All,
I think whatever study or ranking is trying to illustrate, there will always be different weightage given to some factors depending on what the study deems important. We can go on and argue & argue, but the fact is, We will see what we choose to see.
I would therefore suggest that we ought to think, regardless of the ranking of some countries, be it in the TOP 5 or 20 or 50, what is suitable for us - Singaporeans born and raised here., not what is amongst the best. Advanced as some countries may be in some areas, but do you really think you can blend in? "Cultural differences" is a real thing that I will urge fellow citizens to consider seriously. Just because some countries look desirable, it doesn't mean you will enjoy it, trust me on this!
Again, do what is best for you, NOT what the printed paper says.
Originally posted by Lionoasis:All,
I think whatever study or ranking is trying to illustrate, there will always be different weightage given to some factors depending on what the study deems important. We can go on and argue & argue, but the fact is, We will see what we choose to see.
I would therefore suggest that we ought to think, regardless of the ranking of some countries, be it in the TOP 5 or 20 or 50, what is suitable for us - Singaporeans born and raised here., not what is amongst the best. Advanced as some countries may be in some areas, but do you really think you can blend in? "Cultural differences" is a real thing that I will urge fellow citizens to consider seriously. Just because some countries look desirable, it doesn't mean you will enjoy it, trust me on this!
Again, do what is best for you, NOT what the printed paper says.
Well, I agree to an extent with you, mate on "Cultural differences"
That's why I once highlighted that a nation WITHOUT identity is a serious issue that Singapore is marching towards now.
I am enjoying every inch of USA life, and I met another Singaporean who also enjoys it. One of the reasons is that she and I have worked and lived in other countries, so much so that we are global citizens and have grown accustomed to changes in culture. Other than the occasional missing of char kuay teow and kuay chap, my parents and my sis, there's really nothing much to miss bout Singapore
And if Singapore continues to import foreigners (I dropped the word talent), very soon we will lose the culture that we once had (totally mixed up with people from all over the world), locals lose their sense of belonging, sense of living in a home, and then immigration will become a very viable option in the future.
I now live in a city where its mostly made up of people renting and living there for a period of months to a few years and then leaving. There is NO SENSE of a home at all, according to my wife. This can happen to Singapore, if we are not careful enough. For every 10 foreigners, LKY wants to retain 1 or 2. That means 8 or 9 others will move in and out, making the issue even worse.
Originally posted by soul_rage:Well, I agree to an extent with you, mate on "Cultural differences"
That's why I once highlighted that a nation WITHOUT identity is a serious issue that Singapore is marching towards now.
I am enjoying every inch of USA life, and I met another Singaporean who also enjoys it. One of the reasons is that she and I have worked and lived in other countries, so much so that we are global citizens and have grown accustomed to changes in culture. Other than the occasional missing of char kuay teow and kuay chap, my parents and my sis, there's really nothing much to miss bout Singapore
And if Singapore continues to import foreigners (I dropped the word talent), very soon we will lose the culture that we once had (totally mixed up with people from all over the world), locals lose their sense of belonging, sense of living in a home, and then immigration will become a very viable option in the future.
I now live in a city where its mostly made up of people renting and living there for a period of months to a few years and then leaving. There is NO SENSE of a home at all, according to my wife. This can happen to Singapore, if we are not careful enough. For every 10 foreigners, LKY wants to retain 1 or 2. That means 8 or 9 others will move in and out, making the issue even worse.
Yes. I strongly agree on your point about national identity.
A national identity is one that bonds many from different backgrounds, and gives people a reason to actually "love" his country.
Without a sense of rootedness, people come and go. Singapore becomes a cheap hotal, a mere stepping stone that means nothing except to further the individual's interests.
A question to ask - What are the benefits of owning a "pink IC" as opposed to a "blue IC" or a work permit?
Hi soul_rage and donkhead333,
As the nation's demographics evloves, the so called "national identity" changes too. With so many NEW Singaporeans joining us, there is nothing you and I can do but to embrace and live with the new fellows.
soul_rage, you know about me so you know where I am coming from, and I actually kinda like to see a NEW Singapore, I find the old "typical" Singaporean mentality rather annoying. To me, many typical Singaporeans are very narrow in their perspectives, calculative, lack graciousness, and too Kiasu.
