Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:Hello Eagle,
Is that your spoilt brat?
My two Jack Russells passed away last October!! A boy and a girl, both had cronic kidney disease! Stopped eating one day altogether, lost weight tremendously and vomitting literally bile!!!!!!! My poor little angels!! Took them to the Vet and he literally told me straight that it'll be cruel to let them go on suffering like that!! So, the little girl, Cookie, was put to sleep on the 10th of October and the little boy, Samsam, followed on the 12th of October. Both were 16 years old and always will be in my memories!! No one can take that away from me!! Still missing them heaps!!
Yes, indeed! During the LKY years, it was dreadful. Have a guess how much I was paid by the Army when I was serving my NS!!!??? A mere $30.00 a month!! That's not a typing error!! Only thirty Singapore dollars a month!!! Somethings are impossible to forget in your life, especially in such circumstance!!
There were so many unhappy people then, the hawkers in the hawker centres, taxi drivers, just ordinary people who were struggling to make ends meet!!
By the way, no pets allowed when we were living in the HDB flats!! If caught adopting a cat or a dog or even a small bird in a cage, you'll be made to pay a penalty by the authorites!!
Have a good one and bye for now! :)
Sorry to interrupt your conversation, uncle, when was the last time you were in Singapore?
don't think many of us know what is hippie in the 70s, so your story of no long hair, bell bottom sounds really scary and the singapore government then was really tyranny. You should complete the story that long hair then was associated with hippism, which was drugs, free sex, and anti war ( vietnam war, flower power). the overall approach was very anti social, and it began in america. Many of the english educated one like you, from ACS, like you said, follow the trend, so got this problem
my uncle from chinese school, didn't like long hair, no such problem, but somehow was watched by the government because he liked China too much. Then china under cultural revolution. So LKY also was afraid of communism.
and there was also the gangsters in geylang, china town, the racial problem.....
what was it like in Singapore in 1971, when the british pulled out completely? Recruit actually had $90 a month in 1972, so you must be in one of the first 2 batches to earn $30. Now recruits are paid $420 leh...somemore, if you pass your IPPT with gold you got $400 leh.... pass your marksmanship test also got dont know $100 or $200. but at that time you still get a bowl of noodle at what, 50 cents?
My uncle told me that time the people from RI all go zo zhenghu gang, government job, from ACS all become doctors, lawyers, accountants....so how come you learn only how to handle rifle from the army?
at least you kua bei song, you can migrate to australia, even at that time, many people now bei tahan, also LL stay around.
Physical problem comes with age, at least your life is happy in oz, next to the beach, never look back, good or bad.
Originally posted by Lionoasis:Is it true that the "illegal assembly act" (dun know the real term) is still in force? It states that any assmebly of 6 people or more (without permit) is not allowed, and it was never lifted?
During my days, my recruit pay was around SGD230, but considering the inflation over the last 20 over years, seems I had more to spend. Hahaha.
Police can arrest you for "illegal assembly" or simply disperse a gathering, with or without illegal assembly act, but can they charge you in court for "illegal assembly", that is the issue. but in court, you can defend.
actually nowadays nobody talk about "illegal assemble act", people are gathering in singapore all over the place. Nobody ask if they are allowed.
Like living next to the police station, do you feel safe or you feel threatened, because the police is around?
The criminals will always feel that they are about to be caught under the law. Actually, it is not the law, nor the police, but their conscience. ![]()
Originally posted by soul_rage:That's where you need to understand the purpose of the illegal assembly law.
Technically speaking, any one of us who are in a group of 3 or more (Yes, Chelsea and eagle, it's NOT 6 people or more, it's 3 or more) is breaking the law. It's up to the police to evoke the law or not.
The law exists to make sure that they have a reason (or excuse) to close you behind bars should they find you a threat. It's not exactly something I agree with.
I think there's a saying that somewhere within our laws, there is probably one law that catches everyone, so much so that each person is technically a criminal when living in Singapore.
I can imagine. If you find 3 kakis to play mahjong, it's a group of 4 ![]()
Expo 2010 – Singapore Pavilion A Big Letdown![]()
"They" should focus on how we maintain mutli racial harmony between our few races
also, how we aviod conflict/friction/riots and maintain peace
tell the rest of the whole, how our people show respect to other races culture
what are the good moral and value that we are able to emulate
our world is just full of chaos
be cos people would just fight over race, religion, skin, etc
Originally posted by eagle:I can imagine. If you find 3 kakis to play mahjong, it's a group of 4
actually it is 5 so 4 playing mahjong won't infringe the act.
Singapore Pavillion - What went wrong & If I were to do it....
