I made reference to Asian Financial Crisis to prove two points:Originally posted by stupidissmart:ehh... i am talking about the asean fiancial crisis, not generally as a whole. U talk about singapore suffering from the asia crisis and attribute it to its political system. However indonesia and phillipines, being more democratic also suffer from the asia fiancial crisis as well. IMO, the problems we r facing now will likely be the same even if we r a democractic nation
The Disadvantages of autocracy are many. In the context of Asian Financial Crisis and the inabilities of autocrats to solve persistent problems affecting the people, it is more than clear that autocracy does not have any particular effective answers to the many problems created - high costs, divisiveness and loss of economic competitiveness of the domestic sector of economyI look at the above statement again and find tat it still meant tat u blame the gov for us having the asian fiancial crisis when it is a problem tat affect the whole region. Even countries tat were more democratic were affected as well. In short, everything bad tat had happened to us, such as sharper competition (budget airlines, malaysia port, opening up of china) is probably something tat the gov had done wrong. However IMO, being democratic doesn't really mean tat all these problems will dissappear. U can say more options will be explored when it is fully democratic, however other issues such as being unable to make painful changes will still be there. If u look at korea of indonesia, making changes such as cutting the oil subsidies will result in a massive strike which force the gov to make bad decisions tat only help a small minority group and hurt the interest of the comon good. If u see in the case of europe, the problem of retirement and healthcare is forcing the gov to run a budget deficit.
Autocracy or Individualism was exposed as the root cause of malpractices which finally resulted in the debacle of whole financial system.how has tat cause the debacle of whole financial system ?
In democracies, things may happen very fast at all levels. People will get their businesses managed with competitiveness given the larger options and choices available.Tis is red tape and it probably had nothing to do with the political system a country is in. A democractic country never meant tat it will cut down on paper work or procedure.
Remember the claim for autocratic success may be nothing more than the sheer ability to collect S$600,000 - S$800,000 per household over the working lifeI am interested to know about the other nations as well. I don't really think tat some countries in europe get less tax compared with singapore.
What is very clear over and above all these larger issue is the process of governance. Autocracy is unaccountable and liable to abuses of all kindsdemocracy meant tat the power of the gov becomes restricted. The direction of its governance is only for short term benefits which will meant overspending, making decisions tat help the minority while disturbing the common good and any changes will be delayed because sometimes opposition opposes just for the sake of opposing.
Comparisons with worse examples like Philippines, Indonesia - or selection comparison - is part of the constant justifications to entrench in autocratic or one-party ruleBut then again tis shows tat democracy is not a miracle pill as one described it to be. It is another system tat has equal questionable weaknesses as a singapore system. If democracy is so good, then we will expect india to be economically more powerful than china. Why does china appears to be leading ? IMHO, if india is ruled with a stricter hand like in china, they may very well be better than now
My reference to Asian Financial crisis - not tantamount to blaming the existing system for such crisis. However, as was well known, Singapore has been presenting itself as a system based on talents and leadership, Confucianism and Asian Values were upheld during the whole period prior to this Crisis. Did the so-called talents, leadership and values so upheld prove its mettle to solve the kinds of problems exposed by this crisis. Read all the news and analyses on the Asian Crisis again. It is more than clear that Asian Financial has exposed the fallacy that leadership or talents of the Asian or Confucian kind will solve such problems like corruptions, collusions, and nepotism that were attributable to debacle of the whole financial system in this crisis. Did I say that leaderships or talents had caused the crisis? I only say as far as I can see from the above-stated post the acclaimed leaderships and talents or values were not sufficient or able to solve such problems. The Western democratic countries not led by so-called leaderships, talents and values at that time were largely spared from the crisis. But you preferred to refer to Indonesia, Philippines and India as representative of democracies and try to draw the illogical conclusion that therefore democracies were no answers to such problems as unvealed by the crisis.If u know, it is not called asian fiancial crisis for nothing. Which countries in asia is spared ? If u r talking about countries from america or europe, then it is not fair sine they r not in asia in the first place. In tat case I can blame the Great Depression of america to arises from their democractic political system as well. If u blame the so called talents, leadership and values to cause the problem of the asia fiancial crisis to singapore, another can easily used the democratic system from these other countries as a scapegoat as well.
