One single "English Breakfast" of today
looks like it has more calories than a whole week of WW2 rations!

Somebody in OZ forgot to take medicine.
What's all those pictures posting about for heaven sake!!!!!!!!!
To answer Angel................you have never experience anything what the early batches of NS men went through. Inspite of my explanation to you, you're still trying to force me to admit that it's done me good!! Are you telling me that all the goodness in me is through NS training and not my parents upbringing? You're talking rubbish and don't have a single clue what the men went through in the first and second batch of NS training!! Walk a mile in my shoes, then you can pass silly comments on how I should be grateful to the Singapore government!! In the meantime, do some research before you make silly comments because it does upset many decent people here!
God almighty!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Give me strength!! How can anyone be so ignorant!!!!!!!!!!!! And you're a Singaporean????????????? I'm ashame!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
And Angel......................I'm an educated man, come from a decent family!! Why would I want to be a gangster if I'm not in the NS???? Just give me a good reason why??? You know me so well to predict that I will be a gangster if there's no NS in Singapore?
Please give me a break and give some of your country men, young and old some credit!!! Not all of us Singapore men are that stupid!!!!
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:And Angel......................I'm an educated man, come from a decent family!! Why would I want to be a gangster if I'm not in the NS???? Just give me a good reason why??? You know me so well to predict that I will be a gangster if there's no NS in Singapore?
Please give me a break and give some of your country men, young and old some credit!!! Not all of us Singapore men are that stupid!!!!
Hi Chelsea
Just ignore her. She/He/It is a well-known empty vessel, who makes comments on things not known to her/him/it, and then get ridiculed totally in the forums.
The most 'impressive' part is, she/he/it is very thick-skinned, and will continue to go on posting rubbish.
anyone still remember singapore and hk tax![]()
chickens and chicken wings![]()
that he/she/it is also taiwan pr![]()
that one busy watching wc![]()
Goh Keng Swee
Upon independence in 1965, Goh relinquished his finance portfolio and became Minister for the Interior and Defence until 16 August 1967, assuming responsibilities for strengthening Singapore's military and domestic security capabilities. A key policy was the creation of National Service, a mandatory conscription system for able-bodied young males.
CHELSEA,
its just to show the japs were foraging food with insufficient rations.of course u could have highlighted food issues with oic.
and look at them working carrying sacks of rice.looks like there are 50 men there and only less than 10 is werking....the rest are just standing there looking and not doin anything!i dun think ya really need to carry any mortar and boxes of ammo up some hill.....if that so...improvise...against all orders!!!
well....if they dun give u enough food rations for military exercise or time to get enough food from yer enviroment,,,u may proceed to faint in front of yer CO.thats all they are gonna get with nuts for meals!
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:What's all those pictures posting about for heaven sake!!!!!!!!!
To answer Angel................you have never experience anything what the early batches of NS men went through. Inspite of my explanation to you, you're still trying to force me to admit that it's done me good!! Are you telling me that all the goodness in me is through NS training and not my parents upbringing? You're talking rubbish and don't have a single clue what the men went through in the first and second batch of NS training!! Walk a mile in my shoes, then you can pass silly comments on how I should be grateful to the Singapore government!! In the meantime, do some research before you make silly comments because it does upset many decent people here!
God almighty!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Give me strength!! How can anyone be so ignorant!!!!!!!!!!!! And you're a Singaporean????????????? I'm ashame!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hi uncle chelsea,
in this forum you find all kinds of people, and you don't really know who are at the other end of the line. stupid, ignorant and arrogant remarks are inevitable, so do not get agitated.
are they all singaporean? no, even if they are, they are not the singaporean you used to know, especially since you haven't been back here for a while.
the young singaporean who had gone through NS cannot feel the what people like you in the early SAF had gone through. That is what I call generation gap. ![]()
To what you had gone through, I can only say this, thank you, the pioneer of the SAF, for the foundation you built, we can now enjoy a better SAF. Foundation began from the ground, that is why it was so tough for you, the building is now up, and we are enjoying the view from high, and we are indeed grateful.
have a good day.
