in the media (and the Prime Minister’s Office) will do the necessary job and yes, hunt down the prime minister for a comment, in the very least.
For if the prime minister seems disinterested in the biggest story in Singapore’s history, why then is he the prime minister?
His leadership at a time like this is crucial.
Sadly, a week of silence is deafening – and worrying.
Has our prime minister gone missing too?
———————
Originally posted by maurizio13:The Fugitive (Asian Edition)
Starring -- Mas Selamat Kastari, Wank Kan Seng as the incompetent Minister
In the original movie
Harrison Ford -I didnt kill my wife!
Tommy Lee Jones -I don't care
Mas Selamat - Why can't you people just leave me alone?'
Wong Kan Seng- You forgot to flush,thats why!!!