Originally posted by Boomslang4829:I'm currently a foreign talent in the US, or what the Singapore government refers to as a "quitter".
I feel that the US system for bringing in foreign talent legally is very fair. It's based on a limited number of work visas issued per year based on what projected shortfalls they have in areas of industry where local talent is insufficient (technology mainly).
Most importantly, when they employ foreign nationals into a job position, there is NO WAGE SUPPRESSION. I'm paid dollar for dollar the same as my US-born counterparts. Therefore, it's absolutely clear that the only motivation for requiring foreign talent is to really fill any voids in key job positions. This makes sure that any foreign talent the US brings in is only of the highest caliber, and you can see this from the fact the ~50% of Silicon Valley companies are formed by foreign nationals.
What the Singapore government is doing appears to be the complete opposite. No doubt, they bring in large numbers of low wage and lowly educated foreign workers for the construction indursty, which is labour intensive, but why do we also see numerous China nationals working in our F&B and service industries? I think Singaporeans are more than willing to take these jobs.
Also, you see many Filipino and China engineers now, but they are paid 60% of what their Singaporean colleagues make. How is that fair?
In addition, why is it also that the majority of education scholarships now provided by the government are earmarked for foreigners only? These are scholarships paid for with Singaporean tax dollars. I've met many a Chinese national here in the US who studied(scholarship) and worked in Singapore for a few years, only to come to the US for graduate school and live here. Singapore has become only a stepping stone for them, and the government should really start trending this statistic.
Enough said, I have to get back to my job as a foregin talent...
All the best, mate.
For those who are reading this, my take is, do your best to get a job that allows you to have international exposure, so that you open up opportunities to many other places for you to see the world.
Don't treat Singapore like the ONLY place in the world that is heavenly, perfect as a place (prison) to live in.
I have been in 2 MNCs so far, and my exposure is in the international arena. I have worked with people from US, England, Belgium, Germany, Italy, China, Taiwan, Japan, Singapore, etc, and this exposure, believe me, is VERY useful when companies look for people who can excel in international roles. This would then open your eyes to the different countries and then you will realize how small this island is.
Originally posted by soul_rage:All the best, mate.
For those who are reading this, my take is, do your best to get a job that allows you to have international exposure, so that you open up opportunities to many other places for you to see the world.
Don't treat Singapore like the ONLY place in the world that is heavenly, perfect as a place (prison) to live in.
I have been in 2 MNCs so far, and my exposure is in the international arena. I have worked with people from US, England, Belgium, Germany, Italy, China, Taiwan, Japan, Singapore, etc, and this exposure, believe me, is VERY useful when companies look for people who can excel in international roles. This would then open your eyes to the different countries and then you will realize how small this island is.
dont need work exposure. U only need to be an international student and i bet u will learn lot more stuff than just being an expatriate.
Originally posted by Worldlybusinessman:dont need work exposure. U only need to be an international student and i bet u will learn lot more stuff than just being an expatriate.
You talk like the former is easier to accomplish than the latter. Not everyone has the benefits of a well to do family background.
Originally posted by Worldlybusinessman:dont need work exposure. U only need to be an international student and i bet u will learn lot more stuff than just being an expatriate.
Which reminds me of an interesting observation.
Our leaders brag about our 'GREAT' education system the whole day, but why are they sending their children overseas the MOMENT they have an opportunity to?
Shouldn't we be like Japan? Practise or use what we preach?
Anyway, I am past the life of a student. I did not have the luxury to have an international education (cost being a huge factor), but at least I managed to get a scholarship to support my university fees.
So now that I am a working professional, do the next best thing - an international career. This IS within your control, unlike education, when your family background may not allow you to have an international education.
Originally posted by soul_rage:Which reminds me of an interesting observation.
Our leaders brag about our 'GREAT' education system the whole day, but why are they sending their children overseas the MOMENT they have an opportunity to?
Shouldn't we be like Japan? Practise or use what we preach?
Anyway, I am past the life of a student. I did not have the luxury to have an international education (cost being a huge factor), but at least I managed to get a scholarship to support my university fees.
So now that I am a working professional, do the next best thing - an international career. This IS within your control, unlike education, when your family background may not allow you to have an international education.
This is easy. Overseas education system is free ,open and more developed. There are lots more stuff u will learn which will make u a better person and better qualified than the Sg system.
Originally posted by Worldlybusinessman:This is easy. Overseas education system is free ,open and more developed. There are lots more stuff u will learn which will make u a better person and better qualified than the Sg system.
Well, but isn't our govt whole day bragging how good our education system is?
