Heh heh, kinda guessed that u wont be confused with that fact, just wanted to cash in on your mistake, that's all :-> ... still, i place my vote for the Typhoon!! Well, we have a LOOONG wait to 2004 to see who's choice fits Singapore's needs more...Originally posted by rsafpage:Yup! I'm wrong, meant to say AMSAR instead of CAPTOR for Rafale radar. If, by your reasoning, then there must be something lacking in the CAPTOR too, since the Eurofighter consprtium aren't even bothering to upgrade the CAPTOR and choosing AMSAR instead. Personally, I feel that replacing CAPTOR of RBE2 doesn't mean theres something wrong, just that AMSAR represents an improvement over current radar technology.
M88-3 is available for export Rafales now, while EJ230 is only available for Typhoon at 2010 *at the earliest*. Singapores new fighter is expected to be chosen by next year to 2004, with deliveries 2-3 years from order date...
I see your point. True, russians are one of the world's best producers of AD systems in the world, eg. ZSU-23-4.Originally posted by rsafpage:During Operation Deliberate Force(1995), it was believed that the missile which shot down a French AF Mirage 2000D over Eastern Bosnia was a SA-18 "Grouse"(Igla-E) MANPADS, the very type used by Singapore.
Russian SAM designs(in fact all ground based AD systems) were borne out of battlefield experience(Vietnam, Yom Kippur War etc.). Stinger itself is long in the tooth, and sad to say, other than in the hands of the tribesmen from Afghanistan, US AD systems havn't had *that much* combat experience. I would get everything else from the West, but stick with the Russians for AD systems.
[This message has been edited by Thunderbird (edited 27 August 2001).]
Operations. The U.S. Navy uses the Aegis defense system on its cruisers and destroyers throughout the world, including the Arabian Gulf and Asia Pacific region. The system has already been sold or authorized for sale to Japan and Singapore.
haiz.....we singaporeans are mature ppl...n dun go around swearing at tinks we dun noe...like u....heck...ur chief of army has nuttin actually...u can ask him this..."does the malaysian army haf tanks?" he will answer.."no we dun..we only haf armoured recon vehicle"u ask ur chief of navy.."do we haf submarines?" he will answer.."no we dun coz we cant afford it..our ringgit value is too weak"...u ask ur chief of air force.."do we haf advanced equipments.."he will answer.."yes we haf..the F/18 hornets..but we only haf abt less den 30..singapore haf 3 2 4 times tt amount of advanced fighters"...u get wad i mean...den u ask ur minister of defence...tt botak guy.."do we haf enuff weapons."he will sae.."no we dun..coz we spent 2 much money on trying 2 stop terrorism.." little kid..how old are u? if u can b a chief of defence force at the age of 39...i can sae nuttin..but a sergeant at 39? i'll die...of luffter...Originally posted by RMN-Best:ThatÂ’s why I always tell my man that u guyz Singaporean are all suckÂ…Â… who was tht mother fucker that told u we need ur help if we were to engage a war with other nations??? Get fuck! We Malaysian can defend ourselfÂ… depend on u bunch of fool??? Young fucker also can become chief of army??? U guyz Singaporean really good in entertain usÂ…Â… most of ur stupid officer was so youngÂ…. What do they know abt war??? Get fuckÂ…. Tell u what, for what we knowÂ… ur chief of army even beg us to provide necessary assistance and hope to gain more experience from our forcesÂ…. so u all sucker whom donÂ’t know anythings pls shut up and get fuck Â…Â…Â…..
hey! What's this kid doing here. Only know how to shout a whole lot of empty noise w/o any substances. If u like to confront, u better think of some better words to say..don't behave like a naive kid who go around making stupid noise.Originally posted by RMN-Best:ThatÂ’s why I always tell my man that u guyz Singaporean are all suckÂ…Â… who was tht mother fucker that told u we need ur help if we were to engage a war with other nations??? Get fuck! We Malaysian can defend ourselfÂ… depend on u bunch of fool??? Young fucker also can become chief of army??? U guyz Singaporean really good in entertain usÂ…Â… most of ur stupid officer was so youngÂ…. What do they know abt war??? Get fuckÂ…. Tell u what, for what we knowÂ… ur chief of army even beg us to provide necessary assistance and hope to gain more experience from our forcesÂ…. so u all sucker whom donÂ’t know anythings pls shut up and get fuck Â…Â…Â…..
Who the hell is this person. Juz jealous that S'pore has better talent even though we are that much younger, better than those who cling on to power even when they are like 70. This page was mentioned to me by my friend, so I thought I would just come on and see. And to see this, humph.Originally posted by RMN-Best:ThatÂ’s why I always tell my man that u guyz Singaporean are all suckÂ…Â… who was tht mother fucker that told u we need ur help if we were to engage a war with other nations??? Get fuck! We Malaysian can defend ourselfÂ… depend on u bunch of fool??? Young fucker also can become chief of army??? U guyz Singaporean really good in entertain usÂ…Â… most of ur stupid officer was so youngÂ…. What do they know abt war??? Get fuckÂ…. Tell u what, for what we knowÂ… ur chief of army even beg us to provide necessary assistance and hope to gain more experience from our forcesÂ…. so u all sucker whom donÂ’t know anythings pls shut up and get fuck Â…Â…Â…..
they dont have super hornet.. just the old hornet. super hornet not in market yet.Originally posted by YourFather:Yo RMN-BEST!! Heard Malaysia getting the SU30MKM and Super Hornet...Finally something to be proud of eh? Don't worry, YourFather also proud for you... Aiyah, wait, now Asian Economic crisis leh, you got money to buy those aircraft or not??? Need money dun worry, ask nicely, we can lend you some. Really need money, you can mortgage Malaysia to us, we got 120 billion dollars to lend you. just ask very nicely. Usually we dun accept lousy stuff, your case, we make exception. Trust me, we very kind to third world country one.
