Originally posted by mancha:I noticed there is a reddressman and a Reddressman.
The former uses better English than the later.
oh thankyou you, many many.
terimah carsay.
selamat malam hari ini.
same person lah. the better english one is cut and paste from other place one.
tio bo?
Ok lah, back to topic.
Sunday Times discuss what is Mas Selamat's breaking point?
Experts say Mas Selamat is likely to weaken as finding food and water is key to his survival.
This report assumes that Mas Selamat is hiding in the jungle. He would be weakened by now, despite being a kampong boy would be able to find fruits and drink rain water.
But what about the other possibility, that he is in an HDB flat reading the same article and laughing.
He's been in the DC since 2004 with numerous family visits. Did he not have a contingency plan, in the event of his escape? The family members could have been couriers of coded messages.
Carefull surveillance of the family would reveal if they know that Mas Selamat is safe somewhere, or his fate is unknown. Selamat knows that any contact with his family at this moment is a definite nono, he would keep away from them and known associates.
It will take him months to prepare a video message, and many more months to accumulate explosives. Oh btw slipping out of Singapore is a breeze. Ask the One-eyed Dragon.
Originally posted by mancha:Ok lah, back to topic.
Sunday Times discuss what is Mas Selamat's breaking point?
Experts say Mas Selamat is likely to weaken as finding food and water is key to his survival.
This report assumes that Mas Selamat is hiding in the jungle. He would be weakened by now, despite being a kampong boy would be able to find fruits and drink rain water.
But what about the other possibility, that he is in an HDB flat reading the same article and laughing.
He's been in the DC since 2004 with numerous family visits. Did he not have a contingency plan, in the event of his escape? The family members could have been couriers of coded messages.
Carefull surveillance of the family would reveal if they know that Mas Selamat is safe somewhere, or his fate is unknown. Selamat knows that any contact with his family at this moment is a definite nono, he would keep away from them and known associates.
It will take him months to prepare a video message, and many more months to accumulate explosives. Oh btw slipping out of Singapore is a breeze. Ask the One-eyed Dragon.
or Took Leng How (no longer around), or Richard Yong....
During the 60s my favorite TV show was 'Hogan Heroes' Starring Wong Kan Seng as 'SGT Shultz' and Lee Hsien Loong as 'Colonel Klink'![]()
Searching for an intelligent operative such as MSK, will require the searchers to think like him, live like him under similar circumstances, and review all the various options open to him.
He is stretching the resources and patience of the authorities, with time in in his favor and his only trump card to escape Singapore.
The longer the days passed, he will surely believe that he can wear down the Home Team personnel involve - as all it need is another slip in recognising ''the face''.
How long can the image of his face remain etched in the minds of everyone ?
He will probably grow a beard by now, and there is no update of his photofit.
Thanks to the efforts at greening Singapore, there exist a thick foliage under every overpass of vehicle and pedestrain traffic, and along major highways, as well as beneath bridges.
By now, D+11, MSK can be in so many different places - waiting out in the nature reserves of middle Singapore, or he can be in our midst - living in the crooks and crannies of abandon construction sites or warehouses or buildings, or under bridges.
In the past, illegal immigrants were able to find a hideout and escaped detection for months in Singapore - under the nose of our supposed super intelligence service and Home Team.
It was not until some news reporter known to snoop around for local buzz that the hideout was exposed, and the Home Team conducted a sweep.
At D+11, looking for MSK will be similar to the proverbial term of ''looking for a needle in the haystack''.
"Needle in the haystack" cannot be found, but is most invariably discovered inadvertently, by some one who is pricked in the backside. ![]()
just like those hackers, maybe WSK can invite and employ MSK to be a consultant on how to tighten maximum security premises so no future escape can be concocted.
thereafter, he can catch MSK if he wants to.
Originally posted by weiqimun:just like those hackers, maybe WSK can invite and employ MSK to be a consultant on how to tighten maximum security premises so no future escape can be concocted.
thereafter, he can catch MSK if he wants to.
