Edit. DOuble post.
Yes you are right as well. I do agree. And I think the same as you. But the garmen won't care. Not for a thousand years.
Like I said before, if they care, they won't be called politicians. They will be called social workers.
why is everyone veering off-track again?
again, i must state again: NS ISN'T all about SAF and the army. it is anything that is of service to the country.
again, i must quote germany. their NS also involves public service, which is clearly not military in nature. (jobscope : looking after seniors, gardening etc)
pls stop the stereotypical association of NS with SAF. they are not equivilent.
and regarding deino's point abt NS screwing up the workforce, i shalt quote our beloved gahmen's rationale that it is ok to make all youths of 18-20 serve NS, since they would most likely remain unemployed anyway, being students etc. delaying their education will lead to them being delayed in the workforce, which directly drives up demands for workers, and this will benefit the older citizens, who will have reduced competition from the younger members of the workforce.
Originally posted by deathmaster:why is everyone veering off-track again?
again, i must state again: NS ISN'T all about SAF and the army. it is anything that is of service to the country.
again, i must quote germany. their NS also involves public service, which is clearly not military in nature. (jobscope : looking after seniors, gardening etc)
pls stop the stereotypical association of NS with SAF. they are not equivilent.
and regarding deino's point abt NS screwing up the workforce, i shalt quote our beloved gahmen's rationale that it is ok to make all youths of 18-20 serve NS, since they would most likely remain unemployed anyway, being students etc. delaying their education will lead to them being delayed in the workforce, which directly drives up demands for workers, and this will benefit the older citizens, who will have reduced competition from the younger members of the workforce.
Death,
Why the officers in NS treat the recruits so badly ?
Don't they have a code of conduct at all ?
Is it really true that harsh trainings makes a boy into a man ?
Then what will harsh trainings do to females ? Turn them into butches ????
Originally posted by jojobeach:Death,
When did he ever say that...? Clearly I'm missing something... O.O I don't see the connection...
As per deathmaster's request, henceforth I shall refer to military NS service as MNS just to make things clear. The NS portion of the name still retains some importance as it is important to distinguish between the mandatory service and other enlistments.
Either way I shall respond to your question because I do indeed have a theory on that. Really, in MNS, there is a vicious cycle of hate. It is a very psychological aspect of MNS that drives this cycle, and it is important to recognise it and understand it in order to understand the full mechanics of this system.
Recruit A is tortured by sergeant B. (Forgive me if I have assumed the wrong rank, I am simply assuming this based on how I've read sergeants at MNS are bastards.) When recruit A becomes a sergeant himself, he feels that since he has gone through so much crap as a recruit, he has now earned the privilege of torturing recruit C of the next generation. He feels that since he's already paid the price, he might as well pick up the perks. He also may feel that as a sergeant, he is obliged to do this because he thinks that since HIS sergeant did this to him, he has a responsibility to do that same thing. Sergeant A also does not stand to lose anything at all, so he doesn't bother to question the system.
It's a vicious cycle that will repeat itself because no one wants to correct it. No one wants to have paid the price of being tortured without getting their perks just to stand up for the rights of people they don't really care about. They don't even question the system; often they are unable to see that something is wrong, and they believe that because it has been happening for many years it's ok.
Those that do feel there is a problem with the system, often are so pissed off they don't stay around with the SAF long enough to become BMT-trainers in MNS in the first place. They disagree with the politics of MNS (as do I,) and they don't want to stick around any longer than they have to.
In fact, there are few who object to and disagree with MNS ethics in the first place, which multiplies the effect several-fold. In the end, only the bitter are left, and these bitter BMT-trainers want some amount of self-satisfaction that they get by "revenge", except that this is revenge on people who haven't done anything to deserve all that at all.
Thus, the cycle of hatred turns once more...
Originally posted by MrSean:When did he ever say that...? Clearly I'm missing something... O.O I don't see the connection...
As per deathmaster's request, henceforth I shall refer to military NS service as MNS just to make things clear. The NS portion of the name still retains some importance as it is important to distinguish between the mandatory service and other enlistments.
Either way I shall respond to your question because I do indeed have a theory on that. Really, in MNS, there is a vicious cycle of hate. It is a very psychological aspect of MNS that drives this cycle, and it is important to recognise it and understand it in order to understand the full mechanics of this system.
Recruit A is tortured by sergeant B. (Forgive me if I have assumed the wrong rank, I am simply assuming this based on how I've read sergeants at MNS are bastards.) When recruit A becomes a sergeant himself, he feels that since he has gone through so much crap as a recruit, he has now earned the privilege of torturing recruit C of the next generation. He feels that since he's already paid the price, he might as well pick up the perks. He also may feel that as a sergeant, he is obliged to do this because he thinks that since HIS sergeant did this to him, he has a responsibility to do that same thing. Sergeant A also does not stand to lose anything at all, so he doesn't bother to question the system.
