On the contrary, I think your arguments are very "surface" and shallow.Originally posted by Orcishwarrior:Singapore has a long standing friendship will the People republic of china since Mr Lee our SM visited china quite often during his early political era.china deng xiaopin was a friend to LKY.
China has been send uni student by the thousands to singapore annually to gain knowledge about singapore city management.etc
If we are not close 2 china then y china propose to allow singapore military to train in hainan island,the primary motive is to draw singapore's contract with taiwan,secondarily because they treated us as brother not as enemy,in some extend they trust us cos of our continuously assisting them in their develop particularly in SUZHOU
without us ..dun except SUZHOUS to be a well developed provinces
of china which the Central governement took pride in
regarding Tiananmen incident i agree it is cruel and inhuman.........and severe violation of human right BUT imagine what will be the out come if china CG give in......SHE will became a second former soviet Union her citizens will be a frequently starting riots over minor problem just like the S.korea.Pal dun just touch on the surface dig deep into it dun just make conclusion by seeing externally
Actually... if anyone on the street or in my company ask me IF SAF can defend singapore... i also say no one...Originally posted by EXCO:I agree completely with laser51088. What he posted is all "textbook" stuff. Most Singaporeans do not have faith in the defence of the country, just pick anyone off the streets and ask, the reply will most probably be "Cannot lah! we so small! attacker can makan us in a day!".
On the other hand, it will be no good if the people are overly confident in our armed forces, may lead to conflicts with other countries easily. The omportant thing is to strike a good balance between knowledge of our capabilities and confidence of our forces to hold off agressors.
Morale is not something u can measure accurately in peacetime... of course you feel sian and pissed off when u get called up for reservist... especially if your company is in the process of downsizing =P or if there's a promotion on the way and they're evaluating YOU... lets be frank... it is very trying on our patience under the best of circumstances...Originally posted by laser51088:... It also mentions the fragility of Singapore's morale.
patheticOriginally posted by Joe Black:Actually, contrary to the popular beliefs, Singapore govt, Snr Prime Minister Lee, is known to see China as a "strategic opponent", and thus the Sg govt are constantly engaging the US, and having the US to maintain their presence in SEA and offer Sg as a logistic base for the US Navy (darn, if only our land size is bigger, you might see a whole US AF base here), etc. Sg sees China as a economic partner only and that is just that. Politically and militarily, China is not compatible with Sg. There is no direct threat to Sg from China but neither any political benefits. If Sg is under foreign attack, guess who would come to our rescue? China or the US? It most likely be US, Australia and Britan.
Yes, most of us are yellow in color and we do have a closer enthic and blood relationship with the Chinese, but do remember this, the Chinese govt did not blink an eye when they rolled their tank in Tian an meng square, why would one think they care about Singapore at all.
A domocratic chinese govt might be different, but for the time being, we know that the communist govt doesn't care less if it has to sacrifices 100 million or more population (on its side alone, btw, statistically, it doesn't even mean much to its 1.5 billion population) just to take over Taiwan. For now, I will say, less make friends with them but never be close. I would rather have US as my friend.
dont worry lah.... if we are gonna go to war... rest assured we will recall all our planes... we can actually use the recalling of all our oversea planes as a final warning to our enemy that war is coming... if they refuse to see things... our way lah.....Originally posted by bigballs11:I can't help notice half of our strike arsenal is stationed at any one time in some overseas bases, e.g.
Fighters/Copters in US, Australia, Thailand, France, Taiwan
Naval in Sweden, France
Tanks in Brunei, Taiwan, Australia, SA
Missile stockpile in US, Israel
With only half strength, in time of crisis, will there be enough LSTs to ship all them back in time![]()
Well, true. The recall of our overseas forces will send an extremely strong signal. The heavier equipment may take longer to arrive, but the planes will arrive in few days.
and even if they managed to hit us somehow... we still have half the air power which is still larger then their entire air force PLUS our ground base SAMs to help hold the line.....
