who talent audited the DC?
the toilet.
the guards readiness.
the wall's weakness.
the video camera and surveilance system.
What was actually right in the DC?
Is the auditor responsible?
From which organisation is the auditor from?
This reminds me of a dam were water release was done improperly and led to death of a kid. On this hindsight, then some talent realise complacency.
This reminds me also of a case where a cyclist banged into a rail and was dead. On this hindsight, the rail was removed.
This reminds me of people jumping onto the tracks.
No surveilance camera?
I think our talented talents should now feel even more Assured when our leadership of all leadership said they should not be worried that they will be sacked for politico expendiency when things are done wrongly. i take it that it means the leadership is very good wan. very wise wan. super super wan.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:
This reminds me also of a case where a cyclist banged into a rail and was dead. On this hindsight, the rail was removed.
paralysed, never die. don't anyhow curse people.
now seems to me WKS is not responsible for the fiasco. to me only lah. when leader of all leadership asked, who thinks uncle should resign, no one uttered anything.
by this, i think indeed maybe, uncle is not responsible at all.
i feel proud of the pore. our parlaimentarians and near centurions. they have made the pore proud by making this known to the world.
1st world.
world record.
honest.
integrity.
like this how can have corruption?
this shows why we need Opposition.
Many complacently denied the need of a stronger opposition. They are not knowlegeable about life yet.
This fiasco shows the need for a strong opposition.
Else, who would ask what LTK asked?
So interesting question.
Of course, in the end, our leadership gave a super duper convincing reply that silenced everyone in the room.
good debate good good. opposition has a place.
A series of security lapses were found by the
committee of inquiry which apparently has no scope to find and publish
its own findings.
So a higher committee consisting of PM and MHA discussing what to do and what to say is convened to supersede the COI.
Let us look at the security lapses:-
(1) A gaping window in the prison toilet.
(2) A fence that can be easily scaled or climbed over through the adjoining structure.
(3) CCTV not working at the same time.
(4) Guards failing to stop prisoner from locking himself in the
toilet with an ungrilled inviting window blamed on renovation
contractor for not doing a proper job.
(5) Absence of guard in watching post over the entry/exit and fences.
(6) Toilet which is lockable from inside with an ungrilled window within.
According to PM Lee he was satisfied that the minister of home
affair is competent with the overall prisoner facility and set-up and
the above-stated world-class lapses.
Obviously these lapses were not his own (PM)'s responsibility as well.
Talents, leadership they claimed to have when approving their own
million-dollar salaries but when it comes to such series of lapses as
stated in the foregoing they said one must have the courage to standby
the minister or the higher up who are certainly looking aghast why the
window gap was so big and they did not notice it.
When something happened at the MRT, CCTV not working.
When Mas did a toilet break, CCTV not working again.
How can Mas be so heng to know that within the 11 mins of his departure, the CCTV is not working ?
Just summarise the finding as all the guards were sleeping. (They are just following the poodles)
That would be a simple reason.
It is funny and shameless that these poodles want the high salary tagged with the top earners and when they made a mistake, they concluded that it is still better compared to a much worse condition.
This lapse of responsibilty is NOT acceptable in a FIRST WORLD country.
How can the boss and lackey accept such ridiculous explanation ?
It is just a insult to the general public.
The old man have obviously nominated a bunches of monkeys to fill up the house.
So much for keeping power and control within his useless clan.
MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC Inderjit Singh had expressed correctly that .
"We have adopted a reward system that matches that of the private sector that we pay everyone as high as possible. And therefore people expect that — when you make a mistake, you (should) be appropriately punished,"
It is not so much the matter of punishment for the mistakes that had occurred, but more a matter of personal accountability, personal integrity, of the Head of the entire pyramid in order to restore the dent to Singapore's reputation.
We have been told time and again, that Singapore aims for the highest standards in every field, yet we have to accept the lowering of standards simply to protect the clan members of the Ruling Political Party.
It is absurd for this whole matter to be considered settled, and the Home Minister absolved, while the highest level where the axe fall is on the Head Superintendent of the Detention Centre.
