Thought we should help own singaporean citizen first, and RPC or others later after we takecare of our own singaporean or pink ic holder. It seem the govt is not doing it and far from doing it!!
1) Why job created so many go to foreigners when so many singaporeans are jobbless and cant get jobs. (mean foreigners 100% employed, pink ic holder many unemployed..no figure how many.)
2) Homes go to foreigners, singaporean waiting long long and expensively for theirs.
3) Comcare, CDC should do a professionally social way of handling then giving impedence in term of the long question forms and 40 mins ".interview"...But if a foreigners get strangled in the street immediately they are entertain without fuss..
if you look it clearly,
the People have all the ability to change the system if they so wish to.
The fact is, the People did not ask for change.
Thus, it means they want status quo.
see, everything is quite simple really.
they people does not want change.
so, the people should not complain.
dio boh?
1) Any statistics showing that many Singaporeans are jobless? What is the percentage? If you want to include housewives and students who want to get jobs too, I've no comments.
2) How many HDBs (those that Singaporean wait) go to foreigners?
3) Are you sure? I do see Banglas making rubbish chutes their home. Come to Hougang, I can show you where.
One question first..are you a singaporen?no dun have to reply.
1) dun ask the obvious please go and study your economics..why dun you give me the statics on how many singaporean are employed..(pls dun tell me about students, housewife...mean you should be making a comment )
2) Obviously, u are shortsighted..when the foreigner are taking up the private property, more singaporean will scale down to ..wasting my time.
3) You are most welcome...i seen more old folk staying on street..then your bodie friend..
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:One question first..are you a singaporen?no dun have to reply.
1) dun ask the obvious please go and study your economics..why dun you give me the statics on how many singaporean are employed..(pls dun tell me about students, housewife...mean you should be making a comment )2) Obviously, u are shortsighted..when the foreigner are taking up the private property, more singaporean will scale down to ..wasting my time.
3) You are most welcome...i seen more old folk staying on street..then your bodie friend..
1) I have calculated before, although that was for 4 months ago
880k foreigners (non-residents) employed
500k PRs employed
1204k Singaporeans employed and 46k unemployed
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/294807?page=2
As of Feb 08, the statistics have been proven very close by a CNA article stating 900k foreigners employed.
So please show us your source, statistics or calculations, before making such a big claim
2) You are making a comparison between foreigners buying private property vs Singaporeans queuing up for HDB. Please tell me how fair a comparison that is.
Foreigners buying private property? Do you know that for a foreigner to buy a new private house, they need to apply for a permit? (I cannot confirm for condo yet)
Do you know how many foreigners are actually renting places to stay?
You are obviously just trying to compare expats vs commoners. Again, how fair do you think this comparison is?
3) Obviously you have not got what I'm saying. I have not denied there are other Singaporeans out in the street. I'm against your statement of
if a foreigners get strangled in the
street immediately they are entertained without fuss.
Are you very very sure of this underlined statement you have made?
And ya, you don't just come in into a forum for the first time, and make certain claims without showing your source and calculations, and attempt to spread your anti-foreigners sentiments here. And yes, I'm Singaporean.
SIAN.....
Well you dun come here and accuse me of spreading...better watch it!
please see the header
1) your statistic already state my claim .
2) is you dun noe economic...of demand and supply..and some more...dun want to waste my time.
3) The main point is needy should get help without going to, too much hassle...
wonder you need go reservist...
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:Well you dun come here and accuse me of spreading...better watch it!
please see the header
1) your statistic already state my claim .
2) is you dun noe economic...of demand and supply..and some more...dun want to waste my time.
3) The main point is needy should get help without going to, too much hassle...
wonder you need go reservist...
1) You want to talk about economics when economists claim that a 2% to 7% unemployment rate is technically full employment, with 20th century British economist William Beveridge stating that an unemployment rate of 3% was full employment? My statistics showed full employment technically. And I'm still asking you for your statistics. My statistics only showed 3.6% unemployed Singaporeans within the Singaporean work force. Surely you would know, since you continuously want to talk about economics, the definition of frictional unemployment.
But if you want to tell me 3.6%, of which includes frictional unemployment, is many to you, I've nothing to say too.
2) Your claim is Homes go to foreigners, singaporean waiting long long and expensively for theirs.
Don't tell me this statement is not saying that homes are going to foreigners, while Singaporeans can only wait for a home.
You were not even talking about demand and supply here. Why link to it when your statement which you cannot substantiate yet?
Or if you are talking about demand and supply, are you trying to imply that there are not enough homes at all for Singaporeans to stay because demand is higher than supply, thus Singaporeans have to wait, but somehow or other, foreigners do not have to wait at all?
