Originally posted by redDUST:pleez lah, mas selamat is a threat in this region, not USA.
why would the USA place stricter restriction? i think MSK is `small fly' in their opinion. they got bigger worries/targets.
not easy for MSK to get into US even if he wants to. international border control in US is quite strict. you need to be fingerprinted before you are allowed in.
2 things:
1. Terror knows no boundaries. Terrorists are united.
Their synergy will cause havoc , again. 911.
so what if mas is in the pore, from the pore?
I urge you to be aware of this aspect.
2. Entry into USA. What a large mudder of all mudder piece of land. if people can smuggle things into and out of a tiny place, what makes you think not possible to do the same in the mighty USA? Everyday, many go in and out , UNDETECTED. Aliens.
I urge you not to assume that terorists go to SIA internet portal and use their credit card registered under their name to buy air ticket to usa . and upon arriving, they obediently and dutifully queue up to be checked by customs.
do i need to explain further?
do not underestimate the destructive force of the terrorists.
They do not go by any rules, laws and conventions.
They are the mafia to the mafias.
They are supremo mafia.
cut heads off in front of you.
i urge complacency be rid of everyone's system.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:2 things:
1. Terror knows no boundaries. Terrorists are united.
Their synergy will cause havoc , again. 911.
so what if mas is in the pore, from the pore?
I urge you to be aware of this aspect.
2. Entry into USA. What a large mudder of all mudder piece of land. if people can smuggle things into and out of a tiny place, what makes you think not possible to do the same in the mighty USA? Everyday, many go in and out , UNDETECTED. Aliens.
I urge you not to assume that terorists go to SIA internet portal and use their credit card registered under their name to buy air ticket to usa . and upon arriving, they obediently and dutifully queue up to be checked by customs.
do i need to explain further?
do not underestimate the destructive force of the terrorists.
They do not go by any rules, laws and conventions.
They are the mafia to the mafias.
They are supremo mafia.
cut heads off in front of you.
i urge complacency be rid of everyone's system.
in your earlier post, you are implying that MSK will go to USA since you ask if the USA authrorities are clamping down on singaporeans. i reply you as a matter of factly JI is a terrorist cell active in this part of the world.
now you generalize your statement. which is which?
Originally posted by redDUST:in your earlier post, you are implying that MSK will go to USA since you ask if the USA authrorities are clamping down on singaporeans. i reply you as a matter of factly JI is a terrorist cell active in this part of the world.
now you generalize your statement. which is which?
I said is the usa being more stringent.
does that mean i am saying mas Will enter usa?
you are free to assume anything you like. I have no objection.
JI is active here does not mean it has no impact elsewhere even in usa. they are collective network. they help each other destroy others. they provide the fundings to their hq.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:I said is the usa being more stringent.
does that mean i am saying mas Will enter usa?
you are free to assume anything you like. I have no objection.
JI is active here does not mean it has no impact elsewhere even in usa. they are collective network. they help each other destroy others. they provide the fundings to their hq.
i said you are `implying'. when you question a perceived action on the other side, isn't it because there is a perceived implication you assume? or that you are just `babbling' for fun?
the whole world is a tangled web. you worry about what impacts you directly and what's manageable. otherwise, you don't even have time to pee worrying all that you do.
tsk tsk tsk.
Was watching the Discovery channel on dogs.
The documentary shows that the bloodhood can track down the criminal even if he is driving within 3 km.
Therefore, if MSK is limping, the bloodhound should be able to track down even if he have help or he have taken any bus.
Either the dog here is not trained or the person handling the dog have never watched the discovery channel.
The point is the dog is able to track down this terrorist.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Was watching the Discovery channel on dogs.
The documentary shows that the bloodhood can track down the criminal even if he is driving within 3 km.
Therefore, if MSK is limping, the bloodhound should be able to track down even if he have help or he have taken any bus.
Either the dog here is not trained or the person handling the dog have never watched the discovery channel.
The point is the dog is able to track down this terrorist.
interesting point ...
when they say poreans were complacent and this relates to abang gone on freedom spree.
by the definition of 'poreans' who are the people involved? Does it include our leader of the ship?
if not, who is not a porean?
who is a porean?
does anyone know?
so cheemilogy wans.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:when they say poreans were complacent and this relates to abang gone on freedom spree.
by the definition of 'poreans' who are the people involved? Does it include our leader of the ship?
if not, who is not a porean?
who is a porean?
does anyone know?
so cheemilogy wans.