This Government has been protecting its own - from within their political party, and also from the clan members that bungled billion dollars away when managing GLCs.
One can only wonder where is the admiration of MM LKY towards the Japanese Culture of the Chairman or CEO or President of the Corporation accepting personal responsibility for the major mistakes within its organisation that affect larger society, or affecting the reputation of the Corporation.
This is another example in the ''Culture of Double Standards'' that MM LKY has created from his term as PM, and continue to be practised by PM LHL.
The Japanese has not stopped being a nation of risk takers and inovators even as they encourage a culture of personal responsibility and accountability.
Why will PM LHL believe that forcing WKS or other Senior Civil Servants to accept responsibility - for the GROSS MISTAKES in his Ministry - will encourage a culture of fear to make mistakes ?
On the contrary, such absolution of the ''senior management'' can only demoralise the lower ranks for being made scape goats.
And what is the result of having said what he said?
I present to you the Pore where very honest people lives and the news is as neutral as the press.
Originally posted by Atobe:MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC Inderjit Singh had expressed correctly that .
"We have adopted a reward system that matches that of the private sector that we pay everyone as high as possible. And therefore people expect that — when you make a mistake, you (should) be appropriately punished,"
It is not so much the matter of punishment for the mistakes that had occurred, but more a matter of personal accountability, personal integrity, of the Head of the entire pyramid in order to restore the dent to Singapore's reputation.
We have been told time and again, that Singapore aims for the highest standards in every field, yet we have to accept the lowering of standards simply to protect the clan members of the Ruling Political Party.
It is absurd for this whole matter to be considered settled, and the Home Minister absolved, while the highest level where the axe fall is on the Head Superintendent of the Detention Centre.
This Government has been protecting its own - from within their political party, and also from the clan members that bungled billion dollars away when managing GLCs.
One can only wonder where is the admiration of MM LKY towards the Japanese Culture of the Chairman or CEO or President of the Corporation accepting personal responsibility for the major mistakes within its organisation that affect larger society, or affecting the reputation of the Corporation.
This is another example in the ''Culture of Double Standards'' that MM LKY has created from his term as PM, and continue to be practised by PM LHL.
The Japanese has not stopped being a nation of risk takers and inovators even as they encourage a culture of personal responsibility and accountability.
Why will PM LHL believe that forcing WKS or other Senior Civil Servants to accept responsibility - for the GROSS MISTAKES in his Ministry - will encourage a culture of fear to make mistakes ?
On the contrary, such absolution of the ''senior management'' can only demoralise the lower ranks for being made scape goats.
singapore is safe, in every sense of the word, won't you agree?
COI report

... it is amazing how they are so readily forgiving of themselves, while stomping others down into the ground over a few published words...
"We have adopted a reward system that matches that of the private sector that we pay everyone as high as possible. And therefore people expect that — when you make a mistake, you (should) be appropriately punished," he said.
The prime minister reiterated that punishments must depend on the results of investigations.
"If you generate the culture that nobody wants to make mistakes and (is) afraid to do something for fear of making mistakes, that — as Dr Goh Keng Swee used to say — would be the biggest mistake of all," said Mr Lee. — CNA/ac
In the private sector, people -:
A) Get Fired for mistakes on this scale.
B) Take responsibility and resign.
Logically, if you follow private sector payscale, then why not follow private sectors way of weeding out people who just don't make the scratch?
This is not a mistake that was made by the fear of making crucial decisions. So this is not going to build a culture of people being afraid to make mistakes.
This IS an example of people failing do what they are paid to do. No one made a bad call except for the female SDO. This is a failure to react to a highlighted security issue.
Evidently, the window panel was highlighted as a security issue, and hence it handle was sawn off to make it harder for it to be opened. They did not add a grill, but chose to just saw off the handle. Unfortunately, this reflects a half hearted effort to secure against a potential breach of security.
This is not to say that WKS should be fired or resign. But someone else other than 2 Ghurkas and an SDO must take responsibility for not reacting to a reported security flaw.
