Prime Minister of Malaysia, Abdullah Bin Badawi : "The Best Idea has no protocol"Originally posted by robertteh:Systems are systems. Comparisons between democracy and autocracy should be made in an apple-for-apply, orange-for-orange manner.
In arguing for merits of autocracy, arguments should be substantiated first based on postulation of autocracy as a system. If it is indeed a system will then it will be compared with democracy as a system. If not, there is no ground for any comparison at all to begin with.
Do you think what Malaysian PM Abdullah Bin Badawi and Chinese PM Hu Jin Tao have said make sense.Originally posted by crazy monkey:Prime Minister of Malaysia, Abdullah Bin Badawi : "The Best Idea has no protocol"
Prime Minister of China, Hu Jin Tao: "The government is the servant of the people".
The above example are given by yourself.
Next you say dun compare between systems.
You are contradicting yourself !!![]()
May be you wish to say that any system is good enough as long as people are doing their jobs well.Originally posted by Elfred:I read this thread with interest... then start to feel disappointed...
What Autocracy? What democracy?
Political outcomes are stuck with the people, the various actors.
If people claim PAP is autocractic because it's a ONE party rule with only a few oppositions, then what would be 30% PAP, 20% WP, 20% SPP, 20% SDP, 10% NMP... but only all those politicians are sleeping? What would such represent?
Instability.
In the parliament, there are already a diversity of people... but so? Is this democracy? How well will democracy, autocracy be fitting in in good governance?
Unlike the old times when there is one supreme Emperor, an official post, this post is supposed to be share out meaningfully with a parliament and discussions made to favor the nation/people, not the emperor. The parliament consist of many elements...
In short, all those talking about autocrats, democrats and so on are rather disappointing. Will a bunch of foolish democrats do a better job than a bunch of non-the-wiser autocrats?
After all, a good government or a good servant of the people comes by good people in management. We have no emperors to rightfully worry about since we have a parliament. Now don't come and say there's still a Prime Minister.
Why not claim there's a President? Who ever can do more, are more capable and able to serve with what they got will receive the power, and more power, those with the powers but do nothing and use anyohow will have the people scorning at them. What democracy... what autocracy...
You mean republican or democrats as un USA will always do the right things or always do the wrong things? Or Autocracts will always do the wrong things... but people had been questioning autocratic PAP in the 80s, and Singapore was prospering.
So such focus may have been too out of focus.
My apology. But feel compelled to post some personal views on forumers heading along such lines of thinking...
Be it the black cat or white cat, the cat that catches the rat is a good cat - Deng Xiao Peng.Originally posted by robertteh:Do you think what Malaysian PM Abdullah Bin Badawi and Chinese PM Hu Jin Tao have said make sense.
You have made certain remarks probably in support of autocracy or against democracy. I thought I have replied you.
My view is that you should substantiate your claims about goodness of autocracy. First you may wish to tell me whether autocracy is a sustenable system if it is a system of governance at all.
Let us have a good and objective discussions instead of engaging on side issues. Please enlighten me about your stand on this matter.
If you do not assert that autocracy is a system or it is more superior as compared to democracy, then I think there is now a more objective view point.Originally posted by crazy monkey:Be it the black cat or white cat, the cat that catches the rat is a good cat - Deng Xiao Peng.
Is autocracy or democracy better ?
China is autocratic and India is democratic. Which has perform better ? China.
But it does not mean autocracy is superior compare to demorcracy.
It only means a country must apply a system that is suitable to its stage of development or circumstances.
Politically China is more free than it used to be in 1989.
Singapore should have a democratic system thats suitable to its own needs.
Originally posted by robertteh:Maybe you want to read again.
If you do not assert that autocracy is a system or more superior as compared to democracy, then I think there is now a more objective view point.
Whether democracy performs better than autocracy AS A SYSTEM or the other way round has been the topic of our discussions here so far. As long as you do not assert AUTOCRACY has performed better as a system, I think we can all accept that premise.
