Originally posted by Midlusionz:At least it's fun xD
Fun is the thing that only rich people can afford =)
Originally posted by jojobeach:Don't forget the pilot licenses too. Very good for immigrating purposes.
I think learn at Shatec how to b a chef can enable u to migrate to other countries.
Originally posted by will4:
I think learn at Shatec how to b a chef can enable u to migrate to other countries.
i dont think its that easy coz it needs work expereince as well.....
I don't think Singapore is a hot destination for people. Most Chinese see Singapore as more of a stepping stone: a place where they can learn English in an environment where most people can speak Mandarin, so that they can later move to the USA and take up citizenship there. Some people say that the Chinese who come here are actually the worse ones. Apparently, the best go to the US, the second-tier stay in China and only the lousy ones come here.
As for Singaporeans migrating overseas, as a Singaporean living in Australia, I must say that life here is very stressful unlike in Australia. Over in Australia, the minimum annual leave is 28 days. In Singapore, it's only 7 days. In Australia, road sweepers and cleaners can afford a holiday in France or England. In Singapore, the same type of people will be lucky to even visit Bangkok once in their lifetime. In addition, in Singapore, you are always pressed to meet tight deadlines at work while in Australia, you can have all the time in the world to finish your work as taking things slow is part of the Australian culture. And of course, Australian bosses are generally more family friendly than Singaporean bosses. Just look at the number of Singaporean women who have been sidelined in the company just because they get pregnant. While I currently do not plan to give up my Singapore citizenship, and I have already served my NS, I think that we still have a long way to go if we want to convince more locals to stay.
Originally posted by JI^guy:I don't think Singapore is a hot destination for people. Most Chinese see Singapore as more of a stepping stone: a place where they can learn English in an environment where most people can speak Mandarin, so that they can later move to the USA and take up citizenship there. Some people say that the Chinese who come here are actually the worse ones. Apparently, the best go to the US, the second-tier stay in China and only the lousy ones come here.
As for Singaporeans migrating overseas, as a Singaporean living in Australia, I must say that life here is very stressful unlike in Australia. Over in Australia, the minimum annual leave is 28 days. In Singapore, it's only 7 days. In Australia, road sweepers and cleaners can afford a holiday in France or England. In Singapore, the same type of people will be lucky to even visit Bangkok once in their lifetime. In addition, in Singapore, you are always pressed to meet tight deadlines at work while in Australia, you can have all the time in the world to finish your work as taking things slow is part of the Australian culture. And of course, Australian bosses are generally more family friendly than Singaporean bosses. Just look at the number of Singaporean women who have been sidelined in the company just because they get pregnant. While I currently do not plan to give up my Singapore citizenship, and I have already served my NS, I think that we still have a long way to go if we want to convince more locals to stay.
thats very true. Seriously if anyone wan to settle down in singapore, he must be insane or a retard.
Originally posted by Melbournite:thats very true. Seriously if anyone wan to settle down in singapore, he must be insane or a retard.
There are some who come here blindly. They are not aware the way the country is govern.
Originally posted by Melbournite:thats very true. Seriously if anyone wan to settle down in singapore, he must be insane or a retard.
There is a serious problem, 1000 local each year migrate to other countries n gave up their citizenship. What about the no other local went to other countries, obtain PR
in other countries but never gave up their citizenship?
Only fools will make such a statement without backing it up with reasons and facts.
and how about people who call other people names?
Originally posted by Beautiful951:and how about people who call other people names?
how about those who call themselve beautiful when they are actually very ugly?
Originally posted by Beautiful951:and how about people who call other people names?
The matter regarding locals migrating is becoming a serious matter.
seems like a clone is back.
i think tt is a very strong statement.
The gahmen ain't gonna care if the SG people don't want to stay.
They have imports to bring up the numbers.
So if the SG people arn't gonna do something for themselves... nobody else is gonna give a hoot about it.
Because it's not the gahmen's problem to make you want to stay... yes ?
It has been told... our dear ruler has already made up his mind.
" if you no like my country, get the fuck out".... simple.
its is okay to be seen as insane, when you are one of the over 3 millions who have settled in Singapore, whether recently or generations ago. Life must be terrible for those who think they are smart but have to settle with the insane.
Originally posted by jojobeach:
It has been told... our dear ruler has already made up his mind.
" if you no like my country, get the fuck out".... simple.
If you cant back it up, you might as well just shut up.
Originally posted by O o O:
If you cant back it up, you might as well just shut up.
Yah.. correct lor.
Since you cannot prove I am wrong.. you shut up lah !
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yah.. correct lor.
Since you cannot prove I am wrong.. you shut up lah !
very typical of an empty vessel and a lousy liar
Originally posted by O o O:
very typical of an empty vessel and a lousy liar
Oh... you're talking about yourself ? Good good..