So why send their kids there the moment they have an opportunity to?
Originally posted by soul_rage:Well, but isn't our govt whole day bragging how good our education system is?
So why send their kids there the moment they have an opportunity to?
How to compare Harvard or Cambridge with our local unis? ![]()
I must say that from what I'm reading in the papers, NUS/ NTU are making leaps and bounds in trying to gain some level of pedigree.
They have joint course agreements with MIT, Yale, etc. now. God knows how much they paid to establish these...but at least it'll put them on the academic map in Asia. The weird thing is how they've adopted the GPA system from the US.
But I do see the irony in sending our SAF and President Scholars overseas for education.
Free Uni education? I head that they have that in Germany, as long as you speak the language, and no restrictions on foreginers too.
According to zaobao,
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090331_520.shtml
Kopitiam was awarded the tender for rental of SENGKANG MARKET at a monthly rental of $500 000. SENGKANG MARKET is expected to have 40 wet market stall, 10 dry sundry stall, 50 cooked food stall.
So $500 000 a month, it means KOPITIAM must collect at least $5000 per month from each stalls! That's obscene.
Going to NEA website, even cooked food stall in Maxwell won't fetch $5000 a month. Moreover a dry and wet market stall would normally fetch $800....
Who should be blamed for the rising cost of living? KOPITIAM or HDB? For those who feel that Singapore tax little on our income, do think twice.
Or course your indirect tax will be higher if you stayed in SENGKANG.
Can we say no to KOPITIAM? What's wrong with current scheme of having HDB/NEA owning the Markets and Food Centres?
I am glad I stayed near 2 upgraded markets where the coffee stalls there still charged a cup of coffees at 60cents.
here's the recent tender results from NEA website..
-----------------------------------
BLK 724 ANG MO KIO AVE 6 01-97 PROCESSED RAW SEAFO0D LAU MOOI KIOU $ 428.00
BLK 511 BEDOK NORTH ST 3 01-49* PIECE & SUNDRY GOODS CHING HOON YIN $ 750.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE K002** CUT FRUITS / FRUIT JUICES
CHANG CHEN MING (ZHANG
ZHENMING)
$ 1,601.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE 063 COOKED FOOD ZAINUDDIN BIN SAJAT $ 2,258.00
-------------------
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090331_520.shtml
Wow, this isn't going to help with inflation at all.
I guess it's up to the government to realize that their primary responsibility is to ensure that the Singapore CITIZENS are taken care of, though a reasonable standard of living, health care, etc.
Once Singaporeans feel that the government doesn't have their best interests, as individuals, in mind, those who can leave will leave. I read about the government lamenting about brain drain, but what are they doing to counter this trend besides bringing in foreigners? Family, Friends, and Food can only serve as a pull-factor for so long.
No one will care what position Singapore as a country takes in this or that international ranking if the individual can hardly make a living.
Grab as much money from the people as possible... typical PAP operandi....
Originally posted by Boomslang4829:http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090331_520.shtml
Wow, this isn't going to help with inflation at all.
I guess it's up to the government to realize that their primary responsibility is to ensure that the Singapore CITIZENS are taken care of, though a reasonable standard of living, health care, etc.
Once Singaporeans feel that the government doesn't have their best interests, as individuals, in mind, those who can leave will leave. I read about the government lamenting about brain drain, but what are they doing to counter this trend besides bringing in foreigners? Family, Friends, and Food can only serve as a pull-factor for so long.
No one will care what position Singapore as a country takes in this or that international ranking if the individual can hardly make a living.
Well, try telling this to people like them who earn > $100k/mth. To them, an increase in hawker prices doesn't cause them to even bat an eyelid, coz they have too much money that they don't know how to spend it.
This is all about them living in their ivory towers, not understanding the plight of the common person, and then insist everything is good and well.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Grab as much money from the people as possible... typical PAP operandi....
HUH!!!!! wee!!! Uncle, got money to grab meh??? they dun grab, they suck lah!!!
By the way, did u took the correct medication today??
Originally posted by angel7030:
HUH!!!!! wee!!! Uncle, got money to grab meh??? they dun grab, they suck lah!!!
By the way, did u took the correct medication today??
...right, something something about IMH, something something about medicine... you are a boring ass.... and if you think that you are "afterall an angel of God"... you are highly delusional if not psychotic.
(" After all, I am an Angel of God" " 05 Feb `09, 6:04PM")
pple who abuse the wages system is the one who is something wrong.
imagine if all that earns lots of money and don't spend them, what will become in the economy? like now? recession?
just my 2 cents point of view.