Note: I'm pointing out the "waiting long long" part, not the "expensively" part
Unless you are trying to mean something else, in which case, please phrase it in a more proper manner.
3) The main point is still against your statement: if a foreigners get strangled in the street immediately they are entertained without fuss.
I do not deny that needy should get help with lesser fuss, but still, what are you trying to prove when you state the underlined statement, something which you cannot even tell me you are very very sure of?
Finally, for
Well you dun come here and accuse me of spreading...better watch it!
why would you state that a non-Singaporean do not have to reply to your post?
One question first..are you a singaporen?no dun have to reply.
Your lengthly writing dun really manuplate or intermidate me. You keep bringing on small unimportant issue and side step the main important issue.=which is the govt should the care of its
citizen first prority=.
You may and can type another lengthly reply, but people will know what going on and decide they are all adualt,dun need put assumption as you please,. which is your own view.. i dun accused you of whatever, whatever.
Pointless reply to you anymore..let the people decide.
Eagle,
I read already want to laugh.
Our Singapore Scholars.. only look at numbers.. but forget about the human part.
I'm no Economic expert lah.. but .....
If I run a country with 100% employment.. all working in my sweat shop. Earning meagre pay and just enough for hand to mouth everyday, if you are sick you are screwed, if you are old. too bad for you..... is that a good country to live in ?
So does numbers really reflect the real life scenario of the people ?
Since we do not have a minimum wage law, with the influx of FT..isnt it true that it will only depress wages?
So, cost of living increasing and wage going down.. the situation in Singapore will only get worst, yes ?
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:if you look it clearly,
the People have all the ability to change the system if they so wish to.
The fact is, the People did not ask for change.
Thus, it means they want status quo.
see, everything is quite simple really.
they people does not want change.
so, the people should not complain.
dio boh?
33.4% did ask for the change but the majority wins. therefore, the 66.6% should not complain.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Eagle,
I read already want to laugh.
Our Singapore Scholars.. only look at numbers.. but forget about the human part.
If I run a country with 100% employment.. all working in my sweat shop. Earning meagre pay and just enough for hand to mouth everyday, if you are sick you are screwed, if you are old. too bad for you..... is that a good country to live in ?
So does numbers really reflect the real life scenario of the people ?
But that wasn't the point TS is raising, isn't it?
I'm pointing out that TS is concealing untruths and making baseless statements within truths. Unless you could also tell me whether you are extremely sure all his 3 points are right on the dot, and show me your proof and explanation of it. I have presented mine.
What you have stated is out of context with TS's supporting points.
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:Your lengthly writing dun really manuplate or intermidate me. You keep bringing on small unimportant issue and side step the main important issue.=which is the govt should the care of its
citizen first prority=.
You may and can type another lengthly reply, but people will know what going on and decide they are all adualt,dun need put assumption as you please,. which is your own view.. i dun accused you of whatever, whatever.
Pointless reply to you anymore..let the people decide.
Your 3 points do not hold at all. I am not denying your topic title. I'm saying that your 3 points do not contain all truths. Till now, you still could not
1) show statistics to prove your claim or explain it properly
2) explain your statement properly
3) tell me how sure you are of a statement you have made.
Need I point out further?
Yep, let the people decide whether you are making baseless judgements, without any proof to back your claim, and without being able to tell me you are very sure of certain statements you yourself have made. Without even a shred of evidence, it is hard for you to convince anyone you are not making assumptions. Not to mention that you are already making anti-foreigners statements by telling me that if I'm a non-Singaporean, I do not need to reply you.
Lolar,
If I am not wrong.. the FT can purchase second hand HDB.
But not sure if they are allowed to apply for a brand new HDB.
I think the long wait time you are referring to applies to owners seeking new flats.
jojo,
you got the point, pay is certainly v much lower, for those re-employed too, take it or leave it. Also, more old people are coming out to work but cant even meet end meet cos pay is miserable..think he is certainly very square headed, hope he is not working in our govt, cos we need people who are creative , and open minded..not petti chilli..(maybe never go reservist)
FAQ on Restrictions on Foreign Ownership of Land under the Residential Property Act (The Act)
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:jojo,
you got the point, pay is certainly v much lower, for those re-employed too, take it or leave it. Also, more old people are coming out to work but cant even meet end meet cos pay is miserable..think he is certainly very square headed, hope he is not working in our govt, cos we need people who are creative , and open minded..not petti chilli..(maybe never go reservist)
By saying this shows a lot about how you come out with your conclusions. Which part in our discussion contains the factor of pay and salary?
jojo,
you got the point somehow, i wont reply to him cos i dun want to become a squared headed..he cant links..ask any stupid question again..sorrie enough is enough..the ns din make him think creatively likely he din go..
