i am just relieve that its not 2 or more that escaped.
may need more time to capture 2.
Originally posted by redDUST:probably OT, but i dun think F1 will bring in net revenue to sgp.
An unfortunate car accident might damage public property too
i suspect the authorities are trying to cover up a lot of things since Mas was discovered missing from 4 hours onwards. Anyway, they are thinking hard to cook up some stories to cover here and there. No one will knows what actually happen.
Channel NewsAsia - 1 hour 17 minutes ago
SINGAPORE: The recent escape of Jemaah Islamiyah leader, Mas Selamat Kastari, has underscored the importance of community bonding among Singaporeans.
That is why the grassroots cluster of the Community Engagement Programme (CEP) is working to strengthen mutual trust among residents.
This year, about 30 out of 84 constituencies in Singapore will be the first to receive the CEP Ready Certification.
The certification criteria include developing proper constituency emergency preparedness plans and having a group of influential community leaders who can be mobilised in a crisis.
The certificate recipients include constituencies and divisions like Paya Lebar, Clementi and Marine Parade.
Grassroots volunteers have been getting together to distribute flyers for the wanted fugitive, Mas Selamat. This is a sign of how Singapore rallies together as one, regardless of race or religion.
The programme is not just about being prepared for a natural disaster, but also for a deliberate act of attack aimed at causing mistrust among Singaporeans.
Lim Swee Say, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office and Minister—in—Charge of Grassroots Cluster CEP, said: "What’s important is for us to make sure that people are coming together, regardless of their religious groups, regardless of their racial groups, and working together...
"Over time, we would know one another better, trust one another better, and accept one another better. I think this is the only way for us to ensure that we can be best prepared."
Singapore should not wait for a case like the JI leader’s escape to build confidence among the people.
Halimah Yacob, MP for Jurong GRC, said: "For instance, when I attend residents’ wakes, I make sure I bring other races as well, so in Chinese wakes, there’ll be Malays and Indians. In that way, we break the barriers.
"If we’re able to internalise the importance of developing trust and community spirit, we’ll build a whole foundation of trust and confidence among our residents."
Madam Halimah added that she is planning to develop an email database of all her residents in Bukit Batok to allow easy and faster dissemination of information.
She said: "In the event that we need to be alert, apart from SMSing our core group, we can reach out to the residents."
Crisis simulation exercises have also proved to be effective.
Irene Ng, MP of Tampines GRC, said: "We inculcate a sense that we have a common stake in society, and while we may have different religious views and different faith, it doesn’t mean we have to be divided. In fact, it means that we have to work even closer."
Aside from visits to places of worship, various constituencies have come up with different scenarios to learn how to manage communal tensions among their residents.
It is eventually hoped that some constituencies will be able to share their best practices with others. — CNA/so
Channel NewsAsia - 1 hour 21 minutes ago
BAHRAIN: Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew does not believe Mas Selamat Kastari poses a threat if he remains at large in Singapore.
This is because it is not a planned escape and he does not have the resources to harm Singapore if he remains in the country.
But if he has escaped across the border, Mr Lee warned that Singaporeans would have to watch out for a return hit by Mas Selamat.
The minister mentor, who wrapped up his three—nation visit to the Middle East on Friday, was speaking to the Singapore media in Bahrain.
Mr Lee said Mas Selamat is a wily person who could persuade his custodians and Singapore has learnt an important lesson on complacency from the episode.
"I give him full marks for winning the confidence of his custodians that he’s completely docile, completely passive and he’s going to remain in captivity. It is... stupid to believe we are infallible. We are not infallible. One mistake and we get a big explosive in your midst. So let’s not take this lightly. I think it’s a very severe lesson of complacency," said Mr Lee.
Since Mas Selamat’s escape, police have received 950 calls and email messages about the case. Anyone with information on the fugitive should call the police at 999 or email them at [email protected]. — CNA/so
MM Lee has said to the international audience
that Singapore has to learn from Mas Selamat prison escape which he
described as a lesson in complacency.
Who does he refer to as being "Complacent"? If the junior guard on duty was complacent in this serious security incident who has to
answer for it. If the whole prison system was shabby is he himself or the minister not
being complacent.
Does he mean such security lapse was not preventable by having proper supervision standard operating procedures on the part of higher up including constant and regular review by the minister in charge or himself as multi-million mentor?
If the system is not complacent and blame was put on some junior guard
on duty and the whole incident was to be regarded as another part and parcel of life why use such strong words like "Singapore has to learn from this incident as a lesson of complacency"
Why then did he choose those words "Singapore has to learn a lesson of complacency from this incident".
