STOMPer Sharon was surprised to see a rat scurrying across the supermarket's dairy section while she was shopping for ice-cream at Cold Storage in North Point yesterday.
When contacted, Sharon said:
"I saw a rat ran across the dairy section counters just as I was about to buy my ice-cream.
"This happened at about 4pm yesterday. There were a few Cold Storage staff looking into the rat problem but they did not stop us from taking any pictures.
"I always shop at Cold Storage for its fresh produce but now, I wonder how clean can this place be?"
STOMPer Angel, after discovering a worm in her meal, laments that hawkers are still careless about food hygiene, even after the Geylang Serai rojak incident in April 2009, that left 2 women dead and more than 100 ill.
STOMP has translated what the STOMPer originally wrote in Chinese:
"Look closely, can you guess what it is?
"It's a worm, and I'm the unlucky person to discover it after finishing half of my meal. I'm still disgusted by the thought.
"I thought that hawkers would be more cautious after the rojak incident, but it doesn't seem to be the case.
"I urge everyone to avoid eating at the food court at Admiralty MRT station.
"In an earlier occasion, I found bits of newspaper in my food. Now the worm really tops that.
"I hope the authorities can do something about errant hawkers, to prevent food poisoning incidents from happening again!"
The STOMPer's original email in Chinese:
A confused STOMPer received this letter from the Town Council claiming that noise was coming from the corridor outside his unit. Apparently, he didn't know who caused the noise but 'this is a corridor, not a library' he said.
Riduan told STOMP via email today (Sep 24):
"I was surprised to get this letter from Town Council (Woodlands), stating that they have received a complaint along my corridor at 12.40pm.
"When I called the officer with the number given on the letter, he was not around so I cliarified this with his colleague.
"Even though I don't know who made the noise, but this is a corridor, not a library.
"There is no signboard or notice stating that we have to be quiet.
"The corridor is a normal place for children to play at.
"What does this letter serves as?
"Why did the officer just listen to the complainer without thinking for others?
"And when I tried to contact him, he was unavailable until now.
"Can the Town Council clarify if it is an offence for children to play along the corridor?
"And why is this letter being issued to me?"

This faulty fitness equipment at Jurong West Street 64 makes so much noise when it is used that it disrupts residents' sleep.
STOMPer Rendy hopes that the relevant authorities will repair it soon. He says:
"Those of you who stay around this area should be able to hear the disturbing noise from the fitness equipment when inconsiderate people use it in the early morning or late at night.
"I woke up at 5.30am today because of it!
"I had already email WCTC but received no reply.
"It was faulty even before CNY so I don't think there is a thing called 'repairs and maintenance' even thought they put this as part of their primary role and function."
A STOMPer is at a loss as to how to solve the problem of his neighbour's noisy aircon, which creates a din every night. Here's what the upset STOMPer wrote in an email today (June 3): "I have a neighbour who has an aircon unit which is very old and noisy, and worse, mounted in a loose wall bracket.
"Every night, she will turn on the aircon and it will produce a loud and disturbing noise, like the blades of a fan hitting something. The noise disturbs the neighbours living in close proximity. "This has gone on for 6 months already.
"At last, a few neighbours and I could not take it and reported this to the town council.
"The town council actually referred this case to the HDB. I reported the case on May 21 but today the aircon is still turning on every night. "On hot nights, it actually turns even more vigorously, because the owner increases the speed of the blower.
"When I called the HDB to voice my query, I was told that the owner of the unit had refused to respond to the door. Therefore, they are unable to communicate with her.
"I heard from one of my neighbours who went to a "meet the MP" session and reported this, but in the end this case was also referred to the HDB.
"Is this the efficiency of the HDB? If they really cannot get hold of the owner, should the neighbours all just tolerate it? What else can the neighbours do to resolve this problem?
"We are not only concerned about the noise created but that the aircon is mounted on the loose bracket and might give way any time. If the aircon drops, it will be land on the short cut that many residents take to reach the lift lobby.
"Fellow STOMPers, please advise us as we really have no more alternatives."