If Autocracy indeed has performed better than democracy just because China has performed better than India, then the point is not quite borne out by the fact that most countries and people are aspiring to open up and be more accountable and transparent.
China is also trying to democratise. So your own stand is that China is trying to be more like India - democratise and be more accountable and open in governance.
Originally posted by robertteh:(1) Implication is pretty simple: to stress on how to ensure the jobs (in your words) are properly done. Too often are scholars too engross in what politics they learned from universities...
May be you wish to say that any system is good enough as long as people are doing their jobs well-(1).
At this point of time, Singapore's political system is going through a transition. Political leaders realize that the system of autocracy has produced certain problems as posted here. There is a need to keep up with new aspirations of the people-(2). That is the bottom line of this discussion.
I hope all will become more interested and politically conscious of their political rights and future wellbeing not only for themselves but for their children.
If people have no opinion or are willing to accept everything that has been dished out to them, that will be a view too. Probably that will be the end of the matter period. If People accept all the autocratic solutions to problems and are happy, who are the rest of citizens to say they are wrong. -(3)
May be they should not be complaining again and again and say that they are the ones that brought the consequences upon themselves in the final judgment. Is this the case here in Singapore?![]()
If you wish to put forward any view that autocracy is a sustenable political system, you will need to go through certain logical presentation based on facts and substance.Originally posted by crazy monkey:Maybe you want to read again.
I never say which system is better I say each country should adopt a system suitable for itself.
It is very obvious that apart from waiting out till the world economy recovers, there was nothing autocracy can do to rescue Singapore's high-cost economy from external competitions whether from China, India, Malaysia, Thailand, Taiwan , Korea or even Vietnam.Is it obvious tat with democracy, the situation will be different ? Why don't u come out with a solution other than complaining about it ?
Citizens have to pay high costs for all essential government services to sustain high public sector wage costs. Ministers are paid millions without first being tested for their true worth as private corporations to whom they are being compared have done - launching of successful companies or projects.I will be frank about tis. There r a big fraction of the people here being civil servants. If their pay is high, we expect the private sector to follow and give higher pay to the people. If u talk about minister pay, I will be frank here as well. Their pay is about the same as those given to COE of private companies here. Do u think the COE of HP in tis region doesn't get multi million pay ? Do u think tat Shell COE of local branch get a few thousands back home a month ? Face it man, those at the top management get high pay. If u want high pay then go for the top management lah ! The minister pay is not totally not significant to singapore economy at all. Buying a war plane for defence is already higher than their whole combined pay for a year.
(1) Bureaucracy in civil service.U r blaming all the problem we have to our political system and not because we r singapore. We r small, have a limited population and have no resources. We cannot influence much to the world yet we r easily influence by them. I believe no matter wat political system we r in, we will see some of these problems. Why don't u come out with a solution instead ? I mean complaining is so easy...
(2) High costs of essential government services e.g. medical, utilities, housing, transportation, education, etc, etc
(3) Growth Triangles
(4) Affective divide due to lack of understanding of people's views and aspirations.
(5) Work site safety problems (Hotel New World Collapse's blue paper was not effectively implemented)
(6) Deliver a Swiss standard of living
(7) Asset enhancement scheme fiasco
(8 ) Unit trust investment fiasco
(9) Foreign relation fiascos
(10) Non-formulation of a value-adding investment strategy
(11) Double-charging on lands (paid by taxpayers yet charged back to them at full market prices) and triple charges on vehicles.
(12) Meritocratic education policy that backfired - brain drains of thousands
(13) Mother tongue - CL1 admission fiasco
(14) Reaching World Cup soccer league by 2010 - no sign of getting near.
(15) Investment losses by thousands of citizens from CPF funds.
(16) Spiraling of government ministers' and civil servants' salaries.
(17) Failure to implement accountability and transparency in respect of investments of citizens' monies in overseas investments.
(18 ) Loss of economic competitiveness due to high costs.
