Originally posted by Fatum:nah, like i said, there are easier ways to deal with this, like a "heart attack" .... put that way, a one sentence news bite on the 9,30 news and the fellow will just fade away forever .... why slap themselves like this .... and it's not cheap to move gurkhas like this around either ...
heart attack is easy to fake but u realise that muslims r buried n not cremated. his body would be seen by his relatives. what if it was covered in bruises.
and if i was a radical. a death in sg govt hands is still a death. revenge will be sought. now even he JI may belive that he escaped.
his escape story gives the JI an ego boost. "our man can escape leh..." they can have boasting right.
Originally posted by skeujin:heart attack is easy to fake but u realise that muslims r buried n not cremated. his body would be seen by his relatives. what if it was covered in bruises.
and if i was a radical. a death in sg govt hands is still a death. revenge will be sought. now even he JI may belive that he escaped.
his escape story gives the JI an ego boost. "our man can escape leh..." they can have boasting right.
his escape, or "escape" may also inadvertently boost recruitment for JI right ? ... I can imagine dozens of dis-enchanted youths, rebels looking for a cause, cheering at the news of his "escape" ... and this incident is really polarizing our society, there's an us-versus-them thingy going around right now because of this ....
sides, our ISD is not famous for hammering people, that is crude and unprofessional ... there's always the air-con room treatment, and the phone book taped to the chest trick, right ? ... no marks from these treatments .... ![]()
so yeah, i don't buy the "he died" theory, personally, I think there's been an inside job, a traitor from within, the goverment must have thought us pretty stupid to tell us the toilet break story, nor do I find it believable that security was indeed that lax ...
oh ya dude. its not cheap to move gurkas around, but what is spending taxpayers money compared to saving yr own 6 digit pay?
Originally posted by Fatum:his escape, or "escape" may also inadvertently boost recruitment for JI right ? ... I can imagine dozens of dis-enchanted youths, rebels looking for a cause, cheering at the news of his "escape" ... and this incident is really polarizing our society, there's an us-versus-them thingy going around right now because of this ....
sides, our ISD is not famous for hammering people, that is crude and unprofessional ... there's always the air-con room treatment, and the phone book taped to the chest trick, right ? ... no marks from these treatments ....
so yeah, i don't buy the "he died" theory, personally, I think there's been an inside job, a traitor from within, the goverment must have thought us pretty stupid to tell us the toilet break story, nor do I find it believable that security was indeed that lax ...
i know MS is now the poster boy for JI recruitment. but i think the story of him escaping far wins the report of a death.
the gabramen is known for calculating the pros and cons of every single move they make. if i was in their shoes, i would choose to lose a little face n say he escaped. then to report his death and face retaliation. the latter would make them incur 2 faults. 1st the abuse which caused the death and 2nd the retaliation by the JI, which who probably see many of hem ousted from their cushy jobs.
the only way we can ever be sure of his escape is to wait for him to rejoin his members and post a boasting rights vid.
just specualtion. if he really did escape n released a boasting rights vid. what if he declared a personal vendetta with sg. tourism will plummet... what will happen to our very first F1 race?![]()
There was no report of Mas Selamat being seen running away. He just escaped, i.e. vanished, at time officialy recorded as 4.05 pm. 27 Feb 2008.
Possible he radicalilsed one of the guards. Possiblely MSK was picked up at the petrol kiosk and whisked off to a hideout. That's why he couldn't be found.
The other possibilities have already been mulled over.
Again there is a dearth of information.
well ... if he's really gone, I think the only confirmation we'll get would be a bombing somewhere, or him being caught again by the malaysians or indonesians ...
this chap's not osama ... JI's not known for releasing videos ... ![]()
whatever the case ... I have lost faith in Singapore's security ...
it brings back the age old question. Can SG fight.
Originally posted by skeujin:ok i love conspiracy theories. heres one i jus thought of.
sine no one can actually say how he escaped the detention cetre. (escape from toilet my arse..)
I suspect he might stillll be in there.
could MS have died while he was undergoing "interrogation"?
since he is a known public figure and to prevent retaliation by JI. they claim he has escaped, but right now he's actually decomposing in a makeshift grave at the deepest darkest corner of the detention centre.
Your conpiracy theory is easier to believe than the whole escape story.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:it brings back the age old question. Can SG fight.
The anwers is 'YES' but can they contain the POWS? ![]()
Originally posted by mancha:There was no report of Mas Selamat being seen running away. He just escaped, i.e. vanished, at time officialy recorded as 4.05 pm. 27 Feb 2008.
Possible he radicalilsed one of the guards. Possiblely MSK was picked up at the petrol kiosk and whisked off to a hideout. That's why he couldn't be found.
The other possibilities have already been mulled over.
Again there is a dearth of information.
Since his alleged escape,how many people have seen Mas Selamat so far? A report says that a commuter in a bus saw him but what about the people around the petrol kiosk (if it is not a deserted ) If he was wearing brown pants and a light green top he would surely stick out like a sore thumb.
but isn't related to experience and effective decision made.
Does anybody think Jack Neo will produce a film on the "great escape".Last time he wanted to film the Huang Na case, but was objected by Ah Hao's father
Would be lucky enough to have any toilet scenes from now on so dont ask for more
It is now 8 days since the escape last Thursday afternoon at 04.05 P.M.- and on three separate occassions since the jail break, there has been so many contradicting information that makes the entire affair become incredible.
D+1 MSK was seen bare bodied and wearing only a pair of shorts by the attendants at the Whitley Road Shell Petrol Station.
D+3 MSK could have changed into his green baju kuron - [traditional Malay dress for women] - which was known to be in his possession {in his cell ?}.