There is a constant defence of autocracy without establishing it as a viable and sustenable political system. If autocracy has really and genuinely succeeded on its creativity and economic prowess from unleashing of collective synergy of its people, let us hear more of such creativity or talents. If there is no solutions of any kind to take the economic to a higher level of competitiveness except to continue with its existing pro-foreign and tax-and-recover governance, then there is not much talents or leaderships.Well, have u establish tat democracy will really and genuinely succeeded in unleashing the collective synergy of its people ? U also do the same thing by comparing with a superior country such as america as well. If we want to compare with superior countries as some form of evidence, then we should also compare with the weaker countries as well. Does indonesia appears to be harvesting from the collective synergy of its people or in fact seperate the people more ?
May be you want to say that it is capable of making quicker or right decisions. Has indeed autocracy succeeded on such qualities or capabilitiesi find tat the response of the gov is pretty quick. The cost of PSA had cut down significantly when there is a new challenger to the market. The actions for SARs and bird flu response is considerably fast as well. It has done so well tat it had received praises from UN and a model to follow from other SARs affected countries.
For past many years now, people under autocracy have not witnessed any extraordinary leadership abilities as acclaimed to take the nation to the next higher level of competitiveness except to continue with its past non-welfarism, pro-foreign and tax-and-recover governance, which have been causing many problems as posted in the foregoingThen again, does america come out with any extraordinary leadership recently ? It is also doing almost the same policies as it was years ago. The difference is singapore is small, vulnerable and in an unstable region. They have to keep changing to keep up with competition. America is big, powerful and other nations depend on him for survival. He just have to maintain his status. U can't compare these 2 together. The only policy tat america made is how much tax to cut or how much interest rate is fixed. Tat is about it.
It is now realized that some past policies were errors of judgments on the part of autocratic leaders which for years the people were unable to change. The lack of entrepreneurs is a far more serious problem as compared with possible lack of scholars. So is meritocracy as a policy faring well? Is a system of education emphasising on academic results or grades outliving its practical purpose or objectivesThe response of the education is based on the current need from our economics. At tat period of time it made sense to have more engineers and scientist, therefore their focus on academic result. If we do not have enough engineers, wat do u suggest we do ? I don't suppose tat even if singapore had a much stronger opposition party, the problem will dissappear since it is a rational decision though it may be based on too much assumptions. U can say they r errors on the leaders part, but nevertheless being democractic doesn't promise such mistakes will never be made. Can America promise tat it will never make any wrong decisions in its policies ? IMo attacking iraq is a wrong decision tat take the toll on its budget. Does being democractic help ?
While it is admitted that as I have said many times that while Singapore did require the services of scholars and meritocrats in certain areas of public service, whole-scaled or one-tracked auto-piloting of meritocracy has led to marginalization or even discrimination against masses' participation in all fields of practical innovations in order to re-position our economic competitiveness.Originally posted by stupidissmart:The response of the education is based on the current need from our economics. At tat period of time it made sense to have more engineers and scientist, therefore their focus on academic result. If we do not have enough engineers, wat do u suggest we do ? I don't suppose tat even if singapore had a much stronger opposition party, the problem will dissappear since it is a rational decision though it may be based on too much assumptions. U can say they r errors on the leaders part, but nevertheless being democractic doesn't promise such mistakes will never be made. Can America promise tat it will never make any wrong decisions in its policies ? IMo attacking iraq is a wrong decision tat take the toll on its budget. Does being democractic help ?
But here you are insisting that such autocratic one-tracked solutions to many problems are not mistakes or errors of judgment even if they have been perpetrated past the age of usefulness as can be seen from your statement: "at that period it made sense to have more engineers..". Your equation of meritocrats to engineers is also arbitrary to serve your argument.U r saying tat that for autocratic system, once someone decided on some big policy it will be auto piloted till problems occured. Does being democractic solve tat problem ? Aren't they working similarly to an autocracy system, meaning "if it aren't spoilt don't fix it". If being democractic is tat successful, then the 911 incident will not occured at all isn't it ? America should have increase the level of security for passengers in planes before tat incident occurs and the incidents will never happened. Why cry over spilt milk and start to implement a series of security measures only after the damage had been done. Under a democractic system, we can still see them suffering from cases of mad cow dieseases and lost of profits as well too. So it must be the fault of the political system tat such misfortunate incidents occurs ? When it comes to problems, having a singapore system or having a democractic system will not ensure anyone of not committing these mistakes.
