Hi flyaway...thanks for your "heard browniebao2 on air - sweet & gentle voice.Originally posted by flyaway747:missed the 1st 50mins of Jieqi's prog on 7/6, due to a silly matter.
heard browniebao2 on air - sweet & gentle voice.
i like zui liao jie wo de ren by ye qing zhu also. got to know this song when He2 Zi3 Gan4 used to be one of the 933 dj. that time didn't know abt Jieqi's existence yet..
OK ok....then im not a girl, not yet a woman..born in the year of squeaks..hehehe...Originally posted by flyaway747:originally posted by browniebaobao,
"r u a girl or boy"? Neither. I'm a lady, born in the yr btwn the old & n young generation...hope this answers tinker's query long time ago too.
thks browniebaobao 4 ur concern, hope the silly & annoying matter
will not happen again!!
Originally posted by flyaway747:originally posted by attitude:
"i bought some bks over the weekend, incl. JiMi's "Xing Yun Er" (Mr Wing). If i did not remember wrongly, the ending of this bk mentions something like Mr Wing suddenly disappears in thin air one day, & no one hardly remembers him after few yrs..."
i just wanna share something here: pple come n go. i used to remember frds' contact nos, but as days go by, i hardly contact them, n their phone nos seem unfamiliar to me..can still recognise some of their faces, but sometimes couldn't even remember their names, but i still keep them in my heart. However, i juz couldn't understand why is it so that if we contact too often, or even when we hardly contact each other nowadays, somehow, the conversation topics seem to be lacking...that's why, i like the song "You3 Qing2 Gu4 Shi4" by Hong2 Shao4 Xuan1 very much...
Originally posted by browniebaobao,
"Wonder when that movie will air? I'm waiting.."
According to Jieqi, he mentioned that if he had not remember wrongly, the show is not showing on 12 June, but might be showing in Aug instead..." (dun know which day)
buddy I finished reading it le, lend it to you next time I meet youOriginally posted by attitude:hey buddy, can exchange ji mi to read? i bought yue liang bu jian le & another one i can't rem the title already....
luv the books, think i'll start collecting liao.... =)
A man of words...hope your wish can come true..I'm also quite ambitious..haha..hope to be a freelance writer, a dj, a teacher..keke..Originally posted by tinker:Books... can't live without those. But I tend to read more English books. That's mainly because reading English is "more efficient" - it is more intuitive 'cos most of our textbooks are in English. but I think Chinese language is more alluring.
Okay... what books should be recommended?
"Tuesdays with Morrie" is definitely a strong candidate. I have mentioned this book more than once. So... has anyone read it?
For those who like heavy stuff, try reading the classics- those by Victor Hugo, Tolstoy etc.
I quite like Liang Wenfu's works. "Zui hou de niu che shui" and "Cen Jing" are pretty good read. I can't really appreciate his poems but his essays and short stories are definitely enjoyable to me. Oh yes... one "poem" of his I found exceptional is "Qiu1 Xin1 Fu4". it became a song that has got only 3 characters per line.
You know, had the calling of science and maths not be so strong, I would like to be an author, a poet and a lyricist- a man of words. But well, I made my decision and will continue to enjoy the works produced by others.
------------
BTW, I think attitude is a guy. So... tinker not really alone. Anyway, let's just say that I am more interested in books and music than anything else. Of course, there is always work that never seems to end.
Originally posted by flyaway747:originally posted by browniebao2 under the topic "Songs appropriate for a lazy weekend afternoon?" on 16 Mar03 @ 2:21pm:
...i like by Nat King Cole....n another one he used to play, can't remember the name though, the one in soundtrack..the english song..."
that english song is "Getting close to me" by Fang1 Zhi4 Yao4
Ya..din get to hear his voice yday..today also quite impossible..Originally posted by tinker:Oh yes... no Jieqi on Saturday. I was listening to my radio in anticipation at around 3.50 pm to see if I hear his voice. Nothing. Then the Jiu Lian Huan- the sonsg didn't sound right. *sigh* Then the deejay mentioned about some open mob thing. *sigh sigh sigh*
11.35 pm... still no sms from Shervon. *sigh* Reached home finally and turn on radio. heard a lady's voice.
Anyway, here is a note to other deejays: Thanks for the hard work too! We just happen to like the songs played by Jieqi that's all. We appreciate your efforts so please don't take our *sigh* to heart. In fact, I like the mian yang gong can dang quite a bit. A quaint idea I would say.
Let's try our luck today (Sunday 15 Jun) at 4 pm.
----------------
Toto Chan! Browniebaobao beat me to it! Yes! That's another good book I would recommend too. I thought their school system was outstanding. What's their school system? Go read it to find out...