"If you generate the culture that nobody wants to make mistakes and (is) afraid to do something for fear of making mistakes, that — as Dr Goh Keng Swee used to say — would be the biggest mistake of all," said Mr Lee
the bucks stop at WKS. this is a case of not admitting mistake that a serious lapse has occured at MHA, helmed by WKS. can you afford mistakes on national security matter?
next time;
transport minister on circle line not joining at a circle because of laxes, "nebermind one, mistakes only what. LHL sure forgive one. we just spend another $1b to make it into an oval line. no problem".
health minister on wrongful administering of drugs to patients in SGH,due to laxes in control, "nebermind one, mistakes only what, LHL sure forgive one. just ask the SGH GM to resign. we just say the old people immune here not strong. anyway, old also near death anyway. no problem. carry on, carry on"
law minister mistakenly signing into law that rape is not criminal, ""nebermind one, mistakes only what. LHL sure forgive one. blame the bloody law clerk. anyway, we need to increase our population. bastards also ok lah. er...which hole at i at now? this one, bogey shot ah?"
trade minister mistakenly selling suzhou park to malaysia, thinking it was the IDR agreement, "nebermind one, mistakes only what. LHL sure forgive one. knn, why the translator never translate properly? ask him to resign. we go inner mongolia"
.....and so on.
the culture of `closing one eye' in singapore politics truly takes flight.
I think more people around the world are laughing at Singapore's system and government now after this incident.
Really. ![]()
Dear citizen,
Petition of asking WKS is here. Please sign up to ask WKS to step down at the following link. Please spread this to your friends and relatives to do a part for improvement accountability of Singapore.
Thank you.
Let's forgive WKS and move on and close the chapter. I think he will be inside IMH if this thing continue, he will shiver with cold sweat, if he sees window without grill, he dare not go to urinal, and he even dare not use toilet paper.
Originally posted by t_a_s:Let's forgive WKS and move on and close the chapter. I think he will be inside IMH if this thing continue, he will shiver with cold sweat, if he sees window without grill, he dare not go to urinal, and he even dare not use toilet paper.
Do we care?
1567 posts here, this shows singaporeans care
Yes Singaporeans care. Citizen lets demand it now.
http://www.petitiononline.com/s16910/petition.html

I agree that making the juniors the scrap goat will be more demoralising. Why work so hard, why take initiative if you're going to be blamed for everything with no support from your seniors!
Such a "benevolent" gesture from the people who would make a big deal out of nothing if it involves the opposition or sue the pants off anyone who dare to say boo to them!
They fix their own salary and what do they show for it? Nothing. Fat cats getting complacent on their fat salary.
I will remember this bleedy flimsy excuse of a report and the bleedy PM's endorsement of it on the next election day. I only hope all Singaporeans will also remember.
Well both applied basics.
Mas Selamat : He studied the routines of the guards, the area, the terrain, and planned way before hand to escape. He only had one chance and made full use of it.
WRDC : guards did not have proper basic protocols. Infrastructure very questionable. How can CCTV not work. we are talking about hardcore, well trained terrorist. There should be proper procedures to handle these kind of people.
Moreover, he had already said that one day he will escape. Shouldn't the authorities had taken the cue????
Any security experts would laugh at the way he escaped. Moreover this is not the first time someone escaped from the place.
I surfed the web and found this. Apologies if this was already posted. I am not associated with this party so have no motive in posting this except that I too find the report so bleedy insulting!
---
After the PM’s statement in parliament, WKS has emerged as a greater escape artist than Mas Selamat.
A Tour de Farce
Monday, 21 April 2008
Singapore Democrats
First, the Government appoints former civil servants and even a subordinate of Mr Wong Kan Seng to conduct an inquiry into the escape of suspected terrorist Mr Mas Selamat.
The Committee of Inquiry, or COI, then takes more than a month to conduct its work in secrecy.
It then writes a report that Mr Wong, who is responsible for Mr Mas Selamat's escape in the first place, "agrees with and accepts."
The farce continues...
The COI finds that the limping detainee is able to climb through a toilet window in a maximum security facility, climb down a water pipe, run 20 metres, scale another building and jump over a perimeter fence – all in 49 seconds.