Herein lies the problem with the autocratic system - once someone decided on some big policy, it will be auto-piloted till problems occured depriving all of the vibrancy made possible in open and accountable society under democracy to meet fast changes. It is hoped that the next generation will not have to suffer from same mistakes or errors of judgment again and leaders' midjudgments can be corrected in time to prevent losses of economic competitiveness by the whole domestic sector of the economy
Originally posted by stupidissmart:QUOTE:U r saying tat that for autocratic system, once someone decided on some big policy it will be auto piloted till problems occured. Does being democractic solve tat problem ? UNQUOTE
REPLY: Democracy does not auto-pilot any particular policies or actions at all. Just look at how the American democratic government runs the system. Every policy or action like the appointment of Secretaries of State is subjected to scrutiny. Even the President can be impeached if he should make a mistake.
Now compare that kind of accountable governance with the way our government decides on its education policy favoring the EM1, tax-and-recover system of charging fees and service, double charging on lands and triple charging on vehicles or pro-foreign investment or employment polcies.
These policies have caused many problems. Can anyone change these past policies? Even the mother Tongue CL1 University admission policy was so extreme that it led to a big brain drain for some years could not be changed until recently when it was realized that it has caused serious problems. It was only after 30 years that a mistake or error of judgment of such import is admitted. This is the disadvantage of autocracy. No body can change anything as the system itself does not allow changes.
QUOTE: "Aren't they working similarly to an autocracy system, meaning "if it aren't spoilt don't fix it". If being democractic is tat successful, then the 911 incident will not occured at all isn't it ? America should have increase the level of security for passengers in planes before tat incident occurs and the incidents will never happened. Why cry over spilt milk and start to implement a series of security measures only after the damage had been done. Under a democractic system, we can still see them suffering from cases of mad cow dieseases and lost of profits as well too. So it must be the fault of the political system tat such misfortunate incidents occurs ? When it comes to problems, having a singapore system or having a democractic system will not ensure anyone of not committing these mistakes. UNQUOTE
REPLY:I agree that any systems will have its own problems. You can always give more examples like 9/11 or others to say that democracy has its fair share of problems.
The point we are arguing here is whether Autocracy has succeeded in Singapore or whether it is a good poliitcal system to emulate.
Instead of objectively answering to the disadvantes under autoracy as pointed out such as "auto-piloting of the ideas of one man or a few leaders is undesirable to competitiveness or vibrancy of an economy", you had preferred to ditch the argument by claiming that Indonesia or Philippines as democracy have failed or American democracy has many problems too.
Let us be objective. If you keep insisting that autocracy is superior or has its many advantages you must be able to support your arguments. I have shown you that it has too many disadvantages by real examples, but you went off at a tangent to point out that democracy has many problems too.
May be some beneficial dictatorship is better than some democracies. There is always an exception in any situation or proposition. However you refuse to see the disadvantages under autocracy such as lack of choice or options. You would quickly tell me that democracies failed in certain countries. I am not saying that democracies are working wonderfully everywhere.
I have said to protagonists of autocracy that democracy is an established and proven political system which has succesfully evolved over the ages and today it is the system that most of the people around the world is aspiring to. What can you say of autocracy.
Can autocracy outperforme democracy as a political system as democracy has shown over the ages. Even non-democratic Asian countries are emulating democracy. However you did not want to acknowledge the success of democracy but prefer to go out of the line of argument to make all kinds of claims to support autocracy.
QUOTE:BTW I had read tidal waves earlier replies in the first few pages of this thread and they do make a lot of sense. Why r u so eager to pursue democracy ? Is tat the only workable political system ? Is all our problems caused by our political system and not because we r singapore, a small island with no resources in an age of increasing competition ?UNQUOTE
I will only say that Tidal Wave has advanced many good points about autocracy. I have replied him substantially. I would prefer to let him speak for himself than to go into the merits or demerits as you see it. As regards my posting on democracy, you can say that I have a conviction that democracy is a more workable and reliable system of governance despite that disadvantages of contentiousness under bipartisanism or political scrutiny needed to make certain changes. In the long run, it will help the people to attain their aspirations. Not many autocracies can claim the abilities to unleash collective creativity of people as the American democracy has done. Singapore will not achieve any economic repositioning until it can involve all its citizens in taking an interest in political renewal and mass participation in every sphere of social and economic activities.
