Originally posted by Evangel:I just read this interesting article. What if Mas Selamat is like Lincoln Burrows from Prison Break? He was detained for 1 yr and no charges given out to imprison him in Changi? What if he was setup?
Condemn him if he is plotting to hurt innocent people!!!!!!! I want him captured soon. But now still havent haha...
Just something to twist your minds a bit.
A blog article from Gopalan Nair. His essays are very biased towards the garmen.
http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2008/03/go-mastari-go-mas-selamat-mastari-my.html
Why the gov didn't bring him to trial but put him in detention?
Originally posted by eagle:This is damn funny:
Oppositions to be blamed for Mas Selamat's escape
I have an important message for those who blame our esteemed Minister Wong Kan Seng for this incident. I put the blame squarely on the members of the Opposition. Here's why:
WKS as minister cannot possibly know the detention center that well - you expect minister to inspect every toilet there? You expect the minister to train every guard? He has already apologised and taken responsibility. However, the members of the Opposition are the ones I blame for this mess.
A number Opposition members have been detained under the ISA and know this detention center inside out. They probably are familiar with the toilet used by Mas Selamat and the security flaws in the detention center - the redoctrination that purges them of harmful thoughts can temporarily increase the urge to escape. Knowing that the govt was detaining terrorist there, why didn't they point out the possible ways of escape to the govt? ...I don't think the Opposition has any valid reasons for denying responsibility for the escape, many have been detained there over the years and they spend more time there than almost anyone else.
Why blame the opposition member? He didn't escape from the detention center either, so how to claim he is familiar with the security flaws in the detention center?
Originally posted by 333225520:
Why blame the opposition member? He didn't escape from the detention center either, so how to claim he is familiar with the security flaws in the detention center?
that article is a satire lah!
Originally posted by 333225520:Why the gov didn't bring him to trial but put him in detention?
Did you just wake up from a 30 year Coma,where have you been sir?
It looks like we have to take the news of the detention of another young J.I member - as consolation prize for not capturing MSK since his escape 3 weeks ago.
The new J.I. captive had slipped through the last dragnet in 2005-2006, and was reported to be talent spotted by Al Qaeda management to be a potential leader to form another secret cell in Singapore.
It looks like we may have to live with the fact that MSK may have gone underground, and we may not see him for another 2 to 3 years.
Just another shakedown.And all of a suddden a young JI becomes a high profile catch?After 911 all those who went to Afghanistan without a valid reason were rounded up and detained.It does look like the authorities are getting desperate to know where Mas Selamat is right now.
wah garmen si bei sia suay!
Cannot catch Mas Selamat want to use this catch as a diversion.
Garmen everything is about image. MS escape imagine go to the drain, then this catch want to beef up imagine to the top?
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/336758/1/.html
Another scapegoat? poor JI fella hahaha...
Channel NewsAsia - 1 hour 34 minutes ago
SINGAPORE: The bus driver who made false police reports claiming he had spotted a man resembling escaped JI leader of Singapore Mas Selamat Kastari has been sentenced to 21 months in jail.
The 49—year—old SMRT bus driver, Ng Hang Hai, made his first false report on 1 March shortly before 8pm.
He dialled 999 on a phone from his flat at Block 124 Bedok Reservoir Road.
Ng claimed he spotted a man resembling Mas Selamat on 27th February —— the same day the terrorist leader fled from the authorities.
Ng said he was driving bus service number 851 near the Old Police Academy at around 8pm when the man boarded the vehicle.
Ng told police the man had no money and requested for a free ride. Ng said he allowed the man to move in and he alighted along Lentor Avenue opposite the Seletar satellite station.
Because of this, officers were deployed to search the area.
Ng admitted in court that he concocted the story as he hoped to receive monetary reward should Mas Selamat be apprehended.
Later that night, Ng went to Bedok police station to give another report.
This time, he claimed, before boarding the bus, the man was riding pillion on a motorcycle bearing registration number SR 1657 H.
Ng said the man got off the motorcycle along Thomson Road and made his way to a bus stop where he boarded Ng’s bus.
Police traced down the owner of the motorcycle, a delivery man called Hong Bok Leng.
Mr Hong was called in for questioning for an offence he did not commit.
Ng wanted to get Mr Hong into trouble as he claimed the motorcyclist had flashed him an obscene sign as Ng was driving along Victoria Street in late February.
