This 9K thing... not everybody who has served NS is going to get it.
Those who ROD already have to suck thumb, because apparently it does not apply to them. So their NS is too late to be "appreciated".
For me I ORD liao, so I only get 6k cos I missed first tranche... sorry suck thumb, my time in NS, including the times in my combat vocation when I was nearly shot my a misfired round from one of my men... can't be "apperciated"... ah wells. Not that that's too much of an issue cos we can't really touch most of the money anyway, and by the time we finally do who knows what inflation would have done to it?
This is not trying to be unhappy with anything they do, but quite simply that if this is how you show "appreciation", a little package with so many strings attached that eventually leaves out a large portion of those who have gone through NS anyway... its becoming less and less of an "appreciation" and more and more of an insult. Is this how we honour the people who have done their duty to keep Singapore safe?
I am just saying. Now that the details are out, I don't know who thought up of this policy or managed the sales pitch, but it's going to cost them some support on the ground as opposed to actually building it.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:This 9K thing... not everybody who has served NS is going to get it.
Those who ROD already have to suck thumb, because apparently it does not apply to them. So their NS is too late to be "appreciated".
For me I ORD liao, so I only get 6k cos I missed first tranche... sorry suck thumb, my time in NS, including the times in my combat vocation when I was nearly shot my a misfired round from one of my men... can't be "apperciated"... ah wells. Not that that's too much of an issue cos we can't really touch most of the money anyway, and by the time we finally do who knows what inflation would have done to it?
This is not trying to be unhappy with anything they do, but quite simply that if this is how you show "appreciation", a little package with so many strings attached that eventually leaves out a large portion of those who have gone through NS anyway... its becoming less and less of an "appreciation" and more and more of an insult. Is this how we honour the people who have done their duty to keep Singapore safe?
I am just saying. Now that the details are out, I don't know who thought up of this policy or managed the sales pitch, but it's going to cost them some support on the ground as opposed to actually building it.
Like I said, it's a fiasco.
They will always set up lots of conditions to make it difficult, but at the same time, announcing that they are nice to give this $$$ to Singaporeans.
For me, I am getting nothing, not that I am complaining about it, as I am working overseas. Anyway, $9k is nothing to me, just that I find it pretty insulting to us NSMen.
Originally posted by soul_rage:
Like I said, it's a fiasco.They will always set up lots of conditions to make it difficult, but at the same time, announcing that they are nice to give this $$$ to Singaporeans.
For me, I am getting nothing, not that I am complaining about it, as I am working overseas. Anyway, $9k is nothing to me, just that I find it pretty insulting to us NSMen.
We got played out by our PM ![]()
Made everyone's hopes so high, then now dash all down.
I guess PAP is trying to push votes away for their next election?
Like i said by now he should know if he wants to come up with a national policies sometime fairness is equally important.
but i think he was only targeting the 20% within the 80%......than there are those at the far end of the 20% range. For them it is only numbers.
Originally posted by eagle:We got played out by our PM
Rather it's more like old habits die hard.
It's just like they want to encourage creativity but they just simply cannot relinquish control. It's almost like an addiction.
Like a drug addict who wants to break the habit but cannot simply coz it has become an addiction.
Am pretty sure the PAP wanted to buy votes using this move, but old habits die hard, and the implementation has screwed up their initial intentions.
Originally posted by soul_rage:Rather it's more like old habits die hard.
It's just like they want to encourage creativity but they just simply cannot relinquish control. It's almost like an addiction.
Like a drug addict who wants to break the habit but cannot simply coz it has become an addiction.
Am pretty sure the PAP wanted to buy votes using this move, but old habits die hard, and the implementation has screwed up their initial intentions.
Now everyone is unhappy.
Vested interest as such cannot let go.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Now everyone is unhappy.
Master stroke ![]()
Originally posted by soul_rage:
Like I said, it's a fiasco.They will always set up lots of conditions to make it difficult, but at the same time, announcing that they are nice to give this $$$ to Singaporeans.
What China people think about Singapore
Guangzhou Tour Guide: Singaporeans very lucky, government very rich, every year give you all money (GST credits).
Guilin Shop Owner: You from Singapore ah, very rich country, you must be very rich.
These are what China people think we are.
Originally posted by Junyang700:What China people think about Singapore
Guangzhou Tour Guide: Singaporeans very lucky, government very rich, every year give you all money (GST credits).
Guilin Shop Owner: You from Singapore ah, very rich country, you must be very rich.
You asking China people stuck in China mah....
Have you tried asking China people OUTSIDE of China what they think of Singaporeans in Singapore?
I will not quote examples.... save the embaressment.
Kind Regards
Genie
Originally posted by Genie99a:
You asking China people stuck in China mah....
Have you tried asking China people OUTSIDE of China what they think of Singaporeans in Singapore?
I will not quote examples.... save the embaressment.
Kind Regards
Genie
That is the first step as in how they ended up in Singapore.... They think Singapore is made of GOLD.
Originally posted by Junyang700:That is the first step as in how they ended up in Singapore.... They think Singapore is made of GOLD.