It's a vicious cycle that will repeat itself because no one wants to correct it. No one wants to have paid the price of being tortured without getting their perks just to stand up for the rights of people they don't really care about. They don't even question the system; often they are unable to see that something is wrong, and they believe that because it has been happening for many years it's ok.
Those that do feel there is a problem with the system, often are so pissed off they don't stay around with the SAF long enough to become BMT-trainers in MNS in the first place. They disagree with the politics of MNS (as do I,) and they don't want to stick around any longer than they have to.
In fact, there are few who object to and disagree with MNS ethics in the first place, which multiplies the effect several-fold. In the end, only the bitter are left, and these bitter BMT-trainers want some amount of self-satisfaction that they get by "revenge", except that this is revenge on people who haven't done anything to deserve all that at all.
Wah.. very similar to how Korean Mother-in Laws who tortures/ill treat their own dotter in laws.. then the dotter in-laws in turn becomes a mother-in law and ill treat their own dotter in laws... sibeh xiong !!
Like that how ? Cham liao lor....
No wonder young people don't want to serve NS.
NS must start thinking about changing their image loh.. if not.. more youngsters will run away to other countries.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Wah.. very similar to how Korean Mother-in Laws who tortures/ill treat their own dotter in laws.. then the dotter in-laws in turn becomes a mother-in law and ill treat their own dotter in laws... sibeh xiong !!
Like that how ? Cham liao lor....
No wonder young people don't want to serve NS.
NS must start thinking about changing their image loh.. if not.. more youngsters will run away to other countries.
I almost fainted after reading the words "korean", "mother-in-laws" and "dotter-in-laws". Pfft =( How can my sophisticated theory be compared to "korean mother-in-laws" and their "dotter-in-laws"?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Death,
it depends on how the females want to run their own NS, since i assume that they will be the bulk of their respective services in the various services i suggested earlier.
but it is human tendency to "lord" over others, as pointed out by mr sean. so whether it is 'harsh' or not really depends on the nature and attitude of the females serving it.
Originally posted by deathmaster:
it depends on how the females want to run their own NS, since i assume that they will be the bulk of their respective services in the various services i suggested earlier.but it is human tendency to "lord" over others, as pointed out by mr sean. so whether it is 'harsh' or not really depends on the nature and attitude of the females serving it.
Aiyah.. when the females run the females camp. It will be like going for high teas.
Then the males will start complaining not fair this not fair that .. because the females camp are having a better time than the male camp.
Guys hor.. very difficult to please lah.
Then very easy lah... The female commander will convince the male commander to issue beer and pizza during R&R after training sessions lor.
Then the NS camp will be more at peace because now got balance liao.
A man without a good woman will become a savage.
That's why hor.. I suggest LHL go find himself a sweet and loving wife or mistress lah. Then he will rule SG with a golden heart, instead of being such an ass with his powerful butch like second wife.
My personal opinion is...
Army must be tough and harsh... because in the wartime, situation is worse. If u r too soft and not rugged enough, u will break down
Originally posted by stupidissmart:My personal opinion is...
Army must be tough and harsh... because in the wartime, situation is worse. If u r too soft and not rugged enough, u will break down
Issit ?
Tough and harsh is to train endurance lah.
But how you differentiate harsh training vs Abuse leh ?
Then females go NS also kena harsh treatment ... then all come out very manly ... good or not har ?
Then males comprain Singaporean females are very macho. Like that... how ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:My personal opinion is...
During BMTC or during cse time, that might be the case .. Once u are in unit .. There's not the case. Cos in the end it's the man on the grd running the show .. Officer are useless..
ya, jojo, have to agree with you that harshness doesn't necessary result in endurance.
it you not help to boost ur endurance you are the one who collapse under harshness.
on the other hand, if you got a strong will and a strong mind, you can take anything, regardless of whether it is harsh or not.
i think so if that means transvertite.
don't get you....
this is definately a petty view on women in the society. you talked about how girls are allowed to have long hair as long as they keep it tied up while guys are only allowed short hair. Sure it seems pretty biased, but you seem to forget that we would still have to tie up our hair. we don't run around with all over the place do we? you cut your hair in school, we have to keep our fringe above our eyebrows, you conveniently forgot that too. also, girls aren't allowed to shave off our tresses when we are in school. they either call it too cool for school or unacceptable. isn't that biasness too?
if a model is picked up by a designer to do a 'certain' job and loses his deal just because of reservice, why don't you start complaining how hard it is for women to keep trim and fit and the extent of starvation they have to go through in order to even keep a foot in the modelling world? ppl don't get disfigured during reservice training right? that male model can always get another modelling deal again.
you think its unfair that only you men are made to serve the national service. Sure you'd like to be able to goad about how women complain about what ns did to them and all, but it would hurt your pride if your mom told you that she can do more pull ups then u, wouldn't it?
when women start going to ns, you'd start complaining that women in sg are too macho.
unless u like bigger stout women,
stop whining and get a life.