I do not think tank is a major issue in land war la, especially with some crappy polish PT-90 with reactive armour dressing (basically a tank covered with explosive). We currently have countermeasures against even the most hard shell iron clad. We do have assembly plant to manufacture these tandam warhead AT weapon locally. (the only limitation is they are "haram" device, no offence)Originally posted by CX:I keep saying the same thing! wars are not won entirely over the air!
u need grunts to occupy the grounds the air clears and SG seems VERY tank-light at the moment... wish there was a more re-assuring armoured capability...
Actually the Barak Point Defence Missile will be the best weapon for such scenario. We do have assembly plant to manufacture such weapon locally, not to mention the technical know-how to improve the system. In the pipeline there is plan to built a land based Barak lanuch system on 3 tonners and further development of Barak ER (Extended Range) to overcome the 10km range limitations and Super Barak to counter supersonic cruise missileOriginally posted by Orcishwarrior:Singapore "delta project" frigates consist of Aster 15 missiles which has a range of 30 km that is a confirm.I think singapore is reasonably safe from air attack as the defense shield covers most part of singapore including territorial water.I assure u that the enemy airforce will suffer a heavy causlties if they have any intention to fly that plane over our land..........anyway the airforce is our true guardian.Billions has been invested into the airforce
Huh? Where did you get the info about Sg locally assemble the Barak. Must have gotten a real good deal with IAI then. I thought ST Aero and IAI relationship were sour not too long ago. Furthermore, Sg also has the license to locally assemble SA-19 Igla. I think the military planners are getting really smart huh! I would really like to see the following license built:Originally posted by bigballs11:Actually the Barak Point Defence Missile will be the best weapon for such scenario. We do have assembly plant to manufacture such weapon locally, not to mention the technical know-how to improve the system. In the pipeline there is plan to built a land based Barak lanuch system on 3 tonners and further development of Barak ER (Extended Range) to overcome the 10km range limitations and Super Barak to counter supersonic cruise missile![]()
Cool... perhaps Singapore should license build Python 4 and Mistral. Singapore would then be quite self sufficient in WVR Air to Air missiles and Manpad SAMs.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Spike and barak is lisence built.Saw it in the asian aerospace 2002
Israel missiles are designed by the Rafael (Spike, Barak, Python etc). In fact Spike is a join venture pet project between Rafael and Singapore, Barak project is funded by Singapore and Chile. This sort of win-win venture not only help cash stripped Israel fund new weapon development and provide a secure overseas plant to manufacture the goods for them. We also gain the technical know how to further develop/upgrade the weapon plus cut down development cost.Originally posted by Joe Black:Cool... perhaps Singapore should license build Python 4 and Mistral. Singapore would then be quite self sufficient in WVR Air to Air missiles and Manpad SAMs.
BTW, I thought IAI has already come up with a land-based version of Barak. Is SADA going to replace the Rapiers with that?
Cool man, thanks for your input... it is always very good to know that DSTA, DSO and ST involved in some really good stuffs like that.Originally posted by bigballs11:Israel missiles are designed by the Rafael (Spike, Barak, Python etc). In fact Spike is a join venture pet project between Rafael and Singapore, Barak project is funded by Singapore and Chile. This sort of win-win venture not only help cash stripped Israel fund new weapon development and provide a secure overseas plant to manufacture the goods for them. We also gain the technical know how to further develop/upgrade the weapon plus cut down development cost.
Some project in the pipeline (from my spy network):
Barak land based point defence missile system(our own integrated missile defence system), I believe it not only replace the Rapier but add in new capabilities like all weather anti missile/aircraft, narrow band directional radar tracking/guidance system against radar locking ASM...bla bla bla
NT-D integration to Apache/copters, provide same capabilities like Hellfire 2 in case we run out of the 200 shots in store.
Heard barak can also easily modified to provide some kind of point defence SSM capabilities (aka terrorist sampan speedboat?!?).
Originally posted by Joe Black:Cool man, thanks for your input... it is always very good to know that DSTA, DSO and ST involved in some really good stuffs like that.
BTW, does anyone know what happens to Rafael? are they being bought over by some companies or what. Their website is down...
www.rafael.co.il
Another question I've got is that why isn't Singapore building its own PGM? Why is RSAF relying solely on the american's LGBs (GBU-10 and GBU-12)?
Israel produces some very good PGMs like Popeye, Griffin and ALGB, perhaps ST can license build these?