Originally posted by Worldlybusinessman:Then adpot a system here during good times min wages is implemented and during bad times a variable wage system.
At least it will help both companies and workers to ride out the ride.
Are you kidding, wonder how can u be a business man?
Inflation can determine a minimium wage, so too is cost of living. If given a chance, most western govt would like to abolish minimium wages, but their Unions would hv created a big big strike.
Wages should be set as flexible as possible, this is to prevent retrenchment leading high amount of jobless and in the end social chaos, for those unskilled jobless peoples, they will think of crimes, for those talented jobless, they will think of scam. No govt in any country will like to see jobless, the best is that all have jobs. Once peoples have jobs, they will think of other stupid thing to do, but of course for some peoples, they are lazy bums who dun wan to work even given a job, and then just like my Uncles...start to blame here and there, cos Uncles got no job, more time for comment and complain.
During good times, minimium wage are usually negotiated upward in countries with minimium wages, no problem, everyone is happy with it, but in Bad times, their unions and workers will fight all the way to prevent lowering of minimium wage set in good times, that created an inflexibility in the wages. And legally speaking the workers are on the right, cos the law already state min wage criteria. So, it become a hard time for companies to survive in these countries with minimium wages. And when the govt wanted to lower the minimium wages, street protests and strikes leading to a lose lose situation for all parties. Look at the Europeans, if they dun have degrees or skills, good luck to them, they can hardly find an operator job anymore.
Ours wages adopt a flexible wage system, just like liquidity, make it as soluable as possible. Our govt even implemented MVC, a variable component to allow wage cut in time of downturn, you may not appreciate these system in good time, but let me tell you, it work wonder in Bad time. A lot of job was saved. The govt also pour money to upgrade the skill of only Singaporeans who are instead of retrenched, were sent by the companies to take full time courses by paying nearly 80% of their salaries and when the economy is good again, Singaporeans can then be ploughed back to their own organisation with higher skill and education.
Col SS Angel
Nazi Wage system HR
Valkyrie Office
...right, something something about IMH, something something about medicine... you are a boring ass.... and if you think that you are "afterall an angel of God"... you are highly delusional if not psychotic.
(" After all, I am an Angel of God" " 05 Feb `09, 6:04PM")
Ya, me Angel of God watching over you,...it is absolute delusion by you to say that govt grab money. Today, they dun grab, they suck...ERP, electronic transfer, Giro, cashcards, EZlink Cards, nets etc etc...they just suck your money from yr bank thru wireless air.
That is why i use to say, it is not Singapore dun wan to get opposition leader, just that people like you who talk anyhow and instead of upbring the image of opposition, you destroyed it completely, carry some weight in yr talking ya, dun be like CSJ.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Ya, me Angel of God watching over you,...it is absolute delusion by you to say that govt grab money. Today, they dun grab, they suck...ERP, electronic transfer, Giro, cashcards, EZlink Cards, nets etc etc...they just suck your money from yr bank thru wireless air.
That is why i use to say, it is not Singapore dun wan to get opposition leader, just that people like you who talk anyhow and instead of upbring the image of opposition, you destroyed it completely, carry some weight in yr talking ya, dun be like CSJ.
Only a fool would listen to what a delusional that thinks he/she, maybe, shemale, is an "Angel of God".
Get rid of you delusion, and/or see a psychiatrist for you insanity, resolve your fixation with IMH, psychotic medicine and clear you own mind before you make any post and make a fool of yourself.
Only a fool would listen to what a delusional that thinks he/she, maybe, shemale, is an "Angel of God".
Get rid of you delusion, and/or see a psychiatrist for you insanity, resolve your fixation with IMH, psychotic medicine and clear you own mind before you make any post and make a fool of yourself.
As usual, the medicines dun work. Shit doctor, useless one. Poor Uncle, hehehe..!! remember...
Your existence makes my presence here. As yr guardian Angel, cool down ya. You need to have the correct substance and credibility to be an opposition supporter ya, if not, Fxxk off from it.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:
and as usual, this ghost will follow us wherever we go...damn, Uncle, aren't we making ourselves a fool for others to laugh at..Wee! All rights reserved.
That's right, go back to your ....something something IHM, something something.... medicine.... that's what you are only good for...
Uncle uncle!!!...u forget something...aiya...and something something...Ahhhhh!!! the dogs,...u forget to mention about the dogs lah.
U r good for dogs, STI n NYSE down index, dog asses and something something...about an Angel..do u remember??
oh! i forget about licking...