(19) Neglect in promoting entrepreneurship
(20) Neglect in nurturing the domestic sector of economy.
The Asian Financial Crisis and large-scale corporate scandals in the aftermath in America and elsewhere have finally exposed the myth about leadership, Confucianism or Asian Valuesreally ? is china affected by tis fiancial crisis ? It sure do have malpractise and abuses mroe than singapore.
Traditional leadership approaches have been increasingly overtaken by motivational processes permitting all to perform tasks with efficiency coordination and knowledge applications e.g. online banking, real-time accounting, e-trading, travel-ticketing, logistics, telecommunications etc enabling companies and businessesI see tat singapore had implemented a lot of these as well. Its government use of IT and service had made other country following it as a role model
Do more and talk less. With greater coordination (teamwork) and knowledge application (mass participation) Singapore can do betterTat is right. Do u think it should apply to the people as well ? R we really into teamwork when all we do r just complain and complain and complain and always doubting the leaders in their suggestions. When asked for suggestions everyone keep quiet. When got problem everyone complains.
So far apart from saying that here and there that autocracy is a good alternative, all the arguments put forward sound like individualism or self-justificationsI have mentioned about the problems of democracy and the strength of autocracy. But u clearly just aviod it altogether and keep harping tat democracy is perfect. U just totally treat it as though it was never mentioned. In fact, u never answer the point raised by other but keep repeating on the same thing through and through. It doesn't sounds convincing
Autocracy is not a system. It is just someone who says that I have done it. My ideas are like this or like that. If anyone does not listen or disagree to the individual's ideas, they would be subjected to all kinds of controls, GRC, justifications with the help of controlled media or other inconveniencesTat doesn't seemed to apply to singapore. When some MP suggest casinoes, u can see some PAP MP to raise questions and doubts about it as well. Is it really like wat u described ?
Politically China is more free than it used to be in 1989Tat is right. I see china opening up itself gradually as well. So does singapore. Why rush into something where the others have used 100 over years to develop ? But then again, u will never talk about tis at all and drone on your usual points again.
Singapore may be successful to a certain extent in the initial years that does not mean that it has been successful since the 1970s for having built social cohesion or a entrepreneurial and competitive society.It may means tat it is harder to progress beyond tis point with our limited land size as well. Even america is struggling to with competition such as china and japan. In the early years america also have the highest growth and technological edge. Now it is gradually eroded by countries such as japan where its technology is on par with them. Does tat means the gov of america is worse off compared with the past ? No ! It just meant tis time now every country is fighting hand and foot for economy development, it is harder to gain a foot hold or maintain its status.
Please keep in mind that the same cat might now be too weak or old to catch another mouse. In the eye of majority of citizens the high costs of running the place is a problem. Just look closer at the high costs of living and the frustrations of people or loss of economic competitiveness of the domestic sector of the economy, it will be seen that the autocratic governance is far from a success.Or maybe there r too many cats around with too little rats on the run. The high cost of living is a problem for most countries, not just singapore. U think life in taiwan, hong kong, tokyo or shanghai is better ? Japan is a democractic country as well, do u think cost of living is cheap ?
Can you show us the breakdown on how are our health care and medication cost so high???I can only show u the fact tat healthcare costs r rising throughout the world. Tat is the point I am driving through. Please view the technological improvement tat resulted in increase in costs.
I cannot remember so far you have replied to any of my similar question as stated above: that if autocracy as it was so made out to be is so superior being premised on leaderships and talents in charge as repeatedly stressed to the whole population all these years, surely, such leadership or talents should have brought about a truly resilient or self-reliant domestic economy which will in turn attract more foregin investments to our shore.
