In the 60s, we needed to modernise quickly and give jobs to Singaporeans, so we invited a lot of MNCs to set up base here. It was a quick way to learn skills and stand on our own.
Today, past the millenium, we are still doing the same thing but now we have become cheap hunting ground instead. That explains the stagflation of lower and middle income classes.
I'm no economic expert but has the PAP become outdated?? They thought becos they could do it back then, they could do it now. Is that the case?
I can't help but comment on this in view of PAP's bid to bail out an American company (Las Vegas Sands) with our money. And also, reading CSJ's webpage on LVS has given me some insights.
Can't be wrong to them.
They are paid million dollar salaries. ![]()
The road of Las Vegas Sands
Tuesday, 11 November 2008
Singapore Democrats
"Ring-fenced"
is the term financiers are using to describe the tumult taking place in
Las Vegas Sands (LVS), which means to say that LVS' Singapore project,
Marina Sands, will not be dragged down the drain even if the Las Vegas
company goes bust.
Yes, like how Singaporeans were repeatedly
assured that the Suzhou Industrial Park Project was in the pink of
health right up until we packed up and handed over operations to the
Chinese.
Ring-fenced or no, the lack of details
on the loan to LVS is cause for worry. To be sure, the Singapore
casino's future hinges on the one in the desert of Nevada. If parent
Sands is going to get mired in financial and legal problems - or worse,
files for Chapter 11 - who is going to take care of baby Marina?
It
looks like she may have to be fostered out to Madam Ho Ching. Bloomberg
News reports that CapitaLand, owned by Temasek, is in talks to take
over. Reuters reports that CapitaLand denies this.
Whatever. If Sands is blown away there is every likelihood that the Government will take over the project.
But
even if the Government spends billions of our money to ensure that
Marina IR is completed, there's more than one way the casino can still
become the world's most expensive non-colour pachyderm.
For
example, does anyone in Singapore know how to develop, much less run, a
casino? If we did, we needn't have engaged Mr Sheldon Adelson, owner of
LVS, in the first place, right?
Wait, wait. But if Mr Adelson really knew how to run a casino, he wouldn't be in this compost now, would he?
See the scatological hole the Government has gotten us into?
But
up until now, the PAP-state continues to resist being upfront on the
loans, its talks with Mr Adelson, and how the IR project will proceed.
It insists that the casino resort will be open and ready for business
by end of 2009. This is like the British saying that Singapore's
defence was impregnable even as the Japanese soldiers peddled across
the Causeway during WWII.
So where does all this leave us? Very
vulnerable. Our banks are the leading lenders to LVS: UOB coughed up
S$890m, DBS S$743m and OCBC S$572m.
Add this to the financial
crisis that is rocking the world and you start getting the picture – a
very scary one. DBS' retrenchment of 900 jobs is just the beginning.
Down the road
This
brings us to the question: Is the PAP Government in over its head in
continuing to target industries for our economy? Is its leaders
hoodwinking us about the competence of its leaders?
Our economic
questions in the past are very different from those in the present.
Back then, there were few roads, no cables, and not many sewerage
pipes. Solution? Build them. And it wasn't difficult to see that the
way out of poverty was to manufacture stuff like textile and TV sets
and sell them to other countries.
But the PAP, aka Lee Kuan Yew, continues to think that just because it knew what to do then, it knows what to do now.
The
game has changed, as if it needed to be said. The global economy has
become extremely sophisticated and complex. Our economic problems
cannot be solved by the few in the cabinet who pretend that they know
which industries to target, be they building gambling dens or mapping
genetic codes.
Nowadays we need to grapple with anything and
everything from minibonds to migration. To tackle these problems, the
people need to be involved in the building process. Without the energy
and creativity of the people, our national and economic development
will be anaemic at best.
And to be involved, they need
freedom. Yes, political freedom. Because political freedom and the
spirit of innovation are two sides of the same coin.
Thumb
Singaporeans down, and you dumb Singaporeans down. Dumbing down a
populace is not the way to an innovative future. When we cannot
innovate, we cannot compete.
Right now our economy is smoking,
injecting, and swallowing drugs. The state has become rich not because
of the industry and enterprise of the people but because a few in the
cabinet decided to change the law to attract the world's super-rich
people – some who made their wealth legitimately, many who would
otherwise find themselves behind bars in their own countries.
Incidentally, it is no secret that the IR casinos would allow even more
illicit funds to be laundered here.
If Singaporeans haven't
realised it yet, the PAP is taking us down the wrong road. The
Singapore Democrats have said this before: a government that has to
rely on gambling to maintain economic progress is both
entrepreneurially and morally bankrupt.
With the latest Sands meltdown, it looks like the chickens are coming home to roost.
where is the news regarding the bailout? how much are they bailing?
Originally posted by skythewood:where is the news regarding the bailout? how much are they bailing?
bail out??? bail what out??? i got a few PRC gals caught by Anti vice police at ICA waiting for me to bail them out, ....you guys interested??