Well Mr. Chelsea Sir, and to all who served,
Many nations and their citizen have their own unique military experiences. They live to tell.
I think SAF experiences are uniquely for Singaporean to Keep. Whether it is good beer conversation or a boost in men ego......it brings people of all walks of life together. From the conversation i say we all bonded thru our personal experiences in the SAF.
So without further here’s mine…..
I served between 85 -87....the gunners in my unit all spoke Hockien had Tatoo on every conceivable part of their body.
Some of my memories.......
1) gunner was confined and his girlfriend climb over the fence and spend the night in the bunk......ha ha ha.
2) Gunner booked in camp after mid night climb over the fence and 2 SIR guards activated turnout.......he he he...
3) store personnel got stripped naked and hang overhead with a pad lock hooked into his anus.
4) a regular NCO for some reason he was demoted but only have a 1 side Ranking of Lance Corporal. (no idea whats was the deal)
and many many more.............but subsequently gunners were better educated and discipline were better.
SAF made tremendous changes due to better educated population.
PS: i think we should go back to the original thread tittle.
Indeed, I think Arapahoe is right here! We should stick to what this forum is about instead of going to discuss NS!!! Sorry people!!!!!!!!
Well.................if you do decide to venture and leave Singapore, for a little while or for good, in my humble opinion, Australia is still the safest place to start your venture in your life ahead!
First and foremost, it's closest to Singapore. The winter temperatures here is not as cold as in Canada or US of A and not as wet as UK. The population here is "almost" multicultural, but can't compare to Singapore because the ethnic groups stay amongst themselves. Partly due to the prejudice attitude some white Aussies have unfortunately. But there's that sort of thing anywhere to go to in the world.
Daily life is carefree and not hectic like in Singapore and welfare is good for the needy. But if you proof to yourself you can do it by working hard, then it's just a piece of cake for most of Singaporeans!!
On the whole, if you're not happy about your venture a year or two later, you can always go home to Singapore and I'm dead sure, Lion Oasis will welcome you with open arms.
Wouldn't you be Lion Oasis? If you're reading this comment!! Hahahahaha!! :)
Have fun people! Be nice to each other, especially to your parents and tell them you love them!!
Best wishes to one and all!! :)
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:Indeed, I think Arapahoe is right here! We should stick to what this forum is about instead of going to discuss NS!!! Sorry people!!!!!!!!
Well.................if you do decide to venture and leave Singapore, for a little while or for good, in my humble opinion, Australia is still the safest place to start your venture in your life ahead!
First and foremost, it's closest to Singapore. The winter temperatures here is not as cold as in Canada or US of A and not as wet as UK. The population here is "almost" multicultural, but can't compare to Singapore because the ethnic groups stay amongst themselves. Partly due to the prejudice attitude some white Aussies have unfortunately. But there's that sort of thing anywhere to go to in the world.
Daily life is carefree and not hectic like in Singapore and welfare is good for the needy. But if you proof to yourself you can do it by working hard, then it's just a piece of cake for most of Singaporeans!!
On the whole, if you're not happy about your venture a year or two later, you can always go home to Singapore and I'm dead sure, Lion Oasis will welcome you with open arms.
Wouldn't you be Lion Oasis? If you're reading this comment!! Hahahahaha!! :)
Have fun people! Be nice to each other, especially to your parents and tell them you love them!!
Best wishes to one and all!! :)
Yes!!! I am reading, why wouldn't I be...?
I will welcome anyone who will contribute to Singapore - native or new immigrant - I will have no problem taking in FT's who are really responsible people who can also add value to our small nation. To me, having a culprit native is worse than having a contributing new immigrant. I may get fried over here, but this is my value system. Remember, our ancestors were not original natives themselves, so we are children of new immrigrants.
If there is any relavance to NS topics, it is one of the things that make overseas Singaporean (women too) click instantly. So are the terms like KNN & CCB that I still hear every week. They are vulgar but uniquely Singaporean & touches us intimately (I wouldn't have said this had I not left Singapore).
