Our PM says two-party system like America's is not good. He even took a swipe at Obama that people like his voice of change but not necessarily that he can deliver. And he says it will be the Republicans trying to undermine Obama's Democrats and that is not good for the country.
Rock^Star says: "But Sir, then how did America become the world's superpower and policeman?
Tharman says today that MAS is already an independent body like the one the HK Legco has set up to probe into mis-selling by financial institutions (FI). That's why they believe in a case-by-case handling by the FIs on an individual and not collective basis.
Rock^Star says: "But Sir, if we go to the banks on an individual basis, I will have little negotiation power with the banks and surely they would cover their asses and not refund me."
Lim Swee Say expressed disappointment with DBS by not giving their house union sufficient notice before the retrenchment. He mustered all of his power and YES, expressed his disappointment.
Rock^Star says: "Thank you, Sir for expressing your dismay. Thanks to the NTUC's close ties to the govt and that's why your bark is louder than your bite."
With only 5-8 letters published in the ST Forum everyday, today we have a Chua Sheng Yang conveying his disgust at Tan Kin Lian's activities of late. We haven't yet seen a single letter lauding him for his efforts.
Rock^Star asks: "Has Tan Kin Lian's character assassination just begun?"
With a country like that who believes in a one party system to ensure the Lees' longevity and also sneer at Singaporeans for investing "with their eyes" opened....and the sorry state of our opposition parties; I mean.... where are they?
Singaporeans are really screwed. We have no say in the future of the country.
We can.Power to the People.
Originally posted by ClaT:We can.Power to the People.
1. Does the opposition parties have enough candidates to compete in all GRC without giving them any walkover win?
2. Have you, do you, did you ever think of a strategy of how to shut your opponent and strip them apart without giving them any opportunity to correct themselves and to sue you in court.
3. The next election will be in 2012. And by now you should be 50% ready...if you are not there is no point talking.
4. We need someone who can bite, I mean bite hard not just bark.
5. Think positive and take this as a challenge.
6. Your second half starts now!
Originally posted by Rock^Star:With only 5-8 letters published in the ST Forum everyday, today we have a Chua Sheng Yang conveying his disgust at Tan Kin Lian's activities of late. We haven't yet seen a single letter lauding him for his efforts.
haha.. i noticed that letter in ST today too..
i wonder where all the letters praising TKL went.. straight into the rubbish bin ?
one party = autoritarian
not a democratic country
that is my worry for Tan Kin Lian as well.
he will soon be banish or maybe force into exile from singapore.
Haiz.
You step out of line a little bit and step on some of the toes of the people at the top, they come down hard on you and make life difficult for you. ![]()
well, we might be able to do something in the next elections.
Hopefully we will not be blinded by Progress Packages, GST Rebates again.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Our PM says two-party system like America's is not good. He even took a swipe at Obama that people like his voice of change but not necessarily that he can deliver. And he says it will be the Republicans trying to undermine Obama's Democrats and that is not good for the country.
Rock^Star says: "But Sir, then how did America become the world's superpower and policeman?
Tharman says today that MAS is already an independent body like the one the HK Legco has set up to probe into mis-selling by financial institutions (FI). That's why they believe in a case-by-case handling by the FIs on an individual and not collective basis.
Rock^Star says: "But Sir, if we go to the banks on an individual basis, I will have little negotiation power with the banks and surely they would cover their asses and not refund me."
Lim Swee Say expressed disappointment with DBS by not giving their house union sufficient notice before the retrenchment. He mustered all of his power and YES, expressed his disappointment.
Rock^Star says: "Thank you, Sir for expressing your dismay. Thanks to the NTUC's close ties to the govt and that's why your bark is louder than your bite."
With only 5-8 letters published in the ST Forum everyday, today we have a Chua Sheng Yang conveying his disgust at Tan Kin Lian's activities of late. We haven't yet seen a single letter lauding him for his efforts.
two-party system no good, dictatorship is the best!
I can't be bothered...whatever keeps a nation from falling apart and ending up like Iraq is the best...
lee hsien loong has better looked himself in the mirror before commenting about obama. this arrogant ass is plain jealous of obama, must be. why be so judgemental to say obama not necessarily can deliver when obama has not even taken over as the President yet. People, from here we can know that lee hsien loong is not an objective person, he is not wise, and definitely lacks intelligence and tact.
Lee hsien loong himself can't deliver but refuse to admit and change for the better instead point fingers when obama has not even started his term as the new President. Whatever, it is non of his business if obama can deliver or not.
Lee hsien loong, you have proved to us too many times you are not capable, not sincere as the pm of Singapore, so you should just concentrate on how to improve rather than talk rubbish.
A response to Chua Sheng Yang's Character Assasination on ST Forum
Dear Chua Sheng Yang,
We do not know you but we cannot standby
and watch while you go lambasting Mr Tan Kin Lian as if you have a
sword to grind with him.