It's ok if you don't want to answer. We know you can't, because it was merely statements you made that you cannot explain or substantiate at all, especially the following which I have summarized:
1) Homes go to foreigners, singaporean waiting long long and
expensively for theirs.
2) If a foreigners get strangled in the
street immediately they are entertain without fuss
Finally, you fully portrayed your anti-foreigner sentiment by
3) One question first..are you a singaporen?no dun have to
reply.
May I point out to you to have a read at the guidelines of this forum.
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:jojo,
you got the point somehow, i wont reply to him cos i dun want to become a squared headed..he cant links..ask any stupid question again..sorrie enough is enough..the ns din make him think creatively likely he din go..
Lolar ,
This is not a very fair statement.
I don't go NS also.. but does it means I am square ?
The fact that Eagle is a NUS students.. pretty much sums up why he thinks this way.
He is living in an insulated environment. Perhaps when he finally gets to work in the real world.. feeding his own family..competing with foreign talents and having to settle for a lower pay or go unemployed. he may need to change his mind.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Lolar ,
This is not a very fair statement.
I don't go NS also.. but does it means I am square ?
The fact that Eagle is a NUS students.. pretty much sums up why he thinks this way.
He is living in an insulated environment. Perhaps when he finally gets to work in the real world.. feeding his own family..competing with foreign talents and having to settle for a lower pay or go unemployed. he may need to change his mind.
Again, I have to say that I have not made any statement about competing pay with FTs. I have no idea what you think is in my mind.
And to think that there's no competition within schools from foreigners (especially in NUS) is an extremely short-sighted viewpoint. You just have to hear the number of people in school complaining to know.
And I still have no idea on how has a NS environment got to do with competing with foreigner.
Eagle,
I think it's all right for a Singaporean like Lolar to be sympathetic to his fellow Singaproeans.
After all.. if we don't even care for the plight of our own people.. who will ?
So according to the link for properties restriction.
FT are basically competing with locals for basic housing.. so that does impact the HDB availabilities .. and at the same time push up prices.
Since HDB's pricing is based on current market value, it only makes new home harder to obtain for new couples looking to start a new family . How can this be good ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Eagle,
I think it's all right for a Singaporean like Lolar to be sympathetic to his fellow Singaproeans.
After all.. if we don't even care for the plight of our own people.. who will ?
So according to the link for properties restriction.
FT are basically competing with locals for basic housing.. so that does impact the HDB availabilities .. and at the same time push up prices.
Since HDB's pricing is based on current market value, it only makes new home harder to obtain for new couples looking to start a new family . How can this be good ?
I'm sympathetic too, and I have opt to continue my donations to community chest even after being 'forced' to do so during NS. But I get what you mean... Apologies to lolar for that...
Originally posted by eagle:Again, I have to say that I have not made any statement about competing pay with FTs. I have no idea what you think is in my mind.
And to think that there's no competition within schools from foreigners (especially in NUS) is an extremely short-sighted viewpoint. You just have to hear the number of people in school complaining to know.
And I still have no idea on how has a NS environment got to do with competing with foreigner.
Pardon my ignorance Eagle,
But your postings does seem rather pro-FTs.
Also, you are aware that FT need not give up their home country's citizenship just because they choose to take up Singapore Citizenship right ?
Some PRC I know.. who are both US citizens AND keep their PRC status.
Actually from what I have seen, many FTs are renting houses, though I don't have any stats to back me up. Basically, it is still, at least to me, the rich in Singapore getting richer and the poor in Singapore getting poorer. The rich do buy housing properties to rent out to such people; the returns could be rather high. Although FT do compete with basic housing, they would compete mostly in the rental side. Of course, this does affect on the buying side because the rich sorts of 'hoard' properties, and yep, pushing up the prices.
The main thing i see actually is, if we do not employ the lower wage FT in Singapore, they will still be employed elsewhere around this region. In the end, businesses would still go to their cheaper services which will then be in other neighbouring countries other than Singapore...
Of course, this seriously drive down local wages. Then again, why compete in areas in which you have no comparative advantage? Why not in an area in which you could ride or control it? One example would be a friend of mine; he started a company specialising in bringing FTs to Singapore to work, handling their work permit and all other necessary documents, etc... In such industries, the company could possibly earn near 10k to 20k when small, and near 100k when on a big scale...