Pay MSK peanuts and make a monkey out of the whole security system?
Just hope they standown the search soon. getting more futile as days goes by... tiring out everyone. Luckily, I wasn't called back for reservist due to this. I know some others are.
My cousins who are still serving their ns or are regulars had many of their off days burned due to this guy. It's been like 2 weeks since he ran off? come on why no orders to stand down yet. Felt like going to jb last saturday with my friend. Then he thought about the stringent custom checks and in the end we didn't go. Sianz...
Considering the entire episode from D+0 to D+11, this whole exercise resemble a 'black & white' keystone cop caper from the 1910s.
It sounds almost incredible that the escape from a toilet will lead MSK out into the wide world of this Little Red Dot.
Why should the toilet escape not result in MSK landing within the protected and fenced ground of the Detention Centre ?
How did he get through the multi-layered perimeter security, and get past the Gurkha guards that are on duty even at Drug Detention Centres, and even medium security prisons ?
The multiple different release of the clothes that MSK was supposed to be wearing leads to the confusion.
The ultimate and incredible truth would be that somehow MSK is now made to disappear from the surface of this earth - on purpose.
He is now a nameless and faceless person within the Prison System, and is either truly physically and spiritually dead, or ''made to be dead'' for some ultimate political or security purpose.
The entire system is now activated to reinforce an officially sanctioned line projected to the public.
Complacency from a political system that is arrogant about the necessity to be disciplined in being the best and most efficient.in the World ?
It is too convenient and simplistic to believe that the system has been complacent when reconsidering the entire episode of how MSK escape from a Detention Centre through the toilet.
If he is not recaptured at all, I hope he sends a message, by digital medium, of course. This then would be proof that he, indeed, did escape.
If he is never seen or heard from againnn.....ahha! ![]()
Originally posted by mancha:If he is not recaptured at all, I hope he sends a message, by digital medium, of course. This then would be proof that he, indeed, did escape.
If he is never seen or heard from againnn.....ahha!
if that MSK guy did sent a message, u can bet it will not be a `hello, i am safely out of sinkapore" message on you tube, it may be a devastating reminder. i shudder to even say in what form.
he must be caught at all costs. his mere escapes raised hopes to the other JI jokers on the prowl outside of sinkapore and whats to prevent them from taking part in a sting operation or pot shot on sinkapore just to prove a point?
never underestimate these jokers. WKS and LHL should sweat buckets. LKY too. when he says that there is no imminent danger to sinkapore, it's just his cocky self again. must sinkapore suffers a costly lesson to know tt it is in imminent danger?
you lose a terrorist cell leader and u try to make light of it. b4 that, all the talk about how sinkapore needs to be at its vigilant best and stay alert 24/7 bullshit, and when one of the terrorists escape, suddenly siinkapore is not in that much danger after all.
the MIW can just say what they like....but the fact remains they cocked up big time. and that swell in their pants is getting bigger as days go by.
the storyline will go like this: MAS is found dead in a particular forest, and then evidence has shown he is MAS. Therefore the case is closed.
if mas have escaped earlier we would have lost the youth olympics bid and lose 500 million dollars.
Haha. Maybe he did escaped earlier, and the police chose to release the info now.![]()
Hahah. I heard his bounty is now, 12k. ![]()
I heard his bounty is now, 12k.
austin power!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by weiqimun:I heard his bounty is now, 12k.
austin power!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12k alot meh?
imagine u pow tow a terrorist leader and put him back in jail.
remember he 'escaped' from a secure facility. bringing suspicion of insider assistance.
insiders can get your personal info along with those of your family and pass it to his gang.
12k can buy how many coffins?
Originally posted by skeujin:12k alot meh?
imagine u pow tow a terrorist leader and put him back in jail.
remember he 'escaped' from a secure facility. bringing suspicion of insider assistance.
insiders can get your personal info along with those of your family and pass it to his gang.
12k can buy how many coffins?
u did not understand what i wrote. it is also not my job to enlighten you.
peace out.
