Originally posted by charlize:I am thinking after this debacle, most of the MPs must be shaking their heads in disbelief.
Even if they don't do it in Parliament.
Is it?
I thought some will be really happy having heard what an honest leader had to say about the incident that happened nearly 2 months ago and still counting.
I mean they must be crying tears of joy and gratitude having witnessed their leader speak something so typical of a true leader.
Their leader said they will not be sacked so easily? right?
So, what is there to shake heads?
Remember people, these talents you saw on tele are the PEOPLE's REPRESENTATIVES. They represent you. That is the basis of their existence in terms of their role which comes with it salaries and perks.
There is no need to shake heads.
You PEOPLE have all the choice in the world to make a decision which you did for the last 50 odd years straight in a row.
Without you People, they could not have the mandate to do what they are doing. world record or not. Ultimately, the PEOPLE should also be Responsible.
I hereby take full responsibility of this incident and I swear on my grandfathers grave I will execute the democractic decision if I am given the chance to vote the coming election. If so, nothing is gonna stop me. I will cast that vote at all cost. I hold myself responsible.
Guys and Gals ( i believe very few),
I had a nightmare.
I dreamt of abang finally found, but was already dead, in a jungle , in the pore. dead can due to many reasons like kenna bite by deadly snake lor. what u thinking? But if he dead, and terror friends find out, would there be riot?
I hope this dream will not turn out to be reality.
I hope I am not having super hero power to foresee the future.
All the reasons given for abang's escape painted a picture of a situation where even a limper have no reason not able to escape - opening in the toilet. guards not attentive. fence and wall is weak. No camera. This is the perfect situation for anyone to escape? Maybe, maybe not.
Have you guys thot about the reasons given?
Have you guys scrutinised the message ?
I really do not think I am so wise to foresee the future - that abang be found dead. somehow, in the pore. But given my confidence in our leaders, I think I believe abang is still in the Pore. After so long in a tiny little dot, he is still totally UNDETECTED. If an enemy sniper can do the same as he did, there would be nothing left. So, I wonder, how can he be totally undetectable? like totally not moving at all ....i mean hidding in the underground lor.
Have you guys scrutinised hard enough?
Originally posted by sirAdrian:Well, many camp in singapore use old building(suchs as school and old HDB) to convent into training camps(Army, police and CD). Those who been through National service will notice. There are not many new camps around.
Budget maybe. It not cheap to build new 1
No it is not cheap to build new 1 - yet we see new SAF camps being built to house Division HQ personnel and equipment that even allow Reservists to return for exercises - even when there are many unsued old buildings.
Old buildings can be re-used and with good sense it can be made profitable as we have seen the lease of old colonial bungalows being leased to private entrepreneurs converting these into classy restaurants to cater to niche groups of classy yuppies; and recently it was announced that old school buidlings are being leased at ridiculous prices to be converted into office space for SMEs.
No one is disputing that old buildings can be re-used, but one should bear in mind the intended use of a rehashed facility and ensure that the old building when converted will meet with the basic minimum needs that is demanded for such a facility.
Obviously, the person or persons responsible - in approving the design and layout of the infrastructure and modifications to the existing old buildings - did not place priority on preventing MSK antics from happening.
Originally posted by adetet:I surfed the web and found this. Apologies if this was already posted. I am not associated with this party so have no motive in posting this except that I too find the report so bleedy insulting!
---
After the PM’s statement in parliament, WKS has emerged as a greater escape artist than Mas Selamat.
A Tour de Farce
Monday, 21 April 2008
Singapore Democrats
First, the Government appoints former civil servants and even a subordinate of Mr Wong Kan Seng to conduct an inquiry into the escape of suspected terrorist Mr Mas Selamat.
The Committee of Inquiry, or COI, then takes more than a month to conduct its work in secrecy.
It then writes a report that Mr Wong, who is responsible for Mr Mas Selamat's escape in the first place, "agrees with and accepts."The farce continues...