I for one, embrace this change, side-effects expected.
Originally posted by Lionoasis:Hi soul_rage and donkhead333,
As the nation's demographics evloves, the so called "national identity" changes too. With so many NEW Singaporeans joining us, there is nothing you and I can do but to embrace and live with the new fellows.
soul_rage, you know about me so you know where I am coming from, and I actually kinda like to see a NEW Singapore, I find the old "typical" Singaporean mentality rather annoying. To me, many typical Singaporeans are very narrow in their perspectives, calculative, lack graciousness, and too Kiasu.
I for one, embrace this change, side-effects expected.
Hi Lionoasis,
Yes, and you are a good person :)
However, I am not sure if you have ever lived in a city where the turnover is high. I am living in one like that now. Renters trounce Home owners by 7:2. For every 7 renters, there are only 2 home owners.
There is this sense of the occupants of the city not taking care of the surrounding environment. (In fact, Singapore has become less clean than it was 8 years ago), that they treat this city as just temporary living, and that they will leave a few years later. Few identify themselves with the city
Singapore hasn't reached this stage yet, but the foreigners vs locals, if I am not wrong is currently at a ratio of 1:4. And the Govt always doesn't breakdown between citizens and PRs amongst the locals.
Granted, that you are upset with the old mentality of Singaporeans (I do too sometimes), however, the above is not a change you would want for our country. As I iterated, already, the "New" Singapore seems more filthy (environment wise) than it was 8 years ago.
Originally posted by donkhead333:Yes. I strongly agree on your point about national identity.
A national identity is one that bonds many from different backgrounds, and gives people a reason to actually "love" his country.
Without a sense of rootedness, people come and go. Singapore becomes a cheap hotal, a mere stepping stone that means nothing except to further the individual's interests.
A question to ask - What are the benefits of owning a "pink IC" as opposed to a "blue IC" or a work permit?
There isn't much difference between the pink and blue IC. Other than some differences that they tweak for show (school fees slightly higher for blue ICs for eg), there is really nothing much.
However, do note one big thing, the Singapore passport. IF a foreigner comes from a country that has many restrictions placed on its citizens for travel to other countries (such as always having to apply for a visa whenever they need to travel), then becoming a citizen of Singapore becomes attractive.
Originally posted by soul_rage:Hi Lionoasis,
Yes, and you are a good person :)
However, I am not sure if you have ever lived in a city where the turnover is high. I am living in one like that now. Renters trounce Home owners by 7:2. For every 7 renters, there are only 2 home owners.
There is this sense of the occupants of the city not taking care of the surrounding environment. (In fact, Singapore has become less clean than it was 8 years ago), that they treat this city as just temporary living, and that they will leave a few years later. Few identify themselves with the city
Singapore hasn't reached this stage yet, but the foreigners vs locals, if I am not wrong is currently at a ratio of 1:4. And the Govt always doesn't breakdown between citizens and PRs amongst the locals.
Granted, that you are upset with the old mentality of Singaporeans (I do too sometimes), however, the above is not a change you would want for our country. As I iterated, already, the "New" Singapore seems more filthy (environment wise) than it was 8 years ago.
Too kind...bright soul_rage!
Well let's see, and hopefully we can contain the negative aspects of new immigrants, but these things are like this - a "packaged deal".
I lived in Hawaii in the early 90's, as I have told you, and over there, the locals were complaining a lot about not being able to afford housing (even just renting) as the influx of foreign money - mostly from Japanese (it was rumored they owned 70% of Waikiki) origin and tourism related money - jacked up the prices by leap and bounds. Yes, uncontrolled "anything" can cause problems. Hope we can do a good job at this...
Ironically, and laughable too, may be the Kiasu-ness of Singaporeans will alarm the government much earlier, and "save" us as a result.
Originally posted by Lionoasis:Too kind...bright soul_rage!