They probably think anything outside of China is gold too.
Kind Regards
Genie
Originally posted by eagle:We got played out by our PM
Which political party will be insane to push away its supporters' votes?
Maybe few days before election, PAP will announces that ALL NSmen and former NSmen will get cash payouts of $10k. ![]()
NS payout is bullshit crap la. talk about rewards, how about those who had serve and completed. If want to give, give all. dont always say no one left out but end up each policy definitely a group will be left out!. moreover, give CPF is like incense money, can see cannot use for immediate needs. maybe die already still cannot use.
foreigners to support singapore ageing populations? as far as i like those coffe tiam workers dont pay tax. construction workers dont pay tax. what he talking about?
Make sure you had enough space for dormitory la near area of major demand for foreigner workers to avoid accident pertaining to lorry ferrying passsengers( third world standard), and causing major traffic jam.
education system? after Ng eng hen come to MOE, he make so dramatic changes to educations system not only the children are confuse, i am confuse, the employers are confuse because they do not know what are they taught in school.
What China people think about Singapore
why are we worrying about what china ppl thinks? are we on the platform?
we should be listening what Swiss, Scandanavian country thinks. cause we are possiblt the same standards.
Originally posted by reyes:why are we worrying about what china ppl thinks? are we on the platform?
we should be listening what Swiss, Scandanavian country thinks. cause we are possiblt the same standards.
Sg is swiss, scandinavian standard oredi meh?
The pay still HK standard...sala even lower than HK standard.
Kind Regards
Genie
Originally posted by tranquilice:
Which political party will be insane to push away its supporters' votes?Maybe few days before election, PAP will announces that ALL NSmen and former NSmen will get cash payouts of $10k.
Then after election, will say only if you stay in 3-rm HDB flat and below, and above 40 yrs old, and need to apply for it by filling up some forms at your nearest RC which will take another 3 months to process. After which pay out over the next 20 years.
Originally posted by reyes:NS payout is bullshit crap la. talk about rewards, how about those who had serve and completed. If want to give, give all. dont always say no one left out but end up each policy definitely a group will be left out!. moreover, give CPF is like incense money, can see cannot use for immediate needs. maybe die already still cannot use.
foreigners to support singapore ageing populations? as far as i like those coffe tiam workers dont pay tax. construction workers dont pay tax. what he talking about?
Make sure you had enough space for dormitory la near area of major demand for foreigner workers to avoid accident pertaining to lorry ferrying passsengers( third world standard), and causing major traffic jam.
education system? after Ng eng hen come to MOE, he make so dramatic changes to educations system not only the children are confuse, i am confuse, the employers are confuse because they do not know what are they taught in school.
Ya lor, how about those wives and girlfrens of NSmen, their men go NS, we also very lonely and have to take the role of men to take care of the house...why aren't we recognised!!!
Ng, that big Hen is a failure at MOM and now at MOE, my goodness, and alway said the wrong thing, what chinese is not important..damn, he should be sacked. But then, PAP dun sack Minister one hor, very malu for them.
Which political party will be insane to push away its supporters' votes?Maybe few days before election, PAP will announces that ALL NSmen and former NSmen will get cash payouts of $10k.
why, not, most Male MPs and Ministers are also former NSmen, same goes to our PM, former General ok, General should get more hor...only MM get nothing
Originally posted by eagle:Then after election, will say only if you stay in 3-rm HDB flat and below, and above 40 yrs old, and need to apply for it by filling up some forms at your nearest RC which will take another 3 months to process. After which pay out over the next 20 years.
This shows that government ang pow is not easy to get. Dunno why so many dafter still vote for them?
Originally posted by angel7030:
why, not, most Male MPs and Ministers are also former NSmen, same goes to our PM, former General ok, General should get more hor...only MM get nothing
MM can still get it. His son can pass the money to him.
Originally posted by Genie99a:
Sg is swiss, scandinavian standard oredi meh?
The pay still HK standard...sala even lower than HK standard.
Kind Regards
Genie
The price level is Nordic country standard, but the wage level still hovering above 3rd world standard. ![]()
Elections most likely not this year, cause PM has to wait for policy (eg HDB) changes to take effect, which is 3-6 months, before he announce to Singaporeans that he has managed to control the price of your HDB flat. ![]()
You will also notice that MRTs are getting less crowded because they have increased the train frequency. All this done in the preparation for GE. ![]()
You could ask yourselves this, they could have increased the MRT frequency for the past few years. Why have they not done so? ![]()
Originally posted by βÎτά:
Elections most likely not this year, cause PM has to wait for policy (eg HDB) changes to take effect, which is 3-6 months, before he announce to Singaporeans that he has managed to control the price of your HDB flat.
You will also notice that MRTs are getting less crowded because they have increased the train frequency. All this done in the preparation for GE.
You could ask yourselves this, they could have increased the MRT frequency for the past few years. Why have they not done so?
New Initiatives to Increase Rail Capacity
LTA just announces the news today. Expect more good news to come. ![]()
New Initiatives to Increase Rail Capacity
LTA just announces the news today. Expect more good news to come.
expected.