The COI finds that the limping detainee is able to climb through a toilet window in a maximum security facility, climb down a water pipe, run 20 metres, scale another building and jump over a perimeter fence – all in 49 seconds.
For good measure, it just so happens that no one was monitoring the – not one but two – surveillance cameras during the time of the escape.
In addition, no one was watching the detainee change out of his prison garb into his own clothes. In a regular prison, prisoners are made to change under the watchful eyes of the guards. In addition, every time a prisoner leaves the cell for yard, he needs to strip bare for inspection. Yet, all this was not done at the ISD Centre.Straits Times' photo of the toilet cubicle from which Mas Selamat allegedly escaped
That's not all. A packet of seven toilet rolls were found. (Why would Mr Mas Selamat or his fellow JI detainees, being Malay Muslims, need toilet paper?)
Also, a close examination of the Straits Times photograph shows two urinals with no space for a latrine. Why would there be toilet paper in a cubicle without a latrine? And if there are only urinals, why would Mr Mas Selamat have to remove his trousers instead of just pulling it down like all males do when they urinate?
There doesn't even seem that there is a tap in the cubicle. How did the detainee turn on a non-existent tap and leave it running?
The toilet paper, the COI tells us, could have been used by the prisoner to break his fall as he jumped out of the window. The SDP is surprised that the COI didn't also report finding a ladder in the cubicle.
Let's put things together:
1. The guard neglects to watch the prisoner as he changes out of his prison clothes.
2. Toilet rolls were left in the toilet which has no latrine and the prisoners don't use them.
3. The guard sees the detainee "flipping" his trousers over the top of the door and doesn't find it strange, and hears tap water running when there doesn't seem to be a tap in the cubicle.
4. The prisoner knows exactly where to run to, scale a fence, climb a walkway and jump to freedom in less than one minute when he doesn't have a clue as to the surroundings.
5. Two cameras are either not working or no one paid any attention to them during the escape.
What are the odds of the above all coming together at the same imperfect moment to facilitate Mr Mas Selamat's escape? This Government must think that Singaporeans all just graduated from nursery school.
Let's get real. Even if it is to be believed that two of the surveillance cameras were not being monitored, surely there must have been the tapes. What did they show? Did the COI not look at these?
Even if these two cameras were not monitored, or working, at the time of escape, there are other cameras within the detention centre which will capture the movement of the security officers immediately after the alert went out. What did these show?
Did the COI question doctors and medical professionals who attended to Mr Mas Selamat? If no, why not? If yes, what were their reports of the prisoner just prior to his escape? When did they last observe the detainee? What was his physical condition then? Can the COI confirm that reports show that Mr Selamat was still alive on or before 27 Feb 08?
It is even more bizarre that through all this, there is not any press report about what the detainee's family think and feel. One would imagine that Mr Selamat's parents, siblings or spouse who have something to say especially now that he has disappeared under the most mysterious of circumstances. And yet, there is only silence. What about the foreign press? Have they been prevented to interview the family?
This COI report raises more questions than it gives answers. There is just so much farce that people can take. Now tell us the truth.(From:www.yoursdp.org)
Bravo to SDP for this piece, even if it may have the luxury of time to draft up this carefully thought out piece, which is far better than the timid and disappointing performance put up by WP Low in Parliament - who had two opportunities to score political points but declined to press it home.
Firstly, when challenged by WKS - Low was unprepared to be challenge for his own views, and declined to represent more forcefully the public belief that MSK may have died in custody - in the manner that the SDP has presented.
Secondly, after WP Low question PM LHL's position in not sacking WKS, it was surprising that Low should be silent when challenged by LHL if he personally believe in sacking WKS.
Within one second of Low's silence, LHL immediately seized Low's silence as accepting the position to absolve WKS.
Unfortunately, Low allowed PM LHL to return to his seat without making further rebuttal by way of clarification of his own position - JBJ would have been more forceful.