D+4 MSK was wearing special garment for detainees at the Whitley Detention Centre - and public asked to look out for such discarded garments - in beige no collar shirt, and brown pants.
Why should MSK have green baju kurong in his cell ?
Why did the escorting guard allow MSK to carry the green baju kurong, when he was being brought to meet his family during visiting hour ? Was MSK expecting to be released to the custody of his family ?
What was MSK actually wearing on the day of his escape ?
How did he overcome the security barriers that must have been constructed around the Detention Centre - which must have consisted of at least two layer of chain link fence with razor concertina wire at the top of these fences ?
Surely, he could not have climbed over the fence, or did he cut through the chain link fence ?
Where did he obtain the cutting tools ?
Did the chain link fence not ''wrapped around'' the toilet facilty, or did the budget run out and requiring the fence to end at the corner of the building with the toilet - leaving the toilet window to be unsecured, along the same perimeter face as the chain link fence, allowing a window to the outside world ?
Why was he not secured when being transported and in transit from his cell to the meeting room, even within the compounds of the Detention Centre - with no consideration for the safety of the Guards ?
The more one think about the entire sordy episode, the more incredible this entire matter seems to begin to stink of incompetency in dealing with someone who has been accused as the Chief of a known Terrorist Group, and involved in the dastardly events in Indonesia, and supposedly a leader to similar plans being hatched for Singapore.
problem is garmen not releasing the real information
all no head no tail
... this whole affair has become as stale as yesteday's fish...
... while they are still doggedly hunting high & low for him, MSK would have by now married, have a few children, & even grand children already...!!!
... let the "govt" keep all the info to themselves lah, let them do whatever they want, however they so please... because when sh|t really hits the fan (such as MSK blows up something along with some lives in Indonesia), they gonna be on the frying pan again...
... this is becoming downright REDICULOUS...!
=============================================
Crossing the Causeway? Passports, please - and fingerprints
ON Day 10 of the hunt for fugitive Mas Selamat Kastari, added security checks have been enforced at all checkpoints - which means showing your passport may no longer be enough.
As straitstimes.com found out, officers from the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) at all land, air and sea exit and entry points have also started scanning fresh fingerprints from travellers.
Whether this is only done randomly or enforced on all travellers is unclear.
Taxi drivers ferrying passengers to Johor, plus some bus and lorry drivers, told straitstimes.com that checkpoint authorities started doing this in the last two days.
Taxi driver Tan Ah Tee, 54, who has been ferrying passengers across Woodlands Checkpoints for the last three years, said it is the first time he has encountered such a procedure.
He told straitstimes.com that both his passengers and himself have had to provide a fresh fingerprint for each trip he makes out of Singapore.
When asked for comment, ICA said: "Security has been enhanced at all checkpoints. We are unable to give further details due to operational concerns."
"Further checks will be conducted on travellers, vehicles and baggage where necessary. This includes the scanning of fingerprints."
With the weekend approaching and the March school holidays starting on Saturday, ICA expects throngs of vehicles to start flocking to Woodlands and Tuas Checkpoints from Friday evening.
They have advised people to plan their trips around peak periods in the morning and evening to avoid the traffic crunch.
Those who have to make the trip during the busy periods are advised to practise lane discipline to ease congestion. Car pooling and taking the public transport are among other recommended ways to beat the jams.
Originally posted by skeujin:just specualtion. if he really did escape n released a boasting rights vid. what if he declared a personal vendetta with sg. tourism will plummet... what will happen to our very first F1 race?
Originally posted by pearlie27:
i really hope it will not affect our first F1 which will bring lots of revenue to Sg.
If Mas Kastari plants his first bomb, the Singapore economy will be in shambles.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:With the weekend approaching and the March school holidays starting on Saturday, ICA expects throngs of vehicles to start flocking to Woodlands and Tuas Checkpoints from Friday evening.
They have advised people to plan their trips around peak periods in the morning and evening to avoid the traffic crunch.
Those who have to make the trip during the busy periods are advised to practise lane discipline to ease congestion. Car pooling and taking the public transport are among other recommended ways to beat the jams.
What rubbish... If want to tour and make full use of the time and days, one will definitely go in the morning and come back in the evening. ICA is telling us to cut our holidays short, or pay for one extra hotel night just so that we can spend the same amount of time there and not get caught during the peak hours?
Wah i until now haven receive the MMS. Heng.
Escape from a Detention center ?
1. how is this possible? there are guards at the final gate near the streets right? what happened to the guards? they see him walk past and said hello and then .... ? i cannot understand how a person can walk out of a detention center especially its a sg one. It will take a hell of a great answer to make me satisfied with an answer.
2. even if the toilet is old and weak, a person escaping from the toilet still needs to pass the main gate, side gates or the wall and fence. How can a limping man pass that? and where is the camera? no camera security in the compound covering the entrances and walls and fences which are the final barrier for escapees? I would not believe this.
thus, its not imaginable and i can find no reasons a person could walk out of a detention center.
I am curious no one in public in demanding an explanation.
But then again, maybe the Public is so confident and trust our security and enforcement people so much that they just simply wait for their response. I am also like this. I have trust in them. I trust since so long ago.
Sg so world class, I think this whole incident, someone will be held accountable in the highest order and at the highest level neccessary.
wow, sg can prove it is solid like cannot solid any more siah. stedi lah! so bombastic. so schoolastic. so world record.
sg's reputation and impression to the world is at stake.
Originally posted by pearlie27:
i really hope it will not affect our first F1 which will bring lots of revenue to Sg.
probably OT, but i dun think F1 will bring in net revenue to sgp.