Hi Hajime! If I'm not wrong, Liang Wen Fu's book is called right? I met him a few times, he even held an autograph session at Popular Megastore! It seems that you frequent Popular bookstore, am i right? I feel that is more practical for adults..makes them reflect..Really..I still feel that is a very good example. There is a part where it says Pencils are being thrown away...Why? Why humans treat pencils as waste? Redundant. Simply because of advanced technology, people have palm top, computers, printers etc..Just like expiry date..things will expire eventually..Quite a touching book..the part where the pencil and ballon sacrificed for Rose, in search for Little Prince.Originally posted by Hajime:I read most of Liang WenFu's books, if not all. "Ceng Jing" and "Zui Hou De Niu Zhe Shui" are one of his first few works. I still have the latter, but not the former which I borrowed from my school library a decade ago. He also has a book which I can't remember the title, but it is like "Alice in Wonderland", when he talked about some of his strange dreams and a cat which always appears in his dreams. Another book "Mei Pi Qing" is a collection of his works, most of them featured in ZaoBao. His more recent works include "Zi Ran Tong Chuang" which has some essays about his encounters with a girl who eventually became his wife. His latest "Zi Ran @ Wen Fu" (published by Popular) documents his more recent lives with his family and himself. "Qi Shi Wo Shi Zai He Shi Guang Lian Ai" is his poem collection of his works in the 90s. One of the few "Cai Zi" we have in Singapore, who writes many good songs as well, though I was not exactly very keen on his recent compositions. "Qiu Xin Fu" was sung by Yu Guan Hua, Fang Wen Lin's husband. Very beautiful and imaginative lyrics.
browniebaobao: I didn't hear your voice on air, I just guessed from your messages. Anyway, it was good to hear JieQi on Sun afternoon while I was busy clearing my books. I just finished Huang Lei's book, and going on to Little Prince, the English one. It was shelved under the Children's section in the bookshop, but I think adults may have difficulties reading it instead. Children's minds are so simple and free from complications that they will understand the simple words and meanings, but adults tend to think more complex and try to analyse it. Why do that? Just enjoy the book as it is. Sometimes, learning to live and think more simply may lessen stress and troubles.
I like JiMi and Zhang Xiao Xian too. I read a bit of Li Bi Hua but her books are too sombre and overly pragmatic. For light reads, can try Ou Yang Lin (who is a doctor by profession, but his style is very light-humoured) and Xiao Ye (a very acclaimed novel and script writer, wrote many books circling his family). They are both Taiwanese novelists. Pardon me, but Shen Xue's style is too similar to another China novelist (Mian Mian?). A bit over hua zhong qu chong. Btw, they used to be very good friends, but after SX released her Shanghai Baby, they had a massive dispute which MM accused SX of stealing her ideas, etc. But their styles are at least a refreshing breakaway from the usual China authors. I am also starting on translated works, esp from Japanese authors. Their views are quite similar to us given the Asian connection, but they can think out of the box at the same time. Their perspective of life is always at another angle different from us. Though I think so far, I read more Japanese-translated mysteries than anything else. For me, "Chi Chuan Ci Lang", whatever his Japanese name maybe, ranks as the top name in Japanese mysteries, and just 2nd to my all-time favourite mystery author after Arthur Conan Doyle of Sherlock Holmes fame.
Huang Da Wei released a new album! Thought it will not be distributed here, so was quite glad to see it. Have not heard any songs from it, but I've always have faith in his work, so I'll definitely get his album - "TIME".
Enjoy the week as best you can...
I think I'm going nuts, really made so many mistakes, so many thanks for pointing them out!Originally posted by browniebaobao:Hi Hajime! If I'm not wrong, Liang Wen Fu's book is called right? I met him a few times, he even held an autograph session at Popular Megastore! It seems that you frequent Popular bookstore, am i right? I feel that is more practical for adults..makes them reflect..Really..I still feel that is a very good example. There is a part where it says Pencils are being thrown away...Why? Why humans treat pencils as waste? Redundant. Simply because of advanced technology, people have palm top, computers, printers etc..Just like expiry date..things will expire eventually..Quite a touching book..the part where the pencil and ballon sacrificed for Rose, in search for Little Prince.
I saw Li Bi Hua on TV before..read her book before..Don't like her lor...so...I like Zhang Xiao Xian's works because i find that her thinkings are quite close to mine..although she is someone's mistress..Oh ya, she got a new book! Can't recall the title now...(something to do with ugly duckling)..I started reading Shen Xue's books when I heard JieQi mentioning her name on air sometimes..Then one day, I saw a signature printed on one of her books.. (8th prawnshop) if i'm not wrong..Guess what? My idol, Andy Lau wrote something there..hehe..Thus, i bought both part one and part two home happily! ^^
Japanese translated mysterious? So do u like Jin Tian Yi? I prefer Japanese novel...used to read a lot..The one i like best is (Die Sterntaler)..Very sad one...Like any girls out there..loved to read Qiong Yao's books a lot when i saw in Primary and secondary school..stopped at age 15.Realized that her works are just too shan1 qing2..
If you ask mature women...they will tell you they like to read Yu Shu's works..haha..They told me that Yu Shu very the shan4 dai4 women..^^
Is written by Shen Xue? I doubt so you know? Let me check it out tmr and confirm with you...Shen Xue's works are a little ke1 huang4 sometimes...
Zhang Man Juan..., JieQi recommended this book years ago..and even mailed me a few pages..still in the box where i keep letters now..haha..It's quite a nice book ya!![]()