Why did WP Low not question LHL's judgment in discussing with WKS concerning where the line of responsibility should stop ?
Was it not obvious that it was stupid for LHL to do so, as WKS will surely not accept that the buck should stop at his own desk ?
LHL's statement revealed the absurdity in asking a wrong doer if he should be punished.
The unbelievable explanations given in the COI's findings was correctly spelled out in the SDP article, and SDP was correct in that these ''answers'' raised more questions then satisfied anyone.
It was mentioned that MSK had TWICE gone out of sight of the Gurkha guards - firstly, when he changed into his civilian clothes behind a row of cabinets, and for a second time when MSK entered the toilet cubicle supposedly to refresh himself.
Obviously, the Gurkha guard outside the toilet did not first check the cubicle before allowing MSK to use, and had accepted the unusual removal of garment to hang on the closed door, while water was running from the urinal - {and not the tap as stated in the COI's confused report}.
If MSK had already changed out of ISD garments into his civilian clothes, why were the information released to the public - over four days - reflected confusion as to what was the actual clothes worn by MSK during the escape ?
It is even more absurd that for a high security premises, the existing CCTV was turned off during an upgrading process, before the new CCTV system is put into operation - the Superintendent of this Detention Facility must surely be hanged for this incompetence.
On the night of PM LHL's statement, CNA followed the news coverage with an interview of its own in-house editorial writer, who was brave enough to express his own critical views that it was unbelievable that almost 5 months earlier there was a similar jail break at the SAF Mandai Camp when a NSF soldier with an M-16 had jumped out of the camp building where the fence converge.
This incident somehow escaped the attention of the Leadership of the Home Ministry - and in particular this WRDC..
Similarly, the Head of the Home Ministry - the talented WKS - was perched too high on his ivory tower to ensure that his subordinates had taken note of this incident and take actions to study if similar incident can happen in their premises.
Clearly, this MSK saga is a result of misplaced confidence that is born from sheer arrogance in the belief of supreme perfection in all things that they create.
This is a result of total compliance - where no conflicting views are accepted, mavericks are held in disdain, those who rock the boat is best thrown out, everyone has to be a Team Player.
This is the product of in-breeding.
Clones can only produce clowns.
I'm not surprised LHL admits that a Culture of Fear is Bad when his administration is under bad light..
=====================
NO WITCH HUNTS, PLEASE
By Low Ching Ling
April 24, 2008
RESPONSIBILITY was the word of the day in Parliament yesterday.
Should the minister whose ministry oversees the Internal Security Department (ISD) step down because of lapses among some down the line?
The mistakes allowed Singapore's most dangerous terrorist Mas Selamat Kastari to break out of the Whitley Road Detention Centre twomonths ago.
Well, Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng is not to blame, the Prime Minister said.
Mr Lee Hsien Loong spoke about government accountability in Parliament yesterday.
Yes, a minister is accountable for his ministry's policies and operations. But does the axe have to fall on him every time someone below him errs?
No, PM Lee said. That's the easy way out.
'It may temporarily appease an angry public, but it will not fundamentally solve the problem.'
Instead, look at who is responsible.
'The basic issue is whether the person is culpable,' PM Lee said. 'If so, we must act against him, however senior his position.'
'But if he is not at fault, then we must have the moral courage to state so, and support him.
'This way, everybody within the organisation can be confident that when something goes wrong, they will not be sacrificed for political expediency.'
PM Lee said: 'I am satisfied... that (Mr Wong) and (the) top management were not to blame... DPM Wong, as the minister, and the director of ISD, both continue to have my full confidence.'
But some Members of Parliament (MPs) were not convinced.
Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim asked: Does the Government think it should not be blamed for the escape?
PM Lee replied: 'Anything which happens on the Government's watch, the Government is responsible.'
But, 'the buck has to stop somewhere', he added.
'If you take this to the logical conclusion, it should go all the way up to the Prime Minister and every time something happens in the Government, you change prime ministers,' he said.