Originally posted by angel7030:
bail out??? bail what out??? i got a few PRC gals caught by Anti vice police at ICA waiting for me to bail them out, ....you guys interested??
ICA? antivice?
Could be interested, can post pics?
Lee Kuan Yew, whether you like, don't like, it is time for Singapore to change.
Singapore can no longer be ruled like the way it was ruled under you for the past 50 years.
It is time for change.
Originally posted by simikai:Could be interested, can post pics?
huh, u siao or what?? detention under Anti Vice got picture to show you ar?? U go ICA basement and bail them out lah..
Eh,,hmm,...anyway this topic is about PAP strategy, please align ourselve and dun be carry away.
huh, u siao or what?? detention under Anti Vice got picture to show you ar?? U go ICA basement and bail them out lah..
Eh,,hmm,...anyway this topic is about PAP strategy, please align ourselve and dun be carry away.
What siaow? must view merchandise first what, dunno whether chiobu or chiongbu anyhow pay money for bail like pussysiaow.
Anyway PRC gals also economic items under PAP policy so not out of topic.
Originally posted by skythewood:where is the news regarding the bailout? how much are they bailing?
its all speculation man.
before anything becomes true. we shouldn't point fingers at this point of time.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:its all speculation man.
before anything becomes true. we shouldn't point fingers at this point of time.
so they are speculating about bailouts, or in other words, spreading rumours ah...
i understand le
Aiya! If its Home Affairs, surely there will be some security loopholes one lar! Maybe the CCTV watching her is linked to a neoprint machine?
Originally posted by Shotgun:Aiya! If its Home Affairs, surely there will be some security loopholes one lar! Maybe the CCTV watching her is linked to a neoprint machine?
Climb out of the toilet window lor.
Easy. ![]()
Originally posted by Rock^Star:In the 60s, we needed to modernise quickly and give jobs to Singaporeans, so we invited a lot of MNCs to set up base here. It was a quick way to learn skills and stand on our own.
Today, past the millenium, we are still doing the same thing but now we have become cheap hunting ground instead. That explains the stagflation of lower and middle income classes.
I'm no economic expert but has the PAP become outdated?? They thought becos they could do it back then, they could do it now. Is that the case?
I can't help but comment on this in view of PAP's bid to bail out an American company (Las Vegas Sands) with our money. And also, reading CSJ's webpage on LVS has given me some insights.
So,do u think how many jobs local companies ,big or small,can create in a year?
Even G 20 countries also need MNC.I think your main target is Sands
and high light the valuable input from Chee.
If so,then why dunt u go to the point?
JOBS JOBS JOBS.No job.No talk.
2.what is your ideas,then?
3.Let me show u the results of different strategies of selected countries,
if they have any!!
Results Results Results
Dunt tell me any empty words or theory.
So,who can we turn to to get any better ideas for growing our pie?
We are getting not so bad GDP for so many years.
If u count from 1965,the difference is much wider!!
FYI from 1999 to 2005,SG average compound growth rate
,ACGR,is 5.7 %!!
Singapore has been growing at a rate between first and third world
rates for few decades.Some foreigner academics say we are first
world but grows at third world growth rate.
Nvm first or third world.Three things:
Jobs Jobs Jobs.U will say our salary is low.
Yes.It look low.i can tell u without MNC and the EDB
or IE Singapore efforts,we will be worse.
Sit down and think for few minutes.
Besides those primary productions,like big farm or cow rearing,
which industry u cant find in Singapore?
http://www.edb.gov.sg/edb/sg/en_uk/index.html
look at our market share in chips,ship repairs/building etc.
do u know we are No.1 in aircraft MRO(maintenance,repairs and overhaul)
in the world!!
ST Aero-NO.1 in Airframe MRO(maintenance,repair & overhaul)
Every job and every tax dollar counts!!

4.Great Ideas from a Professor in a bailed out country
Professor Linda Lim of Michigan U,a Singaporean,
recently asked the same question like yours.
She has been staying in USA for few decades.
http://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/scape/doc/SEPC2008.pdf
http://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/scape/doc/24Oct08/Linda%20Lim.pdf
Singapore’s Economic Growth Model – Too Much or Too Little?
by Professor Linda Lim, University of Michigan
Read what she said then we talk.See U!!

subject to verify
bbbb
so they are speculating about bailouts, or in other words, spreading rumours ah...
i understand le
And people wonder why they keep getting sued...
Actually they are changing their economic strategy for a while now, moving away from production based industry to knowledge and creative based industries. Focusing on biotech/alternate energy/3d industries.
And Poh, i've read through the article and the areas you've bold out and underlined. Ultimately it's all speculation, they took some information from the newspaper and did their own conclusions. That's what i felt about it.
Originally posted by Shotgun:Aiya! If its Home Affairs, surely there will be some security loopholes one lar! Maybe the CCTV watching her is linked to a neoprint machine?
Maybe it was like one of the CCTV pics forumers posted before, the CCTV is situated behind a information TV panel. ![]()