Originally posted by Lin Yu:that's accountability
If that's what you mean by accountability, I hope you will never be in a position whereby you will scold our judges in court or worse, otherwise it may be your parents that go to jail for 12 days in the kind of society you are seeking.
Originally posted by Point_blank:He already did. He apologised to the nation on behalf of his men, even though it was not his fault.
Just like a mother of a murderer would apologize to a victim's mother. It may not do anything to bring back the murdered victim, but the fault is acknowledged. Society accepts it. Unless you want to change society.
I understand some will not be satisfied, but for the greater good of society, should not we all moved on pragmatically, find Mas instead of bickering with one another on blamegames or be manipulated by others for political ends?
no la.. wat i wanted, and perhaps others too, was something not only vocal.. but actions too.. but this debate shall stop here.. he did not kena, it's a fact, it's history, and no point wasting anymore time on this.. i go play game liao..
*unchecks "monitoring topic" checkbox*
http://www.clevelandbanner.com/index.cfm?event=news.view&id=540F3840-19B9-E2E2-6732778ACD6FA23B
A Western Australian court has ordered the parents of two teenagers to pay compensation to the victims of their children's crimes.
The ruling is believed to be an Australian legal first.
The parents have been ordered to pay a total of $60,000 to the owners of two properties in Kalgoorlie-Boulder.
Their teenage sons set fire to the houses in June last year, causing about $400,000 in damage. One of the homes had to be demolished.
An application for compensation was initially rejected but after an appeal to the full court, the president of the Children's Court today ruled that the parents should pay a total of $60,000 to the owners and residents.
In his decision, Judge Denis Reynolds said the parents had generally been responsible in the years around the time of the arson attacks.
But he said they had failed to adequately supervise their children, who were using amphetamines and cannabis and drinking alcohol.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2004/07/09/1150374.htm
Parents should be made financially responsible for property crime committed by their children, Halifax council said, passing a motion urging the province to consider such a law.
Councillors want a law similar to one in British Columbia. Under the Parental Responsibility Act, parents can be required to pay for vandalism committed by young offenders, to a maximum of $10,000.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/yourview/2006/10/parents_should_pay_for_kids_cr.html
Nearly 130,000 juveniles were arrested for major violent crimes in 1992. Teenagers are now more likely to be victims of violent crime than adults over age twenty-five. Over the past fifteen years, use of guns by youthful offenders has increased by nearly 20 percent. Juvenile offenders are responsible for one-third of all reported property crimes. This strategy addresses the youth behaviors that lead to status offenses and property crimes by holding parents legally and financially accountable for their children's actions.
Anyone who suggest that the Chief of Navy had no part to play in the job fails to see that it is the Chief of Navy's duty to ensure that the force stay professional and to constantly review practices and ensure they are followed. Otherwise, the admiral isn't doing his bloody job, and he should be fired. The CINCPAC Admiral in the US navy also suffered for a string of problems involving US Navy warships in the Pacific. It is the duty of the navy admiral to ensure that his captains do their duty and if they don't, then something is wrong.
Any damn idiot who suggest otherwise is suggesting that the admiral of the fleet has no responsibility over his captains, and thus is absolved of any failings in the instruction of his men.
And someone apparently forgot, that within that same year, there was a collision between a navy vessel Endurance and a merchant ship. Yeah, same reason again; ensigns at the helm.
1 question i think everyone will be able to judge for themselves.
IF the minister in charge of home affairs is an oppostion member instead of WKS, will he be sack or will he get protected by LHL?
Originally posted by freedom4ever:1 question i think everyone will be able to judge for themselves.
IF the minister in charge of home affairs is an oppostion member instead of WKS, will he be sack or will he get protected by LHL?
In Singapore , no opposition MP will be appointed as a minister one leh ![]()
Originally posted by Trump_Card:In Singapore , no opposition MP will be appointed as a minister one leh
that why my if is a very big if. ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:A parent or guardian found irresponsible in controlling their child may have to perform community service or spend 10 days in jail, according to a Tennessee law.