'I don't think that is how this government works.'
NORM ELSEWHERE
He said: 'There are some countries where, when things go wrong down the line, ministers routinely fall on the sword... It's part of the culture.
'But then what happens is that instead of getting the problem solved, the ceremonial change of guard is seen as the solution of theproblem.
'So the fundamentals do not get altered. After some time, the problem pops up again, you change ministers or government again.'
The 'C' word came up too.
Nominated MP Eunice Olsen asked if complacency would set in if lines of responsibility are not drawn. PM Lee doubts so.
'I think that we are taking it seriously and those who deserve to be reprimanded or punished or removed will be... Those who don't, will not.'
But while MP Inderjit Singh said he has not lost faith in DPM Wong and the ISD, he feels the Government should 'send signals correctly' to Singaporeans, civil servants and politicians.
'That when you make a mistake, you need to be appropriately punished... I'm not suggesting that we punish (the minister), but I think the signal that we send is very important.'
Yes, PM Lee agreed, civil servants must know they have to 'face the music' if they make a mistake.
But one has to take care it does not turn into a 'witch hunt'.
PM Lee said: 'When a mistake happens, you get to the bottom of the matter before you decide to punish people.
CULTURE OF FEAR BAD
'Because if you generate the culture where nobody wants to make mistakes and they are afraid to do something for fear of making mistakes, that would be the biggest mistake of all.'
But opposition MP Low Thia Khiang was not swayed.
He pointed out: 'When we debated the ministers' salaries, we talked about pegging them to the private sector.
'But in the private sector, when something goes wrong, heads roll, including the CEO.
'But when something goes wrong here, we're talking about honest mistakes.'
PM Lee replied that the line has to be drawn somewhere.
He said: 'Even (Mr Low) has not suggested that I should resign because I appointed (Mr Wong)...'
PM Lee then asked Mr Low if he thought Mr Wong's head should roll.
Mr Low kept mum.
'No answer. So I think that settles the point,' PM Lee said.
Originally posted by Atobe:
Bravo to SDP for this piece, even if it may have the luxury of time to draft up this carefully thought out piece, which is far better than the timid and disappointing performance put up by WP Low in Parliament - who had two opportunities to score political points but declined to press it home.
Firstly, when challenged by WKS - Low was unprepared to be challenge for his own views, and declined to represent more forcefully the public belief that MSK may have died in custody - in the manner that the SDP has presented.
Secondly, after WP Low question PM LHL's position in not sacking WKS, it was surprising that Low should be silent when challenged by LHL if he personally believe in sacking WKS.
Within one second of Low's silence, LHL immediately seized Low's silence as accepting the position to absolve WKS.
Unfortunately, Low allowed PM LHL to return to his seat without making further rebuttal by way of clarification of his own position - JBJ would have been more forceful.
Why did WP Low not question LHL's judgment in discussing with WKS concerning where the line of responsibility should stop ?
Was it not obvious that it was stupid for LHL to do so, as WKS will surely not accept that the buck should stop at his own desk ?
LHL's statement revealed the absurdity in asking a wrong doer if he should be punished.
The unbelievable explanations given in the COI's findings was correctly spelled out in the SDP article, and SDP was correct in that these ''answers'' raised more questions then satisfied anyone.
It was mentioned that MSK had TWICE gone out of sight of the Gurkha guards - firstly, when he changed into his civilian clothes behind a row of cabinets, and for a second time when MSK entered the toilet cubicle supposedly to refresh himself.
Obviously, the Gurkha guard outside the toilet did not first check the cubicle before allowing MSK to use, and had accepted the unusual removal of garment to hang on the closed door, while water was running from the urinal - {and not the tap as stated in the COI's confused report}.
If MSK had already changed out of ISD garments into his civilian clothes, why were the information released to the public - over four days - reflected confusion as to what was the actual clothes worn by MSK during the escape ?