STOMPer Kohji was shocked to be told that he wasn't allowed to buy an additional portion of curry because 'curry is precious' and too expensive to be sold in larger portions.
The server at the vegetarian food stall in Ang Mo Kio had given him very little curry the first time round and he wanted more, even offering to pay for it.
Hence, he was shocked that he was turned down.
Kohji says:
"This is a picture of a vegetarian stall located in Ang Mo Kio Ave 1, Blk 226, by the name of Ru Lai.
"On April 24, my brother and a of friend of our visit the stall and ordered about five dishes and three portions of rice, which I believe is quite a lot for three to eat.
"One of the dishes is curry vegetables but to our surprise, they served very little curry in a plate, so I wonder how it can be called curry vegetables?
"When I approached the girl for more curry, I was shocked that she told me that she couldn't give so much curry because it is very expensive!
"I told her that I didn't mind paying but she told me that they don't have much curry for sale because curry is very precious .
"After some time arguing, she served me a small bowl of curry.
I felt unhappy for receiving such service when I spent so much at the stall so I approached the boss to complain.
"However, I was even more surprised when she told me that there was nothing she could do because she has a contract with the worker.
"What kind of boss is she?"
It is a shame to witness this sort of ugly behaviour being displayed again and again aboard buses and trains, despite numerous posts in STOMP on selfish commuters who refuse to give up their seats to those who need it more.
This picture, sent in by STOMPer klayhead, clearly depicts how ungracious and inconsiderate some commuters can be.
The middle-aged woman occupying the priority seat seems as if she couldn't care less about the frail, old man who is standing next to her and holding the handle, looking rather unsteady.
This dejected STOMPer says:
"Another old man standing."
STOMPer applecake was shocked by this couple's behaviour. He had boarded the MRT train the same time as this couple, and got a seat next to the guy, however, the guy tried to push him away by opening his legs wider and wider, to get the seat for his girlfriend.
Tired of this, applecake stood up, only to be further taken aback by the lady's angry, glaring expression on her face, as if he did something wrong.
Says this STOMPer:
"The incident took place yesterday morning at Pasir Ris MRT station. The man (shown in the pic) actually tried to 'reserve' the seat which I occupied. We (me and the man) sat down at the same time.
"However, he tried to save the seat for his girlfriend who walked in behind him when I already sat on it.
"He opened his leg wider and wider to chase me away, and tried to stop me from leaning on the seat in attempt to save it for his girlfriend.
"Shocked, I stood up and saw an angry lady (shown in the pic) staring at me. She was not injured, pregnant or whatsoever.
"She continued glaring at me and took the seat which I initially sat on, without a simple thank you or smile.
"I could have gladly given up my seat if she was more polite. Annoyed, I questioned my friend who was beside me: 'How can she do that?' And the lady rudely answered: 'OF COURSE CAN LAH!'.
"I just hope they can be more polite and considerate instead of being so demanding. Very shocked to realise how they can behave like this."
STOMPer Joel says that this guy in blue refused to give up the priority seat to his pregnant wife and other commuters with children, even after he yelled at him. The frustrated STOMPer says:
"A girl and 2 guys sat on a crowded bus 36, in the yellow seats specially marked for those in need.
"My pregnant wife came on board and stood directly in front of them but they didn't offer their seats to her despite seeing her.
"Then two elderly ladies boarded and stood in front of them.
"The boy in grey looked directly at the them and didn't say a thing. Neither did the girl nor the blue-shirted guy despite seeing them.
"Incensed, I yelled at the guy in grey, 'Can you give up your seat to the auntie or not? She's standing in front of you!'
"At that he and the girl got up and let the 2 aunties sit. Only the guy in blue continued sitting.
"He did not give up his seat to my wife or another man who was carrying his toddler in the crowded bus who were standing in front of him.
"The selfish guy even let his legs jut out even more, obstructing those who were standing.
"Let's not further condone such selfish behaviour, when we do not voice out against such selfishness."

It is a shame that Singapore is becoming an increasingly ungracious society, says a tourist from Scotland, who observed that young people here fail to give up their seats to the elderly in the MRT.