The Bradley County Juvenile Court is sending a message loud and clear: Parents are responsible and accountable for their children's delinquent behavior and the law is going to be enforced to stifle negligent parents from creating a larger problem for the county.http://www.clevelandbanner.com/index.cfm?event=news.view&id=540F3840-19B9-E2E2-6732778ACD6FA23B
A Western Australian court has ordered the parents of two teenagers to pay compensation to the victims of their children's crimes.
The ruling is believed to be an Australian legal first.
The parents have been ordered to pay a total of $60,000 to the owners of two properties in Kalgoorlie-Boulder.
Their teenage sons set fire to the houses in June last year, causing about $400,000 in damage. One of the homes had to be demolished.
An application for compensation was initially rejected but after an appeal to the full court, the president of the Children's Court today ruled that the parents should pay a total of $60,000 to the owners and residents.
In his decision, Judge Denis Reynolds said the parents had generally been responsible in the years around the time of the arson attacks.
But he said they had failed to adequately supervise their children, who were using amphetamines and cannabis and drinking alcohol.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2004/07/09/1150374.htm
Parents should be made financially responsible for property crime committed by their children, Halifax council said, passing a motion urging the province to consider such a law.
Councillors want a law similar to one in British Columbia. Under the Parental Responsibility Act, parents can be required to pay for vandalism committed by young offenders, to a maximum of $10,000.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/yourview/2006/10/parents_should_pay_for_kids_cr.html
Nearly 130,000 juveniles were arrested for major violent crimes in 1992. Teenagers are now more likely to be victims of violent crime than adults over age twenty-five. Over the past fifteen years, use of guns by youthful offenders has increased by nearly 20 percent. Juvenile offenders are responsible for one-third of all reported property crimes. This strategy addresses the youth behaviors that lead to status offenses and property crimes by holding parents legally and financially accountable for their children's actions.
Thank you for your links. I already have heard of them. We have no need to 'ape' any country for each society is different and have different laws, from other nations, for their countrymen to suit their national needs. But the thing is, these are not related to current Singapore laws on juveniles or soon to be enacted laws. My question is:
Who should take the blame if a son commits murder, he or his father/mother/both in the name of accountability? Do understand your answer will reflect the kind of society you want and want others to live in.
Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Anyone who suggest that the Chief of Navy had no part to play in the job fails to see that it is the Chief of Navy's duty to ensure that the force stay professional and to constantly review practices and ensure they are followed. Otherwise, the admiral isn't doing his bloody job, and he should be fired. The CINCPAC Admiral in the US navy also suffered for a string of problems involving US Navy warships in the Pacific. It is the duty of the navy admiral to ensure that his captains do their duty and if they don't, then something is wrong.
Any damn idiot who suggest otherwise is suggesting that the admiral of the fleet has no responsibility over his captains, and thus is absolved of any failings in the instruction of his men.
And someone apparently forgot, that within that same year, there was a collision between a navy vessel Endurance and a merchant ship. Yeah, same reason again; ensigns at the helm.
Lots of P4P fellatio artists here, some have refined the art of fellating to the epitome of suckers. ![]()
Like I said before, if a manager being paid $2 million a year entask his clerk to sell all the shares of a certain company, the clerk fail to perform the task, resulting in the company losing $1 billion.
Should the manager being paid $2 million be responsible or the $2,000 per month clerk be responsible?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Lots of P4P fellatio artists here, some have refined the art of fellating to the epitome of suckers.Like I said before, if a manager being paid $2 million a year entask his clerk to sell all the shares of a certain company, the clerk fail to perform the task, resulting in the company losing $1 billion.
Should the manager being paid $2 million be responsible or the $2,000 per month clerk be responsible?
If you have to resort to calling others as mentioned in your post with a rather vulgar 'PAP fellatio artists' perhaps you may just be a fellatio artist yourself or others can equally call you one?
I had the courtesy to reply to your question, answered by my post dated 5th june, 4.51pm, which is yesterday.
Yet you still refuse to answer mine. Why are you afraid to show your view or commit a stand? Are your fellatio types so fearful with your own self created fears?
Who should take the blame if a son commits murder, he or his father/mother/both in the name of accountability? Do understand your answer will reflect the kind of society you want and want others to live in.