In fact, there is an article by academic telling that the main focus is on the Riau island in Indonesia. There is a possibility
he could escaped to the neighbouring countries.
they said mas could be in Riau for 2 reasons:
1) they couldn't find him for so long
& 2) he is very familiar with that island
Originally posted by lotus999:they said mas could be in Riau for 2 reasons:
It will be more dangerosu if the terrorist escaped to neighbouring countries.
Originally posted by will4:
It will be more dangerosu if the terrorist escaped to neighbouring countries.
it can also be more dangerous to the people of the pore if he is inside the tiny dot. 1 loud sound and that is it for the econoboombastic.
how easy is it to make a boom booom ?
i guess he was already trained how to do that in the A.Q academy.
using everyday chemicals will suffice.
that is why this issue i perceive as the most serious case ever to happen to the pore.
usa did not think there can be kamekazae'ites who would go learn how to fly and then hijack a large commercial plane and fly head on into twin towers.
and then ?
all it takes for terror to succeed is just 1 opportunity to present itself due to complacency.
The homies teamie must never be compracent. not that am saying they is. say say onlys. cans or nots?
Originally posted by lotus999:they said mas could be in Riau for 2 reasons:
patience my dear friend. patience.
i said before that given my confidonce in them,
i reckon 6 months or less which implies also can be as soon as tomorrow.
now is only towards 1.5 months.
maybe it takes long time to comb the dot.
count our lucky stars, and honey stars, its not the size of usa. or japan. or taiwan island. or HK. or ....erm, virtually any country in the world.
Indonesia is such a big country and they could still find him, but spore is so tiny, how come can't find? are spore police not up to standard ?
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:
patience my dear friend. patience.i said before that given my confidonce in them,
i reckon 6 months or less which implies also can be as soon as tomorrow.
now is only towards 1.5 months.
maybe it takes long time to comb the dot.
count our lucky stars, and honey stars, its not the size of usa. or japan. or taiwan island. or HK. or ....erm, virtually any country in the world.
By now you can kiss your 6mths goodbye.....for some reasons he might never be found.or heard again .
AFP - 1 hour 6 minutes ago
SINGAPORE (AFP) - - The escape almost two months ago of an alleged leader of the Jemaah Islamiyah militant network was a major setback that diminished Singapore's reputation, a security minister said Monday.
Mas Selamat bin Kastari escaped on February 27 from a detention centre in the country, which prides itself on rigorous anti-terrorist measures. A massive security dragnet has failed to catch Kastari.
"It is a blot on the security agencies' copybook, a dent in Singapore's reputation and a reverse in keeping Singapore secure from terrorist attack," the coordinating minister for national security, S. Jayakumar, said in a speech to open a regional meeting of security experts.
Jayakumar said criticism of security officials was justified because "there must have been a serious security lapse at the detention centre."
He said that although the Internal Security Department (ISD) suffered a "major setback" when Kastari fled their custody, the ISD has a long history of successes. It broke up the local JI network with a series of arrests beginning in December 2001, he said.
Kastari had fled Singapore following that ISD operation, the home affairs ministry has said.
Born in 1961 in Singapore, Kastari was arrested on the Indonesian island of Bintan near the city-state in 2003 and sentenced by a court there to 18 months in jail.
He was later released but arrested again by Indonesian authorities in January 2006 before being handed over to Singapore.
Kastari was accused of plotting to hijack a plane in order to crash it into Singapore's Changi Airport in 2001 but was never charged. He was being held in the city-state under a law that allows for detention without trial.
Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng earlier told parliament that Kastari escaped from the ISD facility after he asked to go to the toilet ahead of a visit from his relatives.
The escape is being "thoroughly investigated" by a committee of inquiry and the police criminal investigation department, Jayakumar said.
Channel NewsAsia - 56 minutes ago
SINGAPORE: It’s been more than six weeks since Mas Selamat escaped. But even as Singaporeans criticise the lapse by the country’s security agencies, Deputy Prime Minister S Jayakumar called on them not to overlook the other good work done by the agencies.
Professor Jayakumar was speaking at the opening of the Second Asia—Pacific Programme for Senior National Security Officers (APPSNO) on Monday, also attended by speakers like Pulitzer—winning author Laurie Garrett.
Some 24 years ago, the Irish Republican Army (IRA) launched an attack on then Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher. She survived the attack but five others were killed in the bomb blast.
After the attack, the IRA claimed responsibility for the attacks and issued a warning saying they only had to be lucky once whereas security agencies had to be lucky all of the time.
Recalling that incident, Professor Jayakumar who is also Co—ordinating Minister for National Security said that is something security agencies have to always bear in mind.