1st floor - total waste of space (so empty and so dim) - they should have made it into a garden (Singapore Eden Style) since this is the impression people have about Singapore, shift 3rd floor contents into first floor
2nd floor - Singapore Inventions/Quality Products/ Achievements: NeWater/ Breakthrough in Medicine/ Creative Technology/ Osim/ Singapore Airlines/ Soil-free agriculture/ World's N0. 1 port etc.... there are so many things we can be proud of...
3rd floor - Singapore The FUN - New IR's, Singapore Flyer (do a mini ride at top of Pavillion - the Swiss Pavillion has a mini ride too), F1, Youth Olympics, Merlion
In a nutshell, 1st floor reinforces a good impression, 2nd floor to tell people Singapore has substance, and 3rd floor to increase traffic into Singapore.
I am sure there are better ideas...let's hear them since SM Goh is inviting more opinions...
Originally posted by Clivebenss:actually it is 5 so 4 playing mahjong won't infringe the act.
Monopoly then ![]()
Or 1 more person to sit behind kapo during a mahjong session ![]()
Originally posted by Clivebenss:actually it is 5 so 4 playing mahjong won't infringe the act.
usually the 5th one serves drink. police come he has to hide inside toilet.![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:usually the 5th one serves drink. police come he has to hide inside toilet.
fifth one is the substitute, when one goes toilet or something.
I'm terribly sorry about the confusion fellows, Terminator.....my parents were never alone then because I do have brothers and sisters in Singapore, just like many of you do! I'm the youngest amongst the lot!! And they also have their family and own home as well. One of my sisters and one of my nieces were staying with my mother, so, it wasn't as if they were all alone by themselves! As a matter of fact, it was my parents, especially my mother, who insisted that I migrate because she can see I wasn't happy in Singapore.
The reason why I chose Australia was because it's closer to Singapore, whereas US of A is way over yonder!! But mind you, before I migrated to Australia, I stayed in London in UK for 9 months to see if I like it there. And the answer is a big fat no!
For 9 months, I didn't see the sun at all!!! When I got home after that period, my family, especially my sisters couldn't recognise me at the airport when they came to meet the plane! I was so fair, they said I looked like a girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Are you guys telling me, social gathering amongst friends in Singapore is still outlawed? How pathetic!!!
It's allowed. We are just poking fun at the law ![]()
In fact, it's not hard to earn $$ now too. ;)
Originally posted by soul_rage:That's where you need to understand the purpose of the illegal assembly law.
Technically speaking, any one of us who are in a group of 3 or more (Yes, Chelsea and eagle, it's NOT 6 people or more, it's 3 or more) is breaking the law. It's up to the police to evoke the law or not.
The law exists to make sure that they have a reason (or excuse) to close you behind bars should they find you a threat. It's not exactly something I agree with.
I think there's a saying that somewhere within our laws, there is probably one law that catches everyone, so much so that each person is technically a criminal when living in Singapore.
Look what i found, a website stating every law in singapore...
Under Penal Code "Chapter 224", unlawful assembly "Section 141", it states unlawful assembly needs at least 5 person...
This is in reply to Santa Clause and Sgdiehard's questions about gangs during my time in Singapore.
The gangsters in Singapore were really bad and big time!! Almost all of them were uneducated and came from very poor family backgrounds. During the 50s, 60s, there were gangs with coded gang affiliations like the numbers 24, with their black and white flag colours. Then there's 08 with their red and white flag colours!! Then there's 369 and many others!! And they fought each other with long machetes or parangs almost every week for area control for collecting protection money from hawkers or people who needed their protection!!
Almost all the members were Chinese. Malays and Indians also had their own cliques, but compared to the Chinese gangs, they're like Harry Potter's mob!! Not so much drugs those days!!
Then come the 70s, 80s and 90s, the gangsters used guns instead of parangs or knives! And there were drugs like coccaine, LSD, marijuana, heroine, etc.....!!
For those who fell into the trap, they live wild, but died young!! I smoked a few joints and decided to give it up, seeing all the problems drugs caused to everyday lives!!
As for the monthly pay income, the Singapore salary compared to Australia is pure "chicken feed!!" Australian workers get their wages weekly and much better paid as well!! Just no comparison!! If asked to work over holidays or weekends, it's always double or even triple pays in return!! But the Unions here are very strong and will always keep their members well looked after!!
As for racial tensions, it happened only once in the 60s where Chinese and Malays slaughtered each other!! Especially in kampongs and Geylang area also.
But during the 70s and 80s, when NS came into effect, the tension between races in Singapore vanished!!!!!!!!!!! Completely!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Needless to say, that's very good!! I do hope Australia's politicians take a look and learn how a small island like Singapore's melting pot can all live in harmony!! And yet, Australia can produce ignorant fools like Pauline Hanson and the likes!!!!!!!!!