Well let's see, and hopefully we can contain the negative aspects of new immigrants, but these things are like this - a "packaged deal".
I lived in Hawaii in the early 90's, as I have told you, and over there, the locals were complaining a lot about not being able to afford housing (even just renting) as the influx of foreign money - mostly from Japanese (it was rumored they owned 70% of Waikiki) origin and tourism related money - jacked up the prices by leap and bounds. Yes, uncontrolled "anything" can cause problems. Hope we can do a good job at this...
Ironically, and laughable too, may be the Kiasu-ness of Singaporeans will alarm the government much earlier, and "save" us as a result.
I genuinely feel that the solution to all these problems is to have a govt that listens to its people, and not one that makes decisions for itself.
Basically, so long as the PAP continues to behave with utmost arrogance and make decisions out of its ivory tower, this problem will continue to escalate.
After all, most ministers travel around in luxury cars (do not take public transport), and probably eat more luxury meals than all of us, thus they probably do not understand the actual problems of the grounds (or choose to ignore it).
Let's see where the next elections will take us to
the next election???
suppose they lost and yet claimed they won by a landslide?with no one to monitor counts...its as good as not holdin election.
Originally posted by soul_rage:
I genuinely feel that the solution to all these problems is to have a govt that listens to its people, and not one that makes decisions for itself.Basically, so long as the PAP continues to behave with utmost arrogance and make decisions out of its ivory tower, this problem will continue to escalate.
After all, most ministers travel around in luxury cars (do not take public transport), and probably eat more luxury meals than all of us, thus they probably do not understand the actual problems of the grounds (or choose to ignore it).
Let's see where the next elections will take us to
I agree with you - they dun listen enough! At least they dun appear to be...
Originally posted by Hitman3:the next election???
suppose they lost and yet claimed they won by a landslide?with no one to monitor counts...its as good as not holdin election.
Who cares what they claim?
If they lose an entire GRC, I think that will hit them really hard, and if they continue to claim they won by a landslide, chances are, they will lose even more in the next next election
who is monitoringg?the united nations or someone paid by the gov?
Originally posted by Hitman3:who is monitoringg?the united nations or someone paid by the gov?
Well, I heard that the election committee is honest in terms of vote counting. I have a relative that presided over one district before, so I believe in its results.
election committee from which organisation??how were they selected and by whom?
Originally posted by Hitman3:election committee from which organisation??how were they selected and by whom?
you need to read it up
the counting of votes are done by Singaporeans, and mostly handled by public servants (teachers, etc) from the various districts.
I believe vote counting is fair, in the sense, they wouldn't commit fraud by declaring one side the winner if the other side had won in the votes
However, the unfairness stems from the use of GRCs, and the techniques beforehand used to limit the no. of opposition that can contest the elections.
then there is no hope.
they should use a simpler more effective methods tried in africa !
ask all the pap supporters stand one line and for those not with their dumb policies stand another line!the one with longest line wins!everyone can see it from helicopter or satellite.
simple n effective.
just ask the voters to take a sponsored bus that fetches them to end of line that they want to queue.
or drive to end of line
however the logistics n technology hasnt been made fer this type of voting n im too sleepy to think of it anymore.
Got money no problem the world is our oyster..buy an island and proclaim yourself king!
really????get money to buy a country with people included?...by robbing or conning or both?
sheesh..........wonders how any country is goin to go forward with people like noisylion.
even if u bought an island.....u would still need to buy an army to guard soil fer island from those people who try to use bulldozers to scoop up yer precious island soil to make their island soil bigger,....
think most likel;y they would dig up yer island and use explosive to loosen soil....maybe in just one day they would have scopped up half yer islands precious soil.
later on guys who scooped off yer island would sell ya their special one of a kind island.....so get ready more money!
What about buying a country with good and hard working people, smart people, and honest people. Then we can sell away all the houseflies and boliao people??!! FOr a 10000% profit!
Whoa! We become the richest country in the world if not the galaxy??!!!!
So simple, why our government never think like that???!!!!