Now compare that kind of accountable governance with the way our government decides on its education policy favoring the EM1, tax-and-recover system of charging fees and service, double charging on lands and triple charging on vehicles or pro-foreign investment or employment polcies.If u talk about policies tat never change, then all the above examples u stated show tat in the singapore system, it allowed major changes. After detecting a problem, they will change to adapt to the current situation. U say they r a mistake of judgement only because it changed its stand and u felt changing is a sign of weakness. To me, it is a sign of strength and they r willing to change the whole system to make singapore peform better. The system allow radical changes, tat is why it manage to implement such changes. When is the last time u see countries like british or america changes their education system ? There r many analyst stating tat british education is not churning out enough people armed with technical knowledge but they still can't make big changes to their education system.
These policies have caused many problems. Can anyone change these past policies? Even the mother Tongue CL1 University admission policy was so extreme that it led to a big brain drain for some years could not be changed until recently when it was realized that it has caused serious problems. It was only after 30 years that a mistake or error of judgment of such import is admitted. This is the disadvantage of autocracy. No body can change anything as the system itself does not allow changes.
The point we are arguing here is whether Autocracy has succeeded in Singapore or whether it is a good poliitcal system to emulate.U r doing the same thing isn't it ? U keep pulling in the positive parts from america too isn't it ? I ask u before, do u think america success is because of their politics system only ? They already have many advantages which many countries do not enjoy. They r richest after WW2, they have long history of education and politics, they have no nearby enemies, they have tons of natural resources, they have much land and a large market. Compared with singapore i think it is in fact easier to rule america since he just have to maintain its status quo.
Instead of objectively answering to the disadvantes under autoracy as pointed out such as "auto-piloting of the ideas of one man or a few leaders is undesirable to competitiveness or vibrancy of an economy", you had preferred to ditch the argument by claiming that Indonesia or Philippines as democracy have failed or American democracy has many problems too.
Let us be objective. If you keep insisting that autocracy is superior or has its many advantages you must be able to support your arguments. I have shown you that it has too many disadvantages by real examples, but you went off at a tangent to point out that democracy has many problems too.I thought I have told u about the problem of democracy ?
Ihave said to protagonists of autocracy that democracy is an established and proven political system which has succesfully evolved over the ages and today it is the system that most of the people around the world is aspiring to. What can you say of autocracy.I begged to differ. Democracy only works for countries which r rich, powerful, successful and have a long history of education and stability. If u fail in any of the element, then democracy is not for u. Which country tat is poor, lack stability and short history of education had worked when democracy is implemented on them.
Can autocracy outperforme democracy as a political system as democracy has shown over the ages. Even non-democratic Asian countries are emulating democracy. However you did not want to acknowledge the success of democracy but prefer to go out of the line of argument to make all kinds of claims to support autocracy.As many people had said before, give the politcal scene of singapore more time and they will slowly change themselves to become more democractic. If we skip a step of stability or properity before we started democracy,then we may become worse off in the end. It has to be in a natural process and not hastly start it which may result in something like iraq. If u ask me, the last few elections i am starting to see PAP softening on the opposition party. Even the prime minister speak of praise to an opposition member steve chia during election. U cannot change the system overnight but have to go through many many years.
In the long run, it will help the people to attain their aspirations. Not many autocracies can claim the abilities to unleash collective creativity of people as the American democracy has doneHas democracy unleash collective creativity of people of the Indonesia or India. u keep harping on america and blame other for pulling in other bad examples. Why doesn't it appear to u tat the american people is a special case since they have man y advantages other countries do not enjoy
The tax-and-recover system of governance has gone unquestioned for years resulting in high medical costs, double-charging on lands and triple-charging on vhicles. An average household would be paying under our high-cost policy S$600,000 - S$800,000 over the working life. Our costs are so high that the domestic sector of the economy is dying a natural death.U never really seems to answer the question on how much does the average Hong Kong or Taiwan or Japanese people pay in their lifetime to the country. Our costs is high but other nations may not be better off either
The charging by HDB of flats or shops at market or above-market prices (HDB arbitrarily fixes its rental at 3 years interval to peg at highest in locality) has continued to cause losses of competitiveness to the domestic economy.Your points is also on how to spend money. It is easy to spend money like reducing HDB loans, reducing car tax etc. But how to earn money to replace tis lost ?