For good measure, it just so happens that no one was monitoring the – not one but two – surveillance cameras during the time of the escape.
In addition, no one was watching the detainee change out of his prison garb into his own clothes. In a regular prison, prisoners are made to change under the watchful eyes of the guards. In addition, every time a prisoner leaves the cell for yard, he needs to strip bare for inspection. Yet, all this was not done at the ISD Centre.
Straits Times' photo of the toilet cubicle from which Mas Selamat allegedly escaped
That's not all. A packet of seven toilet rolls were found. (Why would Mr Mas Selamat or his fellow JI detainees, being Malay Muslims, need toilet paper?)
Also, a close examination of the Straits Times photograph shows two urinals with no space for a latrine. Why would there be toilet paper in a cubicle without a latrine? And if there are only urinals, why would Mr Mas Selamat have to remove his trousers instead of just pulling it down like all males do when they urinate?
There doesn't even seem that there is a tap in the cubicle. How did the detainee turn on a non-existent tap and leave it running?
The toilet paper, the COI tells us, could have been used by the prisoner to break his fall as he jumped out of the window. The SDP is surprised that the COI didn't also report finding a ladder in the cubicle.
Let's put things together:
1. The guard neglects to watch the prisoner as he changes out of his prison clothes.
2. Toilet rolls were left in the toilet which has no latrine and the prisoners don't use them.
3. The guard sees the detainee "flipping" his trousers over the top of the door and doesn't find it strange, and hears tap water running when there doesn't seem to be a tap in the cubicle.
4. The prisoner knows exactly where to run to, scale a fence, climb a walkway and jump to freedom in less than one minute when he doesn't have a clue as to the surroundings.
5. Two cameras are either not working or no one paid any attention to them during the escape.
What are the odds of the above all coming together at the same imperfect moment to facilitate Mr Mas Selamat's escape? This Government must think that Singaporeans all just graduated from nursery school.
Let's get real. Even if it is to be believed that two of the surveillance cameras were not being monitored, surely there must have been the tapes. What did they show? Did the COI not look at these?
Even if these two cameras were not monitored, or working, at the time of escape, there are other cameras within the detention centre which will capture the movement of the security officers immediately after the alert went out. What did these show?
Did the COI question doctors and medical professionals who attended to Mr Mas Selamat? If no, why not? If yes, what were their reports of the prisoner just prior to his escape? When did they last observe the detainee? What was his physical condition then? Can the COI confirm that reports show that Mr Selamat was still alive on or before 27 Feb 08?
It is even more bizarre that through all this, there is not any press report about what the detainee's family think and feel. One would imagine that Mr Selamat's parents, siblings or spouse who have something to say especially now that he has disappeared under the most mysterious of circumstances. And yet, there is only silence. What about the foreign press? Have they been prevented to interview the family?
This COI report raises more questions than it gives answers. There is just so much farce that people can take. Now tell us the truth.
(From:www.yoursdp.org)
I am thinking after this debacle, most of the MPs must be shaking their heads in disbelief.
Even if they don't do it in Parliament. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:I am thinking after this debacle, most of the MPs must be shaking their heads in disbelief.
Even if they don't do it in Parliament.
there is nothing to disbelieve, if you are in the inner circle, you are safe, free from blame and responsibility.
he is a close family member.
i was 100% sure he would not be asked to leave his post despite his incompetence.
the system of governance is not unlike the mafia system in the movie "the godfather".
you still have one old man at the top of the mafia making all the decisions.
this picture represents it best, the godfather holding up the marionette strings signifying the puppet master.

Originally posted by Atobe:
Who approved the designs to convert the Whitley Primary School into the a Detention Centre - that featured the external perimeter fencing to converge with the wall of the Detention Centre Building, with the toilet windows opening directly into the world outside ?
Well, many camp in singapore use old building(suchs as school and old HDB) to convent into training camps(Army, police and CD). Those who been through National service will notice. There are not many new camps around.
Budget maybe. It not cheap to build new 1