Originally posted by fymk:yi shan bi yi shan gao
If you make ur fortune - there is always someone else who have more than you (unless you are bill gates). Sometimes those people who treat you like shit have connections you need- you just don't know.
If I have a large fortune - I would not bother about repaying people for the past. They did not hurt my family . They only hurt my pride. Then again pride is a dangerous thing to have. I would rather use the money to help out the more unfortunate: When you are in a position where you can dole out a bit of fairness, you do so.
Originally posted by Haix:I think it is just a matter of how u see things. If u are a very simple person and is quite happy with just 3 meals a day and a roof over ur head at night(like me), u wont mind being poor. Guess if u can be contented with wat u have ard u and appreciate them, being poor those not matter that much.
be rich must put in efforts and wits. those who are rich now probably put in alot of effort last time and is reaping what they have sow. if u want to be rich you have to put in effort too, else, everyone would be living in bungalows and driving rolls royce.Originally posted by Xenthar:Sorry I am not contented lor. Being poor in Singapore sucks big time. You lost out a lot. Socially and economically. In spite of what the general better than average person like to say, you just open your own eyes big big can see the true picture liao
Originally posted by sidestep1984:No use changing what you can't.
Just change what you can...
Why be rich when you are not happy..
No matter how poor you are...
There are poorer people out there..

Yeah its right to think this way but the environment we live in really make it a bit hard.Originally posted by moongster:You should visit poorer countries to get a glimpse of what life is about. Besides seeing people who are poorer that you are, you will see people who strive to become successful.
The only person in this world who can make you feel lousy is yourself. If you are not satisfied with where you are right now, then do something about it. If you want to be successful, then you gotta strive for it.
This applies to those extreme rich with billions n billions of fortune.Originally posted by Danisdead101times:the poor will become poorer and the rich will become richer...![]()
when you are poor, you are assured that your friends are your friends. a man's greatest asset is not his fortune because fortunes change. but rather his wisdom and resilience under tenacity, because they are steadfast and matures with experience. from real life examples i see in my friends, they didn't need a degree nor even a diploma to succeed in S'pore. but if you insist that your self-worth must be affirmed by some university accrediting its degree to you. there's no hurry because the school will always be standing there waiting for you. just get ready your tuition fees. work before you study because only after that can you appreciate studying and why you are studying. as for pragmatic ladies, they will never strip naked before you, but their intents and purposes are transparent to you. no difficulty distinguishing them from the rest.Originally posted by Xenthar:I feel that people from poor families are treated unfairly in Singapore. Especially for us guys. We have to go through army and serve NS. Since the market is bad, finding a perm good job is hard! Imagine that on top of all the trouble of being jobless, the army bothers you by calling you up for reservist.
Thats where all the rich kids got themselves covered.
Being rich their parents can afford them a better environment to nuture them. Most of them go through army halfway as they defer to go study University. The army cannot touch them and their parents pay for their education. After that, they go back to army and do nothing and when they ORD can get a better job because of their degree. For poor people, with only a diploma or less, they have to start at the bottom or even worse. Our pay sucks and even after working many years we might not be able to reach the level of the degree holder. If we study private U, we have to pay ourselves and cannot use our CPF money to do so.
On top of all this grief, we still have all the crap about local ladies being judgemental of us guys. Give me a break and just admit that if the person is poor and lowly educated, he's not worth the time. Spare me the excuses.
Any guys going through similar problems? And girls don't bother to reply! Thank you.

of course if u dun hav much education some can still be successful...som mayb family oredi rich so offsprings good life...but that may not be permanent things change...some may be successful see them drive cars and wear office wear to work but maybe every month struggling veri hard topay for the car dam n maybe live in 2 or 3 rooms flats only.....some mayb 1 month dun know earn how much but hav to know ttheir limits they find that they have to worked harder than the rest every month to just break even - expenses versus income....and those without cert can only limit to a certain job scope..everydae drive here and there tok tok tok run like sales dog..or try to persuade and tok until mouth dry....but the real suce=cess one orso got u see the entrepreuner a few very famous hav to giv them the credit but dun forget the importance of education and certain specialisted profession that this world cannot do without - lawyers, doctors, teachers, writers, artists, musicians, research personnel, scientists, philosophers, archaeiologists etc...all this primary or secondary edu alone can?Originally posted by boy in blues:when you are poor, you are assured that your friends are your friends. a man's greatest asset is not his fortune because fortunes change. but rather his wisdom and resilience under tenacity, because they are steadfast and matures with experience. from real life examples i see in my friends, they didn't need a degree nor even a diploma to succeed in S'pore. but if you insist that your self-worth must be affirmed by some university accrediting its degree to you. there's no hurry because the school will always be standing there waiting for you. just get ready your tuition fees. work before you study because only after that can you appreciate studying and why you are studying. as for pragmatic ladies, they will never strip naked before you, but their intents and purposes are transparent to you. no difficulty distinguishing them from the rest.
so, being poor. you have no delusions of grandeur. pride leads to destruction and you have been immunised. the world appears clear to you in its true and ugly form, allowing you to consolidate your thoughts on how best to maneuver yourself through life to your ultimate destiny
Not bragging but I must say I come from a rather comfortable family. Since young I had things most other kids (unless they are filthy rich) could never afford to have.Originally posted by Xenthar:I feel that people from poor families are treated unfairly in Singapore. Especially for us guys. We have to go through army and serve NS. Since the market is bad, finding a perm good job is hard! Imagine that on top of all the trouble of being jobless, the army bothers you by calling you up for reservist.
Being rich their parents can afford them a better environment to nuture them. Most of them go through army halfway as they defer to go study University. The army cannot touch them and their parents pay for their education. After that, they go back to army and do nothing and when they ORD can get a better job because of their degree. For poor people, with only a diploma or less, they have to start at the bottom or even worse. Our pay sucks and even after working many years we might not be able to reach the level of the degree holder. If we study private U, we have to pay ourselves and cannot use our CPF money to do so.
On top of all this grief, we still have all the crap about local ladies being judgemental of us guys. Give me a break and just admit that if the person is poor and lowly educated, he's not worth the time. Spare me the excuses.
Any guys going through similar problems? And girls don't bother to reply! Thank you.
Hi, u seem to be so troubled. I'm not very clear about what's going on in ur life. However, I hope u don't mind my comments on u according to what u wrote.Originally posted by Xenthar:I feel that people from poor families are treated unfairly in Singapore. Especially for us guys. We have to go through army and serve NS. Since the market is bad, finding a perm good job is hard! Imagine that on top of all the trouble of being jobless, the army bothers you by calling you up for reservist.