Originally posted by JI^guy:I don't think Singapore is a hot destination for people. Most Chinese see Singapore as more of a stepping stone: a place where they can learn English in an environment where most people can speak Mandarin, so that they can later move to the USA and take up citizenship there. Some people say that the Chinese who come here are actually the worse ones. Apparently, the best go to the US, the second-tier stay in China and only the lousy ones come here.
I don't think Singapore is a hot destination for people. Most Chinese see Singapore as more of a stepping stone: a place where they can learn English in an environment where most people can speak Mandarin, so that they can later move to the USA and take up citizenship there.
you are right on this. This is especially true for the immigrants from the Indian continent. Singapore is to them a Chinese dominant society after all.
like the indians, the mainland Chinese moved to countries all over the whole, not just USA. Chinese in the US, Canada, UK don't have to speak english if they have relatives or friends there. They don't have to come here to learn english to migrate. And Singapore can't accept all the PRC who want to migrate, we can choose who we want because there are more applicants than we can accept. We feel the heat.
Some people say that the Chinese who come here are actually the worse ones. Apparently, the best go to the US, the second-tier stay in China and only the lousy ones come here.
Hehe, who are the some people? Who are the best and who are the worse? It is simplistic to think that the PRC only migrate to US, Singapore or stay at home. Ever read the news about some illegal PRC migrants bound for UK were suffocated to death in containers? The PRC are everywhere in the world. Why would the lousy ones want to come here and endure higher costs of living, need to speak english, 'suffer' under a government that is worse than the communists?
As for Singaporeans migrating overseas, as a Singaporean living in Australia, I must say that life here is very stressful unlike in Australia. Over in Australia, the minimum annual leave is 28 days. In Singapore, it's only 7 days. In Australia, road sweepers and cleaners can afford a holiday in France or England. In Singapore, the same type of people will be lucky to even visit Bangkok once in their lifetime.
again, I agree with you on the stressful lifestyle in Singapore. But Australian road sweepers can cleaners can afford a holiday in France or England? hmmm....another simple statement. Check with the somebody who told you such story how they made it. I have no doubt they can do it. But I do know of Singaporean, working as cleaner, who visit Bangkok once every two month! not once in their life time. There are also many old Chinese Singaporean, retired clerks, are visiting China twice a year. They are with the Teochew tour group led by the TCS actor Chen Shu Cheng. How they made it?
in Singapore, you are always pressed to meet tight deadlines at work while in Australia, you can have all the time in the world to finish your work as taking things slow is part of the Australian culture.
Again, this I agree. I lost my credit card in Sydney, and it took them bloody 7 working days to have a replacement ready for collection. Whereas in Singapore, they returned to me the next day, delivered to my house. dammn...this is why I had the habit of leaving my card around.
While I currently do not plan to give up my Singapore citizenship,
This again is wisest statement of all, for your own good. Just one more, help make the changes you want singapore to be. Don't just stand around downunder waiting for changes.
I don't think Singapore is a hot destination for people. Most Chinese see Singapore as more of a stepping stone: a place where they can learn English in an environment where most people can speak Mandarin, so that they can later move to the USA and take up citizenship there.
you are right on this. This is especially true for the immigrants from the Indian continent. Singapore is to them a Chinese dominant society after all.
like the indians, the mainland Chinese moved to countries all over the whole, not just USA. Chinese in the US, Canada, UK don't have to speak english if they have relatives or friends there. They don't have to come here to learn english to migrate. And Singapore can't accept all the PRC who want to migrate, we can choose who we want because there are more applicants than we can accept. We feel the heat.
There will be more than 1000 as years go by.
Some people say that the Chinese who come here are actually the worse ones. Apparently, the best go to the US, the second-tier stay in China and only the lousy ones come here.
Hehe, who are the some people? Who are the best and who are the worse? It is simplistic to think that the PRC only migrate to US, Singapore or stay at home. Ever read the news about some illegal PRC migrants bound for UK were suffocated to death in containers? The PRC are everywhere in the world. Why would the lousy ones want to come here and endure higher costs of living, need to speak english, 'suffer' under a government that is worse than the communists?
A PRC friend once told me that
the best of the PRCs stay in China, the 2nd best went US, those that are in Singapore are at most the 3rd best.
Originally posted by eagle:A PRC friend once told me that
the best of the PRCs stay in China, the 2nd best went US, those that are in Singapore are at most the 3rd best.
What about those on scholarship from our "good" govt?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
What about those on scholarship from our "good" govt?
In my NUS class, there was this one person who claimed that his final goal is to work in the US. Some preferred to go back to China.
But there are still a few who would still prefer to stay in Singapore, but none of these few that I know got any first class honours from our so called world acclaimed university.
Seriously, from personal experience, those foreigners in NUS are not exactly so good that they snatch up all the As. There's quite a substantial number of Singaproeans graduating with first class honours. The only notable thing about these PRC scholars is that they are extremely hardworking. I believe their study time is easily twice to thrice of mine.