As the saying goes...........we can't win them all!!!!!!!!!
In reply to Sgdiehard, I was born in 1949, hence the first batch of NS. I was enlisted as a rifleman for 6 months basic training and it was hell!! Can't remember which Battalion, that's so many years ago!!!!! I'm an old man now!! The food was rubbish, you wouldn't even feed a dog!! After 6 months basic training, I was transferred to Safti for a course in the Support Company. The 81mm Mortar Platoon. I served until I was discharged after 2 years wasting my life there. As a matter of fact, the NS was part of the reason why I decided to leave for good!
Hope all's well and nice chatting with you guys!
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:In reply to Sgdiehard, I was born in 1949, hence the first batch of NS. I was enlisted as a rifleman for 6 months basic training and it was hell!! Can't remember which Battalion, that's so many years ago!!!!! I'm an old man now!! The food was rubbish, you wouldn't even feed a dog!! After 6 months basic training, I was transferred to Safti for a course in the Support Company. The 81mm Mortar Platoon. I served until I was discharged after 2 years wasting my life there. As a matter of fact, the NS was part of the reason why I decided to leave for good!
No worry you're still young.
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:In reply to Sgdiehard, I was born in 1949, hence the first batch of NS. I was enlisted as a rifleman for 6 months basic training and it was hell!! Can't remember which Battalion, that's so many years ago!!!!! I'm an old man now!! The food was rubbish, you wouldn't even feed a dog!! After 6 months basic training, I was transferred to Safti for a course in the Support Company. The 81mm Mortar Platoon. I served until I was discharged after 2 years wasting my life there. As a matter of fact, the NS was part of the reason why I decided to leave for good!
Hi Chelsea,
SAF has gone a long way since the first batch. I was told those days you all kena the israeli instructors, very jia lat, and you had to carry the mortar. Today all artillery mounted on vehicles, Army food catered from outside, PT shoes all NEW BALANCE, no more old china black canvass shoes, raining days wear rain jacket with GORE-TEX technology, shoes also GORE-TEX, no need seasoning one, only kiwi, no polish.
What you mentioned really make me realized that SAF has indeed improved, especially in welfare for soldiers, compared to your time.
I still got a few more years of reservist to do, got good time, got bad time,
all the best to you down under.![]()
singapore food industries cater the food for all army personnels![]()
my time - the cook wah lan horrible plus terrible![]()
some more all the bengs people![]()
my pay as a recruit sing 180.00 only![]()
I think the biggerest changed for todays NS is the mindset change from the younger generations other than the modern equipments.....we only have respect for you the Pioneer NS Men.
Maybe should drop by Aug 9th. for the memories....Old Danny Boy.............
Dear Chelsea Kong kong,
I do not understand why NS is a waste of time for you, as you see, it is because of NS, you claimed that you migrate to Oz, so if there is no NS, you might still be around paying taxes and slaving for our govt. Therefore, you should in fact say that NS enhanced your life and make you see the brighter side of life. It is not a waste ya.
You guys are lucky to be treated so well in the NS nowadays! But understandably, some of the officers are NS men as well, so they understand what it's like to be ill treated.
The Singapore regular soldiers who trained us were prisoners seconded from the prisons by the LKY government. They were given a chance in life that if they become regular soldiers in the Army, their crimes will be pardoned and they also get to train the new NS men!! Some of the NCOs during my time don't even speak English!!!! Imagine that when they were shouting orders!!!!!!!! Some of us don't understand their pronounciations and giggle at that, hence given push ups or extra guard duties over the weekends!!!!!!!!!
During the course in SAFTI, there were Commandors from Israel and Australia to give us desert and jungle warfare training!! We were trained to drink water from the drains, eat whatever we find in the Mandai jungle, taught which part of the snake if we caught one we can or cannot eat, supplied with a 3 day ration to last for 1 week!!! With the mortar strapped onto our backs, we were made to walk up the Bukit Timah Hill!!! Things like that one just can't forget!!
Santa....you complained about getting 180.00 dollars? We were paid a mere 30.00 a month!!!!!!!!!! As I mentioned before, it's not a typing error, it's thirty dollars a month!!
We were not allowed to go home during the first 6 months basic training!! Families were allowed to come visit. And when my mother saw the condition I was in, she cried silently and I can felt her heart broken in pieces!! Not only my mother was upset, ALL other soldier's families were all upset as well. All of us NS men were very tanned and as skinny as a scare crow!! But very fit due to the rigorous training!!
