I think that politics have no place in the Olympics.
I agree.
TS u fark off la...ask Tibet, Xinjiang and Taiwan be independent from China...u siao huh?
these areas belong to China, and these areas have no rights to b independent from China
Anyway y u scold Chinese Communist Party...Chinese Communist Pigs?
TS u fark off la...last time if Chinese Community Party nv defeat Kuomintang during the Chinese Civil War, China now would b in a chaotic situation and ruined by Kuomintang.
I think u fark off better, u have no rights to scold China or Chinese Communist Party
U then pig la
Olympics is juz a world game where every1 com n compete and all because of those farking western countries they go make the situation even worse
western media especially american propaganda are the most inconsistent and bias.
why not help palestines?
wht tgt only china especially using olympics games as part of their game plan.
intentionally or not, singaporeans chinese like myself feel offended by the CNN caffety comment.
on the other hand it show how narrow minded most of the americans are.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:I question the intention of western organisations in making use of tibetans in exile to achieve their own agenda. I am against the double standards used and hypocracy involved in the Western organisations and government dealing with countries like China.
You still haven't figure out?
you still haven't accept the reality?
Originally posted by Eddie Lee:
Don't forget that the USA actually belongs to England, Spain, and France (lol!)
Puerto Rico?
The majority of Puerto Ricans want to move to the US mainland.
But personally I think they should be granted independence like Cuba and the Philippines were. My biggest fear is that Puerto Rico will someday become a state and we will have even more socialists voting in US elections.
Despite what you read in Pravda the majority of Puerto Ricans have no desire to become part of Cuba. There are more people in Texas Independence movement than the Puerto Rican independence movement.
And for the record we Texans should have never joined the United States. We should have remained an independent nation. Like Taiwan is.
I don't know many Lakota Soiux but as an Ang Moh Cherokee I a consider myself an American.
I am much interested in the present and the future than I am the past.
America actually belonged to the native indians, the english, the spanish and the french came in and reduced their population from 50 million to the current less than 3 million.
To the american, you do not want to look at your past, for your past was stained with blood of the native american indians.
Suggest you read Asian history from an asian perspective and respect us accordingly.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
you still haven't accept the reality?
Ha Who is talking about bias and unfair and justice and double standard ? Do you know what is reality?
Chinese state media: Government will meet Dalai Lama aide
The vast majority of American's don't give a damn about Tibet. If China would just improve it's treatment of the Tibetan people even less westerners would care what goes on there.
The protesters you see on TV are a very small minority. Ironically with the exception of a few Tibetans living in America. These are the very same people that routinely protest the War in Iraq, President Bush, The World Bank, the WTO, and Israel. They also routinely protest in favor of abortion rights and gay rights. It would be very inaccurate to portray the anti-Chinese protesters as part of a US propaganda machine.Or even as typical Americans.
And for the record I support the decision of President Bush to attend the opening ceremonies at the Olympics in Beijing.
As for the American Indians, They fought and killed each other for territory long before the white man came. I am very pleased that the Europeans brought my mothers people out of the stone age. Many of my cousins are Cherokee. They are not currently being oppressed by the US government.The past is past. The world was a different place hundreds of years ago. The misdeeds of the United States in the distant past is no excuse to mistreat Tibet. Yes the US slaughtered many aboriginal Americans. That's very true. Did those misdeeds justify the Japanese invasion of China and Korea during WWII?
As far as the CNN comments go. Those comments were made by one man expressing his opinion about the current government of mainland China. He was not being critical of all Chinese people. CNN routinely says more negative things about President Bush and the Republican party than it does about China. If CNN were part of a US conspiracy to spread US propaganda why would it be allowed to be so critical of the Bush Administration and the United States Government?
western countries n western media all sux to the core la
You should really consider a career in politics.
The Communist Party needs articulate young people like yourself.
western countries n western media all sux to the core la
We should seek ways to co-exist peacefully and strive for cooperation instead of more hatred, bias and conflicts.
actually the tibetan protests have nothing to do with human rights. if u visit tibet, theyre happy there. they dont have to pay taxes and they go hang out at internet cafes and play sports. they DO get to practice their religion.
Eddie Lee,
You refered to 'mistreatment' of Tibetans. What are these so-called mistreatments? Where did you get this idea of mistreatment notion from?