Ng only admitted to his lies on 4 March when he was called in for further questioning at Ang Mo Kio police station.
For these offences, the deputy public prosecutor Wendy Yap said Ng has seriously jeopardised the search for Mas Selamat.
She said Ng had caused a waste of precious man hours that could have been better utilised.
The judge, Hoo Sheau Pheng, said Ng’s crimes were fuelled by greed and malice.
In passing the sentence, Judge Hoo said she wanted to send a clear message to others that Ng’s reprehensible and malicious conduct will not be tolerated.
On the search for Mas Selamat, Judge Hoo urged the public to remain vigilant and not hesitate to come forward with genuine information that could aid in his capture. — 938LIVE/ac
Hello,
Which day of the week did our abang escaped our dc?
I mean, I am getting more and more puzzled and concerned why he cannot be found in a tiny little dot called a city when so much resources have been put in , like the whole country is looking for him and still cannot locate.
Am i right to say that its coming to 1 MONTH already?
I calm myself each night not to worry about security, that in 6 MONTHs or less, our abang will be caught, again. U can see the amount of confidence i have in our undisputed talented talents of the world.
this means anytime tomorrow. ;)
Hi, me again.
If abang's method of going undetectable, aka STEALTH mode, is made known to other bad characters like other terrorists and criminals , would this method be used again the pore?
will this cause damage to our security status and standing in the world ?
I hope our highly regarded talented talents of the world put their brains together and make the pore save.
If the pore is not the same level of safe as before, we need to seriously ask ourselves why. Why given we have so much resources and brains, can he go undetected in a small place where there is no wilderness, no caves, no canyons, no mountains, no difficult terrains. How can it be that he is undetected for coming to 1 MONTH and still counting as we speak ?
I wish to hear our talented talent MPs give a speech as to the why.
I think better capture all crooks fast for TOURISM , ECONOMY, CITIZEN, PR, FT sake ... time is ticking away ...
see , more crimes in the little dot :
quote from news
"One suspect arrested for gas attack at Golden Landmark Shopping Complex By Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 25 March 2008 1826 hrs Photos 1 of 1 Related News • 18 sent to hospitals after unknown gas release at Golden Landmark Shopping Complex SINGAPORE: Police have arrested one of two men believed to be involved in the ‘gas spray attack’ of another man at the Golden Landmark Shopping Complex on Monday. A total of 19 people were taken to hospital after breathing in an ‘unknown substance’ sprayed by the assailants. Of the 19, two women are still warded at Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) and are in a stable condition. They are believed to be recovering slower than other patients due to underlying medical conditions. The others have been discharged - seven from Tan Tock Seng Hospital, and 10 from Singapore General Hospital. A two-year-old girl who was transferred to KK Women's and Children's Hospital has also been discharged. Police are still on the search for the other man involved in the attack. - CNA/vm "
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:
I calm myself each night not to worry about security, that in 6 MONTHs or less, our abang will be caught, again. U can see the amount of confidence i have in our undisputed talented talents of the world.
this means anytime tomorrow. ;)
do you know how irritating a broken record sounds?
stop posting about your confidence of him being caught in 6 months or less. who are you to convey this message? unless you are a top ranking govt official making a public statement. no one cares about YOUR confidence. your 6 months can allow for many things to happen. 6 months to plan for retaliation and deaths a single individual to that of thousands are eminent.
the issue is that he should not have been able to escape in the first place. YOUR govt has made a huge screw up and all actions following the day of escape, the late notification of escape, the description of him limping while walking, the late notification to locate his prison attire........ only shows their incompetence.
a major cover up is underway and the citizens of this nation will nvr know the truth of what happened.
*weep* ...*weep*... :(
don't scold like this lah.... *sob* ... *sob*...
our leading men world record market value , how could you not have confidence in their competency and ACCOUNTABILITY and LEADERSHIP and LEAD by Example 'ness?
i don't get you leh.
I just saw this on mrbrown website posted by someone
I realise Wong “Sorry Also Must Explain” Kan Seng actually said sorry for once but refuse to explain when press to do so.
Not nice leh, never practise what he preaches, how to be credible ??
James Gomez, please make some noise, do not repay cruelty with kindness.
Another day of fresh air ,rain and sunshine for Abang Mas>![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Another day of fresh air ,rain and sunshine for Abang Mas>
u speak like a `yang.