It reminds us of the NKF problem which was covered up for years
with high sounding words and lame excuses which reflects on his own
complacency.
Sometimes things like this kept happening for years all because of pride in not admitting errors or poor judgments and he has excused his ministers through allowing them too much and too constant denials at the expense of solving of real problems. Just look at the excuses given in tackling the complaints against constant raising of ERP without solving problems.
Is this sort of denial and excuses not a sign of his own complacency?
There is a marked lacked of details concerning the "escape". This led to a multitude of theories generated here. We need to know the whole truth. Not only the detail of the actual escape per see. But also Mas Selamat's conduct during his four years of incarceration.
Did he lull the prison authorities into believing he has reformed?
As of now we know very little, and there is much to know.
1) How many people here actually believe that mas selamat actually escape via the toilet?
2) How many people here accept the excuse that "mas selamat will not pose imminent danger so there is no need to alert the public", for a four hours delay in announcing to the public?
If number 1) is a lie, then there is a serious integrity problem with our government. They put you out-of-course in OCS for telling a lie based on the integrity rule. Will they keep a minister in his post for the same rule?
2) if the public were to be alerted four hours before, mas selamat would have been caught by now.

Comming up!
Originally posted by robertteh:MM Lee has said to the international audience that Singapore has to learn from Mas Selamat prison escape which he described as a lesson in complacency.
Who does he refer to as being "Complacent"? If the junior guard on duty was complacent in this serious security incident who has to answer for it. If the whole prison system was shabby is he himself or the minister not being complacent.
Does he mean such security lapse was not preventable by having proper supervision standard operating procedures on the part of higher up including constant and regular review by the minister in charge or himself as multi-million mentor?If the system is not complacent and blame was put on some junior guard on duty and the whole incident was to be regarded as another part and parcel of life why use such strong words like "Singapore has to learn from this incident as a lesson of complacency"
Why then did he choose those words "Singapore has to learn a lesson of complacency from this incident".
It reminds us of the NKF problem which was covered up for years with high sounding words and lame excuses which reflects on his own complacency.
Sometimes things like this kept happening for years all because of pride in not admitting errors or poor judgments and he has excused his ministers through allowing them too much and too constant denials at the expense of solving of real problems. Just look at the excuses given in tackling the complaints against constant raising of ERP without solving problems.Is this sort of denial and excuses not a sign of his own complacency?
At this rate, PAP going to lose the next election, then it will also has a chance to "learn a lesson of complacency from this incident".
Originally posted by Obama:I think the complacency message refered to the detention centre’s guards and Superiors. They are bluffed by MAS Selamat apparent cooperation and let down their guards and thus may not have followed the SOP from my reasoning. The minister cannot be blamed for this isolated case of prison break as he can’t watch over what happen to all the prisons in Singapore everday 24 hours a day. His job is to constantly improved the prison system to keep them more secured through constant updates and reviews of policies and SOPs in his ministry. There is not a single case of prison break in all our prisons under the charge of Wong Kan Seng all these years. We should wait for the full inquiries to be completed before we speculate on how it happen.Thus all the blame on our good minister should stop here and we should move on to how not to have another such incident.
Once, I commented that it is ridiculous for the minister to earn 100 times more than an average Singaporean. My friend tried to defend the minister by saying they have more responsibilities.
I wonder what responsibilities were my friend talking about? Anything go wrong can be simply forgiven with a simple apology. And the blame pushed to the underling.
Let's say if one day the terrorist succeeded in bombing Changi Airport, you can also say that this is due to "complacency" of the security there and has absolutely nothing to do with Wong Kah Seng who happened to be the Minister of Home Affairs.
LKY has spoken! Now we know that Selamat is alive!!
Originally posted by Caitaokue:1) How many people here actually believe that mas selamat actually escape via the toilet?
2) How many people here accept the excuse that "mas selamat will not pose imminent danger so there is no need to alert the public", for a four hours delay in announcing to the public?
If number 1) is a lie, then there is a serious integrity problem with our government. They put you out-of-course in OCS for telling a lie based on the integrity rule. Will they keep a minister in his post for the same rule?
2) if the public were to be alerted four hours before, mas selamat would have been caught by now.
He escaped via toilet via the manhole.