You said Native Indians in US now have a better life than before and not being mistreated. I believe that. In fact if Im not wrong, they get some sort of special treatment or positive discrimination from the government.
Guess what, why do u think the situation is different with ethnic Tibetans in China?
Why do some people have this concept in their mind that Tibetans are 'mistreated' ?
Maybe this question should be asked first because this is one of the biggest misconceptions which is the basis of many people's sympathy towards Tibetan movement. Have u actually thought that this could actually be not true?
Have u ever thought that this notion could be false?
I believe you are right on another count though, not many Americans care about Tibetan issue. In fact, there shouldnt be any issue whatsoever. Those exile protesters are descendants of failed 1950s war. They are a special group. Do they represent Tibetans? I think they represent the monk class and their followers. The younger ones of them, in their 20s-30s, I think never even set foot in China or Tibet itself. They are born in foreign countries, still live in their own orbit, and still hung up on so called independence. Meanwhile in Tibet itself, times is moving.
Now tell me, do they represent average Tibetans living in Tibet? Do you believe that?
Just as you dont believe American protesters who joined those exile Tibetans represent the majority of Americans, I think those Tibetan protestors dont represent the majority of Tibetans as well.
Just yesterday I watched TV interview of so-called Prime Minister of Tibetan goverment-in-exile.
Guess what, he is a monk, wearing a monk robe, and at the side table, there was a picture of Buddha photo.
So this monk is the prime minister of Tibetan people?
Are you sure Tibetans want him?
From that TV interview what can we conclude? They are just sore losers of the 1950s war, the monk class who got overthrown and their lands re-distributed to Tibetan peasants. They are sore losers and political opponent of China, but still acting like they are the rulers of Tibet, and still have the cheek to appoint themselves and call themselves fancy names, like Prime Minister of government-in-exile.
Who appoint them? Themselves? They still think they are the rulers or Tibet?
This is another big misconception, that majority of Tibetans ordinary people actually want independence, or even so-called greater autonomy. Who are these 'people' actually? Please pay attention, and pay a close attention.
And lastly I want to point out....you said there is no American propaganda. If you really believe that, then I dont know what to say. There is propaganda everywhere, even in Western media. Let me ask you, do u think Saddam's vilification is a form of propaganda or not? WMD in Iraq is a form of propaganda or not? Recently Prince Harry was shown fighting in Afganistan, those series, do you think is a propaganda or not..?
Not many people are so foolish to miss propaganda excersices, and I for one, is not fooled. I can see clearly whats going on. Several western countries launched a concerted effort to sabotage China and are still continuing with their information warfare.
Let me ask you another question, maybe you are familiar with.
Not long ago the western media launched stories of defective Chinese goods. Is this a form of propaganda or not? Something natural? What do you think? Any rational person can see whats going on. How many percent of goods are actually defective? Why didnt they show the working goods? What is the purpose behind it?
I read and follow the development of this Tibet information warfare. Alot of Chinese are angry of the so-called 'media bias'. I think this is too tame. This is not a simple 'media bias' like how the media has bias towards a certain American Idol contestant for example. This is a deliberate and concerted, organized effort backed by their governments to sabotage China. I am sorry if you cannot see this.
Meat Pao.
This editoral ran in a major US newspaper.
I would like to hear some opinions from those of you who have time to read it.
http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/commentary/la-oe-mahbubani25apr25,0,2235462.story
Thank you for your response Meat Pao.
Most information from Tibet comes from recent immigrants, exiles,Tibetan Buddhists and NGOs operating in Tibet. I obviously don't believe everything that I hear from these people.
The recent problems with Chinese goods was not a propaganda ploy. Many US companies lost millions of dollars. Personally I hold US companies equally responsible for the manufacturing and importing of toys containing unsafe amounts of lead. If that was nothing but US propaganda why did the government of China execute several people over these unsafe products (if they didn't exist).Please keep in mind that many international companies manufacture their products in China. In addition to US toy companies US retailers were also hit very hard.
Products that work properly are not a problem and not newsworthy. The excellent hiking boots (made in China) that I am wearing right now are durable well made boots. That's not news. If they were to mysteriously burst into flames that would be news worthy.