Perhaps you truly are the fellating guy here, all talk and no balls?
Another weird comparison between the responsibilities of a parent to child vs that of a minister to subordinates. A parent is not voted in like a minister.
Why compare someone voted in to do the job vs someone who is not?
Who should take the blame if a son commits murder, he or his father/mother/both in the name of accountability?
Why you keep dragging up this nonsensical and illogical analogy point_blank?
You keep on repeating same shit.
No one at top takes responsibility, complacent mentality sets in how?
Do understand your answer will reflect the kind of society you want and want others to live in.
You can call that autistic. Gazelle and clones do that too.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Why you keep dragging up this nonsensical and illogical analogy point_blank?
No one at top takes responsibility, complacent mentality sets in how?
Do understand your answer will reflect the kind of society you want and want others to live in.
They are good at distorting the lines and blurring logic. ![]()
A lot of rubbish arguments from these PAP followers.
Could be due to propaganda influence.
if no one at the top take any form of responsiblity, pay the millions for what?
Not worth it leh
Got credit, earn millions, got fault, use father mother logic
They are good at distorting the lines and blurring logic.
lol! Still have not found your balls to answer yet? It's only a simple question and yet you evade when truth, reason and logic is placed right in front of your eyes? Talk so much, you used your mouth a lot, now it makes me wonder if you truly fellate as a sideline with your irrational friends. You enjoy it so much that you have to start the fellatio thingy here, when no one did. (maurizio 6th june 9.50am)
Originally posted by laurence82:if no one at the top take any form of responsiblity, pay the millions for what?
Not worth it leh
Got credit, earn millions, got fault, use father mother logic
That's the P4P trolls logic lor.
By the way, I don't like talking to trolls.
When they lose arguments they start calling you wankers, asswipes, etc.
Such sore losers.
And he seems to enjoy me plummeting his orifice, nothing feels like getting it from the real man huh.
By all means, make a quick exit. No need to embarass yourself further. BUT the record will show for all what you truly are. Happy er...fellating.You used such words, not me. lol!
Somebody apparently thinks ministers are the parents of Singaporeans.
Is that what they teach in PAP kindergarten these days?
Damn.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Somebody apparently thinks ministers are the parents of Singaporeans.
Damn.
You are very funny. ![]()
I guess your logic is hidden in your humour.
By the way, I don't like talking to trolls.
When they lose arguments they start calling you wankers, asswipes, etc.
Such sore losers.
And he seems to enjoy me plummeting his orifice, nothing feels like getting it from the real man huh.
Some trolls believe themselves to be the image of those they strive so hard to protect, without realising that they have ''bastardised'' that very perfect image - an image that remains fragile and superficial.
Amongst these trolls - one in particular stand out with vulgar dishonesty to accuse all to be 'bastard opposition supporters' when he is no better than being a 'bastardised' juvenile version of others who are more potent than himself in this small Speakers' Corner.
Trolls have a tendency to paint broad juvenile strokes on their customary deluded ''blank pages'' with each ''careless points'' they attempt to make with their immature and impotent thoughts.
Unable to refine their strokes with patient fine work, they indulge in more useless vulgar strokes that attempt to hide their inadequacies with more blustering juvenile insults and wild accusations.
These are the juveniles that Politicians fear for their immature and uncontrollable emotional spirit that is devoid of any soul, moral values and sheer dishonesty - and only good at imitative acts of others whom they idolise.
Read extract of Dr Toh Chin Chye's opinion posted as part of my response in the thread by ''robbertteh'' - “The Culture of Fear and Selfish Existence in our society”
extracted from : - “The Man Who Made PAP & the Man Who Made Singapore”
Originally posted by charlize:Somebody apparently thinks ministers are the parents of Singaporeans.
Damn.
i go ask ministers for pocket money everyday can mah? ![]()
Originally posted by freedom4ever:i go ask ministers for pocket money everyday can mah?
You can ask all you want.
But they will tell you straight up:
There's no free lunch.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:You can ask all you want.
But they will tell you straight up:
There's no free lunch.
but i thought they are my parents wor. ![]()