NTUC, GLCs, stat-boards or ministries are competing against local businesses. If there is some objective governance, Singapore domestic economy still have a chance to survive or do better.Okie, if u think tat singapore never start off big companies like singtel, sembcorp, temesek, dbs, ntuc, edb, jtc etc, do u think singapore will be a better place ? Frankly IMO no. If a man from private sector starts off trhese companies from singapore, he will be likely to shift his base of singapore off singapore to other countries as well. And another phenomenon is it will sprung off many small or medium companies tat cannot afford to compete against the other global players as well. Is it a really bad decision for the gov to manage these companies ?
Once tested like the charity shows of NKF then every department will jump on the bandwagon and everyone will be told or allowed to do the same. Conformity is the whole problem. Conformity is less risk adversetat is the problem of capitalism, not political system. if u sell a fish tat earn u a lto of money, soon u will find a lot of other companies following u as well. U can see such behaviors in all countries, whether it is democractic or not.
Hospital fees and medical costs need not be that high if there is a different and more objective cost structure as suggested by you and some other forumersShow me the money. It is easy to state how to spend money u know... It is a world wide phenomenon tat quality healthcare fees r increasing. How to stop tat trend ?
Government should stop fighting with the local businesses for that same pie. I agree with you wholeheartedly on this. The government cannot never take over the whole of private sector as the growth engine. If it cannot then the solution is simple- don't compete against it. Don't suck up all the monies to the government coffers. This kind of governance will result in killing the proverbial goose that lays the golden egg.I don't see the gov opening another breadtalk, osim or creative...
Can you show us the breakdown on how are our health care and medication cost so high???Originally posted by stupidissmart:As many people had said before, give the politcal scene of singapore more time and they will slowly change themselves to become more democractic. If we skip a step of stability or properity before we started democracy,then we may become worse off in the end. It has to be in a natural process and not hastly start it which may result in something like iraq. If u ask me, the last few elections i am starting to see PAP softening on the opposition party. Even the prime minister speak of praise to an opposition member steve chia during election. U cannot change the system overnight but have to go through many many years.
Bravos!!!!!!Originally posted by robertteh:Prime Minister of Malaysia, Abdullah Bin Badawi : "The Best Idea has no protocol"
Prime Minister of China, Hu Jin Tao: "The government is the servant of the people".
There is humility in such leadership. Service to the people and humility are what people want of their governments or leaders. This is the simple desire or aspiration of the people.
There is no need to treat the people as demanding or complaining or full of self-justifications about leadership or talents. Just perform duties to the satisfaction of the people - satisfaction from heart.![]()
Ya lor, so far forumers have replied to absurd reasons with logics and good reasons. Thanks bro for good showing.Originally posted by Lowclassman:Bravos!!!!!!![]()
Hey bro, someone is arguing with you that have so called ''absurd reasons with reasons'' Hee...hee....hee...
How do they jusify the imprisonment of Anwar and Zhao Zhiyang ?Originally posted by robertteh:Prime Minister of Malaysia, Abdullah Bin Badawi : "The Best Idea has no protocol"
Prime Minister of China, Hu Jin Tao: "The government is the servant of the people".
There is humility in such leadership. Service to the people and humility are what people want of their governments or leaders. This is the simple desire or aspiration of the people.
There is no need to treat the people as demanding or complaining or full of self-justifications about leadership or talents. Just perform duties to the satisfaction of the people - satisfaction from heart.![]()
Systems are systems. Comparisons between democracy and autocracy should be made in an apple-for-apply, orange-for-orange manner.Originally posted by crazy monkey:How do they jusify the imprisonment of Anwar and Zhao Zhiyang ?
... and the corrupted officials ?![]()