This warning reminded Professor Jayakumar of the Mas Selamat escape.
Mr Jayakumar said he understood Singaporeans’ reaction of shock and alarm because there must have been a serious security lapse at the detention centre for the escape to happen.
He said: "Internal Security Department (ISD) officers who have been working on the JI case must feel keenly, even more so than the public, what a serious setback Mas Selamat’s escape has been.
“It is a blot on the security agencies copybook, a dent in Singapore’s reputation, and a reverse in keeping Singapore secure from (a) terrorist attack. But the ISD officers have not been paralysed or demoralised."
The search and investigations into the escape have been ongoing.
While Professor Jayakumar had no conclusions yet from the inquiries taking place, he commended the thousands of officers involved in the efforts to locate the fugitive.
He added that he was heartened by Singaporeans’ efforts in coming together for the search. And other conference speakers also spoke on this aspect of community involvement.
Rachel Griggs, Head, Identity Programme, Demos, said: "This is not a phenomenon that can be generalised globally — different in each place, in each town, in each part of town. And I think what’s critical to imagining we have a long—term solution to the current terror threat is really embedding our responses, not in national and international responses but really working very closely on the ground."
And with the world facing other major threats like a possible avian flu pandemic, the emphasis on community is just as important.
Laurie Garrett, Senior Fellow for Global Health, Council on Foreign Relations, said: "There is no government on earth that will have enough money, enough personnel, enough organisational capacity to take care of everybody. It will literally come down to "Do you know your neighbours? Do you know who’s needy? Are you there to help them? Do you know how to take care of your family?” And then when the dust is settled, we will see what’s left of government."
18 countries are participating in this conference. — CNA/vm
It is elementary watson. If the government does not constantly boast of its world-class million-dollar ability then there will be no such adverse reaction from the people. Every action has a corresponding opposite reaction according to newton. If Jayakumar studied physics he should know about this law.
Originally posted by robertteh:It is elementary watson. If the government does not constantly boast of its world-class million-dollar ability then there will be no such adverse reaction from the people. Every action has a corresponding opposite reaction according to newton. If Jayakumar studied physics he should know about this law.
After hearing from the news and what is impressed upon me,
I still am left wondering
is the gubbymen not in anyway whatsoever responsible for this fiasco in any manner ? not even in manner the size of an atom ? yes or no? no 'maybe' , please.
You think and I think. Maybe not saying the answer is safer? preservation ?
seems like it is not the ISD that is not perfect?
who is responsible for the world class standard of the isd? World class based on the market value.
On behalf of my friends, I like to ask on behalf of the People, what is the measures to be implemented to ENSURE that there will never be another TERRORIST able to escape from a singapore Detention Center toilet ?
I hope the people gets to hear about it from our very very responsible and world class leaders.
Terrorism and National Security involves all human lives in this tiny city. This matter must be dealth with in an unbiased and honest and serious manner, favoring no one and covering no one. Not that anyone has commited any of these sins.
I am greatful to the many here who commented honestly on behalf of those who dare not comment. you guys are sacrificing yourselves to the benefit of the rest. hats off to ya.
I think all of us knows what ISD has done in the past, but the key is how then can they allow this fella to slip through so easily??
At the very least, let us know the truth.
Hahaha...all the police in Singapore can let a man that limp got away. Think they need to review their IPPT training.
Its all a conspiracy.
Mas Selamat did not escape from the detention center.
Infact, he never left the detention center.
He never even survive the waterboarding technique practiced in the detention center.
His escape was orchestrated to cover up the fact that a suspect who was being held without charges died under police (ISD) custody
Think about it,
1 - Did anyone see him during or after his supposed escape? (No)
2 - His supposed escape only happen when his family was due to visit him, so the officials need to give an excuse as to why he is missing (Died).
3 - Why footage of his supposed escape was never released when the detention center is covered with cameras (He died, not escape)
4 - Escape from a toilet break? Come on.
Whatever happened to the committee of inquiry's report?
I thought they were suppose to conclude their investigations in 1 month?
It has been more than a month already.
Is WKS playing for time, hoping that the longer the time, more people will forget about his folly.
Originally posted by maurizio13:Whatever happened to the committee of inquiry's report?
I thought they were suppose to conclude their investigations in 1 month?
It has been more than a month already.
Is WKS playing for time, hoping that the longer the time, more people will forget about his folly.
isnt that what our govt is good at? ownself got mistake then keep quiet hoping that people will forget. when opposition make a mistake, they keep blasting in the news and front page of strait times for god know how many weeks.