Channel NewsAsia - 35 minutes ago
SINGAPORE: The Ministry of Home Affairs has responded to queries from the Workers’ Party, regarding the Committee of Inquiry into Mas Selamat Kastari’s escape from detention.
According to the ministry, Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng has said that after the inquiry is completed, the public will get a full account of how Mas Selamat escaped and what has been done to tighten security to prevent a repeat of such incident.
In a statement to the media, the chairman of the Workers’ Party Sylvia Lim had asked if the public will be given full information as the committee is convened under the Prisons Act.
She said under the Act, such inquiries are not open to the public and that no part of the proceedings may be released to anyone without the minister’s written permission. — CNA/ac
Why can't they accept and assume that selamat is now overseas? All the focus have been on home ground and that is embarassing with all resources deployed to locate him in small country. We are telling the world how incompetent we are.
What are the efforts made so far to track him overseas? Is it as full fledged as it is on home ground?
If I were him, I weren't even remained in Indonesia. I am on my way to meet or already dinning with Bin Laden. The AQ will keep him at their quarters and will not deploy him on battle-ground for the next 10 years. But they will make use of his knowledge and information. He is a highly prized intel to the terrorists and he poses more danger to singapore with the information he holds.
He might not care if his family is still in singapore. What motivates a terrorist to sacrifice his life is the belief that his soul will go direct to heaven if he died in the name of allah.
As the saying goes, "what didn't kill you, make you stronger". So, singapore embraced yourself together and be prepared for the worst. There is one more reason to kick the ruling party out if anything happens to Singapore.
Happy 2 weeks anniversary to Mas Selemat Kastari!!!
Happy 2 weeks anniversary to SPF, SAF and Gurhka!!!
Originally posted by Caitaokue:Why can't they accept and assume that selamat is now overseas? All the focus have been on home ground and that is embarassing with all resources deployed to locate him in small country. We are telling the world how incompetent we are.
It may be due to internal cowardice policies![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Happy 2 weeks anniversary to Mas Selemat Kastari!!!
Happy 2 weeks anniversary to SPF, SAF and Gurhka!!!
Minster Mentor Lee names complacency and Mas Selamat’s cleverness in deceptively winning the trust of his captors as factors in his escape.
Michael Crichton, in the introduction to his book “The Great Train Robbery”, cites studies of prison populations that show that inmates equal the general public in intelligence tests – and yet they are only that fraction of lawbreakers who are caught. Needless to say, those who manage to stay free are of superior minds. Crichton then tells the true story of one such mastermind at work.
Being the leader of a criminal organisation, Mas Selamat would have intelligence above average. The likelihood then is that he would have been able to outsmart his immediate guards. For people of matching or higher intelligence would not have been assigned routine-type guard duties in the first place.
So some safeguards are needed. The guards’ supervisors, and their superiors, must have the ability to see through the tricks and guises of their captives; and they must make it a point to regularly monitor the interactions between captor and captive. Also, there have to be constant rotation of the guards for each captive to prevent any captive from gaining the slightest psychological control over his captor. A further measure is to deliberately disrupt every routine once in a while in random to prevent set patterns.
Whether these measures were already in place, or are indeed necessary, we would have to wait for the commissioner of inquiry’s report to be out.
Generally, people who succeed against high odds are not just intelligent; they are also highly determined and disciplined. In a criminal mind, these three traits are a lethal combination.
In the fight against terrorism, authorities worldwide seem to be forever chasing the lizard’s tail – banning steel cutlery after September 11, requiring young and old to remove their shoes after the shoe-bomber, throwing barricades around bars after Bali, heavily-armed guards conspicuously strolling through train stations after London, and forbidding mothers with babies from carrying bottled water aboard after learning of liquid-bomb plots. Authorities just do not seem to be getting ahead in the game in anticipating new scenarios.
Short of complacency, Mas Selamat’s escape, September 11 and so on, could be a case of underestimating the enemy – a case of not giving enough regard to top criminals’ intelligence, their will, their guts, and their imagination.