The visitor, who was in town recently, noticed that this selfish attitude is a recent trend which did not exist many years ago.
It is sad to see the younger generation of Singaporeans disregard the elderly and those who are more needy, he says.
In an email, STOMPer Sad Scottish visitor says:
"My wife and I travel on the MRT when visiting your city and we have done so for many years.
"However, we have noticed that the youth of today are not so respective of their elders as those in the past were.
"They no longer pay attention to the signs asking them to consider disadvantaged passengers and will not give up their seats at any cost.
"Both visitors and locals are treated with the same disregard.
"Singapore was once a great place to visit but now it has come to the same level as most large cities around the world.
"Such a shame!
"Maybe this situation can be reversed but I fear not with the present generation."
The security at upmarket Singapore Recreation Club (SRC) is so tight, says STOMPer R, how were these supermarket trolleys sneaked in?
The STOMPer said:
"This is outrageous! This is the most expensive club around and most of its members are rich and famous.
"I am a visitor, invited to the club. When I was at the club, I saw these Carrefour supermarket trolleys in the car park. I suppose these trolleys were pushed from Suntec City to Singapore Recreation Club at Padang.
"Whenever we hear of HDB dwellers stealing supermarket trolleys, we criticise them heavily.
"These trolleys were found in the SRC basement car park. How did they get there ? The security is so tight at the Singapore Recreation Club.
"One cannot possibly walk into the SRC compound with these trolleys, because access is only via lifts situated at the lobby in the main entrance.
"Many CCTV cameras have been installed too.
"How can we make sure security - CCTV surveillance and security officers in such premises is effective?
"No wonder Carrefour is losing money and shutting down their outlets in Singapore."
In pictures circulated on the internet yesterday (Sep 25), several National Junior College (NJC) students were tagged in photographs which depicted them defaming Anglo-Chinese School (Independent).
The students were doing an ice-breaker activity in which they were demonstrating how ‘dictatorial regimes should work’.
STOMPer Baptiste wrote:
“These photos were circulated on Facebook and they were purportedly taken by their teacher who subsequently posted it.
“Some ACS(Independent) students and teachers were tagged in the photos, which goes to show that the person who uploaded it is obviously trying to spite ACS(Independent) students.
“What made it worse (other than defaming the school) is that they wrote 'Kill the principal' in one of the mahjong papers - this is clearly a sign of threat that has gone out of hand.
In an another email to STOMP, another STOMPer wrote:
“In what has been claimed to be an icebreaker activity demonstrating how ‘dictatorial regimes should work’, National Junior College students have used ACS (Independent) as a example.
“What was so peculiar/'unique' in this case are the various suggestions or actions that they have depicted in their presentation.
“These measures include calling ACS (I) ("Annoying Childish Students (Idiots)", as well as a plethora of other vividly disturbing elucidations on ‘kidnapping the principal’, ‘poisoning the water supply’ and the coup de gras, ‘killing the principal of ACS (I)’, as pictured.
“These suggestions, while merely written on paper, evoke a certain pervading sense of discomfort- how could the students of such a prestigious school have such outrageous thoughts and even suggesting and putting to paper such preposterous ideas?
“Additionally, one might note that the suggestions on the presentations also include other activities which are not involved with a dictatorial regime, instead, ‘destroying’ the ‘vault with money’, ‘CyberAC’, ‘Uniformed Groups’, and extorting money from the rich kids; just some stereotypes that ACS (I) has been associated with.
“I felt that the pictures (and the extent of the defamation elaborated in them) were extremely shocking, not to mention reflected badly on National Junior College, its students and teachers.”
TWO Chinese national, a man and a woman were convicted of theft of gaming chips from casinos on Wednesday, according to the Straits Times.
Carpenter Chen ShuChun, 39, was jailed for two weeks after he pleaded guilty to stealing two pieces of $100 chips from Mr Tan Wee Soon, 63, at Marina Bay Sands casino on June 25. A magistrate’s court heard that the victim was playing roulette when he went to sit on a chair in between another roulette table where he had also placed his bet.