I noticed that instead of answering this question which I think is highly relevant to examine the premise that our autocracy is full of talents to be paid the highest salaries to have them, you have insisted on asking for my solution when I am not the government. Surely a talented government or autocracy is not afraid to answer this question. By not answering this question I suppose you are conceding that talents or leaderships are just rhetoric and you would therefore continue to compare with Indonesia or Philippines in terms of our governance performance. The so-called talented or world-best leadership is perhaps like any other governance after all and not as was made out to be
Originally when the civil servants are not so full of talents, were our performance worse off. When Dr. Goh Keng Swee was leading the team of economic planners to start a Jurong, were the civil servants so full of scholars. How many of the civil servants were paid hundreds of thousand in salaries. The people would expect to get higher level of performance from civil servants who are nowadays paid that kind of salaries. They would also expect the ministers who are now paid millions to outperform Dr. Toh Chin Chye or Dr. Goh Keng Swee. I am only using apple-to-apple comparison to show you my objectivity in arguming the point I made. Look at today's newspaper report (TODAY) about the condition of HDB/Town council estates nowadays. Despite being paid higher almost three times the managers of private sector, the performance of civil servants are getting worse. It has come a point of time after the high costs were exposed in the PSA and SIA cases that people are asking : Are they overpaying their ministers and civil servants. The fact is : If their services are outsourced to the private sector there will be tremendous cost savings to foot the high medical bills of retirees and citizens.
Again, in your previous postings and now you have failed to answer a very important and relevant question: If autocracy is indeed upheld as a system that will deliver extraordinary performance then the people will naturally expect the respective actors on the talented show especially when they have made a case to be paid the highest salaries comparable to the highest paid CEOs in the private sector, then I suppose you should not ask me for solutions to the above-mentioned 20 problems. I suppose the proper and logical thing to do now is to show that they are indeed the best capable of delivering extraordinary performance.
Given the Asian Financial Crisis and last two recessions, surely our leaders have been given ample opportunities to prove their talents or worth as proclaimed to the world.
Why do our talented leaders have to tell the people that everything is dependent on world recovery. Why do they have to wait out till the world economic conditions improve before making re-assertions about talents or their abilities. The true talents would take these opportunities to prove their extraordinary abilities to the people who need them most during such occasions to save jobs and structural uemployments spoken of by ministers as not solvable.
True talents would prove that they have the entrepreneurship or creativity of CEOs like Sim Wong Hoo instead of telling people not to complain or asking people to show them better solutions to the above-mentioned 20 problems. If the leaders who asked to be paid the world's highest salaries cannot deliver their bests in performance except to claim that Singapore is too small or vulnerable, then are they still the bests? Other excuses are also possible and so easy to give - like people must change their mindsets, go for retraining or be less demanding. I can think of one hundred of them. Excuses are so easy. Any fools will also know how to give excuses.
Talents will not flinch from proofing their real abilities or baptism by fire, when needed most, I suppose.
Instead, the last two recessions saw Singapore's leaders totally helpless. While economies like Korea and China where leaders do not claim to be full of talents or the world's best had already recovered or emerged from the deep recessions, Singapore's was in deep trouble. So if you still insisted that China was not spared from financial crisis, let me remind you that China leaders did not claim to be the best unlike our leaders.
The above-stated point is that instead of leading and managing by goals, objectives or policy rhetorics why don't they translate rhetorical policies and all the justifications of their leadership into some excellent management processes as posted which would enable and empower all civil servants or workers to contribute their parts in efficiency and productivity and knowledge application.
I know and am fully aware that Singapore has used computerized and IT applications. Other countries are using technology and computers too to increase their productivity. What I am saying is after so many years of espousing all the complex and conceptual leadership and all the unending talent talks, why don't they just sit up and do the necessary that will allow the whole civil service to carry out tasks efficiently and productively. That is why I say: "Do more and talk less. With greater coordination (teamwork) and knowledge application (mass participation) Singapore can do better
As pointed out in my previous posts, if the autocratic leaders are so confident that they are talented and the world's bests, they should have the solutions to many of the 20 long-standing problems as posted.