It is even more absurd that for a high security premises, the existing CCTV was turned off during an upgrading process, before the new CCTV system is put into operation - the Superintendent of this Detention Facility must surely be hanged for this incompetence.
On the night of PM LHL's statement, CNA followed the news coverage with an interview of its own in-house editorial writer, who was brave enough to express his own critical views that it was unbelievable that almost 5 months earlier there was a similar jail break at the SAF Mandai Camp when a NSF soldier with an M-16 had jumped out of the camp building where the fence converge.
This incident somehow escaped the attention of the Leadership of the Home Ministry - and in particular this WRDC..
Similarly, the Head of the Home Ministry - the talented WKS - was perched too high on his ivory tower to ensure that his subordinates had taken note of this incident and take actions to study if similar incident can happen in their premises.
Clearly, this MSK saga is a result of misplaced confidence that is born from sheer arrogance in the belief of supreme perfection in all things that they create.
This is a result of total compliance - where no conflicting views are accepted, mavericks are held in disdain, those who rock the boat is best thrown out, everyone has to be a Team Player.
This is the product of in-breeding.
Clones can only produce clowns.
... so what's next? LHL will raise ministerial salaries again so that his Cream of the Crop Ministers will think harder, deeper, and be more observant apart from just being and remaining INCORRUPTIBLE or CORRUPTION-FREE?
... farking LAME as hell if you ask me...!!!
This issue here is not about WKS resigning. The fallout of this matter should not be pushed down to the lowest possible man at fault.
How can 2 Ghurka guards supposedly to watch over MSK be responsible for an ungrilled window? Evidently the security failure is not just in the watchers.
Who made the decision not to grill those windows in visitation block? Why? Are the considerations acceptable? If WKS himself made that decision, its even more important that he explains.
People need to know how a limp, but ingenius terrorist was placed under relaxed security, why a detention facility with a highlighted flaw, was not remedied using the best possible solution.
What if....
Singapore caught Osama Bin Ladin ????
Who would claim the credit? Who would get a salary increase? Who gets all the benefit?
You think about it
In my opinion, I think WKS should at least take a pay freeze as a token for accepting some level of responsibility for the debacle.
The buck stops there at the ministerial level, with, of course, the ministers of states also forgoing their pay for some time.
Those at the political office must bear some responsibilities different from the civil service as they have job security for at least 5 years before the next election.
Any savings in taxpayers' monies should then be donated
to some funds towards efforts to find Mas Selamat. I am sure the amount is quite significant to find him. Then any $ left shall be donated to a common pool at the Ministry of Community Development to help those who are really needy in these tough times.
Originally posted by livspore2006:In my opinion, I think WKS should at least take a pay freeze as a token for accepting some level of responsibility for the debacle.
The buck stops there at the ministerial level, with, of course, the ministers of states also forgoing their pay for some time.
Those at the political office must bear some responsibilities different from the civil service as they have job security for at least 5 years before the next election.
Any savings in taxpayers' monies should then be donated
to some funds towards efforts to find Mas Selamat. I am sure the amount is quite significant to find him. Then any $ left shall be donated to a common pool at the Ministry of Community Development to help those who are really needy in these tough times.
Think of $$$ don't you think WKS will ask for more budgeting on National Defence since the cibel servants always want to justify more than 2 months of Bonuses?
Imagine a primary 6 educated terrorist v. highly educated superintendant,(maybe PSC schloar, who scored 4As in his A lev.,if not he can't get the job bcos they r talking abt elite.) of WRDC. So who is smart and talented ? U decide. That shows our education system failed. We always talked abt. high pay commensurate with talent, but this case prove otherwise!!!
Originally posted by t_a_s:Imagine a primary 6 educated terrorist v. highly educated superintendant,(maybe PSC schloar, who scored 4As in his A lev.,if not he can't get the job bcos they r talking abt elite.) of WRDC. So who is smart and talented ? U decide. That shows our education system failed. We always talked abt. high pay commensurate with talent, but this case prove otherwise!!!
you know why?
cos in school the teacher never teach mah, text book teach write mah, exam never come out this question mah. this show that our ministers common sense very limited.