Chen, a Chinese national, took the opportunity to shift Mr Tan’s $200 bet from the red colour box to the third column bet without consent. The victim found his winning bet and the $400 chips he was supposed to get missing and informed the croupier.
Meanwhile, Chen had claimed his winning of $600 from the third column bet and left. He subsequently gambled away the money. He was arrested on July 5 at the casino.
In the same court, another Chinese national Qu Lihua, 43, a study mama, was fined a total of $6,000 for theft of gaming chips worth $1,000 and $750 from two men at Resorts World Sentosa casino on May 18 and June 10 respectively.
Source: Straits Times
This car is frequently parked in the lot assigned as a walkway for pedestrians. STOMPer Wilson is incensed by the driver's pride and thoughtlessness.
Wilson said:
"I've seen this car a few times, always in the mornings, parked at the same lot.
"Does any part of the lot say it's for Lexus cars ONLY? This is a NO PARKING lot. It's a space reserved for people walking to and from the lifts.
"Just because the driver is rich, he's allowed to be inconsiderate and do this?
"I feel ashamed and disgusted!"
i bite and found one piece of glass shard in my mix veg rice.![]()
just be careful with what you eat![]()
STOMP!!!
ha, talking about Election, I just saw this lobang from another thread, the fish market doing a Election campaign this month just after government give $$$ kekeke
think they selling all their things @ $4 only tomorrow, we can go there vote ha ha

The man in the picture above was one of more than 10 photographers who tried to snap upskirt shots of five Singapore Race Queens at the Macau Grand Prix recently.
A STOMPer, who caught the 'pervert photographers' in action, said:
"More than 10 pervert photographers chose to shoot the Race Queens in a distasteful manner!
"As a precaution, the Race Queens wore shorts underneath their skirts."
The five models from Singapore, who were with Jeffrey Chung Models agency, were part of a group of international models which heated up the race tracks at the Macau Grand Prix 2009.
Shops and eateries at the ground floor of Lucky Plaza and Liat Towers, including Starbucks, were submerged under flood waters after the heavy downpour this morning (Jun 16).
STOMPer SingaporeATeam said:
"It's been raining heavily since this morning. Now, the Lucky Plaza basement is flooded.
"The water has reached up to ankle level and is affecting many shoppers and businesses.
"People are all amazed - they're just standing around watching the unexpected flooding of the area."
STOMPer Matthew said:
"The flood destroyed shops such as Starbucks, Hermes, Wendy's and Massimo Duttiat, located at the basement of Liat Towers.
"There is massive flooding at Newton Circus. A lot of cars are 'dead' in the water."
Originally posted by Terminator Hitman:Group of perverts tried to shoot upskirts of S'pore Race QueensThe man in the picture above was one of more than 10 photographers who tried to snap upskirt shots of five Singapore Race Queens at the Macau Grand Prix recently.
A STOMPer, who caught the 'pervert photographers' in action, said:
"More than 10 pervert photographers chose to shoot the Race Queens in a distasteful manner!
"As a precaution, the Race Queens wore shorts underneath their skirts."
The five models from Singapore, who were with Jeffrey Chung Models agency, were part of a group of international models which heated up the race tracks at the Macau Grand Prix 2009.
He needs bigger better camera to look more pro la.. Need like those with 10 mega pixel atleast.. so can enlarge!
Should check out the pervs with SLR's. =D
STOMPer serfly spotted dark clouds just before rain flooded Orchard Rd.
In an email, the STOMPer said:
"These were the dark clouds brewing over Singapore just before the flood at Orchard Rd happened."
glass in yer food ????that bad now???
slr camera.....hmmm
Originally posted by Terminator Hitman:glass in yer food ????that bad now???
slr camera.....hmmm
anyway, i didn't patron that stall anymore![]()
now the foods that is prepared and cooked by foreigns aliens simply had no std![]()
so, i had to make my own![]()
this is just some monor adjustment that i had made![]()
lucky for me, i spot and split it out![]()
is ok....stalls serving recycled stuff are bound to serve recycled food too.