Yes be nice to everyone (try lah, even if you are in a bad mood), this makes Singapore more liveable for yourself too. Cheers!!!
they experimented on chelsea for national service.i rmebered i went to bmt,,,i also experimented on the army.:)from holding rifle ...etc etc.as im supposed to be at ease in peacetime training and wartime.
even as a recruit i displayed natural ability to blend into the jungle without training...makea solid proper sandbag enclosure without training until the encik had to ask me to rebuild a lousy sandbag enclosure to demonstrate that us recruits were not soldiers and built alousy sandbag enclosure but i proved to the seasoned soldiers i was already a practical soldier as a recruit and could shoot on target without really following laid out procedure but at the same time taking note of safety.
To Mr. Chelsea,
Is there a lot of racial discrimination in Aus? Sorry for asking this but i do heard some positive and negative feedbacks from my friends regarding Aus.
After reading the full 42 pages, i think my stand is firm. I will still come back to Singapore and remain as its citizen. However, i will venture out in overseas countries to broaden my vision and perhaps grind me into a better person.
Please pardon my English. Thank you!
No need to apologise Blurking123, if you don't ask, you'll never find out. So there!!
To answer your question, there's racial discrimination everywhere in any parts of the world, even in Singapore. Some of the comments made by them do hurt, but as the Asian saying goes, "If you want to live under some other people's roof, you'll just have to put up with it."
In the 60s and 70s, if you're Asian or people with dark skin or someone with a foreign name, you'll be "kept an eye on" so to speak! They have that sort of mentality to presume that we're not to be trusted. But since the mid 90s, their attitude slowly, I repeat, slowly changed to the better. Mostly due to their trade with Asian countries and they come to understand Asians better. I'll say they're influenced by China's economic boom and the friendly Asian people. Politicians started to be friendly with our head of states and hence their people were encouraged to spend their holidays in Asia because most things are much cheaper there than in Australia!
All my years here, I've encountered a couple of name callings, but no one has ever put a finger on me.
On the whole, Australia is quite safe now, as long as you're respectable to yourself and your family, i.e. if you have a family. What I'm trying to say, is don't get yourself involve with drugs, or anything that's against the law and wherever you live, your neighbours or community will definitely welcome you.
If you decide to broaden your knowledge in some oversea countries, please make sure you find out evrything you can about the particular country you want to visit! Otherwise you'll find yourself behind bars or even kidnapped or even killed for a simple silly mistake. So, be very careful!
The best of everything endeavour and cheers for the day.
Hi Mr Chelsea,
Thank you for the reply. Yeah there is racial discrimination everywhere. I have to agree on this. Sure, Thank you for the advice again!
Originally posted by blurking123:Hi Mr Chelsea,
Thank you for the reply. Yeah there is racial discrimination everywhere. I have to agree on this. Sure, Thank you for the advice again!
Actually, from my numerous years as a global consultant trotting to parts of Europe, Asia and now USA, I have to say that this racism topic is really overplayed.
Discrimination (not just racial) happens everywhere, every minute. To be a global citizen (as what I see myself), one must be able to put up with certain unpleasant incidents. Most times, it's a small matter (superficial), if you are able to look past the incident.
I was once a global mgr, and I had to work for a period in the UK. I had to put up with discrimination everyday I walked into the office, because I was the youngest manager there (the only one in my early 30s, the other managers were 40s and beyond), and not to mention, the ONLY asian manager.
Ultimately, at the end of the day, it's how you manage those unpleasant incidents. I understand that it's all part of the experience of being a global worker, and it helps to shape me and make me even stronger, and become more tolerant and open to views from a diverse cultural background.
PS: I also enjoy the feeling that I give to those Westerners that aren't happy with an Asian sitting amongst the top ranks. :p
Soul Rage, I couldn't agree with you more!! 200 % as a matter of fact! The best part is when they have to address you "Mister" or "Sir" and you can literally see the dissatisfaction on their faces when they said those two words!!!!!!!!!! How idiotic can one be? But just like you, I put up with the rubbish and came out on top of them!!