Arapahoe....if I were to visit Singapore, I won't be going because of the 9th of August!! If I do go, I'll be going because I want to pay my respects to my father's grave in the Chu Kang area and my mother's niche at St Michael's. Although my remainder family is taking care of all that anniversary business, it's not the same for me. I would like to pay a last respect personally before I leave this world to join them! Whole trouble is that with a history of two heart attacks, I can't travel on the plane because it's compressed air in the cabins!!! It'll effect my heart and I may or may not get into difficulties!! Depending on the individual or how lucky one is. I just don't want to take the gamble and lost!!!!!!! Knowing my luck, I'll lost the plot!!
Anyway, I enjoyed having a yarn here. Sorry if I bore you guys and take care! :)
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:You guys are lucky to be treated so well in the NS nowadays! But understandably, some of the officers are NS men as well, so they understand what it's like to be ill treated.
The Singapore regular soldiers who trained us were prisoners seconded from the prisons by the LKY government. They were given a chance in life that if they become regular soldiers in the Army, their crimes will be pardoned and they also get to train the new NS men!! Some of the NCOs during my time don't even speak English!!!! Imagine that when they were shouting orders!!!!!!!! Some of us don't understand their pronounciations and giggle at that, hence given push ups or extra guard duties over the weekends!!!!!!!!!
During the course in SAFTI, there were Commandors from Israel and Australia to give us desert and jungle warfare training!! We were trained to drink water from the drains, eat whatever we find in the Mandai jungle, taught which part of the snake if we caught one we can or cannot eat, supplied with a 3 day ration to last for 1 week!!! With the mortar strapped onto our backs, we were made to walk up the Bukit Timah Hill!!! Things like that one just can't forget!!
Santa....you complained about getting 180.00 dollars? We were paid a mere 30.00 a month!!!!!!!!!! As I mentioned before, it's not a typing error, it's thirty dollars a month!!
We were not allowed to go home during the first 6 months basic training!! Families were allowed to come visit. And when my mother saw the condition I was in, she cried silently and I can felt her heart broken in pieces!! Not only my mother was upset, ALL other soldier's families were all upset as well. All of us NS men were very tanned and as skinny as a scare crow!! But very fit due to the rigorous training!!
Arapahoe....if I were to visit Singapore, I won't be going because of the 9th of August!! If I do go, I'll be going because I want to pay my respects to my father's grave in the Chu Kang area and my mother's niche at St Michael's. Although my remainder family is taking care of all that anniversary business, it's not the same for me. I would like to pay a last respect personally before I leave this world to join them! Whole trouble is that with a history of two heart attacks, I can't travel on the plane because it's compressed air in the cabins!!! It'll effect my heart and I may or may not get into difficulties!! Depending on the individual or how lucky one is. I just don't want to take the gamble and lost!!!!!!! Knowing my luck, I'll lost the plot!!
Anyway, I enjoyed having a yarn here. Sorry if I bore you guys and take care! :)
Chelsea, take good care of your health.
In reply to Angel7030, please read my contributions before you jump the queue :)
Whatever I learned in NS, rifle and mortar handling, boots polishing, stand to attention when spoken to.......etc....etc.....!! Tell me, what jobs can I apply for in civilian life in Singapore??? May be a shoe shine boy? Not everyone of us is a "Yes Sir, No Sir, Three Bags Full Sir" sort of guy!!! We have our own dignity. I for one will not jump and say how high when LKY says "Jump!"
To be fair, one thing I learned from the Army, which benefitted me till this day, is that "Nothing is impossible!" You just have to set your mind and heart to it and you'll be successful. I'm talking about life in general, not wanting to become king or something which is ridiculous to achieve!!
I taught my niece those sentiments when she migrated here almost 4 years ago now. By the second year she's here, she's already owned her own home and bought her own car! As I said, be strong and believe in yourself. You can do it. It's only a matter of whether you want to or not. Believe in your dreams because they are real and will come true...... if you are strong and believe in yourself!! Make your life more exciting instead of staying all your life in one spot, be brave and grasp what the rest of the world can offer you!! Take it while you're still young and full of life!!!! Show the rest of the world what Singaporeans can do and achieve!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Be good and take special care :) When you walk pass you mother or father, just tell them quietly that you love them!
Chelsea 171,
i merely stated how much i recieved![]()
now, people sing 420.00 they kpkb - if i am not mistaken![]()
in tekong, i saw the israel men training the gurkas with gpmg
The gangsters in Singapore were really bad and big time!! Almost all of them were uneducated and came from very poor family backgrounds. During the 50s, 60s, there were gangs with coded gang affiliations like the numbers 24, with their black and white flag colours. Then there's 08 with their red and white flag colours!! Then there's 369 and many others!! And they fought each other with long machetes or parangs almost every week for area control for collecting protection money from hawkers or people who needed their protection!!
Still, got the ang/red one
My school many numbers 24 and 369 "people", heng i never crossed their line![]()
in the 198x - 199x, they still collect protection money![]()
now, i don't know![]()