Now, if Mr Tan is as bad as you make
him out to be when he was CEO of NTUC, how about showing the same level
of disdain toward PAP’s Mr Tharman Shamugaratnan?
Mr Tharman was
a convict, convicted under the official secrets act while he was
director of MAS. The PAP was able to ‘move on’ with his conviction,
ignore it, gave him a place in PAP, and mind you a very high place at
that, got back his job at MAS with very a much improved package with
autonomous authority over the same institution that charged him for
revealing secret information and being made the Minister for Finance
that looks after our national reserves.
You might
counter-suggest that we should judge people for what they are doing now
rather than what they had done and I would be the first to agree with
you.
Whether we agree with your assessment of Mr Tan or not is
not my intention in this post. All I know is that Mr Tan stepped
forward when all the others in higher places have turned their backs
and ran away. We cannot ignore this fact and this fact alone gives
immense credit to Mr Tan. Thousands upon thousands have found it
comfortable to lean on his shoulders and these thousands, for whatever
reasons you may suggest otherwise, cannot be wrong.
Furthermore,
if Mr Tan is as self-serving and attention grabbing like you claim he
is, I do not doubt for one moment that the PAP machinery will let him
do what he has been doing thus far. The fact that the PAP machinery did
nothing to him suggests that he is doing something right for the
community of depressed investors which even the PAP found it not
necessary to entertain.
Mr Tan Kin Lian's effort for being so
quick off the block in helping the misled investors when others in
higher office were still in shock and did not know how to react is very
much laudable.
Perhaps it was because of his swift reaction that
prevented the Opposition from making it an issue of their own and thus
prevented a more direct confrontation between Opposition-led investors
against the ruling PAP govt. The cost of such confrontation could be
tragic in its most extreme sense, and, who is to say it won’t happen?
Money is the root of all evil and because of money, it can lead one to
misplaced sanity and may even kill for or because of it.
Mr Tan Kin Lian is a true son and a true hero to the people of Singapore and no one can dispute this.
Best regards
Concerned Citizens
We already have opposition party candidates in the house.
Have they stand out to be counted after so much promises during the election rally ?
Where are their voices ? Why the sudden silence when they need to do their job ?
Are we going to wait for some one to take action before it is too late ?
There is no some one, there is only one, US.
If we dun even stand up for ourselves and make our voices heard, no one is going to do it for us.
Unless this "I vote for opposition party in the next election" mindset is not improved", we will alway be keeping our voices hidden in the internet and kopitiam.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:We already have opposition party candidates in the house.
Have they stand out to be counted after so much promises during the election rally ?
Where are their voices ? Why the sudden silence when they need to do their job ?
If we dun even stand up for ourselves and make our voices heard, no one is going to do it for us.
Unless this "I vote for opposition party in the next election" mindset is not improved", we will alway be keeping our voices hidden in the internet and kopitiam.
didn't seem to help those who's mindset "improved" has it? we need people in there who know how to work with people, people who can throw correct questions in the parliament without killing off their own careers.
sometimes instead of asking why something is happening this way, can also turn around and ask why things not done that other way and then suggest the method to do it. no point take mp pay, ask one question, someone answered "our researched show cannot" then diam diam sit down liao.
sometimes i really wonder..... are these politicians really the cream of the crop?
wow, dint know tharma was convicted of official secret acts.
maybe that another " honest mistake, Let move ON"!!
The latest one has to be by bespectacled Teo Ho Pin. He said that residents should be thankful for their hard work on planning the investments instead of heaping blame and that these investment returns go towards reducing the amount of conservancy charges required.
Rock^Star says: Dear Sir, even if this money is invested and there are returns, why do unemployed old folks in old estates still have to fork out the bulk of payment for lift upgrades? So you can still have millions to keep profitable? This 16 million dollars could have upgarded thousands of blocks you know.
While I'm sure the town councils could have been mis-sold as they have been looking for low risk products, that doesn't absolve Teo of basic courtesy in apologising . Are we being talked down to once again.
whatever mistake ghamen make is "AN HONEST MISTAKE and LET's MOVE ON"
However we common folks on the other side of the toast.
We make mistake and we Pay and Pay very DEARLY for it. After which if we still erect then We MOVE our ass forward.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:We already have opposition party candidates in the house.
I am disappointed with the oppositions. Wonder what are the obstacles they are facing to stop them from being active? Could it be that they fear LKY?
fear LKY? Nay.
Obstacle is $$$. No money how to start an opposition? U know the deposit pay to start opposition hor.. not cheap leh....
Exisiting one also is private limited in fundings. Pple dun donate to oppositions what. Haiz.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
I am disappointed with the oppositions. Wonder what are the obstacles they are facing to stop them from being active? Could it be that they fear LKY?
maybe if we show some support to the opposition parties in the next GE they might be incentivised to speak out more..
yes we can show support if our areas are not walk over case.
so much for meritocracy
Originally posted by maxtor:maybe if we show some support to the opposition parties in the next GE they might be incentivised to speak out more..
I don't mind voting ops but my area is always walkover.