I was Customs Declaration Officer, working for Rothmans of Pall Mall, the big cigarette company here in Melbourne. Doesn't exist anymore because it was taken over by the British Tobacco Company. Life was so easy and sweet, what with company cars and long lunches as well............well, why not? I worked hard for the position. Just as long as I don't abuse the priviledge!! Don't you agree?
Take care won't you and be good!! :)
hmmmmm.....a declaration officer ???do u really need to werk hard fer that job???so chelsea left spore from a dumb ns stint and found a then racist oz was much better than spore.
what bout the wimen????did chelksea go have sex wiv any of them???could u describe yer wimen in oz if its not too much 4 you?
some white guy told me he would use a ball pein hammer to pound a cunt...would u do that too after yer many years in oz???we wanna know!!!!
what i was doin in oz in mid 1990s........
1)sleepin n watchin pornlike stuff on oz tv everynite
2)buying food from Coles n discovering gal overcharged me by $2 and i demanded she count it again.
3)watching fellow tourist get hospitalised by a bottle thrown from hotel window
4)eating with colleagues in a eat all u can red neck chilli restaurant and looking at the cowboys with a scowl...laughed at it there n thought nothin bout them
5)went to drug store to buy panadols from heavy meat diet at 7pm but couldnt get any
6)met a man in shorts without shoes at traffic light in brisbane who said chink to me,,,walked away from him in my chinos and $500 gucci shoes.:)
7)met an indian man selling kebabs by roadside and he told me he was from sri lanka
8)met a japanese chobu gal who looked like Oshin gal at gold coast and she sat next to me.she was distributing sex job cards.
9)met lots of hong kong teenagers outside a pub in chinatown area.
10)ate a pack of chocolate cookies from a vending machine
11)found chinese food and laksa in oz tasted strange
12)found a gal at a resort seemed to have impossibly long legs when she was standing next to a pool...up till now im mystified by such long legs.
13)found akoala which mistook me for a tree
14)found kangeroos are such cute animals especuially when i feed em with bread
15)ate perigianni sauce with lamb
16)found receptionist who looked like a barbie doll...her face looks like plastic and manufactured
17)found bosses from spore trying to curry favour with aussie managers..resulting in spore bosses fighting amongst themselves in the end in oz.
18)read newspapwers everyday
19)took roller coaster ride at goldcoast called lethal weapon...bought lots of keychains without the made in china words on them
20)saw bat girl in her shiny sexy tight costume walkin past me as i tried pickin upmy coins that i dropped on floor
21)took a drive to a town n found nothin there but a fish n chip shop.
22)walked around a beach n found nothin
23)saw my boss sitting down by coffeshop there n lookin around
24)missed the parade with gals in bikini
25)saw a chinese cleaner who cleaned toilets n looked like lin chin hsieh
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:Soul Rage, I couldn't agree with you more!! 200 % as a matter of fact! The best part is when they have to address you "Mister" or "Sir" and you can literally see the dissatisfaction on their faces when they said those two words!!!!!!!!!! How idiotic can one be? But just like you, I put up with the rubbish and came out on top of them!!
I was Customs Declaration Officer, working for Rothmans of Pall Mall, the big cigarette company here in Melbourne. Doesn't exist anymore because it was taken over by the British Tobacco Company. Life was so easy and sweet, what with company cars and long lunches as well............well, why not? I worked hard for the position. Just as long as I don't abuse the priviledge!! Don't you agree?
Take care won't you and be good!! :)
Just to highlight a funny experience related to me by my direct boss (who was also asian) at that time, the global financial controller of the organization.
She was a good tennis player, and an Englishman and wife challenged her and her friend. In the end, the English were whitewashed. They were very sore losers, giving excuses that they were not feeling well (so din play well), and refusing to play again with my boss.
The point being, I find that some of the Westerners are still refusing to admit that asians can be superior.
Thanks for the well wishes, anyway I am proud to bear the Singapore flag in the USA.