As for Sadam Hussein it would be hard not to vilify someone who used chemical weapons against his own citizens. All governments have their own agendas and propaganda to some extent. But the US government has no control over it's media. If you pay attention to the American mainstream media you will see more stories critical of the United States than any other country. Including China!
I suspect that you may be suffering from your own media bias and anti US propaganda.
Please do not get the impression that I am a fan of the US media.
In truth I detest the American media. But for reasons that you are probably not even aware of.
More than 95% of the US media belongs to one political party (the Democratic party).
The US media is very biased when it comes to reporting the news in that regard.
If you think that the US media is pro-USA, then you're just not paying attention. That or you're only seeing selective stories and not what's reported on a daily basis.
One more thing...
I do not get all of my news from US outlets.
I also watch BBC news and CCCTV-9 (from China).
CCCTV-9 is available to almost any American with basic cable or satellite service.
The cold war or 'good vs evil' mindset is just out of date.
Go to 'communist' Lao and 'democratic' Cambodia and compare the life of the people in both countries.
Most people who are most of the time exposed to western media tend to possess such cold war point of view. They always quickly jump to the conclusion that China vs Tibet is the issue of Evil vs Good. Or in 2006, these same people quickly denounced Sep'06 coup when in fact the coup prevented the country from having another destructive bloodshed.
I would much rather live in Laos than The Kingdom of Cambodia ( or most of Europe for that matter).I am actually very fond of Laos. It it is similar to Thailand in some ways. But without the whores, drugs, pollution or crime.
But if your are going to compare the two countries. Please keep in mind that Cambodia is still recovering from having as much as 25% of it's population murdered by the Khmer Rouge (crazy, radical communists lah).
I seem to remember China coming to rescue the Khmer Rouge when the Vietnamese tried to intervene in 1979?
(If I have the wrong date please let me know)
I agree that both sides of this debate should abandoned old fashioned cold war concepts.Like it or not the economies of China and the USA are now codependent.
Originally posted by Eddie Lee:I would would much rather live in Laos than Cambodia ( or most of Europe for that matter).I am actually very fond of Laos. It it is la lot like Thailand without the whores, drugs, or crime.
But if your are going to compare the two countries. Please keep in mind that Cambodia is still recovering from having as much as 25% of it's population mudered by the Khmer Rouge (radical communists).
Lao is not much different in terms of pains they suffered.. They went through long period of western colonization and wars brought about by 'democratic' countries. And Cambodia is rife with corruption.
Vietnam is worse. One million were killed in bombs and WMDs brought about by 'democratic' country and assisted by its ally like Thailand, my country. Now 'communist' Vietnam is rising while 'democratic' Thailand is running around in circles about amending the constitutions, which is such a waste of time when evading the law and abusive interpretation of law have become a norm.
Back to China. This made me believe that China has its own reason to be as it is now.
Personally I think that communism is pretty much over with.
I am fairly certain that the government of China came to this realization when China's GDP rose so dramaitically with the return of Hong Kong.
Originally posted by Eddie Lee:Personally I think that communism is pretty much over with.
I am certain that the government of China came to this realization when China's GDP rose so dramaitically with the return of Hong Kong.
I don't think communism in each country is the same. For example, North Korean communism is quite destructive to its people. So you can't generalize communism, democracy or absolute monarchy as good or bad.
And you're right. China came to the realization not just after the return of Hong Kong but also after the breakaway of many republics from Russia. Clearly China adjusts, adapts, and prioritizes while realizing their limits. They cannot just simply take advices from or bow to the West. Otherwise, they would have followed the Russian course.
Originally posted by Eddie Lee:One more thing...
I do not get all of my news from US outlets.
I also watch BBC news and CCCTV-9 (from China).
CCCTV-9 is available to almost any American with basic cable or satellite service.
it has been going on for quiet sometime that TV news networks are now entertaining rather than reporting. I continue to see that in major network. This shfit has been largely i believe due to the changed of business ownership within news media companies. I also think that is a major misperception from most people living in Asia since news media are more state owned and public rely on media to get information there is a perceived responsible reporting as part of the ethics and also a tools for govt to send out message.
These days I find that a more information news approach that provide a decent perspective would be PBS News Hour Jim Lehrer.
I seem to remember China coming to rescue the Khmer Rouge when the Vietnamese tried to intervene in 1979?
USA and China both supported Pol Pot.