People are often told that "they are complaining complaining and complaining."; Leaders forgot that they are paid the highest sallaries to solve problems and it is their duty to solve problem and not push them back to the people in this manner with excuses to no end
Originally posted by stupidissmart:You are giving me a junk of rubbish. You cannot compare in this way, this is why the gov are taking advantages on us. I never like to compare from one country to another country, it 's meaningless. We siongaporen is Siongaporen! Maloysian is Maloysian! The gov's obligations to take care of Siongaporen first. Down to bottomline; we the so called f88king middle and the lower income all are underpaid compare to developed countries. F8888K got to bear with GST, household expenses, personal expenses, water, elect, gas bills, lousy F8888K Tv programmes licence fee, educational fee, school transportation fee, personal transportation fee, conservancy charges, high medical fee with the stupid rocket high land cost calculated in ridiculous way after deduction of medical expenses, these so called the ***#$$ deductions, the gov claimed that is subsidary to its people.?????
I can only show u the fact tat healthcare costs r rising throughout the world. Tat is the point I am driving through. Please view the technological improvement tat resulted in increase in costs.
http://www.fepblue.org/faq/faqhealthcarecosts.html#1
[b]What are the major factors of rising healthcare costs?
1. An aging population — The average age of our members is 47 years old. By 2008, about 15 percent of the general population in the US will be 65 years of age or older.
2. Lifestyle choices — Seven out ten Americans do not exercise regularly. Inactivity is one of the leading causes of many chronic diseases.
3. Prescription drug costs — Many sources say that the increase in prescription drug costs accounts for about 20 percent of the overall increase in healthcare costs.
4. Cost Shifting — When patients don't have health insurance or their health insurance does not pay for all the care they need, the cost of the care is shifted to those patients with health insurance.
5. Medical Technology — Medical technology helps diagnose conditions earlier allowing for better recoveries. But, it has a big price tag.
How do hospital services contribute to the rising cost of healthcare?
One of the key drivers of the rising cost of healthcare is hospital care. Between 2001 and 2002, the cost of outpatient services was the fastest growing part of healthcare, increasing by about 15 percent. Inpatient hospital costs, which make up the largest single component of healthcare costs, rose by six percent.
Most researchers agree that the primary reason the cost for outpatient care has increased is because the cost of using the outpatient setting for medical procedures is no longer less expensive than having procedures done during hospital admissions. Inpatient hospital cost increases are due to the increase in the use of more expensive technology, higher labor costs because of the growing shortage of nurses, hospital consolidation and increasing costs for hospital admissions even though the length of hospital stays has decreased.
What is the impact of medical technology and medical advancements on the rising cost of healthcare?
New medical technology, such as MRIs, allows doctors to see inside the body and more accurately diagnose conditions. They also let doctors diagnose conditions earlier, leading to a more complete recovery for the patient. New surgical techniques involving little or no cutting are also improvements related to medical technology. New therapies and treatment improve the quality of life for patients suffering from chronic or terminal conditions. New vaccines also offer better prevention and are now part of routine child medical care.
However great the medical technology, it does come with a price in the form of increased costs to consumers in how much they pay for medical care. For example, MRIs have replaced X-rays in many situations but they are also more expensive. About 20 percent of the rise in inpatient hospital costs is due to medical technology and it accounts for about 18 percent of the increase in outpatient hospital costs.[/b]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:You are giving me a junk of rubbish. You cannot compare in this way, this is why the gov are taking advantages on us. I never like to compare from one country to another country, it 's meaningless. We siongaporen is Siongaporen! Maloysian is Maloysian! The gov's obligations to take care of Siongaporen first. Down to bottomline; we the so called f88king middle and the lower income all are underpaid compare to developed countries. F8888K got to bear with GST, household expenses, personal expenses, water, elect, gas bills, lousy F8888K Tv programmes licence fee, educational fee, school transportation fee, personal transportation fee, conservancy charges, tiution fee, insurance, garments and food high medical fee with the stupid rocket high land cost calculated in ridiculous way after deduction of medical expenses, these so called the ***#$$ deductions, the gov claimed that is subsidary to its people.?????