Channel NewsAsia - 1 hour 1 minute ago
SINGAPORE: The search for alleged JI leader of Singapore Mas Selamat Kastari will now become more targeted — based on specific intelligence on where he might be hiding.
Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng on Wednesday said information showed the wanted man is still in Singapore.
He gave this update on the manhunt efforts after meeting some 80 Gurkha soldiers involved in the search.
Mas Selamat escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre one month ago.
Mr Wong said the police and the Singapore Armed Forces have been conducting a systematic search of forested areas and unoccupied buildings.
This general search will be completed in about a week.
Mr Wong added that large ground forces deployment will be scaled down, but ground forces will remain ready to be activated.
Other operations such as security inspections at land checkpoints and sea patrol surveillance will continue.
Mr Wong said if necessary, Singapore will amend its laws to strengthen policing within its territorial waters.
He emphasised that the manhunt will continue for as long as it takes until Mas Selamat is captured. — CNA/ac
By GILLIAN WONG,Associated Press Writer
AP - 57 minutes ago
SINGAPORE - Singapore's security forces will scale back a nationwide ground search for a top Muslim terror suspect who made a stunning escape from a high-security prison one month ago, the deputy prime minister said Wednesday.
Troops hunting for Mas Selamat Kastari, who allegedly once plotted to hijack an airplane and crash it into the city-state's international airport, will start "targeted and focused searches based on specific intelligence and leads," said Wong Kan Seng.
He gave no reason for the change in tactics. But efforts to track down Mas Selamat have no doubt been costly. Police, special operations officers, elite Gurkha guards and soldiers have been combing the island nation's forests since his embarrassing Feb. 27 jail break. Security also has been tightened at land, air and sea checkpoints.
Wong said that while the deployment of large ground forces would be scaled down, "they remain operationally ready for immediate deployment when needed," according to a statement posted on the Home Affairs Ministry's Web site.
Security breaches are rare in tightly controlled Singapore, an island nation of 4.5 million people that is a 45-minute boat ride from Indonesia where Mas Selamat is alleged to have links with the Jemaah Islamiyah terror network, blamed for a series of attacks that have killed more than 250 people since 2002.
Wong said authorities believed Mas Selamat was still in the city-state and have set up coastal observation points to make sure he does not flee.
The nation's leaders have described Mas Selamat's jailbreak as a setback to the reputation of the usually well-policed country.
Mas Selamat had been held in Singapore custody since February 2006 under the Internal Security Act, which allows indefinite detention without trial.
sianz still running at large?
Originally posted by QX179R:Channel NewsAsia - 1 hour 1 minute ago
DPM says hunt for Mas Selamat to focus on specific intelligence
Shouldn't he focus on his own intelligence?
Anyway, just wondering. If since his escape Home Team have already placed watch on non-official border crossings.
I wonder if MSK is detectable if he actually had Scuba dived out from Singapore waters?
Hi People of the pore,
How much the nations money has been spent on these 4 weeks of deployment?
It cannot be free right?
Originally posted by Ponders:Shouldn't he focus on his own intelligence?
Anyway, just wondering. If since his escape Home Team have already placed watch on non-official border crossings.
I wonder if MSK is detectable if he actually had Scuba dived out from Singapore waters?
technically speaking,
could there be any part of the shoreline or part along the perimeter of the pore where it is possible to escape without any guard knowing on THAT day when security was not at the same high level as now?
Would anyone think that every inch of the small city is guarded already before he escaped?
If not, then technically speaking, it seems plausible that a plan could had been made to pick him up at that spot using something as simple as a water scooter or small boat or even a paddle small fishing boat. From there, this boat meets a speedboat and abang then hops on and sleep there till they speed their way to indonesia or malaysia or hey, the easiest and safest is to no-man's land - no check point! so many islands lying around without a name! and then from there into the open waters and from thereon its Has talasvista Baby!
plausible?
or
MythBusted?
u decide.
from the channernewsasia report, i must say i totally agree that the pore's image has been seriously impacted.
As a concerned citizen, I can do nothing but sigh ....*sigh*....totally sad and disappointed.
our leaders must fix this or i fear the pore may be affected economically or psychologically or socially or internationally if not nationally as well as securityly and lets not forget biologically.
People are starting to forget about the issue already.