... I hope, Mas Selamat is still out and about when next GE comes around...
... and it is looking like he is going to be out and about come next GE...
.... it is going to take, more than a Carrot tied to the end of their stick next round....
... FAP, please screw up some more...
Originally posted by freedom4ever:you know why?
cos in school the teacher never teach mah, text book teach write mah, exam never come out this question mah. this show that our ministers common sense very limited.
... ayy, but hor,,, they maths very good leh... count money very accurate one...
SELAMAT'S 11 MINUTES JAIL BREAK COMPLACENCY TWEAK
They say Father always knew best,
One day he took a trip to mid east,
Impress Arab of his world class deeds,
Perchance broke news of grand escape,
Of most wanted terrorist, the lame selamat,
From his boasted world-class prison ward,
Thwarted in mid track of his classy state,
How to save his and his son million-dollar face,
Quickly old man wilier than selamat had to say,
No one was perfect complacency was at fault.
Blame the escape he did on milder complacency,
Inquiry showed a big hole in prison window,
Exposed his own son and minister to inefficiency,
Surely open window, broken CCTV not world-class act
Cried the people of such incompetent world-class ward,
Wanted blood of million-dollar home minister yes-man
Inquiry pointed to overwhelming system fault,
Yes-man minister was all talent not to waste.
So blame was squared on 11 minute toilet break,
Junior guards got sacked for a complacency tweak.
Originally posted by Atobe:
Being a Neutral observer, I agree that LTK did not do as much as he could have. For the people. To challenge on behalf of the people. To voice on behalf of the people. And that is what happened. Period.
I feel (note the present tense) disappointed even up to now.
He scored points by asking the main question. He stopped short of furthering the debate. He did not replied or raised his hands when asked if anyone likes WKS to go.
totally agree.
WP need to beef up.
WP may not had been more aggressive then could be due to 'long distance stamina marathon mentality' if u knoe wtf i mean.
if new building to be built, who will pay for this?
given the reasons for the escape, do you think there are certainly fundamental and basic requirements of a DC was not met?
Who is responsible for the building of a DC, its design, secruity and operational efficiency and effectiveness?
Recalling last night's wonderfully great speech, I think the leader is not at fault.
U believe me or not?
Only the guard and DC people was at fault, based on what is impressed upon me.
How would anyone in the Pore eventually know what punishment, if any, was really executed on the 'complacent' amigos?
Originally posted by t_a_s:Imagine a primary 6 educated terrorist v. highly educated superintendant,(maybe PSC schloar, who scored 4As in his A lev.,if not he can't get the job bcos they r talking abt elite.) of WRDC. So who is smart and talented ? U decide. That shows our education system failed. We always talked abt. high pay commensurate with talent, but this case prove otherwise!!!
like to remind that in the court of law, the judge has the final say. The judge being a human.
last night, i had a dream.
It was a black saturday....
black everywhere....
so overwhelming....
The town was painted black....
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
I'm not surprised LHL admits that a Culture of Fear is Bad when his administration is under bad light..
=====================
NO WITCH HUNTS, PLEASE
By Low Ching Ling
April 24, 2008
RESPONSIBILITY was the word of the day in Parliament yesterday.Should the minister whose ministry oversees the Internal Security Department (ISD) step down because of lapses among some down the line?
The mistakes allowed Singapore's most dangerous terrorist Mas Selamat Kastari to break out of the Whitley Road Detention Centre twomonths ago.
Well, Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng is not to blame, the Prime Minister said.Mr Lee Hsien Loong spoke about government accountability in Parliament yesterday.
Yes, a minister is accountable for his ministry's policies and operations. But does the axe have to fall on him every time someone below him errs?
No, PM Lee said. That's the easy way out.
'It may temporarily appease an angry public, but it will not fundamentally solve the problem.'