I can only show u the fact tat healthcare costs r rising throughout the world. Tat is the point I am driving through. Please view the technological improvement tat resulted in increase in costs.
http://www.fepblue.org/faq/faqhealthcarecosts.html#1
[b]What are the major factors of rising healthcare costs?
1. An aging population — The average age of our members is 47 years old. By 2008, about 15 percent of the general population in the US will be 65 years of age or older.
2. Lifestyle choices — Seven out ten Americans do not exercise regularly. Inactivity is one of the leading causes of many chronic diseases.
3. Prescription drug costs — Many sources say that the increase in prescription drug costs accounts for about 20 percent of the overall increase in healthcare costs.
4. Cost Shifting — When patients don't have health insurance or their health insurance does not pay for all the care they need, the cost of the care is shifted to those patients with health insurance.
5. Medical Technology — Medical technology helps diagnose conditions earlier allowing for better recoveries. But, it has a big price tag.
How do hospital services contribute to the rising cost of healthcare?
One of the key drivers of the rising cost of healthcare is hospital care. Between 2001 and 2002, the cost of outpatient services was the fastest growing part of healthcare, increasing by about 15 percent. Inpatient hospital costs, which make up the largest single component of healthcare costs, rose by six percent.
Most researchers agree that the primary reason the cost for outpatient care has increased is because the cost of using the outpatient setting for medical procedures is no longer less expensive than having procedures done during hospital admissions. Inpatient hospital cost increases are due to the increase in the use of more expensive technology, higher labor costs because of the growing shortage of nurses, hospital consolidation and increasing costs for hospital admissions even though the length of hospital stays has decreased.
What is the impact of medical technology and medical advancements on the rising cost of healthcare?
New medical technology, such as MRIs, allows doctors to see inside the body and more accurately diagnose conditions. They also let doctors diagnose conditions earlier, leading to a more complete recovery for the patient. New surgical techniques involving little or no cutting are also improvements related to medical technology. New therapies and treatment improve the quality of life for patients suffering from chronic or terminal conditions. New vaccines also offer better prevention and are now part of routine child medical care.
However great the medical technology, it does come with a price in the form of increased costs to consumers in how much they pay for medical care. For example, MRIs have replaced X-rays in many situations but they are also more expensive. About 20 percent of the rise in inpatient hospital costs is due to medical technology and it accounts for about 18 percent of the increase in outpatient hospital costs.[/b]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:
U miss the whole point. The cost of quality healthcare is increasing. And a major reason is because the technology used is improved and therefore the cost of it increases. Tis is a world wide trend. If u wanna just shut your ears and blame everyone for your plight, then there is no point talking to u about it.
It is a straightforward topic - Definition of True Democracy. I have tried to keep all the views objective by comparing autocracy and democracy as a system comparison. My main points are : by practising the 7 practical points as posted at the opening statement, Singapore will do better.Originally posted by stupidissmart:![]()
U want to talk about apple to apple comparison, we will talk about the current time frame we have. My personal opinion is, it is easy to gain economic growth froma poor country to a more developed one. It is harder for a country to progress beyond tat level. If u talk about pay increase, tis is because THROUGHOUT the singapore, whether u work in a private sector or public sector, there is a pay increase to the people.
If u talk about cutting the pay of civil servants, then u r going to cut the pay of the whole singapore. Private sector gives the pay with comparison to public sector. Then after tat u will complain tat sinbgapore give off lesser income because of a pay cut by government sector. Wat do u really want ? 3 Times higher than manager, r u comparing position tat is of equivalence to vice president in HDB to managers of private sector ? I do not believe any clerk of cleaner to get a higher pay than a private sector manager at all.
If u talk about outsourced to private secotr, I will tell u tis is worse off. Why ? It is because there will be no control from the government. The private sector will charge the amount tat will earn them the biggest profits. Costs saving ? I do not see private hospitals to charge lesser than public one. U can get to stay in a ward for $25 per month. Can a private hospital match tat ?![]()