I went for this Army Sponsorship Seminar then go for their interview out of curiosity. I initially went for both Military Police and Guards. but then later I cancel Guards. I was arranged to go to cmpb for another interview. when I enter the room I saw an officer frm GUARDS. *shocked* looking at the situation I think most likely I kena guards liao.
actually my parents dw me sign one. but then I need to find a way to pay for my poly fees.
So up til now I oso dk shd sign or not.
P.S this happened abt 1 month ago.
Oh, did I forget to mention that Im a girl?
Err... please don't sign just to pay your poly fees. $2k+ is not a big deal. You can loan, work part time, whatever.
Sign on is at minimum a 10-year commitment. You have to really love being a soldier to do it. Or else you're going to become one of those sulky counselling case who get charged for AWOL and throw into military prison.
Msg me in private if you need to chat about it.
Food for Thought...
Why do the majority of NSmen simply just want to ORD to return to the civilian citizen-soldier way of life?
To most NSmen, the abbreviation for SAF is Serve And F--- Off far far away.
For boys, please be advised to enlist for NS first to get to know and experience the NS system, the SAF bureaucratic way of administration first...etc.
Don't sign on the contractual bond before even experience the organisation first-hand. If not, you will just regret to reluctantly sell a few years of your soul to the bureaucracy instead of practising tolerance of the NS system for just 2 years only.
Enlist for NS first, experience a few months of NS until get posted to a permanent NS unit after the BMT to get to know the real and actual military soldier life. BMT is simply a fun, adventure camping phase. Actual NS military unit life is much more military regimental and disciplined.
When truly, madly and deeply like the military in the NS unit, then it is still not late to sign on to be a professional career soldier. Otherwise, it is a blessing to just tolerate the full-time NS (NSF) for 2 short years, waiting to countdown to ORD to be a civilian/ a NSman/ a reservist.
Actually it is just like working. Ask yourself what are your consideration of looking for a job? Eg, money? achievement? prospects? stability?
ps: Personally agree with eac to have a feel and know what it is like before signing a 5 years commitment.
Don't sign if it's just because they sponsor your degree etc. sign only if you're really interested in working in SAF for your career.
Siala Heng ah I never sign.
I worked with the SAF this NDP as a leader. Wah all gimme kns attitude. Talk dk how to listen still dare to shout at me somemore. Le me shouted back and then the army guy diam diam hehehehhh
but then i srsly cannot do deskbound job leh... i do part time before as admin. Walaoeh every morn drag myself to work. Sian... Idw my life to be liddat in future man. How???
Any advice frm nice seniors of the SGP Society???
Do consider only after you're enlisted
I was a guardsman back in NS and now doing diploma post ORD. From my experience there are woman in our unit who did became guardswoman but very few. I'm guessing less than 5. Those who did successfully however was due to their commitment to serve and should I say tomboy + fit.
Though I performed exceptionally well back then, I still have to say the outfield is strenuous even for fit and capable men.
Previously I was from Guards. Yes to Shadow, there are afew women in guards.
Guards Conversation Course it is just the starting route for you as a career in guards. So do consider properly before you sign on as guards.
Yes there is pride in wearing khakis but is that your passion or just wanna get diploma.
If u just wanna get diploma, dont sign army. Life will be miserable but if its your passion and they can offer you diploma, go ahead !