The countries in the region do not have major sealift ability to move the large amount of troops you mentioned.Originally posted by LexZEUS:1. From ground, imagine if 5% of indonesian people or 1% of Mainland (China) cross the ocean and surround you at once. Even though SG will win at early time, but eventually it will loose. Btw 5% of Indonesian people is about 10,000,000, and 1% of mainland (China) is about 10,000,000 (if we assume China has 1,000,000,000 but I think, now is bigger)
Maybe not crossing the ocean, but using paratroopers also may endangered SG.
Singapore's troop number is very limited, Singapore will depend on other country like Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunai, etc.
2. All vital/military/public facility in SG is grouped in one island, that is the worst condition. Not like Malaysia or Indonesia which has so many powerplant, Airport, etc. So wisely, SG should protect the Power Plan for all cost, because, without it, doom day ...
If SG want to survive at war, SG should see how Israel survive. Israel is *always* supported by US, simply because US's major religion is Christian and they beleive if they war against Israel, God will curse them.
US also *always* support British since they know their origin is from that country.
Let's hope British support SG, then US will support SG as well, then US's Cruiser will be major key.
As for troop number? Surprise! We are actually able to field EVEN MORE soldiers than Malaysia. Our armed forces has 350 000 personnel, compared to Malaysia's 145 000. Granted most of our soldiers are NSmen, but remember: their personnel are made up mostly of people who are, to put it nicely, "got brawn less brain" type, whereas ours include graduates in the ranks.
I believe your info come from a certain book. Those numbers are estimates the author made. No military will ever reveal the actual amount of troops they have, or their capabilities.
And I think their future soldiers may be too lazy to even fight, provided they haf a credible enuff force to whack others by that time. Even Mathair himself said that Malays are too lazy. Lazy pigs.
IF there is anything that nuclear bomb has prove... its that... with advance technology... large and populous nations like CHina and the other superpowers are becoming more and more vulnerable like a small nation.Originally posted by eagle:Tha is precisely why Singapore is engaging with economic policies with China, to build ties. As u said, 1% of China's troops is about 10,000, if they come over to assist instead of attacking, we will have enough numbers.
SAF believe in being swift and decisive. What we want to make Singapore into is not an imprenetrable fortress, but a poisonous sting, such that if a country were to attack Singapore, they will suffer much more damage than we do, and eventually lose out to others, which I don't think so in such a competitive and globalised world, a rational head will want to do.
Furthermore, about the atomic bomb, why would a country like China want to use on us? We are too small to be worth being attacked by a nuclear bomb. Malaysia, Indonesia and even Thailand will complain if a nuclear bomb was launched on us. Don't u think that the effects of the nuclear bomb will spread out?
Singapore has a lot of foreign investments within, and its own investments abroad. If Singapore were to be destroyed in a night, then the attacker would have been declaring a war with the whole world! Not only would they have lost billions of dollars, some of their citizens would have perished!
Originally posted by Thunderbird:[QUOTE] [b]As for troop number? Surprise! We are actually able to field EVEN MORE soldiers than Malaysia. Our armed forces has 350 000 personnel, compared to Malaysia's 145 000. Granted most of our soldiers are NSmen, but remember: their personnel are made up mostly of people who are, to put it nicely, "got brawn less brain" type, whereas ours include graduates in the ranks.
I believe your info come from a certain book. Those numbers are estimates the author made. No military will ever reveal the actual amount of troops they have, or their capabilities.
And I think their future soldiers may be too lazy to even fight, provided they haf a credible enuff force to whack others by that time. Even Mathair himself said that Malays are too lazy. Lazy pigs.
malaysia dont have the numbers....Originally posted by eagle:I think the most modern method of warfare may not be missiles as that will most probably incur the wrath of other nations. The most potent method may be to use cyber warfare. Even China has its own team to counter and even counterattack. A well planned cyber attack can bring a country's economy to its knees.
And about missles from US, China or Russia, I think it is highly implausible in the near future. China and US has a lot of good ties with us. However, I agree that we need to take preliminary action in case something unexpected crops up, like the mis-targetting of the China's embassy.
Malaysia may be a little backward in capability, but they have the numbers if they are really bent on attacking us. About China and Indonesia, I mean, there is no link from land. And they don't have the capability to fetch that many at the same time, and I have trust in RSAF to defend against any air attack.
What the hell, I thought we were just talking about neighbouring countries at first, why bring in China and US? China is not so near either.