Originally posted by flabber:
Dear MrSean,
After reading your constant whining about the NS and the need for protection of men's rights, I came to the conclusion that Singaporean men(or actually boy) like you are the reason we're looked down down by our female counterparts.
First off, NS is no freaking big deal. Thousands have gone through it comming out unscathed and gaining from it as much as they hate to admit be it physcially, mentally or socially. True 2 years may be long but I feel if you make the choice to make the most out of it, you actually gain more than you lose. If you can prove yourself inside, there's no doubting you can prove yourself outside.
Secondly, as jojobeach have pointed out, male and females are fundamentally different, of course you can expect a difference in treatment between the two. Our law are a reflection of what society deems right and just and if society views that females need to be more so protected than men, of course our laws will reflect that.
I implore you to grow some balls which I hope you do in due time in light of your relatively young age.
my goodness! LOL nice one!
No use fighting over this, male will surely lose
women needs to be protected and care and love dude. mostly only rich male can do that. how sad!!! how sad!!!!!! SADDDDDDDDDD!!!
am i right?
anyways but female do give birth i give them *thumb up* for that!! and males serve national service *clapclap*!!
Originally posted by MrSean:When did he ever say that...? Clearly I'm missing something... O.O I don't see the connection...
Maybe the system is supposed to train Recruit A to be stronger than Sergeant B, so when Sergeant B insults Recruit A, Recruit A is SUPPOSED to take up his guns and defend his family honor by slaughtering Sergeant B for behaving in an enemy-like manner?
If every new Recruit treated the MNS like a real war training and slaughter every Sergeant who tries to insult them in an enemy-like manner, then our army people will certainly be the best and the most feared in our S.E.A Region. Plus, the recruits will get equal respect from their sergeant who will treat them like their equal too.
The problem occurs from the point when Recruit A decided to adopt the weak attitude and allow himself to be enslaved, insult, humiliated, surrender & move on, by his Sergeant.
Time to make our army people into a WORLD-CLASS REAL ARMY!
If in army, insult and humiliation by an enemy-like attitude is allowed, then proving your ability to defend your countrymen against such enemy-like attitude should also be allowed to be displayed freely. Isn't it TO KILL OR BE KILLED? Why does it seems that our army people only have to endure or be trained in the TO BE KILLED attitude then?
Agreed? ![]()
Originally posted by parn:Maybe the system is supposed to train Recruit A to be stronger than Sergeant B, so when Sergeant B insults Recruit A, Recruit A is SUPPOSED to take up his guns and defend his family honor by slaughtering Sergeant B for behaving in an enemy-like manner?
If every new Recruit treated the MNS like a real war training and slaughter every Sergeant who tries to insult them in an enemy-like manner, then our army people will certainly be the best and the most feared in our S.E.A Region. Plus, the recruits will get equal respect from their sergeant who will treat them like their equal too.
The problem occurs from the point when Recruit A decided to adopt the weak attitude and allow himself to be enslaved, insult, humiliated, surrender & move on, by his Sergeant.
Time to make our army people into a WORLD-CLASS REAL ARMY!
If in army, insult and humiliation by an enemy-like attitude is allowed, then proving your ability to defend your countrymen against such enemy-like attitude should also be allowed to be displayed freely. Isn't it TO KILL OR BE KILLED? Why does it seems that our army people only have to endure or be trained in the TO BE KILLED attitude then?
Agreed?
This is one of the very few times I agree with you. Like I said, NS turns Singapore males into wusses.
So now you know why sg girls are all going for confident and manly white guys. Heck, even a fat white pasty nerd is more manly than any of the pieces of crap in the commandos or even NDU.
Originally posted by rooki:This is one of the very few times I agree with you. Like I said, NS turns Singapore males into wusses.
So now you know why sg girls are all going for confident and manly white guys. Heck, even a fat white pasty nerd is more manly than any of the pieces of crap in the commandos or even NDU.
go for them then. if you can get urself any.
Actually , the army is not run by self-respecting specialists who are "All" regulars and non-NSFs .
Most of the time the grueling is part of the entertainment.
I feel sorry for you Rooki. Guess your father must be a real sissy wussy to give you such an opinion on men since he has also been to NS.
Or by you any chance picked up from the dumps?
Originally posted by NoobUnited:I feel sorry for you Rooki. Guess your father must be a real sissy wussy to give you such an opinion on men since he has also been to NS.
Or by you any chance picked up from the dumps?
Everyone is entitled to thy own opinion.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:Everyone is entitled to thy own opinion.
Yes i totally totally agree with you. That's my opinion on Rooki.
No wonder the goverment got to spend so much of our tax money to encourage people to give birth. Cause too many people are too idealistic in selecting their partners