It is obvious that they are pushing the blame to the custodians who looked after msk, but somebody on top should be responsible. I highlighted yesterday that msk has a high IQ, he would not be so stupid to hide inside the trucks and trailers on the way to the causeway. This ICA was so stupid until they wear bullet proof vest as if the terrorists are going to launch attack anytime soon. MM and wks already mentioned there are no imminent danger. This ICA caused a massive traffic jam and spoil our holiday, worst still, yesterday there was a ah Kuah minister from ntuc uttering words like there is community bonding, no problem with racial issues to that effect.He talked as if we are heading for racial riot which in effect there is no issue at all.
Originally posted by mancha:There is a marked lacked of details concerning the "escape". This led to a multitude of theories generated here. We need to know the whole truth. Not only the detail of the actual escape per see. But also Mas Selamat's conduct during his four years of incarceration.
Did he lull the prison authorities into believing he has reformed?
As of now we know very little, and there is much to know.
Shawhank Redemption Part I I
Originally posted by eagle:An unfortunate car accident might damage public property too
Don't get me started on why that is unlikely to happen in F1, but if you want to, let's use another thread.
Fuck la.
Next week i still need take bus go malaysia.
He JI leader you think almost 2weeks liao he still stay in sg wait people to catch him?
Within he 4hrs when gahmen haven annouced he leave the country liao lo.
Now the more gahmen check at woodlands checkpoint he more pissed off our citizens get nia.
Channel NewsAsia - 49 minutes ago
SINGAPORE : Religious leaders and grassroots leaders in Tampines have been roped in — in the hunt for fugitive Mas Selamat Kastari.
And as the Police continues to appeal for information on the Jemaah Islamiyah leader, it also warns that it will not tolerate those who intentionally provide false information.
They call themselves the H.O.T team — or Help Our Tampines team.
And now they want to get their community hot on the trail of JI fugitive Mas Selamat.
The team is made up of leaders from the churches and Muslim prayer groups, and community leaders from the Tampines constituency.
It was formed in October last year to respond to emergencies, to help monitor and calm the ground in times of crisis.
They also want to defuse any rumours or speculation that might divide the community.
Ms Iren Ng, MP for Tampines GRC, said: "We want to have a united front. Because we know that there’s a search for Mas Selamat, and at the same time we hear some speculation that might divide the community ... here in Tampines Changkat there’s a large proportion of Muslim residents and we want them to know that we are united. We have no suspicion or no speculation about whether Mas Selamat had help from any different religious group. As far as we are concerned, Mas Selamat is a terrorist, and is a common threat to our community."
While the community has been urged to report any information on Mas Selamat, the Police warn that it will not tolerate those who intentionally provide false information, as such actions distract resources and compromise on—going search efforts.
Police will charge a 50—year—old bus driver on Monday.
The man had allegedly given false information to get rewards offered by various parties for Mas Selamat’s arrest.
On 1 March, the man allegedly told Police he saw someone resembling Mas Selamat boarding his bus along Thomson Road near the Old Police Academy and alighting at Lentor Avenue the day the JI detainee escaped.
Later the same night, he said he saw "Mas Selamat" riding pillion on a motorcycle, and getting off at a bus stop along Thomson Road near the Singapore Polo Club.
He gave Police the registration plate of the motorcycle.
Acting on the information, Police combed Lentor Avenue.
Checks were also made on the motorcycle owner, but these showed he had been involved in a road rage incident with the bike owner on February 27.
Still, if the public sees any suspicious person or activities, Police says they should call 999 immediately — no matter how trivial the information might seem.
All such information provided will be taken seriously.
And as long as the information is provided in good faith, there is no cause for concern. — CNA/de
Channel NewsAsia - Saturday, March 8
SINGAPORE: A 50—year—old bus driver will be charged in court on 10 March with deliberately giving false information to the police that’s related to the manhunt for escaped Jemaah Islamiyah leader, Mas Selamat Kastari.
He is believed to have done so to get the rewards being offered by various private organisations and individuals for Mas Selamat’s arrest.
Police said on two occasions on 1 Mar, the suspect had told police he saw someone resembling Mas Selamat on the evening of 27 February, the day the detainee escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre.
First, he alleged that “Mas Selamat" had boarded his bus along Thomson Road near the Old Police Academy and alighted at Lentor Avenue.
Later the same night, he said he saw "Mas Selamat" riding pillion on a motorcycle — and alighting at a bus stop along Thomson Road near the Singapore Polo Club.
He also gave police the registration plate of the motorcycle.
Acting on the information, police resources were sent to comb the Lentor Avenue.
Checks were also made on the motorcycle owner but these showed he had been involved in a road rage incident with the suspect at 10pm on 27 February.
In its statement on Saturday, the Police said it will not tolerate those who intentionally provide false information, as such actions distract resources and also compromise ongoing search efforts.