Instead, look at who is responsible.
'The basic issue is whether the person is culpable,' PM Lee said. 'If so, we must act against him, however senior his position.'
'But if he is not at fault, then we must have the moral courage to state so, and support him.
'This way, everybody within the organisation can be confident that when something goes wrong, they will not be sacrificed for political expediency.'
PM Lee said: 'I am satisfied... that (Mr Wong) and (the) top management were not to blame... DPM Wong, as the minister, and the director of ISD, both continue to have my full confidence.'
But some Members of Parliament (MPs) were not convinced.
Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim asked: Does the Government think it should not be blamed for the escape?
PM Lee replied: 'Anything which happens on the Government's watch, the Government is responsible.'
But, 'the buck has to stop somewhere', he added.
'If you take this to the logical conclusion, it should go all the way up to the Prime Minister and every time something happens in the Government, you change prime ministers,' he said.
'I don't think that is how this government works.'
NORM ELSEWHERE
He said: 'There are some countries where, when things go wrong down the line, ministers routinely fall on the sword... It's part of the culture.
'But then what happens is that instead of getting the problem solved, the ceremonial change of guard is seen as the solution of theproblem.
'So the fundamentals do not get altered. After some time, the problem pops up again, you change ministers or government again.'
The 'C' word came up too.
Nominated MP Eunice Olsen asked if complacency would set in if lines of responsibility are not drawn. PM Lee doubts so.
'I think that we are taking it seriously and those who deserve to be reprimanded or punished or removed will be... Those who don't, will not.'
But while MP Inderjit Singh said he has not lost faith in DPM Wong and the ISD, he feels the Government should 'send signals correctly' to Singaporeans, civil servants and politicians.
'That when you make a mistake, you need to be appropriately punished... I'm not suggesting that we punish (the minister), but I think the signal that we send is very important.'
Yes, PM Lee agreed, civil servants must know they have to 'face the music' if they make a mistake.
But one has to take care it does not turn into a 'witch hunt'.
PM Lee said: 'When a mistake happens, you get to the bottom of the matter before you decide to punish people.
CULTURE OF FEAR BAD
'Because if you generate the culture where nobody wants to make mistakes and they are afraid to do something for fear of making mistakes, that would be the biggest mistake of all.'
But opposition MP Low Thia Khiang was not swayed.
He pointed out: 'When we debated the ministers' salaries, we talked about pegging them to the private sector.
'But in the private sector, when something goes wrong, heads roll, including the CEO.
'But when something goes wrong here, we're talking about honest mistakes.'
PM Lee replied that the line has to be drawn somewhere.
He said: 'Even (Mr Low) has not suggested that I should resign because I appointed (Mr Wong)...'
PM Lee then asked Mr Low if he thought Mr Wong's head should roll.
Mr Low kept mum.
'No answer. So I think that settles the point,' PM Lee said.
does people have to be sworn in to perform something?
if so, what did they actually sweared to do?
honor.
integrity.
self-respect.
any?
Was experiments (re-enactments) carried out by able bodied, super fit, servicemen, of Mas Selamats escape?
Is it possible to squeeze out of the window, dash to the covered stair-way, climb on to the roof, over the first fence, then the second fence, each time having to contend with the barb wire. If the commandos can do it, then Mas Selamat may be able to do it with some difficulty. They should also be able to gauge how far he could go in 11 minutes, and also if he suffered any cuts or injuries.
I wonder if the COI ordered such an experiment to assess the feasibility of such an ecape by an obese, unfit and physicaly impaired individual.
I still think it is too simple, I think he crawled out of the window, to the safety of ISD officers waiting there (no CCTV there yet remember), and quickly whisked of to a government safehouse. The luckless personnel inside clueless, and for all intend and purpose, for them he did escape. They are the pawns.
And what would be the purpose of hiding Mas Selamat elsewhere, while locking down checkpoints such as Tuas and Woodlands, hurting our economy?