However it assured the public that as long as their information is given in good faith, they have no cause for concern.
And they should call the police immediately if they see any suspicious person or activities, no matter how trivial the information might seem. Police said all such information are taken seriously.
Under the Penal Code, anyone convicted for providing false information to a public servant could be jailed for up to one year, or fined up to S$5,000 or both. —CNA/vm
Originally posted by QX179R:Channel NewsAsia - 49 minutes ago
Religious, grassroots leaders join hunt for JI fugitive Mas Selamat
SINGAPORE : Religious leaders and grassroots leaders in Tampines have been roped in — in the hunt for fugitive Mas Selamat Kastari.
And as the Police continues to appeal for information on the Jemaah Islamiyah leader, it also warns that it will not tolerate those who intentionally provide false information.
They call themselves the H.O.T team — or Help Our Tampines team.
And now they want to get their community hot on the trail of JI fugitive Mas Selamat.
The team is made up of leaders from the churches and Muslim prayer groups, and community leaders from the Tampines constituency.
It was formed in October last year to respond to emergencies, to help monitor and calm the ground in times of crisis.
They also want to defuse any rumours or speculation that might divide the community.
Ms Iren Ng, MP for Tampines GRC, said: "We want to have a united front. Because we know that there’s a search for Mas Selamat, and at the same time we hear some speculation that might divide the community ... here in Tampines Changkat there’s a large proportion of Muslim residents and we want them to know that we are united. We have no suspicion or no speculation about whether Mas Selamat had help from any different religious group. As far as we are concerned, Mas Selamat is a terrorist, and is a common threat to our community."
While the community has been urged to report any information on Mas Selamat, the Police warn that it will not tolerate those who intentionally provide false information, as such actions distract resources and compromise on—going search efforts.
Police will charge a 50—year—old bus driver on Monday.
The man had allegedly given false information to get rewards offered by various parties for Mas Selamat’s arrest.
On 1 March, the man allegedly told Police he saw someone resembling Mas Selamat boarding his bus along Thomson Road near the Old Police Academy and alighting at Lentor Avenue the day the JI detainee escaped.
Later the same night, he said he saw "Mas Selamat" riding pillion on a motorcycle, and getting off at a bus stop along Thomson Road near the Singapore Polo Club.
He gave Police the registration plate of the motorcycle.
Acting on the information, Police combed Lentor Avenue.
Checks were also made on the motorcycle owner, but these showed he had been involved in a road rage incident with the bike owner on February 27.
Still, if the public sees any suspicious person or activities, Police says they should call 999 immediately — no matter how trivial the information might seem.
All such information provided will be taken seriously.
And as long as the information is provided in good faith, there is no cause for concern. — CNA/de
So if I think I saw him but he got away before the police can find him, I will be under suspicious of giving false lead. I must be crazy to put myself in such situation for "good faith".
don't report kenna, report also kenna.
you're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't.
Lady dan gentersman many many, Selamat!
1. if he took the bus or taxi, would the drivers not have reported? would the passengers not have seen a man wearing brightly coloured unusual clothing? How plausible is it that he escaped via PUBLIC transport? use your brain.
2. if he did not take public transport, how did he get away so well that after over 1 week into the 2nd week, he manage to escape? When he escaped , say after 10 minutes they found out, it would not be difficult to catch him right, if he really just used his 2 legs to escape on his own without help right?
3. who can comform that he was NOT picked up by his accomplice?
was there a plan? no plans maybe.
4. If he had escaped out of town, would he such a high IQ many have obediently, law-abidingly have queued up and used the official exit points ? use the blain, once again.
So challenging questions.
sg'reans so smart.
got blight future. altho need so many FT....
above are purely questions with no answers. thus not implying anything other than your imagination. trying to help. that all.
thankyou you.
lady und gentersman many many,
is this escape the 1st in sg historic?
if so,
looking positively at the situation,
is it fair to say
that this serves as a indicator of how fast/slow someone in sg can be caught given its small tiny size where there is no caves and mountains and canyons and jungles and volcanoes and everywhere is fully developed? no where to hide?
next time, if other kinds of criminality runs away, or did something bad to city, and run away can run away how long?
but to be fair, i must admit, our talents are world record and so far managing the crisis quite reasonably well given the rarity of such cases happening.
Casino. When it comes, i hope not too many murderers and money laundering and thefts and robberies . Why ? u dare ask me the Y?
I noticed there is a reddressman and a Reddressman.
The former uses better English than the later.